Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Les Goelands 3 stars

4 et 6 avenue Etcheverry, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France

#15 of 24 hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 188 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Delightful short stay in the centre of St Jean de Luz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location indeed, so close to the centre of St Jean. A really lovely room, very large with a stunning sea view. Owner and staff were all absolutely charming and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in great location with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a bit basic but was ok and healthy. Locks to rooms need upgrading as old locks and had issues opening the door but hotel sorted it out quickly

    Great view and great location in typical Pays Basque house. Welcome was great. Very friendly team. Big a spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    TAKE A FAN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (12-16 m2)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly hot in the room overnight. There was no air conditioning, but this could have been alleviated to a certain extent with a pedestal or ceiling fan, of which there was neither. A very restless night was had!

    A lovely location with very convenient parking and only a short walk into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very happy we stayed an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (12-16 m2)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location. We were told our room would be small but it certainly wasn’t. We were very happy with it and didn’t have to climb stairs. Great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    This was our third visit to this hotel and everything was as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was a bit on the small side.

    This was our third visit to this hotel and everything was as we expected: welcoming family-run eco-hotel. In this occasion we stayed in a nice triple room with sea views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel! I asked for a ground room floor with easy access and it was accommodated no questions asked. On arrival we were given 3 great recommendations for dinner and they booked them on our behalf. The breakfast was nice and the room was spacious. The toiletries were lovely!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Would stay there again. Loved st. Jean de Luz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner had to be ordered night before, and no choice, so we didn't bother.

    Good location - steps not far away, leading down to promenade and beach. Quite a climb back up but seats to have a rest! Had very large room with good sized table and several chairs. Typical old fashioned French hotel. Reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    A Basque haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (12-16 m2)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was very simple and enjoyable, but rather over-priced.

    This is a delightful family hotel where good behaviour , courteous manners and a quiet way of being with other guests make this lovely hotel a delight to stay in. Excellent breakfast, dinner a little less so . Super views over the town and coast and a very short walk down to the beach and promenade.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice family friendly eco-hotel 5 minutes away from the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room (12-16 m2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about. Everything was as we were expecting it to be, having stayed at the same hotel last year.

    Nice family friendly eco-hotel 5 minutes away from the beach of St-Jean-de-Luz. Very friendly and welcoming staff, always happy to help. Our room was on the second floor and facing the garden, which has a small playground that our daughter loved.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Comfy bed, helpful staff, great location within easy walk to beach, peaceful neighbourhood

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Location, landscaping, decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overpriced. Breakfast is not worth the money

    Location, landscaping, decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is amazing. Very friendly and willing to help you all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Being charged for a service animal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for a service animal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old world charm, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Quirky but friendly hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (12-16 m2)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike!!

    Hotel location with onsite parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.9
    Rather expensive but good hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange decor and access to our room. Overpriced.

    The size of the room and kindness of staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    We loved our stay at Hôtel les Goelands!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was lovely, no complaints!

    We loved our stay at Hôtel les Goelands! The proprietor was extremely kind, thoughtful and generous. The rooms were lovely and the view spectacular! The rooms were also quiet and very very comfortable for a family with two teenage daughters. The meals we had (dinner and breakfast) were delicious. The location is absolutely delightful. We would love to have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice staff in this family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some facilities might need to be updated, but this is just a minor gripe.

    Nice staff in this family-run hotel. Big and spacious room. Very good location, just a short walk away from the beach and not far from the main street in Saint Jean de Luz. Children friendly. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.9
    The view from our room was spectacular overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It felt somewhat isolating perhaps because we didn't have breakfast but the Inn felt more like separate rooms rather than a cohesive place to leisure around. We never saw one other guest but many cars. Overall it was a lovely place and I'd recommend it for a few nights.

    The view from our room was spectacular overlooking the sea. The furnishings were reminiscent of a country French Inn.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.9
    Good location & excellent parking - just a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe more buffet breakfast & a bar service or option?

    Good location & excellent parking - just a short walk down the hill into town. Good wifi & connecting rooms for family

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    The hotel had a pleasant garden and was within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although clean, the hotel was a bit tired and needs 'sprucing' up.

    The hotel had a pleasant garden and was within walking distance of the town and beach.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    It was good to find a hotel with easy free parking, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was good to find a hotel with easy free parking, but close to the sea front and points of interest. The breakfast was excellent with fresh croissants and hot chocolate.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Fresh croissant and homemade jam at breakfast. Rooms were spacious and quiet. Very good deal for money

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel with friendly staff in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaking shower

    Great hotel with friendly staff in a great location

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.5
    Pleasant, with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There should be a lift in the red house. The hotel was a little overpriced.

    Pleasant, with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.3
    We arrived late but the woman on reception kindly stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We arrived late but the woman on reception kindly stayed behind until we arrived. Nice views and an easy walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm at night, a fan would have been welcome. I did ask but none were available.

    Clean, comfortable, welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    Lovely staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Good size, comfortable room and an evening meal available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good size, comfortable room and an evening meal available

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    The interconnecting rooms are perfect for a family with 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was poor and too expensive for what it offers.

    The interconnecting rooms are perfect for a family with 3 children!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.5
    Welcome on arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs and hilltop location

    Welcome on arrival

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.3
    Location, comfortable bed, bright double aspect room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, comfortable bed, bright double aspect room

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: