Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Qualys-Hotel Pau Gramont 3 stars

3, Place Gramont, 64000 Pau, France

#26 of 42 hotels in Pau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    A return visit that lived up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The eccentric slate wash basin in the bathroom was difficult to use and impossible for the domestic staff to keep clean. Less ingenuity and more practicality, please!

    Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Convenient location. Tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    PLEASANT STAY, A HOTEL WE WOULD RETURN TO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative is the limited parking in front of the hotel. Otherwise one must park in a public parking area. That's it

    This hotel has a very good location in the center of town, no noise due to soundproofing. We had a Junior Suite with all amenities, including a big walk-in shower. The personnel was friendly and told us about Pau's sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Did the job that we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little tired in places but this is nit-picking. Wasn't clear that there was free parking outside until after we had driven round the city looking for a free car park and finally asked the receptionist and was informed it was directly outside, they just had to move a no parking sign.

    Did the job that we wanted. The location is fantastic for the restaurants and the main cultural areas of the city. Surprised it was so cheap. Parking available directly outside for free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Location of property is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I same places looks a little tired but quaint.

    Location of property is perfect. Pau is beautiful. This hotel is not modern but clean warm and welcoming I would have no worries about staying again amazing value for money. We had a family room that had 2 interlinking rooms kitchenette and bathroom. Thank you to the lovely staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were charming and the location was perfect for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could use some bleach to remove the mold between tiles.

    Rooms were charming and the location was perfect for me. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly nice stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is old, and smells like my grandmothers house.

    The staff was lovely, and it had the best air conditioning and beds on our trip. Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Older hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The person who handles the reception/registration also handles the breakfast and it can be difficult trying to provide service to the those waiting to have breakfast and to those trying to check out or at registration. Breakfast is 11 Euros p/p and not included in the room rate. Our friends decided to have breakfast outside on the next day. Also, the parking is not very convenient; it is about three blocks away and it is difficult to find parking as the lots are usually full. There are a couple of spots in front of the hotel and we were lucky enough to get one later in the day and did not move our car until we left.

    This is an older hotel but and it has an elevator. The location is excellent as one can walk to many restaurants and shops and even the castle is a short walk away. Our room had a very nice view of the plaza. The staff is helpful in providing directions and even assisted in scheduling a taxi to take us to Juracon on a wine tasting tour. Be sure to ask for milk if you want hot milk with your coffee, otherwise, you just get coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Good experience very well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is extremely well located, five minutes walk from the castle. We had a suite but they changed them to two double rooms as we were four people and the individual beds of the suite were quite small for our size. The hotel has a pool table which we could use after a long touristic day. We also had breakfast, the amount and variety was enough (fresh fruit, jam, ham&cheese, bread, cereals, bakery...). We can't tell whether or not they have hot meal as we didn't ask for it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.2
    Dowdy & down at heel hotel in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for twin beds. Got double and sofa bed - ok - but no linen or duvet with sofa bed. Had to ask 3 times for some eventually provided sheets with a bad grace

    The location of hotel was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location and room, spoiled by unpleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Website not frank about parking. Light-bulbs were out in room (not fixed despite being reported at outset). Worst was that staff refused to accept that payment had been made in advance and declined even to look at the document from booking.com confirming that payment had been made. Demanded that payment be made for second time. Matter only resolved after I phoned booking.com. Very unpleasant interview with staff member. When I told manager next day she brushed off the complaint, saying that it was "complicated" to know whether I had paid. No real apology.

    Excellent location and charming traditional room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room turned out to be for disabled visitors. The decor was gloomy, but for a single night's stop over it was okay.

    The hotel is well located and we able to park outside the front entrance. On arrival we were 'upgraded' to a larger room. We weren't going to have breakfast at 11 euros each, but were then told that an 'express' breakfast was available at under half the cost so we opted for that and it was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a facelift. Rooms are very dark Parking was promised but spaces very limited so we had to use public parking about 5 minutes walk away

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff are very friendly and helpful and are all fluent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi was down for the last day.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful and are all fluent in English as well as French. Somewhat surprisingly for an older-style hotel, the air conditioning was super efficient, but quiet. The location is excellent - a short walk from the Chateau. The buffet breakfast is excellent - well worth the cost (11 euros).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    En route to the Pyrenees?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is limited parking close to the hotel but there is free public parking a short distance away. We were lucky and had a place each night but the town seems to be 'safe' anyway. In addition, it appears to be patrolled by a team of mobile 'Vigipirates'

    Friendly welcoming staff. Ideal location. Shops, places of interest and loads of restaurants within easy walking distance. Great base from which to explore the Jurancon wine growing area. The hotel is a historic building in its own right and has been modernised sensitively.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    I was happy with everything, very comfortable there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor -- it was at the bottom of a hill and the weather was hot. Climbing it with my suitcase was tiring.

    I was happy with everything, very comfortable there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Top location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location. The hotel is quite old but has a old world charm. Plenty of one way streets in Pau so best to move around on foot if possible. Good variety at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Handy hotel close to the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well siutated, close to the Chateau and the main areas of the town. Recommendations regarding sightseeing and restaurants were much appreciated and taken up!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again for a comfortable few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not our choice of decor. Shower felt cramped.

    Very comfortable, large bed and soft pillows. Spacious, well sound-proofed, clean room with tea/coffee making facilities. Good location; short walk to the park with lovely views of the river and historic chateau and just a few minutes to the centre of town. Good breakfast and friendly, helpful staff who speak good English. Warm welcome. Free wifi which connects well in rooms. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    Best location in town
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a funny furniture layout in our room and a slight damp smell as you came in the hotel, but other than that can't find anything to fault it.

    The location is fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.9
    great start to our holiday in france
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little dated but clean with a lovely big shower

    I left my mobile phone in the bedroom and the lovely lady on reception posted it to me very quickly!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Pau has a lot to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was small, dark and claustrophobic located on the ground level of a rather dark inner courtyard to which there was no access from the room. It felt like we were below ground even though we went up a flight of stairs to get to the room. I understand that the hotel's room prices had increased, but having booked almost a year in advance, I would have expected something better. Generally, the common areas are ready for redecorating.

    The location of this hotel is very central in a lovely city. There was free parking in front of the hotel. The staff was extremely professional and helpful in a difficult situation. Our room developed plumbing problems and a new room was found for us in another hotel as their was no vacancy in the current hotel. This was all handled well with no extra cost incurred. We were very happy with the resolution. The breakfast eating area was very nice with windows looking into a garden area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Great little quirky hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps it could do with a little "tlc and a lick of paint.

    Location was really good with car parking right outside. The staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Comfort in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    Comfortable superior double with a sofa in a cosy corner. A pleasant bright corner room with 3 Windows overlooking the square (Room 36). Breakfast was good with plenty fresh fruit, cold meat and cheese, cereals, bread and croissants. Location is ideal with a 5 minute walk to atmospheric restaurants and castle.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    7.9
    A lovely 24 hours in Pau .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for towels , though we understand a big party had booked in . Nice building but found the stairs and room very dark, very brown . I think with a beautiful and old hotel decoration could have been more traditional and lighter.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.Location very good. Room very clean with comfortable bed and good aircon . Criossant and coffee for breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location for adventures in town or south into the Pyrénées.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for walking into town or a stroll on the Boulevard des Pyrénées. Quaint and clean hotel. Good service staff and front desk personnel. Parking in front of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Room with a beautiful view and we had everything we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room with a beautiful view and we had everything we could possibly need

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Just the job for a one night stay on the way west to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say about this place.

    Lots of lovely comfy space, great location and great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great Location with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great Location with helpful staff. Near chateau and bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Horel Gramont Pau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault the hotel.

    Excellent location. Very clean room and great size. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave us some recommendations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Had to pay 19€ more to have a room shown on the website pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for a room which “looks like on the website” No private car park as mentioned in the booking

    Place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice welcoming staff, lovely hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unexpected extra tax charge at end of stay on top of room charge

    Nice welcoming staff, lovely hotel and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.2
    Glad it was only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a mismatch of furniture and decoration, it smelt of cigarettes and/or animals

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    The room and hotel was very comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was very limited

    The room and hotel was very comfortable . We will stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is old and dark

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location and a quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a quiet hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.2
    The hotel was smelly, carpets old and dreary colours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was smelly, carpets old and dreary colours. Gave the impression it was unkempt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good - just need orange marmalade included in the breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We shall come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and friendly welcome; we arrived at 23H and they offered to prepare a dinner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    The lady on reception was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception was very helpful. It was terrific being able to park right at the front door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    very obliging friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location inexpensive parking 300 yards away in place verdun Very close to chateau and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.0
    Comfortable hotel, friendly staff, easy walking access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom a bit cramped for space

    Comfortable hotel, friendly staff, easy walking access to different parts of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking. The wifi didn't work. The room was dark and stuffy.

    Excellent location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The hotel is comfortable, a little dated, but charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    A cracking hotel and cracking value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Excellent location, friendly staff and clean, comfy rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    GREAT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no safe or refrigerator.

    Great location. The family room was good value for money. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's true the hotel could do with a refurb ! but we liked it : )

    Pretty much in the centre of old Pau. Lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient for visiting Pau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient for visiting Pau

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Pau Historic GP weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff, clean and comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming, great advice on restaurants, visits... very comfortable beds. Lovely breakfast. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Lots of character and good room, location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not working, no ironing board in room

    Lots of character and good room, location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place in Pau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great staff-very friendly-hotel is in a great location. Many excellent restaurants close by. Car parking out the front-no problem at all.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.4
    Awkward room arrangement - difficult trip to bathroom at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward room arrangement - difficult trip to bathroom at night. Dingy, poorly lit hall.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location and nice view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More than one electricity outlet and some light in the hall

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Great value, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very pleasant & helpful staff Comfortable bed Kettle in room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.1
    Good suite with v comfortable beds and quality linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift was being installed so if on the top floor you have to drag your bags up. Powerful smell of drains on staircase. First room offered overlooked a wall, so no outlook. Upgraded to Suite 16. (see comments).

    Good suite with v comfortable beds and quality linen. Equipped with kettle etc which is unusual in France. Lighting is typical of a French Hotel, dim, in the wrong place, bizarre decor but that's being picky. Fridge. Underfloor heating in the bathroom. Limited toiletries. Self serve breakfast quite good. free parking outside, first come etc. Easy access to the old part of town and restaurants. Ditto roads south and west. Night Porter so you won't be locked out!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    10
    We had a superior room overlooking the square but it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to criticise at all.

    We had a superior room overlooking the square but it was very quiet. Plenty of space, warm, clean and comfortable. We were there for 6 nights so it really felt like home. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    9.2
    We were 3 rugby supporters on our first visit to Pau.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were 3 rugby supporters on our first visit to Pau. We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and it excellent. The rooms we were given were comfortable and clean. The staff really made this hotel. They're English and local knowledge is great and they're so friendly and willing to help. They would suggest where to eat and which bars to visit. The breakfast was typical continental but there was plenty of it. The hotel is situated in the middle of Pau, and is very close to the restaurants, bars and shops. I would love to recommend this hotel to everyone as it made our stay in the beautiful city of Pau much more rewarding.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    The location is brilliant, in the centre of town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no nice view from any of our windows. It's was quite hot in our room even in November but we couldn't open the windows just a fraction, it was either wide open or shut. We kept them shut as they all opened out onto the hotel roof top. The corridors were quite dark and the kids thought them creepy, even when you turned the light on. 'Here's Johnny' became a catchphrase ;-)

    The location is brilliant, in the centre of town! We stayed in the family room with our 3 kids 18,16 & 7. The staff were friendly and helpful and allowed us to park right outside the front doors. Good sized rooms. We didn't stay for breakfast as thought 11 euros per person didn't sound like good value for a family of 5. We were on a road trip, so decided to pick up something for a fraction of that price on our way.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Central situation and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly old fashioned suite and decor throughout. Could do with a bit of a facelift

    Central situation and parking. The receptionist even moved her own car so that we could park right outside

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Excellent location everything close to hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could possibly require a update in some areas for example the air conditioning. Although hotel location is excellent the only view from both windows was non existent.

    Excellent location everything close to hand

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    The location was good and we had a peaceful night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Given that the hotel has very high ratings, I was expecting something extraordinary, but it wasn't really. The first room we were offered hadn't been cleaned - they quickly apologised and gave us an upgraded room, which I appreciated. However, I thought the decoration of the upgraded room, though recently done, was a bit of a miss - the cupboards were painted turquoise which looked very bright next to the grey. Overall the hotel looks a bit odd as they have clearly recently updated about half of it, with the other half still clearly visible.

    The location was good and we had a peaceful night.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    We loved having a suite in such a perfect downtown setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    None. We didn't take the opportunity to eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on that.

    We loved having a suite in such a perfect downtown setting. The layout of the suite was excellent and accommodated our family of 5 with kids from 15-7 in age very well. The hotel may be old but it holds up very well. My kids particularly liked the fact that the Tour de France cyclists were staying in the same hotel for the week of the local Pyrenee legs.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a quiet dark room and got a room at the front of the hotel with 3 large windows, not the best nights sleep. Would also be too hot when the weather turns warmer.

    Location. Bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff. Bar area newly decorated.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.2
    Free wi-fi (good quality connection), friendly & helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Free wi-fi (good quality connection), friendly & helpful staff, larger than normal bathroom, balcony with table & chairs - some outdoor space is a real bonus in hotels these days.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    9.2
    Proximity of hotel to Pau town centre, bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel a little tired and worn. Information in room dated from 2007.

    Proximity of hotel to Pau town centre, bars and restaurants. Friendly helpful staff. Parking outside hotel, may only be possible in winter months

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.3
    Bed was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unpleasant smell in the public areas!

    Bed was comfy Location good - great bar and restaurant very near for sneaky pre-dinner drinkies Staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    9.2
    central old town location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    central old town location

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.8
    Well placed and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Well placed and easy to find. Staff were polite, helpful and welcoming. Rooms comfortable and clean Breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff, the breakfast and the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff, the breakfast and the beds.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.2
    friendly, efficient staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly, efficient staff location was perfect parking facilities

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    The rooms have a lovely 30's feel - modern and comfy but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms have a lovely 30's feel - modern and comfy but charming. Bed was large! Bedding of good quality!! Bar facilities excellent!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom wasn't good - shower flooded and basin waste overflowed.

    Easy to find

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast Location of hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast Location of hotel ideal for exploring Pau

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was very helpful. Rooms were clean and breakfast was very good.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: