Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel & Spa Les Salines by Thalazur 4 stars

6 Allee Fleur De Sel, 56340 Carnac, France

#10 of 15 hotels in Carnac

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 819 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very cramped, old and dirty. Hotel was expensive for what it offered. Facilities are good on paper but are overly busy and not ‘luxurious’ in any way. There is a holiday village which shares the resort. Maintenance of the resort seemed sporadic at best. No way this feels like a 4 star in terms of standards.

    Location was good, car park was good. Fortunately the weather was wonderful so we enjoyed the area - hardly down to the hotel though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many signs of wear for a 4-star hotel, needs repairs (doors peeling apart, water damage to walls). Rooms that have mezzanine upstairs (to sleep 3-4 people) are extremely small, basic, and with a steep staircase - more like 2-3 star quality. Main rooms (1 large bed plus can add 1 single bed) are nice and met expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Salines view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are not so many restaurants closeby ( in a 10 minute walking distance) so having a car helps

    the salines room was incredible with views straight into the salty marshes with a lot of birds. The facilities offered is also great to stay in the hotel in case the weather is bad.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need proper renovation.The spa facilities is fine,but is a lot of kids ,who use the spa for playing grounds.The massage services is so bad,absolutely not professional service.

    nothing really

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is enormous and easy to get lost.

    Staff extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Good rooms and well thought out bathroom although both quite small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I asked for bath robes (which supposedly came with the room) on more than one occasion they didn't arrive. The coffee machine didn't work and the man who came to replace it managed to drop it spilling water all over our shoes. He did fix it though!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main restaurant was disappointing. it was a buffet menu only, and the main course options were limited and not high quality. Also, there was supposed to be continuous service in the lounge/bar, but no-one was there when we wanted coffee mid-morning. The standard rooms are small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Studio room was great with lots of space for us and our 5 year old, loved the bathroom and all the storage space. The spa pool was fabulous. Staff were extremely accommodating and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sadly we left the hotel as we were in a room with really steep stairs which was a really worry with our three year old, no air con because we had a balcony ( the explanation given) so when we opened the windows the room filled with mosquitoes. It was hot and uncomfortable and I had to repeatedly ask for assistance, we checked out 5 days early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not describe how poor and total lack of hygiene it was . I AM SUPER DISAPPOINTED . The rooms are very small and if you choose this hotel is only for the great spa experience that they promise . But please do not try it . It was awful . The bathrooms smells like urine. Everything is old and damaged . I even got a fungus infection after them . I repeat the hotel is good and the fitness area. But the spa is my worst nightmare for a lot of money. And please avoid going with small children that are more likely to catch some infections.

    The worst Spa ever

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A la carte menu was very over priced for what it was. The check-in process was a little muddled as with such a large complex, guests can arrive at one end of the complex and have to move luggage, plus find the reception, which is at the other. Signage was poor. Our selected rooms did not have air conditioning with the temperature in the room +31 degree celcius despite air con controls on the wall! Moved to an older room, clean and comfortable but not the quality originally selected. Overall, slightly disappointed.

    Staff were very friendly. Thalassotherapy centre very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Arrived to find that the room was tiny and at 30 degress with no air conditioning although the website said there was air con when we booked. When we first queried this we were told the hotel didn't have any air con! It took a visit to Reception showing them their website for them to move us into a room with air con. Overall hotel looking tired.

    Property pretty central for the beaches and Yacht Club

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was minuscule - not what we'd experienced here before. the positioning of an overhead cupboard above the frig is an accident waiting to happen! Arriving at what used to be Reception there was no direction as to where to go to check-in. The advice notice was positioned on the 1st Floor!! - staff just shrugged when questioned. It also meant dragging bags etc all the way to front of the now combined hotel only to retrace steps to allocated room. This former Reception area is now open access to all parts with no form of surveillance! You should be aware that the address is not now Allee Fleur de Sel but Avenue de l'Atlantique albeit the approach is currently a construction site!!!

    Pool facilities are very good and well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one seemed very happy, people wore dressing gowns at breakfast which was strange. Breakfast was ok but very expensive

    The spa was great, location great, room nice but small, good view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    starting to look tied around the pool area ,needs some mainatnce,joints opening up .rush showing ,water jets not all water jet holes let water out

    location and the pools

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were expensive. Breakfasts were incredibly busy and I did have to wait a couple of times for more hot food to be brought out. Our family room was tiny. A table and chair would have been nice as there was very little surface area (a narrow shelf along one wall) to put anything. There wasn't even a luggage shelf. The room was also incredibly hot.

    This is a sophisticated hotel with professional staff and great facilities, particularly for families, play equipment & games room including games console. The spa is amazing. Great location. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and very professional staff. Food was excellent and I would recommend the lunch or dinner offer. The barman was great as was the entertainment on the Friday & Saturday we stayed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit squeeze room with two bed room Duplex. Twin is downstairs and full bed is upstair . No bath tub and fridge. No welcome drink even genius member and be mentioned on booking. Free Pool and jag zee was crowded.

    Duplex room with balcony. Nice pond view. Toilet is independent and shower and sink is clean and new.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was completely not in line with the pictures presented in Booking (old, damaged furnitures, I would rate it as poor 3 ***, not at all for the value as it was requested) when I claim the issue the reception said that it is not their issue, but the mistake of booking and that they can not do anything about it... I really do not advise this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a duplex room as originally our daughter was going to be with us but in the end it was just the two of us. When we got to the room we were extremely dissapointed - not only was it very hot, it was vary cramped (nowhere to even put a suitcase), had no aircon and to top it all the balcony had no view at all , apart from rooftops (described as 'Extras in this room include a private balcony with views of the Salines and the Ile aux Oiseaux' in the room description). We went back to reception as explained we were dissapointed and asked if there were other rooms available. Apparently none of the duplex rooms have decent views, all the other rooms with salines views were booked and if we wanted aircon we would have to take a room in the main block with no balcony. Eventually we were offered a junior suite with balcony and garden view, which we took. On the whole the hotel feels like a cross between a sanatorium and a holiday camp - not what you expect for the premium prices that are charged. Our duplex was €300 per night and to be fair they did keep the same for the suite but that should have been €575 (!) and it was nothing more than a large double room to be honest. I stay over 70 nights per year in hotels on business so have a good point of reference, and rooms here are massively overpriced, even accepting the fact it was high season. As with a lot of hotels, breakfast was overpriced at €16 each and the choice was average. Had to queue one day - not enough staff to clear the tables - and we were seated in the bar area where the chairs were filthy (covered in hair).

    The saltwater spa was a nice bonus, easy walk to the seafront, plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms whithout air conditioning , dirty room , electricity going off ..... ecc.....

    beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not cheap

    the dinner every day was different and fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm on arrival and took long time to get bath robes

    Lots of things to do - spa, table tennis. Good design, including duplex room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Village View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air-conditioning and woeful internet speeds.

    Upscale

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    installations, calme

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice if the pools were larger. It was not very busy but the spa pools were still overcrowded. If it was during the height of the season, then it would have been unbearable.

    Wonderful location and nice spa facilities. My husband and I enjoyed lovely massages and a seaweed wrap that was a bit minimal, but still enjoyable. We were very glad it wasn't a very busy time of year. The town of Carnac is absolutely lovely and worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel has become very large and the reception struggles to cope with so many guests.

    the Hotel is ideally located for Carnac and the room was comfortable and clean if a bit small.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Whilst the food was delicious, We would have liked to have seen a wider variety on the menu. Also on the list of facilities it stated packed lunch, we were checking out early and therefore missing breakfast when I enquires if it would be possible to have a 'packed breakfast' we were told sorry no, which was disappointing having already paid for breakfast.

    The fitness suite was very well equipped. The pool complex was excellent and we also enjoyed having the use of the sauna and steam room.relaxing

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many clients , restaurant always full ...even at 9pm we had to wait outside the dining room 20 to 30 minutes then to wait before ordering the meal ....and more ten minutes to eat ! Shortage of staff not of available seats and tables .. The sare case for breakfast , it is the way they manage the hotel to reduce cost .. The spa ! Even kids are allowed to use the premises .so it was full too, and very noisy !!

    Location near the beach but not noisy

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms with parking lot view are a bit noisy because of the ventilation system of the kitchen downstairs. This is a minor thing compared to all the pluses.

    Friendly staff, great location, comfortable beds, very complete bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our original room was dated and very hot, the weather was extremely hot which probably made the room especially hot, we asked for a fan the first night but it didn't help. We finally moved to an air-conditioned room for the next two nights which was much better.

    The area is beautiful, loved the spa, especially the pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great facilities, good little play park and resterant was fine and they did a great job. A little like a retirement village, but lots of space.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Situation à Carnacetaablissement

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa was wonderful but hard to find and assimilate. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was yet to be renovated itself, quite a walk from the main reception

    Great location, recently renovated

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: