Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Arcantis Le Voltaire 2 stars

10, rue de Guebriant, 35000 Rennes, France

#18 of 34 hotels in Rennes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3044 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    No bar or hotel staff after 7pm, yet entrance always open,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or hotel staff after 7pm, yet entrance always open, so not secure and not safe. We left at 7.30am still no staff around. Good job we had paid in advance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    modern, very clean hotel with friendly staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath only, only a hand held shower. No air-con. Neither a problem for me.

    I liked this hotel. Easy to find in a quiet residential area with ample parking. Staff were relaxed, warm and friendly. The room was very clean, if a little compact, bed comfy. Nice bar area with outside tables. As much as you can eat continental breakfast. Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel on edge of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bar / brasseries in near walking distance closed ( on a Saturday? ). A 15 minute walk across the bridge to a lively bar for a good range of beers and a reasonable light meal ( as in burgers etc, ).

    Modern property right on the edge of town. Plenty of parking. Easy check in. Didn’t have the breakfast so cannot comment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    A quirky, odd Fawlty Towers, style hotel.. Be warned if you have an aversion to mannequins!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is terrible. My partner needs WIFI for his work and we could not get a proper connection at all. Another guest also had difficulty. When we spoke to someone in the evening, whom we guessed worked there she reluctantly lent us a mobile hub for the night to use. We found the staff, with the exception of one friendly domestic lady, to be unfriendly and unhappy.

    We loved having an attic room for our first night, but the next morning when we were going out for the day, the receptionist asked us to move out of it so that a family could have it. We were told to move to another room which was a lot smaller and ne t to the entrance, which might have been noisy. So we asked to move to a different room instead. There was no apology from the man on reception and he was not at all friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only supplied with one bath towel & 2 hand towels. We made do& understand we could have requested another. I don't understand why when there are 2 people boooked to stay, one towel is supplied ???

    Clean room. Comfy bed. Colourful toilet!!! Just a half hour walk to the city centre along the river. Ideal for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of something which was wrong

    Very clean and comfortable little room, if you are lucky you will get one of rooms on the last stage, which offer a great view from the roof window. Staff was very nice and helpful. There is also a little guide in your room with a lot of useful info on Rennes and more. Very good value for money !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small fault we found was lack of a shower screen/curtain in the bathroom.

    Ideal location. more than adequate parking, very clean and comfortable, nothing too much trouble for the staff, a very good experience, would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noone talks English. No one. It was such a struggle to communicate. The isolation was so poor. There was a baby next door, and she was crying all night. It was like she was crying in our room.

    The breakfast was nice. The location was also good. It was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee machine in room didn't accept capsule properly so didn't get a coffee in bed but these machines trouble me in terms of environmental impact. What's wrong with a kettle?

    Great location, nice room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice, comfortable, simple hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower facilities were a bit awkward, no shower curtain

    Staff friendly without being overbearing, rooms were small but comfortable. Bus stop pretty close by for accessing Rennes. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Close to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to public transport. Very friendly hotel staff who accommodated our small knowledge of French. Rooms were perfect for a short stay, great blinds to keep out light at night, and the shower had plenty of pressure. The hotel's decor was very interesting to look at throughout the different levels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    value for money, great breakfast selection, including bio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was not so comfy for me

    value for money, great breakfast selection, including bio products, quiet hotel, clean, free parking, easy to find by car

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Always a very pleasant stay.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the hotel. The downside is that the rooms are taken very quickly. Not good if you are not sure about the date of your return to the UK.

    A very convenient location. The hotel is always very quiet. The staff are friendly and courteous. Whenever we stay in Rennes we always stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    Cheap but not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and basic standard The lift only takes one person and a suitcase Steep steps up to reception Service was not particularly friendly and I had to insist that I needed extra pillows. They were reluctantly provided.

    It is cheap and convenient for the highway. Good wi fi The room was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with drink making facilities in the rooms

    Very nice staff and great position when travelling as just off of major routes. Clean and tidy but rooms are small but ok for overnight stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    If you like quirky, this is the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fantastic hotel if you are into memorabilia. Interesting stuff in every nook and cranny. Very good value for money, and breakfast was good at a very reasonable price too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.5
    not to be repeated
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived 9o/c,only a vending machine,no hot drinks.Room (29) was very cold,tepid radiator.prior to leaving I was asked to pay,I had prepaid via paypal,lucky I had the receipt at hand.

    liked very little

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    I recommend to stay there, you will get everything more value for the price.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heater in my room was not hot enough. I got sleeping in cold condition. It was my mistake too cause we arrived very late so nobody at reception to ask for extra heater. We learned that after we paid the room otherwise everything was great.

    Room is good, clean and comfort and very lovely decoration. On top of this, there is a bath tub that it is great after long voyage of my driving. I could relax in the hot bath. Love it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Great price and original
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and I did no feel too welcomed as a customer by the owner/manager.

    The hotel is actually pretty original inside. It has a British feel to it. Decorations and colors are fun. The WiFi is very reliable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from city centre. The best idea is to take the bus at the bus stop Voltaire. (Be careful, on the time of this review some bus routes in Rennes are not shown on Google maps. But of course is not Hotel fault)

    The staff is really kind and helpful. Good staying in Rennes at low rates. Very clean and tidy in a quiet location. The facilities are over the average for the Hotel category. Lift available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good quiet place for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom to be equiped with curtain or other so not to spray water all over the place!

    "Real" tea for breakfast, a whole pot at your disposal, and very good quality tea too! Very good crispy croissants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is very nice and cozy! Perfect service, everyday cleaning, fresh towels, veryyyy soft bed, original design of rooms. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone! Thank you ! :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice old style hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a very nice hotel. I like the decoration inside. As I arrived very late (2am in the morning), I found my name and my room number on the board. It was a nice trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.0
    If you drive by your own, maybe its a nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very far from the train station, you need to take the subway and turn the bus to arrive, the sound insulation inside the room is very poor, you can hear all the sound of the next room.

    The design of the hotel is special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    hassle free
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was 7-9 and as we only got in at 1130pm we were too tired to get up that early (13hr drive through the day, we're not lazy!). breakfast had been advertised originally until 11. considering that was the only negative, we can forgive the shortened breakfast times!

    arrived later than planned - no staff but they had left a note for us with our room key - super helpful. cool decor and a funky disco light in the elevator

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    The theme of the hotel is pretty interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far from the center, and especially from the train station. The lady was very kind but she actually did not know much about what she was recommending (restaurants, getting around...). The bathroom is a bit weird with the toilette designed as if it has a vacuum mechanism, but it doesn't really look appealing. From our room the sound of the elevator was very loud. The theme of the hotel is fun, but all is very dusty... :-/

    The theme of the hotel is pretty interesting. The staff was kind enough to let us have coffee with our own breakfast. The room has a large and nice window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    5.8
    Fulfilled my basic needs and at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bearing in mind the price paid, there was nothing to dislike. However, there was no shower per se. A shower attachment on the bath but no facility to put it at high level and no curtain or screen. This could be improved very simply. For new bookers who WANT a shower rather than a bath this needs to be specified on booking.

    It was everything I needed - a bed for the night in the town I needed it. At the price I paid it was great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice bar on the ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit tight but ok for 2 persons.

    Nice bar on the ground floor. Clean and well maintained facility. Good choice if you have to catch an early plane. At the same time not so far from the center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Price - Quality ratio was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit far from the city centre and the bathroom was a bit peculiar. I was also missing hooks for the towels in the bathroom. Other than that, all was perfect.

    Price - Quality ratio was perfect! The best way to spend 33 Euro for the weekend. The bed was comfortable, the shower warm. We did not have to communicate with the stuff upon arrival as the key was waiting for us in the door of our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    A bit far from center, but quiet, easily accessible by bus, and very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite soundproofing was not very soundproof... Also a bit far from the city (though easily accessible by bus or a decent walk). And the "electronic" toilets are kind of weird!

    Very quiet location, great price, nice walk into town along the canal as other reviewers said. Nice view from top-floor room. Very quirky decorations in the common areas. Also easily accessible from the Rocade ring highway if you arrive by car. Bus route to center of town stops nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Handy and hospitable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    deal location for bus into town centre. Would be fantastic in the summer . Quite and residential area no stress at all. Love the unique memorabilia of each floor gives the hotel a bit of character. Good choices for their continental breakfast. Comfortable and quiet rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    A bit out of town (not too far but need to drive in) but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price very very satisfied - nice but small rooms

    A bit out of town (not too far but need to drive in) but really lovely little place harking back to the glorious 70s with a nautical theme but extremely clean and well kept. Parking was great and very relaxing place to be away from traffic noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    I was there with my son's partner as my son was in hospital following a motorcycle accident.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been improved by having a shower curtain or screen to stop floor getting so wet.

    We didn't have breakfast but coffee was good. Staff were thoughtful and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't curtains in our room of the second floor so we couldn't have the blinds up if we needed it to change. Also there was no bath courtain in the bathroom so was very difficult to have a shower without making a mess.

    The bed was very confortable and big and the neighbourhood was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Very glum hosts. Most unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not friendly at all. Very dark public areas. It is good to conserve energy, however, no explanation regarding where to turn on lights means you are stumbling up the stairs in the dark until you bumble up against a switch. Lights are on timers so they turn off quickly, which is fine IF you know where the switch is located.

    Very clean. Very comfortable bed. Fast internet.Allows dogs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was relaxed, funny and had some imaginative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly small for two persons.

    Hotel was relaxed, funny and had some imaginative decorations. Breakfast was nice, you could press your own juice, make your own coffee. Choices of bread and varioty of jams were available. The scenery to the garden was nice. Frequent bus connection to downtown from this residential area was 200 m from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Perfect place for a few days exploring beautiful Rennes or overnight stop en route on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely small hotel on the outskirts of Rennes and close to the motorway system. 20 min walk from historic centre and 10 min bus ride ( bus 9). Very good value for money and would certainly stay there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Really great place to stop on way to boat. Convenient to the vibrant city centre of lovely Rennes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything suited our needs.

    The decor was retro with jukebox and early to mid 20th century artifacts like old phonograph. Staff were really obliging and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant say anything could have been better

    Querky decor, but very interesting, could have spent hours looking at it all!! Nice clean room, comfortable bed, good shower with plenty of hot water. Good breakfast, just a bit more than the average french breakfast, very good coffee from Nespresso machine.good location back from main road, so it was quiet.Good price 42€ and breakfast 7.50€

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value for mobey
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work on the 4th floor - no issue for me, but it was for my teenage son 🙄

    Fantastic location, excellent value for money and very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Super hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..all super.

    Lovely, quiet, quirky hotel in great location. Nice walk along canal into town. Amazing pillows and comfy bed. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Great little quirky hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little quirky hotel... just on the outskirts of the town so had to drive, but did fine plenty of parking. Lovely staff, bar and breakfast was good. A stop over for us but good all the same

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor landing could have been better lit .

    Loved the quirkiness of this hotel !! Rooms were good and great to have outside area to sit. Told to help ourselves to tea and coffee from buffet area which was much appreciated !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast buffet looks super fashionable and cozy, coffee is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, it would be probably good to have more shampooings, as there were two of us in the room, and it was not enough for both of us to wash hair properly.

    Breakfast buffet looks super fashionable and cozy, coffee is strong and tasty, croissants are fresh, they have a lot of nice things in addition to traditional morning set (like Kinder chocolate, dried fruits and nuts). Rooms were cleaned up every day during our stay, and the towels were always fresh. Staff was talking good English and was ready to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for a stop over. Easy location to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for a stop over. Near super market and fast food outlets. Rooms nice and clean. Very good value for a family. We had 4 rooms for 96euros on a Sunday night. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for a one night stay, room, bathroom, bedding and towels very clean and fresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls very thin - your can hear people talking and coughing in adjacent rooms. Declined breakfast - didn't like the look of pre-packed, long life croissants or dry toast biscuits.

    Cheap and cheerful for an overnight stay to break up a long journey. Easy to get into centre of Rennes by bus - worth doing if you have time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff was helpful, advised me what bus should I take in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos even when a window was opened without a light.

    Staff was helpful, advised me what bus should I take in order to reach a hotel. Location is good - there is a direct bus from the city centre. Very interesting interior with some old books.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Quick stop in Rennes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange vintage decor with spooky life-size mannequins tucked in a corner on some floors.

    Large (free) on-site parking. Low room rates. Elevator. Reasonable-size rooms. Quiet neighborhood. No A/C.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, but for 30 euros, brilliant value. The other half didn't like the fact there was no shower curtain.

    We loved it. A quirky hotel, slightly out of the city but you could walk in - this took 30 minutes. The staff were brilliant, in fact one of the best services I have ever had in a hotel. We loved that the hotel was slightly quirky with retro pictures and themes. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Small. Clean. Far away from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we could easily walk there from the central train station but it was way to far away. The rooms are rather small.

    They had an interesting way to give us our keys because we arrived very late. We needed a while to figure it out and were close to panicking. But in the end it turned out quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Decent hotel, but a long walk from town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    25-30 minute walk from city centre. Very little any of anything, e.g. restaurants or bars, closer to the hotel. Public transport links are good though. Very hard to find staff at reception. Breakfast looked impressive but was actually a very limited selection, though adequate.

    Easily accessible from Rennes ring road without having to go near the city centre. Good sized room and bed. Reasonably sized bathroom with even a small bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Good solution for a couple of days in Rennes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad.

    Good location, 3 min by car from the center; the room was large enough and the bathroom was very big. Everything was very clean, the staff is kind. Large parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit of a lottery - expensive for what it was, and hot water hard to come by. But the quality of the food was fine.

    The cleanliness and clarity of instructions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cons: small rooms, not conditioner (might be a problem in summer). Note - rooms have no kettle but during the day you can easily get drinks from cafe downstairs

    Pros: clean, free on site parking, conveniently located close to large motorway so you do not need to drive through the traffic of central areas of Rennes. You still can easily get to city centre by bus - bus stop is 5 mins walk away. Rooms have a detailed information booklet (in french, but I somehow managed to understand what I need)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Travelling with a baby, Nicholas was very helpful, nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening food in the hotel, only breakfast. Juliette balcony not great for children.

    Travelling with a baby, Nicholas was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable for one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and welcoming staff, good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities, arrived just before 11pm bar/restaurant closed so nowhere to buy a refreshment after our journey.

    Pleasant and welcoming staff, good parking. Very easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Actually, I liked everything. As I like to walk, there were no problems to reach whatever places I wanted to reach, and when I needed to save time, there's a bus nr 9 that goes to the centre. Stuff was nice and helped me with my requests. The room was nice, and the bed ve-ery comfy! The hotel is not far from quay of the river Vilaine, a nice place to walk (and a beautiful road to the historic centre). Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast and clean linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is a bit old and hard to adjust.

    The hotel is easy to find and many parking available. The room is quiet of good size. The linens are clean and good quality. The breakfast is good has many choices compared to other places we went. The staff is helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay here and very freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning into the rooms had it been a hot evening it would have been very uncomfortable

    The hotel decor was interesting and different, the staff were friendly and helpful even with the language barrier. Very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, quiet suburban location not far from Rennes city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good budget hotel, well above the normal budget hotel standard in France. It is situated in a suburban road, (not on an industrial trading estate), with a good sized car park, fairly close to the centre of Rennes. Room was fine, the plumbing in the bathroom was a bit French, but OK, could have had more towel rails. Stayed one night on the way back to UK, and for that purpose it was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel. It was our 4th visit. Recommendation very high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two pillows instead of one per person.

    The hotel manager is always friendly any accommodating. The location is excellent...just off the auto route and in a very pleasant location. A pleasant walk into town along the canal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Surprising hotel find in Rennes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hike up to top floor with my excess baggage

    Back patio relaxation; surprised & taken in by unique decor and special items, almost museum like; breakfast; comfortable pillows; view from top floor room; early check-in; place seems very well managed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Great for a solo traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little dark and the room was quite small, it's also a fair walk into the main party of town. Probably not ideal for families or couples.

    Staff were friendly, and the rooms though small were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    Good accommodation and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was very poor. No other complaints

    Yes quirky is the best way to describe the interior of this property. We liked it but I can see that others might feel it a bit eccentric. There were exhibits of art and memorabilia everywhere in the public area and quite interesting. The room had a separate WC to the shower room. The bed was comfortable. The car park at the rear of the property was large and empty. Took the 15 walk into town where there were numerous bars and restaurants. Had a pleasant stroll along the canal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    I did not have breakfast because I had to leave early but I...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    place was quite clean staff polite and helpful

    I did not have breakfast because I had to leave early but I saw the choice and the quality .I wished I had time to sit and enjoy it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negatives.

    The hotel is very quiet. It's location is excellent for both the auto route and Rennes centre. It is very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.7
    Not the worst I suppose if you absolutely have to go to Rennes
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woken by someone knocking on the door at 7 and again at 8. Place was full of suspicious looking military/police. Close to some sort of security base so used as overflow accommodation for them by the looks of it.

    Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Bubble bath was provided. Close to public transport. Kitsch decor - mannequins dressed as trolley dollies peering out of alcoves, and a playboy themed slot machine in the bar.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money- useful as s stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate area was less attractive than we expected.

    We enjoyed the quirky bar area. If you are prepared to walk about a mile you can find a decent restaurant (trip advisor really helped us).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    great quality bed, extra clean, gret parking nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I like everything because it is a great deal I have stayed here many times

    I have stayed here many times very small rooms great price, fantastic quality of beds very very clean, great parking fairly long walk to city center but a nice walk

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Fine for basic need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't feel welcomed by the staff, as they didn't react with you much; poor soundproof which is the opposite to the description, got waken up serveral time in the night by the heavy door shut, and foot steps from corridor

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    LIKE THE CURATE'S EGG (GOOD IN PARTS)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How can a bar in a French hotel not have: Pastis, Calvados, Cognac, Gin, tonic. We were grudgingly served Vodka orange, with no ice, and told "after this the bar is closed". Sitting outside on a balmy evening we asked for an ashtry and a bucket was supplied! Our final impression was that the hotel had either just opened or it was just about to close.

    Breakfast was good, beautiful croissants and excellent coffee.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.5
    good price for value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, poor wifi connection. The lift is practically antediluvian, it was broken in the morning and I had to carry heavy baggage up and down the 3rd floor before checking out.

    perfect Price for value hotel for a sleepover halfway our trip back home. 5 minutes drive from the city centre, where you can find some affordable nice creperies. Parking lot and a garden in the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    9.6
    Good choice for the trips through Bretagne.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was exellent!

    Quite place,shopping mall and city center aviable by foot.Comfortable and spacious parking(for minibuses too).Dog friendly stuff.The room is attractive decorated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Unusual hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a bit far from the center of the city with no restaurants nearby. Tight shower--you won't be able to pick up the soap if you drop it!

    Quirky hotel with unusual, interesting decorations. Nice to be away from the blandness of the budget hotel chains. Room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    7.1
    Good price-value ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Space
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird atmosphere and decoration, my daughter was afraid of a manikin doll at the end of the corridor and could hardly sleep at night. There was no bread left at breakfast although we went in time.

    Good price-value ratio

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: