Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Saint Etienne 3 stars

61, Boulevard de la Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France

#50 of 84 hotels in Lourdes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 922 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    The staff are very friendly & accommodating Position of hotel excellent for all site seeing Good breakfast House of Bernadette just around the corner while sanctuary & grotto about 5 minutes walk Good restaurants all around the hotel facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, everything walking distance. A bit complicated with the gps because she was not aware of the one way streets. The french breakfast was the best. Will be back for sure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very soft beds, some may feel uncomfortable

    Excellent location. 5-7 mins walk to the Sanctuary. Lots of food options around like Sri lankan/ Indian, Pizza places etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My gps kept sending me to the left where the road was one way. But besides from that everytjing was perfect. Location prime. True french breakfast Cute bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    +-This hotel don't corespondent with 3 star hotel. We visited this hotel 5.3. There were unbelievably cold. Poor breakfast. We miss heating in bedroom.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the balcony there was an ice cream tub maybe from previous guest..during our last day we were awaken by next room guests & noise on the corridor.

    Excellent location to sanctuarie..Helpful & friendly staff..Breakfast is ok..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There should a handrail near the shower.

    The staff are very welcoming and they make you feel at home. To them every client is valuable, not just a name.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Regularly travel to Lourdes. Breakfast here is very basic. 1 small croissant, 1 piece of French bread, 1 cheese slice, 1 ham slice, small butter portion, small pot of yoghurt and 1 tea or coffee. Other hotels offer a wide range continental breakfast buffet and you can eat as much as you like. Poor English comms although they say they speak English. A lot of miscommunication erring on rude, especially with one member of staff, when accused of not paying for breakfast, and not getting our request for that breakfast. Spoke of his annoyance in French at us in front of other French guests, which is absolutely unacceptable. (I understand a small amount of French) Guests need to ask for receipts once they pay, unfortunately we did not ask for one as paid in cash. Would have avoided confusion. As with one reviewer completely agree if you are French you seem to get better service.

    Close to grotto, facilities good, bed comfy, clean and fresh. Lovely small balcony - which would be good for smokers and those who like to have a little outside space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the room was good. But there is no kettle and tea bags or cups. For two single tea bags the staff charged me two euro’s which made me upset .

    The room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a musky smell. Carpet needs a change. Water always ran out off the bath as floor of bath n floor of the rest of bathroom same level n no curb to keep water in bath area.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room where only the balcony doors can be opened thus compromising intimity inside. In summer you have to open the balcony doors .. too hot

    The breakfast price also the staff helpful and the location is very good and convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are very thin, you can hear everything from other rooms and the hallway, which is quite disturbing during night. We didn't sleep well there. Also the beds are really uncomfortable.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was kind and helpful, even with special requests. The lobby area was a good size. The Sanctuary of Lourdes is very close as well as the Boly Mill and house of St. Bernadette's parents. Attached gift shop was convenient. Espresso was a good price at the bar. Rooms were clean. Beds were comfortable. My fellow pilgrims agree that it was an excellent place to stay. Free parking is available not too far up the street (a couple blocks) and the loading zone right in front of the hotel makes it simple. I would gladly go here again and recommend it to family and friends. This was my second stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff allegedly spoke little English and at times were rude to my aunties. our meals offered were lower standard to meals offered to French/ Italian guests. breakfast was warmed up croissants n warm coffee.

    The location was close to St Bernadette's home and walking distance to the Grotto. room was nice and spacious. good communication prior to arrival.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on first floor facing street,no A/C so had to open window and it was quite noisy.

    Perfect location walking distance from train station and 5 minutes walk to the Grotto.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly Staff A Few minutes Walk to St Michaels Gate Very Good Breakfast and Very Good Dinner Room Excellent for Solo Traveler very Big and also Very big Bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same as above. One think if we come by car there is not their own car park only bit concerned. If they can arrange somewhere near the hotel that be great.

    Because of near to church, charm, quite, neat, clean room and toilets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although It was a good stay but on the down side it was very noisey from upstairs we could hear people walking about and our room was right next to lift so early in the morning we could hear people so loud trying to go to the breakfast. Cleaner offered to come and clean we said give us 5 mins and when we left we told her the room is free for her to clean but when we return to the hotel room in the evening the room was still the same and the answer was that her shift was finished.

    The staff were friendly and the room was really big. Internet worked really fast and they offered a good friendly services and also offered to leave out suitcases after check out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that i should have paid 25 for the taxi to go to tarbes and paid 43. I was robbed. Taxi booked tro hotel

    The owner was helpful as we did mistake in booking and he didn't charge us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was so hard (didn't use it while sleeping because it was just so uncomfortable), the moment you step into the room there was an unpleasant smell ( that certain smell where clothes are left wet inside an enclosed space), breakfast was so-so (just coffee/tea/fruit juice, one piece croissant, half of cheese, one slice of ham, 1/4 of baguette)

    Location! very near to the sanctuary

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was afraid to take a shower, in part due to cold December, in part due to some dirty spots on the floor

    Location, very nice staff Overall good experience and very good price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very basic and there wasn't much choice, even when compared to other hotels elsewhere at the same price range

    The hotel is well situated between the train station and also the sanctuary and therefore easy to move from one place to another without taking very long

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was the same throughout each day The croissant and bread was laid out bear without covering to prevent flies etc. The croissant was laid on top of the teacup. Floor board noise when walking could be heard from the room next door

    Excellent location for the visit Good lighting and television was in good working order Had the option of stairs or lifts

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are old and flat. No Cappuccino machine.

    Very close to the Basilica. The rooms are average but fairly clean. Breakfast is ok for the price. Staff is very helpful and friendly esp. the owner David. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. We were 4 in a room with a queen size bed and 2 single beds. The room was big.

    Very close to the Basilica. Breakfast was good. Counter staff was very helpful and spoke good English

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was kind and accommodating. It was very helpful to have the front desk open all night as we arrived late due to a train delay. The manager very kindly overlooked a discrepancy in our reservation. Also,they reminded us of the discount at their shop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only one staff speaks English.Others don't know English. So famous pilgrimage location and No English? Not good

    Super clean ..Wonderful Location..Good WiFi .Nice breakfast.The table was ready for us.They brought things one by one during our breakfast.Nice coffee.. Fully satisfied.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are really poor even the beds not that comfortable can be accepted as a shelter for a pilgrimage And there was no acceptance for a late check out they wanted the room by 11am sharp

    The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the Lourdes metro station. But hard to find for a first time visitor Best part is its on the same way to sanctuaries notre-Dame de Lourdes. There are Italian and Indian restaurants just outside the hotel People are friendly but hardly speaking English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing- the bed was a bit basic and my pillow was a bit small and a bit lumpy. It didn't stop me from sleeping though! 😀

    Not in any particular order...Breakfast was generous and good value for money. We loved the location which was quiet yet very convenient for everything. The staff were so helpful and friendly. All pre- arrival queries were dealt with promptly. We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to our friends. We will certainly want to stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled very musty! Breakfast was not worth the €5.50, especially the reconstituted slime masquerading as 'ham'!

    Great gift shop at the front of the hotel to buy all your spiritual needs e.g. plastic virgin Maries, t shirts and more!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress on the bed was very thin and did not make for a comfortable nights sleep. However when you book a three star hotel in Lourdes you are not aiming for luxury as you are there for a pilgrimage.

    The staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast service was not up to standard. Our croissant was left on top of the mug. There was no plate, no small spoon to stir our coffee. The cleaners are very loud in the morning, we were waken up at 7.00 on Sunday morning by the cleaners. They just open the door and walked in without knocking at the door.

    I like the location of the hotel as it is close to the sanctuary. The lady and gentleman at the reception were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not easy to find. Room keys hang on a board that anyone can access.

    Handy location for restaurants. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right next to grotto staff very helpful !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dans l’emsemble Correct

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fred was amazing! He was happy, helpful and hard working!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small for three persons with big baggages

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, near to Grotto, helpful and kind staff, towels changed every day. Little hotel with family atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location steps to eveything in Lourdes

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location only about 5-10 walk to the Shrine. Very friendly Staff. they all understood English. I will definitely stay here If i go back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Everything was very poor quality including the breakfast.

    Near Basilica etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping they don’t clean anything just change towels and toilet tissue

    Day time receptionist ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floor boards generated too much noise which was a disturbance

    Beds were comfortable. Location was good. Hospitable staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located. Walking distance to the sanctuary.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, not good diluting the orange juice!

    Convenient, fairly good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good

    tres bien place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Sure w ill stay there again. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable and perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was good, coffee excellent. Hotel is very near the grotto.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for our stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey unkempt no hairdryer no WiFi smelly.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recall me for check out at 11h00. I was out at 11h05

    Room cosy, breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet not been cleaned or do the vacuum!!!

    The accommodation restaurants and the location and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor

    Friendly staff, always smiling, great atmosphere, and great location near the "Grotte"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very very nice

    Very friendly and accomodating. The staff are so willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast no choice

    Excellent location and family room very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no airconditioning, lack toilet amenities

    Location near the Sanctuary a little bit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very minimal furnished

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very close to the grotto, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language trubble

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city center,clean,nice friendly Staff. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language problem

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street is not very quiet. No clima.

    very close to our main point (sanctuary)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location, walking distance to the Grotto and to the train station. Very helpful hotel staff. (David)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was all good

    nice hotel value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious clean rooms, quick check-in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the way they had no kettle or safe in the room

    It was in the centre of everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for a few days the location was excellent

    they were good the service was good

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: