Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Campanile Vire 3 stars

Lieu Dit La Papillonniere, 14500 Vire, France

#1 of 5 hotels in Vire

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Good price and proper room with slow internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection is way too slow! 1mbit Download Speed only. Also the restaurant could use more vegetarian menus on the card and the outside of the building could use some fresh color :)

    The rooms were clean and cleaned every day! The price was good and the personal was friendly! The room size was ok and I will most likely come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.0
    Basic hotel, fine for short stay and business
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is closed over the weekend so you have to drive out to find somewhere to eat. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were rather mean. The man on reception was not friendly.

    The room was basic but warm. The breakfast buffet was very good. The lady on reception was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    A convenient location and a restful stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls; not so good when the neighbours are noisy.

    Very comfortable beds, a good night's sleep. A good location set conveniently close to the centre of Vire (too far to walk, time-wise anyway) and well-positioned for accessing the motorway network.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff , easy to park and great value for money for...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms isolated -would not want to stay on my own . Not enough staff on duty in the evening -so bit of a wait for food and drinks .

    Friendly staff , easy to park and great value for money for a one night only stay . Rooms clean but basis . Food was fine but basic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean and easy to get too
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff were a little slow and so basic spirits (vodka) was out of stock.

    Good value and clean, basic accommodation but had everything you needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Bed was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise conversation of occupants of adjacent room was a big problem. No sound insulation and this was made worse as the rooms had adjoining doors.

    Bed was very good. Layout of family room with bunk beds meant children had a bed each rather than sharing a double sofa bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Campanile in Vire
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful location, perfect for a good night sleep to get on with some travelling. Comfortable double bed and warm beddings on chilly summer night. Roomy bathroom. Tea&coffee in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.5
    Clean and great value for a short stay.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we had a pet and didn't use the restaurant plates would be useful for eating in the room.

    Clean, Ideal for a 1 night stay, easy to find. Area to walk a dog at the back, good parking. Room was warm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    You get what you pay for. Fine of one night; more would be depressing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it´s Campanile, so the main bonus is the reasonable price. Rooms are uninspiring boxes, with the bare minimum of furniture. Bathroom has 1 towel p/guest, heated by an electric overhead heater. The bed is neither big nor small, and neither hard nor soft. It´s all just very....mediocre. Even breakfast is uninspired, in a depressing restaurant.

    it was quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! For the price charged the hotel provides excellent service and all the staff encountered at this establishment were extremely helpful.

    We arrived just prior to eleven o'clock in the evening and received a warm welcome from the young lady who was on duty. (We had telephoned to indicate that we were delayed and would arrive late.) This is a budget hotel which was very adequate as we were just passing through and stopped only for one night. Our room was spotless and in excellent condition. Breakfast was of a good standard. Parking was free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Good value - good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of centre but easy access via car

    Good standard of accommodation for the cost - comfortable clean & friendly staff - restaurant was good value if you wanted to do one of their three course options - buffet was great for children

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for the price.

    This was the second Campanile that I stayed at . (The first was the day before at Bayeux). Everything was as consistently good as the first. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean with an excellent bathroom. The restaurant was very good , and breakfast too. Again this exceeded my expectations. Very good value.I would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    More to like than dislike in French roadside motel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    US motel-style accommodation which meant that the room was on the small side. Very small chicken fricassee served as main course. Stale rolls served as extras to the meal.

    Good car parking. Bathroom of very good standard. Menu in room. The fact that the room was cooler than it was outdoors, though air conditioning was restricted to the bathroom. Comfy beds. Surprisingly good dinners/breakfasts in adjoining restaurant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Typical "edge of town" travel hotel with helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive for this type of hotel

    Typical "edge of town" travel hotel with helpful staff and good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs updating its still the same 8years ago

    Resteraunt food was good as I remembered

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    agreable
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    literie conforme a mes attentes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Very good location and restaurant inside
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and restaurant inside

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal

    Having a restaurant on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Easy to get to.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to get to. Great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was as expected.

    Convenience/location to the port

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    It was good value for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs to room a bit slippery. could use a drop of paint.

    Good breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable. It's was a 1 night stop off. Food was also good. Overall great value. Would recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    As reliable as ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything you need is there! All basic but reliable. Excellent breakfast with good hot coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean, modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, very expensive breakfast

    Free parking, clean room, nice bathroom, convenient location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    BASIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BASIC BREAKFAST, DATED PROPERTY

    VERY BASIC ACCOMODATION, NO AIRCON

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Cycle friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's bit out of town.

    Cycle friendly. Bikes go in the conference room. The food and table service was really good for chain hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    No complaints
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Generation Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position, nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    Central location between the several touristic attraction in...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location between the several touristic attraction in the region (Mont St Micehl, invasion beaches, Caen and other places)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    usefulbpkace to stay at.
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave or fridge. Only milk for 1 cup of tea per person per day.

    The shower. The Chardonnay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.5
    Pleasant stay in Vire
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in room right next to bed so every time you go in or out of bed you burned your legs

    Room very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    Good stopover location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems. Good for the price and all I needed for a 1 night stop over on a long journey.

    Good breakfast buffet. Quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    No English/ American t.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English/ American t.v. Channel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Generation Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less road noise would have helped. Would have liked extra pillow.

    Value for money and staff attitude.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    10
    Very near to our cycle route Petite Tour de Manche.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • New Generation Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very near to our cycle route Petite Tour de Manche. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.3
    The hotel was in a good area for exploring.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We paid for a 'Superior room' for 2-3 people (to include bunk beds) however the room was a standard 2 person room. Still the grim old Campaniles that we are used to, but with a new coat of paint and new headboard...not really Superior in any way! The older lady on reception was bordering on rude. There we no hand towels the first and we were told they didn't do them anymore, however they brought us some! the next day we only one bath towel and 4 hand towels! The heating was a bit reluctant. Wifi poor.

    The hotel was in a good area for exploring. the younger lady on reception was very, very helpful and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    The location was very quiet, so we slept well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm never a fan of multi-purpose soap- shampoo in large containers fixed to the wall. The evening meal was unexciting but adequate.

    The location was very quiet, so we slept well. Everything we needed for an overnight stay was present. It was good to have bath and shower. The bed was large and comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. it represented great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.2
    Very clean with good facilities, comfy beds, parking, tea...
    • Couple

    Very clean with good facilities, comfy beds, parking, tea and coffee making. Staff were able to swap our room when we found a leak in the bathroom. Helpful staff although they come round to clean early in the morning, so used the do not disturb sign and it was fine. Have stayed a couple of times and will stay again. Haven't used the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    It is a basic budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a basic budget hotel.....However, it was clean, the staff were welcoming and efficient. We ordered a bottle of wine when we arrived and sat on the terrace. It came promptly with olives and nibbles ...something which doesn't always happen in 'better class' hotels! Our stop was en route to our final holiday destination and the Campanile provided everything we needed on our brief stop.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Spacious rooms, excellent storage for our bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Menu doesn't do the food justice, it was much nicer than it looked in the photos.

    Spacious rooms, excellent storage for our bikes. Fantastic evening meal and breakfast. Was actually much better than it looked on the menu in the room. If it hadn't been raining we would have eaten out because the menu didn't look good, but we ate in the restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    My bed was super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our meal (dinner) was good, but not great. The dining room felt a bit like a cafeteria instead of a restaurant. It was cold and a little noisy/echo-y.

    My bed was super comfortable. Room was VERY clean and the price was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    It is a while since we last stayed in a Camponile, and we...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It is a while since we last stayed in a Camponile, and we found improvements in decor and restaurant food and beverage. Whether this applies just to the Campanile in Vire we do not know. Anyway, we had a pleasant stay without feeling ripped off.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    Bike friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bike friendly. Good food. Helpful pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.6
    Very clean, polite and efficient at a very reasonsble price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing i csn think of

    Very clean, polite and efficient at a very reasonsble price

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.5
    Good location and very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New generation room well equipped but inevitably cramped

    Good location and very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Size of room and beds good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea making facilities. Proper cups not paper would have been better, more tea/coffee/milk sachets

    Size of room and beds good. Very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Lovely room overlooking garden and trees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner disappointing

    Lovely room overlooking garden and trees

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    6.3
    The location of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The male receptionist was grumpy bordering on rude

    The location of the room.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.5
    Hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Towels too small

    Hot water

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.5
    Restaurant closed over the weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant closed over the weekend!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    5.4
    Convenient for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic facilities in room.

    Convenient for a one night stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.7
    Room was modern, clean and reasonably comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was bland.

    Room was modern, clean and reasonably comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.9
    Basic motel style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic motel style hotel. But clean and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Lovely comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have done with the menu being printed in English.

    Lovely comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    very quick checkin/out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very quick checkin/out simple but good quality room

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice and clean facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I'm pretty sure they didn't read our special requests, but it was ok at the end.

    Nice and clean facilities.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.1
    Staff were excellent very helpfull.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Need more choice for breakfast toast & eggs would be good

    Staff were excellent very helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Very clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very clean and spacious room. Ate two nights in the restaurant with good value for money food. Staff excellent. Will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Food was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, handy for Vire and Caen and the Normandy beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Holiday not long enough

    Location, handy for Vire and Caen and the Normandy beaches.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.9
    A relaxed overnight stop on a journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    A relaxed overnight stop on a journey

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable room, good bathroom and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable room, good bathroom and nice staff. Good in the restaurant was good and reasonable value.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location. Staff very helpful and effecient.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    Clean comfortable room
    • Couple

    The rooms are all situated with outside doors so very chilly breeze into room. Cold going over to restaurant.

    Clean comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    the room was spotlessly clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    the room was spotlessly clean. It had a kettle.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: