Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Timhotel Chartres Cathédrale 4 stars

6 Et 8, Avenue Jehan-De-Beauce, 28000 Chartres, France

#16 of 22 hotels in Chartres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1169 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    4.6
    Location, close to the cathedral
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated hotel, rooms very 70’s and basic. Not worth paying extra for the view when the room is completely underwhelming. Breakfast over priced. Would not recommend, the best western is much better value

    Location, close to the cathedral

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    5.8
    Very central but outdated and impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture and decoration is pretty outrun as is the bathroom. Very impersonal hotel. The intire stuff leaves at 9.00. After that the guest are on their own. I wouldn't realy mind, if the main entrance doors was closed. But the doors doesn't look properly, a sign at the door says: "close ist properly". The fact both time a returned at night, the door was open. To enter the main entrance you have to squeeze your luggage between the chairs and guests of the outdoor restaurant. Our room neighbour was pritty out of mind and having a heavy argument in his room while the door was open and we had to pass. I can handle this no problem, but I personally thing stuff should handle it not the guests. Moreover we got charged two rooms instead of one. This probably because the booking.com system blocked while a was booking. We only used one room but they refuse to repay the other one and replied with a impersonal standard phrase. That's no nice experience.

    The location is very central and only a few steps from the cathedral. Good and cheap breakfast and coffee. Good size of the room and the bed ist large enough for two. The staff is very friendly, if there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    6.7
    Good location and a place to sleep while seeing that great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor all a bit dismal and having to pay for parking- but parking (if you get in) is good

    Good location and a place to sleep while seeing that great cathedral icon

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel was perfect, very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was perfect, very close to the train station also from the center of the city and the splendid cathedral. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rioms were very clean and arranged. The only small issue was that the lumination wasn’t enough but not a big deal. Great experience :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.2
    Overall a comfortable overnight stay in this hotel, very convenient to see the cathedral and the his
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be improved, there wasn’t adequate bread and hot food available to meet the number of guests staying in the hotel.

    Good location, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Once there , very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find due to a no entry sign off the main road that does not say Hotel access only , plus when phoning the staff seem not to be able to give good instructions as to where they were !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay for the night with a great location in Chartres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was more than adequate for a one-night stay in Chartres. They gave us a room with a lovely view of the cathedral, accommodating my request for a nice room to celebrate our anniversary! The breakfast included everything that we wanted - eggs, meat, cereal and croissants. The parking was very convenient, literally outside the back door in a lot that was locked during the night. If we were to return to Chartres, we would definitely stay here again. It was less than a five-minute walk to the cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for exploring Chartes, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better selection of TV programmes especially sport.

    Excellent location for cathedral,restaurants,train station. Staff are welcoming. Good safe car park. Comfortable rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    It was Ok but a very comfortable bed and good views from room. Price was far to high in relation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure that advertising a room with garden view would normally include the car park . The seperate toilet is a good idea but the seat does not stay up on its own ( useful for gentlemen !) The toilet paper was very cheap and nasty and the bath far too deep for easy access if older and less mobile . Breakfast was very poor for cost - tables by the wall cramped - no milk seemed to be available . fruit juice machine was not working .

    Bed was very cpmfortable - the view of the floodlit cathedral was outstanding at night - on site parking excellent once we found the way in via having to go the wrong way down a one way street. Needs clarifying that the hotel guest has right of access to the street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning on the first night made the room a bit cold and it was also noisy. Thankfully it was turned off the next night.

    Didn't try the breakfast as it was very expensive for what was on offer. beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable, great for seeing the Chartre lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet outside the bathroom was a bit water damaged (some long time ago), apart from that it was a typical hotel room in the centre of a popular town.

    The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the Cathederal, and most especially for returning from viewing the illuminated buildings at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    V central, could see the Cathedral from our window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V central, could see the Cathedral from our window. Good breakfast. Needed somewhere safe for our bikes - we were able to lock them up in the hotels underground gated car park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but the room and hotel was very dated and drab.

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The location was great to access the Cathedral and light show.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    It served its purpose for an overnight stay on a long journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor lighting in the stairwells. Also, I had to fix the toilet seat which was falling off and hang the curtains that were hanging off.

    location and comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.5
    Not a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning only on in afternoon. Scraping of chairs, person in toilet, footsteps all from kitchen dining room reception below. Breakfast was mean and cheap with awful coffee. Big tour group making huge noise

    Secure parking. Easy walk to centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A great base for seeing the sights of Chartres, very central with secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast had a lot of choice but was a bit ordinary for the price.

    The central location and secure parking were great features. The room was spacious clean and comfortable with a view of the Cathedral. The tea / coffee facilities and the mini bar were a nice bonus. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    This is a central hotel with car parking and stunning views...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a central hotel with car parking and stunning views of the cathedral from some rooms (well worth paying the extra for 3rd floor executive rooms) and the historic centre of Chartres is just a short stroll away. Very good atmosphere around this hotel and the staff were friendly, professional and spoke good English too! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.0
    Perfect location for staying in Chartres but disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with a revamp-looking bit tired, bathrooms very basic and again could do with modernising, breakfast was very basic very little choice, hotel and rooms didn't feel terribly clean-think that has a lot to do with old carpets and old fixtures and fittings.

    Perfect location, great secure parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    the location was the most important and this was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    better newer beds

    The room was a nice size. The buffet breakfast had real brewed coffee instead of from a machine and the chocolate croissants were fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    very good hotel, comfortable and spacious room, tasty breakfast, nice stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean. It's a very good hotel with comfortable and spacious rooms, a tasty breakfast, nice stuff. The young pretty lady behind the desk was very helpful. A few minutes to walk to the cathedral and the centre of the city. A view to the cathedral of the hotel room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast food was poor... but cold buffet nice. No mini bar but bar downstairs needed to ask for more pillows... paper cups in room for tea but no milk and bath towels that a little too small. You really paying for location

    Good staff....fabulous little town with stunning cathedral. Cant get dinner till 7pm. Perhaps a late lunch and buy some food to eat in room for supper. Well worth stopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Parking, position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not four star hotel standard. Desk lamp not working because no power supply. Electric points hidden just below desktop. Only next morning I discovered where to charge my phone.

    Parking, position.near cathedral. Value for price I paid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible value for money. Very dangerous getting in and out of the shower, massive step down. No real wardrobe or doors on it, could see the toilet waste pipe in the bedroom. No adjustment on the AC. The whole place could do with make over.

    Location. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    We did not feel this hotel was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the room were worn and badly stained. The view from the window was virtually non existent. The breakfast was very poor and we decided not to take this option when we saw he lack of variety on offer.

    Near the centre. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The car park was secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    I'll probably stay here again. No complaints!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to others we stayed at during a five day tour, the breakfast was a little expensive.

    Nice, clean, comfortable room with tea/coffee making equipment. The hotel is in a good location to walk into the town and cathedral areas and I'd strongly recommend seeing the seasonal light show at the major buildings each night! We found a good deal for the one night stay and have no complaints at all about the staff, the hotel environment or the room itself. The car park is safe and secure, and overall i thought this was nice hotel and I'll probably stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Bry's review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very tired hotel, in need of a refresh. The breakfast was extremely poor for the price we paid and as it was a continatel one, well we've had far better in England!! The public areas could have done with air conditioning.

    The bed was lovely, big and comfortable. The bedroom air conditioning was a massive plus during our hot wether stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean comfortable room, good breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable room, good breakfast and helpful staff. Hotel car park very good and worth the extra payment. Very near the centre and local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Was a perfect stopover point on the journey to Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and hotel are located in what appears to be a street with access for buses only, but it is open for access to property so don't worry.

    This hotel is good quality in a super town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the payment for parking is a bit high for guests.

    Staff was very nice. Location is excellent, walk easily to the Cathedral. Parking in a protected gated location. Breakfast good. We checked out at 11a but wanted to stay in the city several more hours and they had no problem with letting our car stay in the parking g lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced, basic hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is definitely NOT a 4 star hotel by any criteria--obviously self-rated! Gloomy corridors and dated decor. The room was quite comfortable but basic; breakfast was adequate but items not topped up when running low or finished. The price was much higher than it should have been, given the overall quality and standard of the property.

    Very convenient to the railway station and also to the Cathedral. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Chartres was all I had hoped...the Cathedral is spectacular...Friday I walked the labyrinth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked for a view of Chartres Cathedral and I had the best view. We could watch the illumination each night from our bed. Everything we wanted was within walking distance. We parked the car in the secure car park and that is where it stayed till we left. Chartres is a beautiful city and we were fortunate to have picked the weekend of the Chartres 1254 Celebrations. An added bonus. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and on the only wet night we were able to get Room Service from the local Italian restaurant. We will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay close to the sights of Chartres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cosy but had everything we needed and bed was comfortable.

    Great location, very central. Good safe car parking and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Spoilt by a lack of information and refurbishment work
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here many times. Information on Booking.com stated that parking was limited due to works so I sent as special request to confirm that we had a small dog and that we required a parking space. We did not receive a reply. When we arrived there was no parking at all. The whole car park was under refurbishment and we had to use a public car park. The Hotel stated that they had sent a message via Booking.com. So far, despite correspondence, it has been impossible to find out from Booking.com what actually happened. There is also major refurbishment being carried out to the old cinema attached next door and we were awoken at 8am by jack hammers. It seems this work will continue for a number of months.

    location is good, and staff pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms - both non-smoking. On arrival one "non-smoking" room stank like an old ashtray. Surprised that this wasn't reported when it was cleaned from previous occupants. Reception did provide a suitable alternative - and odour free room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Made to feel very welcome ,facilities and breakfast and position very good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    ALl the staff were excellent,the receptionist who greeted me on arrival ,was extremely friendly and helpful,which is important when travelling alone . All was clean and comfortable great position for Cathedral,breakfast was also good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The perfect location to break a journey and see Chartres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilets in the rooms are separate from the bathrooms and a little cramped and smelly.

    Location is excellent. The staff were wonderful - assisting with parking, delivering baby cots and even plating up delivery pizza! Generally couldn't;t do more for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Very low 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking unavailable. Bad scramble eggs and bacon. Poor breakfast. In general, dated accommodations.

    Excelente location. Only 450 m if you want to visite the cathedral.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Happy enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was cool and the hot water system broke down so there were no showers or baths or even warm water for basic washing. One of those things and we don't blame the hotel. Asked that we might have a free breakfast to compensate and were granted that favour, plus a personal apology from the manager who lived in Paris and made a generous offer should we return.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    A great Hotel to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only unfortunate thing was the failure of the hot water on our morning of departure. We took it as a one time event and moved on.

    The room was spacious, comfortable, warm and well maintained, with modern features. Bonus was a full view of the Cathedral from our window, the night view was splendid. Staff were always pleasant and helpful. The hotel is ideally situated for the Cathedral and the medieval town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is well-located in the centre of the city near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked it because of the availability of parking but, some weeks after the booking was made we were told that the parking was unavailable owing to road works. Too late to cancel and the "road works" appeared to be on the hotel site rather than the road itself. Possibly pre-planned and therefore known to the hotel at the time of booking. A minor deception if so!

    The hotel is well-located in the centre of the city near to the Cathedral and other attractions. The staff were efficient and friendly. The road has restricted access to through traffic so it was easy to unload the car.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    I was very disappointed with this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed with this place. The only good thing about it was the location. Everything else was way below what I expected, considering it cost €106 for 1 night's stay. The place is very shabby and is long overdue a makeover. The carpet was stained and frayed, the walls were scuffed and dirty looking, the veneer was peeling off the doors. I was shocked by the state of the place. The shower door had no seal on the end of it so wouldn't stay in place, so when I had a shower the entire bathroom was soaked. There was mildew on the tiles too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    An ideal place from which to enjoy Chartres and its wonderful cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the corridor was inadequate, causing me to stumble and fall down two steps. Nothing to do with the hotel, but we advise not to travel by train in France on a Sunday. We had a nightmare journey from Paris as the published timetables were completely incorrect!

    The hotel was welcoming and comfortable and ideally situated between the station and the cathedral. The view of the cathedral was superb. When we reported that the bath plug had jammed shut in the first room we were moved without any problem to an even better room for our second night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - Garden and Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view to the cathedral, the light concept in the room with really good reading lights, the separation of the toilet from the bathroom....The not expensiv parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.8
    Shabby Chartres
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, very stuffy, uncomfortable and smelly.

    The location was convenient.we had to change one room because the carpet was so disgusting and it smelled. The front desk did this immediately and was very accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Generally good hotel for the price and conveniently near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally good hotel for the price and conveniently near the train station and city centre. Very quiet and nice view to the cathedral from the hotel room. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge was welcoming and helped us schedule our stay.An incredible breakfast was laid out. We thought it was yogurt, cheeses, fruit,breads, butter, little crepes, ham, croissants, cereals but then discovered another section with bacon, scrambled eggs, juices,milk, and beverages. Wow! Liked the art in the hallways.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    A great location with helpful staff but needs greater modernisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was incredibly slow and did not allow two devices to operate at the same time on one account. The cooling system - it was unseasonably hot in October- was ineffective.

    The location is excellent and the on-site parking great. The breakfast was good too with a good range of food. The view of the cathedral was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Central location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room felt a little dated and had an unimpressive view of the car park,

    Comfortable and welcoming hotel with easy parking (paid for) in the middle of town behind an electric gate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location. I could walk there easily with my luggage from the train station and it was also very close to the Cathedral. My room was quiet as well and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and a real try to please attitude from the manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The manager was very charismatic and charming and could not do enough for us. Gave us a room upgrade facing the cathedral. Waived the 8€ parking for the three days we were there. Breakfast and location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Genuinely friendly staff, excellent facilities, close to the cathedra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ignore the do not enter sign if you are parking at the hotel

    Genuinely friendly staff, excellent facilities, close to the cathedral, excellent breakfast, parking available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    A dark and tired hotel near the cathedral, good staff but not a four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dark. Red like a cinema in public areas. Around hotel was drunkem / intoxicated people laying on the pavement. We chose the executive room with a view of the cathedral but most of the view was of the car park

    The best part was leaving The staff were friendly You can walk into town Private parking (cost 8 euro a day)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.5
    Charming, comfortable and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but the traffic in Chartres on Friday evening was horrendous with some rather complicated road layouts - avoid rush hour!

    All the staff, without exception were extremely welcoming and helpful. A credit to the recruitment process and training. Our room (313)was a very good size for a city centre hotel in France and we'd a delightful view of the cathedral. Excellent water pressure in the shower, and bathrobes, slippers and lots of fluffy towels were provided. Bed linen was excellent and the bed itself was exceptionally comfortable. Only minor gripe is that although advertised there isn't a minibar in the room and I was looking forward to a quick G&T on arrival having just driven 450 miles from the South of France. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, comfort and, above all, fantastic staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room, Garden & Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is centrally placed and just a few minutes walk from the cathedral. The road it is on was marked as closed (except for buses, taxis etc & access). In heavy traffic this throws you a bit, but you can drive up to the hotel. There is secure parking to the rear (through an electrically opened gate) and a garage. The room was clean and a decent size. We had a view of the cathedral. The room was clean and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the usual continental buffet. We used a nearby restaurant at the recommendation of the staff and were very pleased.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    "Corporate" style hotel, close to the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was very spread out and we had to wander from table to table to find glasses, cutlery etc. 24 hour reception, but couldn't really see where the four stars were earned. Room quite small.

    Excellent location, very close to the centre, though a little tricky to find. Nice view of cathedral from window.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in very central location for seeing the sights of Chatres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra to park the car in their carpark

    Great location and staff very helpful. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on food. Good sized clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.9
    For a 4 star hotel this was not even 2 star, would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    advertised sound proof rooms but could hear next door snoring and water running. Bathroom was dirty and stained and bath too high for climbing in shower for anyone aged over 50. Pillows lumpy. Hotel appeared tired and dirty (both room, reception and stairs. Stains on carpet). Problems with door entry key card which did not work. I had to go to reception twice for them to reprogramme it. Little room to move around in room. There was a desk and chair but couldn't pull out the chair. Only 5 coat hangers and no door on wardrobe. Parking advertised as on site but no mention that it cost 8 euros per night. Tea facilities in room but no milk even when asked at reception. All in all not worth the money and would definitely not stay there again or recommend to my friends. Also difficult to find, instructions to drive the wrong way down a one way street to find the parking were not clear. No view of the cathedral as advertised. Breakfast looked most unappetising, especially for 13.50 euros each. In fact we left and went to a local boulangerie.

    It was in the centre of the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful and the parking off road in locked car park reassuring. Cathedral is in walking distance. The extra cost of breakfast wasn't clear when reserving with you but the cost was reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient for station, comfortable room, some noise.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy neighbours, walls quite thin. And as room was above restaurant, early noises as chairs being moved around... breakfast started at 0630. Bit akward to get into shower in the bath, slip danger.

    Comfortable clean room.Excellent secure car parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Okay for a one night stop over on long journey - we will try another hotel their next time however.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were worn tatty and even covered over in areas in hallway and in room . Bed was not comfortable aircon broken. Didn't have its own restaurant so we had to eat out.

    We could have our dog with us (they charged extra for this however) and the location was very central they had their own parking (again they charged for it)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable accommodation (if a little tired), parking a bit of a pain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a pain - emailed ahead to reserve parking, but in reality a free-for-all - ended up in a very tight space where we could hardly open the car doors. However, at least it was secure. Breakfast seemed very over priced for what was on offer, so we skipped this. Cheaper options nearby.

    Great location, comfortable beds, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Great location, value and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had three people in the room but only 2 cups so we had to take it in turns to have coffee. Not too keen on the recycling being done at around 5.30am but I appreciate that these things need to be done.

    Wonderful comfortable room for three people (my daughter is 17 so classed as an adult) so we all had plenty of room. The view was brilliant from our room and the highlight was the view. The weather was good so we slept with the window open which was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Beds great, night reception great, everything else poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the manner in which breakfast was held. We firstly had it in the room which was great albeit very expensive for what it was, on the second morning we went down to the breakfast room where a buffet was provided but I had to prompt them to supply the basics, "what no croissants?". On the third day when we arrived at the breakfast buffet there wasn't a table set and bearing in mind how poor the breakfast had been the previous day we decided to forego breakfast and get it en route. Cheaper too. ANOTHER MAJOR problem which they did not address is the fact that our room had been left with the door slightly ajar for both days of our stay, this was down to the cleaning staff, I can't see the point in having keys if they think this is okay, my car was more secure than my room.

    The location of the hotel is great, very close to the cathedral. Parking was ideal and safe although charged at 8 euros a day. The beds and pillows were excellent, the room was large enough for 3 people and the patio doors provided fresh air even though the aircon was available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing the car park / hotel by car can be tricky - you need to ignore the no entry road signs and drive up to the hotel to get in! Once discovered not a problem.

    Comfortable hotel just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town and the wonderful cathedral. Restaurants, shops etc all very close by. Large and secure car park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Very good hotel for location & comfort all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no English speaking channels to watch on the TV and there was no cupboard to store clothes

    We liked the large room, the separate loo from bathroom, the view from room, the air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent accessibility for young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the hotel itself, excellent accessibility for young children/pushchairs with the elevator. Check in and check out was seamless with friendly, helpful staff who were happy to recommend somewhere to eat. The spectacular view out the window to the cathedral was an unexpected and pleasant surprise. The hotel was a short walk (also pushchair friendly) to the cathedral and old town, both of which were amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    Shame....but on reflection not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Double Room, Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A supposedly 4* hotel that had run out of white wine!!! Hot breakfast (bacon and scrambled eggs) was inedible. Cold option was fine. Finding an extra cost for parking on what I already consider was a pricey deal on checkout just about summed up our stay.

    Slept well. 2 minute walk to cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.0
    Great location , parking (8 Eur) was Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast (13.5 Eur) was dull and over priced as was the room at 160 Euro which set high expectations but it's really only worth half that at best.

    Great location , parking (8 Eur) was Excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Nice hotel close to the historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superieure Twin Room - Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, one downer is that (our TomTom) sat nav said go down the street where the hotel is located, but it is now busses only on the down direction and you have to figure out how to get round the block

    Very close to the historic centre Friendly staff Good breakfast selection On site parking Chartres cathedral and the light shows, also on a lot of buildings are brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay in Chartres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room - Garden and Cathedrale View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked an executive room with cathedral and garden view. We had a good view of the cathedral and car park. We would have preferred two twin beds as booked. Instead we got a double and a single bed which made the room less spacious and the single bed was against a wall which made it less comfortable. The WC was tiny and would not be suitable for overweight people. The basin needs replacing. You have to pay extra to use the safe. The breakfast area looked dark and unattractive and at 13.50 euros breakfast is expensive. There are several cafes nearby which are better value.

    The hotel is conveniently located for exploring Chartres, and there is plenty of secure parking. Some rooms have good views of the cathedral. The bed linen was very good quality. The staff are pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Cathedral view. Very comfortable. Good AC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice older room in a great location, near the train station and cathedral. My room had a view of the cathedral and I could see the light show (but go to the square for the full effect - it is so worth it!). Nice to have a fridge. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Beware of No entry sign!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Satnav told us we had arrived yet we couldn't see any signage for the Hotel. The street it is on has a No Entry sign in a very busy area. We got very stressed trying to find the hotel and had to park in the Town in the end and saw the hotel on a map of the Town thankfully then walked to it!

    Walking distance to Chartres Cathedral and all facilities. The underground carpark

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was firm and pillow not comfortable. The shower was very unusual and difficult to use, and not really suitable for a hotel where different people are using it all the time.

    The room was large enough and quiet and had a small fridge and facility to make hot drinks. Breakfast was okay. Parking was secure. The hotel was situated close to the cathedral and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Chartre; what a great surprise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little complicated to get to the hotel due to the type of settings on the car's GPS, but the police were very kind helping us to get there.

    The Hotel was right in the center on town, and a few minutes (3) from the famous cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the parking was excellent, clearer directions on how to get into the car park would be good as the road the hotel is on is closed for non residents.

    good hotel in an excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: