Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inter-Hotel Montluçon de l'Univers 3 stars

38 Avenue Marx Dormoy, 03100 Montluçon, France

#5 of 16 hotels in Montluçon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 742 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I bought from booking.com the top priced double room at a sizeable discount. Instead I was given what must be the worst - and cheapest - room (No. 121) at a slight premium! This is serious misrepresentation. The room was tiny(, but had a large double bed). There was no bathroom but a partitioned-off corner of the room with the WC and shower. No door! The water pressure on the lavabo was very weak: It took ages to rinse off the soap after washing my hands. I requested a non-smoking room, and there was a no-smoking sign on the door. However, the room reeked of smoking (housekeeping?) When booking I clicked on a request for "free parking nearby". On arrival I was told that this would cost €6. There was free street parking immediately in front of the hotel. The best part of my stay was the buffet breakfast, good value @ €9. This hotel definitely does not deserve 3 stars; I have stayed in many 2-star hotels which were much superior and cost less.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, bedrooms very quiet. Friendly staff. Would totally recommend this hotel. Shower great, bed really comfy and 2 pillows. Bikers you can ask at reception and bike your bike in private secured parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming and helpful staff throughout the stay - nice, quiet, clean and comfortable property. Special note for outstanding breakfast choice 4-star like with sweet and savoury stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too far away from the motorway for an over night stay on route to spain. There were no tea and coffee facilities in the room. Was expecting more for the price we paid.

    Very clean. Parking was easy and free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room with spacious bathroom which had natural light coming in. Breakfast good and staff very pleasant and efficient. The hotel is nit far from restaurants and shops. We have used this hotel several times and it compares favourably to the chain hotels. Has much more character.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very small and it was very difficult to use the bathroom because the door opened the wrong way into the bathroom and it was very, very tight to squeeze through. Television was very high up on the wall. There was only one chair to sit on so my husband had to sit on the bed. The parking did not seem very secure. We were not happy with that because it was not private parking.

    The bed linen was fresh and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior look of the building was old fashioned. But surprised once we arrived in the renovated rooms.They were nice and cosy.Nice bathroom and good bed.

    Room was surprising.All you need was present and we sleep very good.Breakfast was also surprising. Very Good and staff members always present and very friendly. Same at the desk in the lobby.Price vs quality SUPER

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit smallike, a really big person would have difficulties to get in.A

    Excellent breakfast with domestic cheese and bread...Nice and cosy room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice greeting on arrival, simple comfortable room, good value, good location a short walk from old town, large garage (free for motorcycle), good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a fantastic location, we used it for an overnight stop on our way to the south coast. We were welcomed by Fabrice who was fantastic with information on where to visit in Montlucon, on leaving he directed us to a route that would avoid all the traffic. The room was spacious, clean and modern. We also accidentally left our iPad in the room and Fabrice could not have been more helpful in letting us know and then sending it to us at our holiday villa! Exceptional service all round.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Montlucon's old centre seems to be having economic problems as many of the shops and restaurants were closed.

    The room was modern and spacious with air conditioning and a large bathroom. Some private parking available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner was a bit noisy but opening the window wasn't sufficient to cool the room. We were sent on a wild goose chase for a certain restaurant - it had moved some time ago.

    The room was large, as was the bathroom. Both were quite clean. The breakfast was very good, well worth the 9 euro price (unlike many others). The parking was secure, though very hot. The staff was very obliging. A very good hotel for tourists.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at the hotel, but it's a good idea to book if you want an evening meal. We didn't and we struggled to get anything.

    It was all good, clean and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge in room would have been nice! Wifi was a bit weak.

    Excellent value, in the newly regenerated station area. Comfy room, clean, nice bathroom, helpful staff, good breakfast. Great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle etc nor drinking water in the room (the tap water was OK to drink, though - but had to be run for 2 minutes to cool down). There did not seem to be a bar or machine where you could buy coffee etc The breakfast was extra - so €75 for a single room for B&B was towards the top end of my budget - elsewhere en route I had paid €59-€65 with breakfast in very nice (albeit much more rural) establishments. The gym was an assortment of cardiovascular machines in a room used to store linen. There were no weights/resistance equipment. Going for a run or something might perhaps be a better option than the gym unless the weather is appalling!

    Good location - central and being opposite SNCF station, reasonably easy to find arriving by vehicle: I followed Centre Ville signs then the (NB very small) SNCF signs. Secure parking in the secure lock-up garage immediately next to the hotel. Nice room, bed and shower. Run by a hard working, cheerful and helpful couple - it thus felt more homely than an international brand hotel: it almost felt like a large B&B. Set on a leafy wide street. It was surprisingly quiet at night. Really close to the (surprisingly extensive and charming) vibrant medieval centre of Montlucon. Do not be put off by the quite extensive commercial and industrial sites as one drives in from the outskirts.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the beds weren't very nice especially the extra bed

    the location of the hotel and the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some items in the bathroom needed to be repaired.

    Breakfast was nice and complete

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    clean hotel. lovely shower. good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La decoration

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    receptionist was either new or stupid

    The manager was very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big room, nicely decorated. Excellent bed, very large. Great staff and secure parking. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift could be modernised.

    Bed very comfortable, air con excellent, lots of parking but normal paying type not attached to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception area a little dark and didn't portray the friendliness of the staff

    quirky and friendly hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got an upgrade for a room with double queen size bed + free parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I would use this hotel again

    Breakfast was lovely and the staff was so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large modern room with modern bright bathroom .Friendly staff provided town map and good recommendations for restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was a bit pricey.

    Lovely staff, and decent sized, very quiet family room. Great for breaking up the journey home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No faults

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff and private garage for motorbike

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff, parking facilities,...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrific

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and great for an overnight en route to the south. Parking easy opposite hotel short walk into town centre for a selection of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good modern room friendly help full staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing to mention!

    Welcome was very friendly and good information about the medieval town was shared with a map! Excellent!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness and value for money plus secure parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, friendly staff, clean room, big bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has been renovated in a modern art style inside, rooms and facilities all comfortable, good breakfast spread - far more than just a croissant and coffee and a secure garage for motorbikes. Owners very helpful and friendly. Great for a travelling stop over.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A larger selection of drinks would be good

    Excellent nights sleep. Very comfortable room with a large flat screen TV with many channels. Really good bathroom with a waterfall shower. Staff were really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, although choice of pillows and an extra blanket in a Double room would be a bonus

    Nice decent size comfy room. Large shower, very clean everywhere. Friendly and very helpful staff. WiFi worked perfectly well for me, but the receptionist had to change the originally reserved room to another one, presumably to provide better signal. Parking on the street was free of charge indeed, but that was Sunday and I was told I would have to pay for parking if leave the car on the street after 9 AM on Monday.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All the staff were really friendly and helpful at all times Great location Very fresh and tasty breakfast selection Vert effective blinds in the room so the kids slept in a bit!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NoneColouful

    Secure parking. Welcoming reception. Large clean room with good bathroom and shower. We loved the colourful frieze in a poppy design over the bed. The buffet breakfast was a standard choice of cold meats, cheese, bread, cereal etc. but was more than enough for our needs. The hotel made a very pleasant stop on our journey south.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing !!

    This hotel is great for larger families the staff are helpful my husband left his wedding ring in the room on checkout they rang and posted the ring back to England !! The kids loved the Themed rooms easy to find in it's central location great hotel and staff we will definitely return !!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would have liked secure parking, had to park in the road. This was particularly worrying as we had bikes on the back of the car.

    Great room, good location near Medieval part of town which is beautiful. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We used the hotel as a stop over on our way home from Spain, as reviews said it was a good place to stay. They were right! The hotel is in a great location, easy to find. Just a short walk to the old city which was lovely to wander around and had great restaurants (try the fabulous Tex-Mex one!). Our room was clean and spacious, wifi worked brilliantly which pleased the kids, and the beds were comfy. We were disappointed not to get one of the rooms with the lovely graffiti style murals, but our room was nicely decorated. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast there as we felt we could eat more cheaply elsewhere. Although we were only there one night we had a peaceful rest ready for our travelling the next day! Would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely staff and wonderful breakfast. Plus room was fantastic, we had one of the rooms with art/graffiti on the wall and the kids really loved it.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was quite warm, could have done with air conditioning.

    Location near old part of town. Staff friendly, spoke good English and could recommend excellent places to eat.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was only for 1 hour We didn't have enough time to use sauna

    Staff- so friendly and helpful Cheese- we were given s sample of 4 local cheeses to try in the evening- free! Lovely local beer and an exceptionally good red

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Modern funky rooms with great bathrooms. Because the owner is a biker we parked our motorbike in the secure garage for free. Also good location for the centre and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Step up into the hotel and no restaurant for dinner. Limited secure parking otherwise on street (paying) close to station.

    Very modern, comfortable, spacious, wheelchair accessible room with hardwood floor, good breakfast, central location

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking close by (paying). Not sure whether there was parking at hotel.It wasn't offered.

    Close to town centre Staff welcoming and helpful Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    gym could have morep equipment.

    im often in Montlucon and i think this is the best hotel. of course still needs to be refreshed but in my opinion is the best comparing to others

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Freshly renovated rooms, we had a nice positive experience again. This is the 2nd time we come and it was still very pleasant. Breakfast was nice. Good private parking facility.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the lift is too small

    The bed and the shower

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel was every thing you could want and a lot better than some of the hotels we have stayed in

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, well equipped room and friendly,helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionists very friendly and helpful. Secure garage facility.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great wet room,good size family room.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very satisfied in general. Well situated. Good personal touch.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room and value for money. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quirky hotel in a great location.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The first visit was really hot with no air conditionining and the window wouldn'd open. No good

    The second was much better. All worked great

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing.

    Simple and clean refurbished rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Good value for money. Very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant for evening meal.

    Modern interior, very well done.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom a bit on the small side but OK for overnighting.

    Excellent bathroom. Lively and attractive decor. Cheap(5 euros) secure garage parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mess behind hotei Difficulty of access to pqrking Cooking a bouled egg in cold water

    Helpfulness of sraff Secure parking

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None. Room was on a busy corner but very quiet at night.

    General quality of hotel - furnishings, facillities and staff

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, we were very happy with everything.

    The staff could not have been more helpful. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location,nice room, very friendly

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Inter-Hotel Montluçon de l'Univers traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: