Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inter-Hotel Caen De France 3 stars

10, rue de La Gare, 14000 Caen, France

#23 of 63 hotels in Caen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a little trouble seeing the hotel while driving and there was no where to pull off the road to unload luggage, but we were able to stop in the street.

    It was in an excellent location for touring the WWII sites and the hotel itself was perfectly adequate and quiet. The breakfast was the usual array of pastries, meat, and cheese, with an excellent coffee machine. Notably, we could have had breakfast at 4 am if we had wanted to. The staff were particularly helpful. The young man at night directed us to the perfect locations for Belgian beers and snacks within a short walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room a bit on the small side but fine for one night. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

    Friendly & very helpful staff,. Hotel very clean . Good secure psrking.on site. Value for money. 15 minute walk into the historic area of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was saggy, the room looked over a noisy motorbike sales/repair shop and there were people taking test drives all day long. The bathroom was clean, but the toilet seat was loose and when I asked for a repair, it was promptly fastened tight at a strange angle. The bathroom lightswitch was wonky and the bathroom lights dim. The carpet is getting visibly worn in spots and it was all just overpriced for the value. I requested a smaller room at a lower price, but that was their lowest price. I should have found and moved to a different hotel, but this solo senior lady traveler was tired and not up to doing that, instead of exploring the area and learning its history. I had to stay in the Caen area, due to connecting plans later in the week. The receptionists were great, except for one woman with morning duty, who was not friendly at all. The younger man and woman were so sweet and helpful to a non-French speaker. They were rays of sunshine and made my day. It was located in not the best neighborhood, but that is normal for being close to the train station. I had no problems, but was not out at night. There is a wonderful boulangerie two doors down, so I got my own breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all!

    Excellent staff at this very comfortable hotel. Our room was spacious & quiet & the hotel has on site parking which is a bonus. The car park is locked at night which means your car is secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not everyone can park on site. Parking is limited. I didn't find it that easy to find, but that may have been my fault.

    Nice staff, nice room and we could park on site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was very small but water pressure in the shower was good.

    Easy walking distance from the train station and quick walk to city center. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was well-appointed, I'm glad that they served hard-boiled eggs along with fresh baguette and cheese.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked BBC News on TV and tea and coffee facilities in room.

    My second stay here. Excellent location with numerous bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. Town centre only 10 min walk. Comfortable beds and a very good breakfast selection to choose from. Friendly and welcoming staff who could speak English . Free use of garage for our motorcycles. Would highly recommend as a base for a motorcycle tour of Normandy. All D-Day Beaches and museums within 1 hour of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Comfortable and convenient to everything and the staff were extremely helpful with Advice on local tours, they spoke good English, and it is very close to the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We picked this hotel because we could walk with suitcases from the train station, and then to the car rental next morning. Quiet room at the back, very clean, excellent variety of breakfast food. We also walked to a restaurant at the "port" on the river and had a fabulous meal at Casserole & Bouchons.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating /cooling system did not work properly and the room was nearly 30degrees We had to open the window which meant it was loud. Price a little high

    Location was great and staff very friendly ! Shower hot and good pressure

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We do like tea and coffee making facilities in the room and that was the only thing missing - it is also missing in many European hotels/motels.

    Central location - close to the station. Great staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was what I expected, so nothing in particular.

    Given I can't speak French, I found the people on the front desk very patient and friendly. There was someone there late in the evening, the room was small but clean with all the necessities. The hotel is very close to the train station (and various car rentals - I used Avis which was really good) and within walking distance of the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first floor room windows opened onto the street.

    The hotel is in an excellent location close to the rail station and downtownrestaurants and the staff went the extra effort to provide for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor room meant that it was not possible to have the window open.

    Helpful and pleasant staff. The hotel location is close to the train station and downtown restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil.

    Great Hotel , located next to a shopping mall with a good selection of restaurants and bars. Secure off road parking , staff very helpful and informative , good size family room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small thing but a box of facial tissues would have been nice. Air conditioning did not work - fan was blowing but room did not get cooler.

    Friendly staff. We managed to get inside parking that was free and secure but we didn't count on it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street and we had people leaning on our windows. The adjoining door to another room would not lock. The room was very dark and we could only get good light by keeping the curtains open but then people could see in. The room was very noisy at night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent well placed for centre of town but just far enough away for quiet, shopping centre opposite with pleasant bars and eateries friendly staff comfy beds great nights sleep

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real niggle was it was too hot but it did have air con in the rooms.

    The hotel is perfectly located,is very clean. The staff were excellent and most had some English which really helped.the breakfast enabled you to eat all you want so no need for dinner and was excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking a little difficult to find but it was a Friday/Saturday night

    Very large room, comfortable beds, modern bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room for a family of four with attentive staff and air conditioning. Short walk to restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very warm overnight; AC didn’t work well.

    Well located close to Caen train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped bathroom

    Friendly reception, quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confrotable location near the train station, close to car rentals, and just a 10 minutes walk to the casttle and city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly as expected , possibly a little more choice at breakfast

    Very friendly staff , very clean hotel and very good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor.

    The room was nice, staff was friendly and helpful, location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom presented some problems

    It was a fair hotel for a one night stop in Caen. The staff was nice. The room was good for 4 people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent reception staff, close to rail station, comfortable bed, quiet and close to centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast

    Extra comfy, friendly staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little bit meagre for the price

    Location as it is Near the Train Station and yet no so far from the city Centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access despite the GPS and a long walk to city centre. Heating was off when we arrived at 6 pm.

    Nothing much, except staff was kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area. Plenty of parking within 5 mins walk

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints

    Basic hotel. Very close to Caen train station. Decent breakfast. Friendly/ helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist Valeria didn't want to get married... :oD

    Staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very helpful staff, v clean,breakfast good,parking secure (motorcycle went in a garage) Close to town & shopping mall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not powerful enough for size of room

    In city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a nice clean hotel...with a friendly staff...I liked the location: near the train station and an easy walk to the centre de ville.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one staff didn't speak English and didn't help much ; however, another young man was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, probably better if a kettle is provided in the room

    location, staffed 24 hours, decent size of the room, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle but no problem staff is really helpful

    Breakfast Staff Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff - lent me a colour pencil I needed for highlighting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, even have a bar for evening libations. Front desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, staff went above and beyond, excellent breakfast, excellent value for the money and close to where we met our tour group

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be good to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and tissues in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be awkward.

    Helpful staff, very efficient. Good language skills.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Pretty much everything. Location, staff, friendlyness, facilities all perfect for the price point. Very happy guests.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room bathroom was very small.

    Location on the tram route. Easy walking distance to historic centre and good food. Secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough private parking. I have to park along public road which is really packed.

    Good size toilet, near to train station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning

    Very close to downtown, well connected with public transportations. Staff speaks english

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    Beautiful fresh

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    Nice location, only 7 mins walking from the train station. The breakfast was good(better than I expected) . Room with air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find, but all services fine.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making ketell.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small, but 1) we knew that when booking the room 2) advantages dominated the choice and it was not an issue , esp. If these are two people with small bags and for one night like we were

    Firstly, great value for money. Hotel is at walkable distance from all the sightseeing, restaurants, but in a safe and quite district. What is rear for France and can be serious problem is the parking which in this hotel is not a problem. There is a secured parking of the hotel which is closed over night, and has limited number of parking spaces, on a first come first served basis. We arrived at 19.00 and got the empty spot. And there is no additional fee on the parking. There are also sufficient number of parking places along the road. Very friendly reception staff. We had a very positive experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is located very conveniently, near the train station and also within easy walking distance of many good places to eat. We have stayed here before for both reasons, and have found it to be a good, agreeable place.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room and bath. We didn't mind since we were there for an overnight!

    Great location to train station where we were meeting our D day tour.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ... We arrived on a Monday night and there was a place to park our car in their private car park but they didn't explain to us that the car park is for whoever come back to the hotel first on the day will be given the space for parking... We were disappointed to arrived on a Tuesday night after our tour to be told that their car park was already full and we can't park our car anymore... Poor breakfast selection.

    .. The location and places you can go and see are just nearby as we had our car . with us it was convenient.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Paying full price for children's breakfasts.

    The staff were lovely, all spoke a little English and were very tolerant of our attempts to speak French! Our family room was huge and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was amazing with a huge variety of food to keep us going all day!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would like to have had some muesli on offer for breakfast.

    Wonderful owner, couldn't be more helpful. Central location and only 20 mins drive to ferry port. Clean and relatively spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing bad to say about this hotel.

    Very nice hotel with welcoming staff. breakfast had more range of food than we expected which we enjoyed well worth the money we paid and would definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garage was full and it was not Easy to find the garage that the hotel recommended us to use, but despite of that I can Easley recommend yhe hotel!!

    Nice and clean room, excellent breakfast !!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location kinda sucked for what we were looking to do. We wanted to go to the d day beaches and we went on a weekend so it was kinda our fault we couldn't go.

    Nice rooms and bathrooms. Good shower pressure

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations on local events and restaurants. The proximity to the tram and train station is superb.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were a group of 3 motorcyclist, the receptionist was extremely helpful and invited us to park our motorcycles in the hotel garage for our 1 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Air con as well. Breakfast was plentiful and good choices of food. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Best hands down was the staff and the old German Shepherd who lived there! Most staff spoke english which is a big plus in France. Very friendly, unusual for france. Close to Normandy and every wwii must see. About 80 km away.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly, there is no fridge in the classic room.

    We liked everything, this was a really nice place to stay for a city break. Rooms were spotless, staff - very friendly. There is a big public parking garage right across the street and plenty of restaurants, shops and bars nearby. The castle, the tower and cathedrals are just up the street.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed was not comfortable and the fan would only blow hot air. Parking was a little tight too.

    the breakfast was good. All you can eat. Could have used a few more selections to choose from though.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One staff member ruined the score of the others by being rude and unhelpful. If she worked for me she would be fired.

    The staff were wonderful except for one very rude receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    No English television available.No tea facilities in room.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No tea or coffee facility's in the rooms.

    Location to Caen train station was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    near the station

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was hard and room a bit to hot.

    Price was good and staff friendly. There was secure free parking.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: