Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Saint-Malo Madeleine 3 stars

Avenue du General De Gaulle / Impasse de La Peupleraie, 35400 Saint Malo, France

#40 of 69 hotels in Saint Malo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1395 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to pay extra for even a cup of tea. breakfast charge is a bit expensive and takes the value of the room above the ibis styles which includes breakfast and not as nicely done.

    convenient location and clean, comfortable rooms., staff speak English and are very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were difficult to identify, receptionist constantly going outside for cigarette. Some staff very helpful and pleasant. Signs to hotel not very obvious as hotel is secluded.

    Good beds, quiet location,reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was easy to locate off the main road into the town and is located within the grounds of a retail park. This meant that we were able to visit the shopping mall before heading into the old town to eat. The hotel reception staff were really friendly and were very helpful with regard to directions to local facilities. The self service breakfast buffet offered more than enough variety to set you up before you headed for the ferry. If you don't want to do the 30 minute walk to the old town their is a bus stop by the shopping mall which drops you by the harbor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room keys had to be replac d several times as they stopped working

    Good parking. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Quiet at night. Convenient for getting out of St. Malo. Near very good shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very handy for the port with easy parking. We were disappointed that the restaurant we had dined in a few years ago had closed but we had an excellent meal at the Buffalo Grill next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An electric kettle and small selection of teas/coffee one cup sachets are now available in each room but the cups provided are plastic and collapse with hot water!! So, a nice addition but one that needs a rethink! In addition, Britts need more milk in their tea/coffee than the French.

    A very generous breakfast. A Buffalo Grill next door for supper.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for room change because smelt heavily of smoke. Obviously someone had been smoking as window was ajar and even net curtains stank of tobacco. But reception immediately gave us a change of room. We wonder what would have happened if hotel had been full to capacity. We would have had to go to another hotel at short notice. Perhaps the smoke detection needs a quick review??

    Staff good, parking good, location great and buffalo grill just up stairs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in the Hotel to dislike.

    Very helpfull & friendley staff. Good location for shopping in the hypermarket. Close to the Aquarium. Good varied breakfast available at extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room decor was tired and poorly maintained, holes in furniture from removed fixtures, paint work was poorly touched up, thick dust on the skirtings and the bathroom wasn't cleaned to an acceptable standard. This room was not up to the standards I have experienced with Ibis in the past.

    Convenience of location for the ferry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are functional but small, and there are no tea / coffee making facilities - you have to buy them from the bar. Fine for a one night stay, but not ideal as a holiday destination.

    Great location for the ferries to Channel Islands. Easy to find and great secure parking, only ten minutes to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal Was in a shopping centre Could not find the beach Staff OK but seemed preoccupied Beds and room not ready 18:15 arrival we booked from 15:00 Had to ask for cot twice The hotel seemed under staffed

    Standard Ibis get what it said on the tin

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Having found this ibis was a surprise and will use in future. Free WiFi, free parking, in the le madeleine commercial complex but nice and quiet. Arriving at 1am, along with other people who had arrived from jersey on late boat, was no problem for reception. Cannot praise staff and hotel enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager wasn't very friendly but potentially could have been a language barrier.

    The warm was very warm, the hotel staff try to help in every request.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite a distance from the train station, requiring a 25 minute bus trip. It didn't help that I was misdirected by a helpful local, which meant I got lost finding the place. But all's well that ends well!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location poor, room tiny, no laundry facility, no coffee or tea in room, no secure parking, no English News or channels on TV for foreign travellers. Expensive for what it was. Other Ibis’ are much better!

    Not very much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound proofing in our room on the ground floor wasn't very good as could hear next doors TV.

    The bed, pillows and quilt was comfortable and soft. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say. :) great value for money.

    Very good brekfast, comfortable bed. The hotel itself is very clean and staff speaks English and very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was grim, tiny, badly furnished, not enough lighting so felt oppressive Breakfast ok but expensive Staff not overly friendly

    Pros: comfy beds, parking outside English tv

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paintwork in the room and en suite was very chipped and shabby, and all the scirting boards were extremely dusty.

    Very comfortable and perfect location for us departing the next day from the harbour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floorboards were coming apart in the bedrooms therefore had to be careful you didn't catch your feet in the gaps and the lighting could be a little brighter in the bedrooms

    Beds were comfy and the bathroom a nice size

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but adequate.

    Pet friendly, comfortable and clean with free parking. Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was quiet even though it is next to a motorway and busy shopping complex. Good for when you need to get an early morning ferry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave the Hotel for dinner as in our previous stays they had a buffet on site. We were directed through a back door to a Steak house, very close restaurant but a fast food steak house is not what I wanted as a vegetarian. Extremely disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although rooms are non smoking the room smelt strongly of smoke!!

    Didn't have time for breakfast as arrived late and had to leave early. Bed was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel doesn’t now serve evening meals - so one has to go out the back door and into the Buffalo Grill next door (in teeming rain!) Also due to the storm we had to travel by ferry a day earlier than planned and so we lost our original hotel booking (and lost our money too ! with Booking.com !) PS I have a wife not “partner” !

    Convenience to ferry port as we arrived very late with a huge storm due !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long drive it would be better to have access to a quality “French “ dinner ! The surrounding restaurants were fast food low quality! We did think the hotel lost a trick in not supplying this service as you have a captive clientele who are tired usually after a long drive.

    The ease of parking the ease of access to tea coffee in the foyer .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queueing for buffet breakfast, and having to ask for spoons, bread, croissant,as they had run out, although we did get them after a wait

    Reception was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rubber bath bath shower floor very slippery when shower gel was on the floor. Could easily of slipped over. Only two bath towels no hand towels.

    Bed was comfy, breakfast very good, room clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very far from the centre. Reachable by bus only from 8am to 8pm (working days). The room was described "with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed" but there was only a double bed and no cancellation was accepted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjacent restaurant service level was shocking it took 1:20 hours to receive two plates of fish and chips. Zero road signage in a place where language was not English likewise to get back to the port for the ferry.

    Ease of access

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slippy floor in shower room. Had put the bath mat down on the extension part of the shower that you immediately step out on but when I stepped down onto the main floor I slipped and fell backwards, landing with the middle of my back on the shower step.

    Very convenient for our stopover before getting an early ferry the next morning. Friendly reception staff. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is excellent, if you have transport, you can't walk from the port. there is the Madelaine shopping centre just across the car park, with other shops nearby. We use this hotel quite often as it is great for an overnight stay as the ferry tends to get into St Malo late in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English speaking TV channels i.e. BBC ITV etc did not work at all disappointing and the staff could not fix it.We were offered another room but the TV was the same in there too. The bathroom floor was dangerously slippy when wet easily solved by using a non-slip bath mat for guests. The hotel was difficult to find as you have to drive through a small retail complex off the road to find it. This information would be handy to know when booking.

    The room was exceptionally clean and the bed comfortable. Good shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Receptionist said they had not been advised of our Booking. Print out of it which states Disabled Guest. We booked for four nights, on the first day of stay the room was not serviced until 4pm. The same problem on the second day. Once again had to find staff at 4:30pm The lesson must be to stay for only one night only.

    situation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast here was a rip off not enough food out for the amount of people .my wife and I only got abowl of fruit everything was gone it cost 19.40 euros for that they did not keep an eye on things I went and complained to reception who went to sort it out food did come but we had to leave by the time it got there so not impressed with this ibis for breakfast but rest excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly welcome, great staff, fab breakfast, near to motorway and the beautiful walled town of St. Malo with its fabulous shops, amazing restaurants and stunning views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle/coffee/tea, which would have been nice, as we arrived at 10pm and left at 6.45am and had no drink until we got on the ferry at 7.45!

    It was clean, tidy, quiet (even though busy), staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not realise that the restaurant in the hotel no longer exists- just used for breakfast now. We were directed to the Buffalo Grill next door, which can be reached partly via the hotel ground floor. The food there was good and reasonably priced but it is a steakhouse/burger joint and may not be to everyone's taste.

    Stayed here before but not for a few years. easy to get to the ferry port the next morning. Clean and comfortable room, but a bit cramped. Breakfast was good.The male receptionist on the desk when we checked in was friendly and helpful. The 2 females on duty the next morning ignored us, apart from a quiet thank-you when we dropped the key in the box on the desk. The staff member on duty in the breakfast area was bright and chirpy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cool room, we were unable to increase the temperature of the room. The receptionist said that the temperature was controlled centrally and could only suggest that we turn off the fan in the room. This made little difference.

    Pillows and bed were very good. Receptionist friendly and for those who do not speak French, he had excellent English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    leaving

    We use La Madeleine as night stop or 2 night stop it is in a good location clean, and staff are great Rooms are painted dark colour could do to be a lot brighter

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was bad and also had to be ordered in person from reception and then collected in person from reception... How on earth is that room service?! The staff acted as if they didn't really care. The breakfast was ok I guess but nothing to write home about. The location was a massive pain. Had to taxi to and from the centre and there are hardy any taxi's in Saint-Malo. Often there would just be an automated message saying all their taxis were busy. The beds were clean but not comfortable and the rooms were small and dark and very poorly illuminated. I like a little space to put down my yoga mat in the morning... Not a chance... Had to walk sideways to get into the right hand side of the bed. The shower was mediocre and the toilet paper was very thin so be careful of your seafood.

    they provided gluten free bakery products and there is a free table football table which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking .com telling us only one room left,when in fact everyday there is still rooms available.. We had to cancel a booking at ibis st malo centre,because the appointment brought forward,this means we lost our money,even though we has rebooked a different ibis. Will be carefull next time i book

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all, everything was excellent including the light meal we had in the hotels own restaurant.

    Used for travelling to St Malo ferry but would definitely use again to tour for a few days around the area. Gentleman on reception very helpful when we asked about transport into town for a future visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communication between booking.com and the hotel. The phone call 2 days before we arrived to tell us they couldn't accommodate us in one room and having to pay for another adjoining room was bad service seeing we had booked 9 months before. However, staff were nice and rooms turned out fine.

    The hotel was basic but clean and had everything you expect from a ibis. Parking outside was good and close to the rooms. It is next to a Buffalo grill which is good and reasonable priced so not far to get dinner with kids and next to a big hyper market for stocking up on goodies. The location was ok for a night or two but I would't stay for longer as it is in a commercial area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nespresso machine in the room, refreshing moist towelettes on arrival to the room, very clean, bathrobes provided, great location for St Malo ferry port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit on small size but only an overnight stop

    A good night's sleep in aircon in a busy hotel. Cracking breakfast too. All in all a good value stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is near a shuttlebus parking spot but pretty far away from the historic centre of Saint Malo. The parking spot is cheap and you have a free shuttle bus service every 20 minutes. The reception of Ibis informed us about it.

    The breakfast was great, it was 9.90 euros per person all you can eat. There was enough food to choose from and all delicious! Breakfast was between 6am and 10am. Friendly service!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed to see their was no free coffee available. We were told at the desk that we could have a coffee in the morning. But when we went down in the morning we were told we would have to pay for one! Which we didn't agree with but at the time said nothing. We have used ibis hotels for a few years and have never had this happen before. We were very disappointed and would think twice when booking our next trip.

    The rooms were very good clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location, close to shops but a little out of the main centre. Very comfortable bed, good shower and helpful staff. Free parking facilities on site and value for money. We intend staying there again on our return journey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our satnav wasn't working properly so we had difficulty finding the hotel whereby I phoned the receptionist at the hotel who couldn't understand me and hung up. The breakfast was poor and more like a smash and grab with too many people trying to help themselves.

    The convenience to the centre of St Malo and the car parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dark colour scheme in the rooms is not everyone's cup of tea, but on balance it makes for a cosy space. The rooms are reminiscent of a cabin on a ship, so think 'compact and bijou' - great for a night or two, max. Some in our party thought the wardrobe space was insufficient - but, see above.

    Staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. There was plenty of choice at the self-service breakfast bar. Situated on a retail park, it's not to everyone's taste I suspect, but if you, like us, just need a place to put your head down the night before taking an early morning ferry crossing, it's ideal (we actually liked having a supermarket near by). Direct and frequent bus service into Saint Malo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not realise booking wrong day should have been the 11th august did not realise date was still on 10th actually booked in at desk on the 11th told date was day before so have paid twice need money back for the 10th

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good, quick check in and friendly staff. Room nice size and comfortable. So close to the shopping mall and nice steak house just outside. Very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some info on local public transport to St Malo town.

    Great for an overnight stay to catch the morning boat. Buffalo Grill upstairs is good also. Good shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not fault this hotel at all

    Bed comfortable basic room.and English TV and wonderful location for Ferry Crossing back to England also the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have time to enjoy a breakfast but that was our fault!!

    The room was clean and had plenty of plug sockets to recharge electronic equipment. The bed was comfortable and the pillows reasonable. Most importantly the parking for our vintage vehicle was spacious and reasonably secure, and we were able to leave the car out of sight from the surrounding area!! The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in room needed instructions, and the choice of drinks to go with it wasn' t great. A kettle would of been just fine!

    Really handy for the ferry port, and the free upgrade made for a lovely end to our break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot. Somewhat dubious about the cleanliness of the bathroom. And although I didn't use it, the breakfast area looked rather tired.

    Comfy beds, very friendly and welcoming staff. Great location close to port for ferry the next morning. Liked being able to park right outside the room as we left a lot of luggage in the boot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like? We've used Accor group for toing and froing for France for 30 plus years. We're members of Le Club Accor and still book through Booking com.

    No restaurant, used local Buffalo, which was novel and good.IBIS breakfast was fine. Handy for a huge shopping centre ( La Madelaine). Hotel provided a route map to Brittany Ferries , 10 minutes easy drive. Staff and accommodation well up to IBIS standards and therefore good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very little not to like, most of the staff very friendly and helpful, one grouse about the tv the BBC reception is awful

    self service breakfast offers a fair range of continental foods, we stay quite often as it is close to ferry the rooms can be on the small side, last stay was in new wing and a superior room, lovely room, much more space, had a wet room, and small terrace, a god room for a longer stay, A/C, ground floor, very quiet, access with simple and close to a shopping area, major roads are easily accessed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Simple but clean, comfortable, and more than adequate as a single night stop-over before heading over to Jersey on the ferry - the Port and old town are only a 5-10 minute drive away. While located in, and at the edge of, a commercial/shopping precinct, you don't notice, and in fact, the shopping precinct gives you easy access to quick provisions, eats, and shopping if you want it. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a distinct smell when we entered the reception area, a sort of toilet smell and the room also smelt a little bit stale. This was so different from our first visit just days earlier, so we don't know if the smells were isolated to just that day....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed , quiet , good location for the ferry , less than 10 minutes to the old port of St Malo a hive of restaurants and bars to suit all tastes .met

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal - service and food preparation not good. Thought we were very poor relations to 2 large groups of diners. Room nicely designed and appointed but not a lot of space for movement

    Fresh Produce, good variety, good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had golf bags and whilst the reception staff took them off us it was a problem for them to store them. They informed us that we should take them to the room-that would not have been a problem but in all honesty it just about managed to cope with two adults and luggage. Cutlery in the restaurant could have been cleaner and perhaps some scrambled egg would have been a good alternative

    keen to help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast arrangements couldn't cope with 2 coach loads of people all wanting to access the buffet at once. Other visitors like us struggled to get served!

    Location for our journey the next day. Easy to find and the hotel is reasonably comfortable for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    it used to have restaurant facilities but unless we travel miles the buffalo grill is the only alternative and the food is limiting the continental breakfast is good

    comfortable bed, good sized shower and air conditioning which was very efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above. Also I booked this hotel with Booking.com some 6 weeks ago had to cancel because of a ferry change and sadly and sadly was not able to use that booking for Ibis Saintes the following night so booked direct with the hotel.

    Comfortable bed in clean condition with excellent bathroom facilities. I was disappointed not to get an evening meal in the hotel and sadly their credit card machine was out of order at check out. Otherwise everything you anticipate at an Ibis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were compact.we only had very small suit cases ,very little space to put big ones .

    The breakfast was ok .And the main thing was on site parking .And convenient for the port .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be handy if they put a kettle in the room as the only way to get a drink is to go down into the bar or lounge and get a drink from the vending machine.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfy and we got a good nights sleep. The hotel was quite busy but was also very quiet considering, and we had a good 1 night stay. Its very handy for the ferry to Britain as its only about 5 minutes drive from the Brittany ferry port, and we would have no hesitation to book it again when traveling into France. The breakfast is of the usual French good quality of bread, cakes, jams,fruit,eggs, meats, etc etc. and there is an abundance of it so you can eat as much or as little as you want.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms

    Very easy to find great access to shops, children loved free table football game and uk tv (cable) lots of parking very well well lit, staff spoke English

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have visited the hotel in the past and returned the last time because of the bar and restaurant being in the hotel. I was very disappointed this time to find that the restaurant has gone and I had to visit a local restaurant chain to have my dinner. This was not a restaurant that I would generally visit and I would never go there again. I will not be using this hotel again because of the lack of restaurant facilities, which is a great pity, but having a good meal is a very important part of my travelling experience.

    The location to the ferry port. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were warm (march).

    Great rooms and disabled access. On site food great, staff excellent and plenty of free parking. Near shopping centre and only about 2km to main town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like the fact that you have to pay for your breakfast. Compared to other hotels i would t recommend guest to take breakfast at all.

    The bed was extremely comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location too far out from St Malo town and very few things of interest near it other than a massive shopping mall.

    Comfortable quiet room, breakfast good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold. The hotel temperature was pre-set at a low setting which could not be changed, even when you change it on the aircon the temperature stays set at what the hotel management set. Cold tiles for flooring made it even colder. The hotel staff were helpful and let us change rooms but it wasn't much warmer. Good hotel, but I would avoid during cold winter months

    Good location, next to a big shopping centre. Nice staff

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: