Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Espace Cite 2 stars

132, Rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France

#12 of 36 hotels in Carcassonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2042 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the room was very small but who cares when you can see a castle?

    The view of the castle was fantastic, and the staff were exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely impolite, hesitant to provide information about their country and of course nobody spoke english apart from the basic. Extremely small room. No lift

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really nothing not to like!

    Location to the Citadel - 200 m - modern and light - great breakfast and view from the dining room - pleasant accommodating bilingual staff - good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite was a wet room, so the toilet got soaked when I had a shower. It would be nice to have a curtain around the shower to stop that happening

    Great location, close to the old town and convenient for bus to the airport. It is worth paying a little bit extra for a room with a view of the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cant think of anything.

    Nice Staff even came out in the rain to offer umbrella. Good Location. Very clean. No problems at all. Went out for breakfast so can't comment on that. Vending machine and maps, even wine, and tourist info at reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the old city and very convenient for bus stops to the airport. Clean rooms with good selection at breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small but OK for a short stay.

    Excellent location near the walled city, very good breakfast, handy parking, quiet hotel, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff perfect location only 2 mins walk to le Cité gorgeous view of le Cité from hotel the breakfast was only 9€ and very good value hotel bedrooms quite small but not a problem the bathroom was very smart and all hotel was extremely clean I have no faults for this hotel and will definitely stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is only one plug which was by the dressing table though there is not a mirror situated there so when using hair straighteners you couldn't use a mirror as it is across the room. toilet roll could be better quality

    the rooms though small had everything you needed, were very clean and nicely decorated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, small windows, small beds, small bathroom, noisy ventilation.

    Good location, good breakfast, friendly staff. I was provided with the free parking in the garage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist who booked us in was very friendly. The bed was really comfortable. We booked a family room in error so can’t comment on the small room aspect like others have. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor breakfast for the charge incurred, especially as it is a continental breakfast , very small plates made the consumption of it very difficult, coffee / hot water machine overly complicated and the Lipton tea was disgusting. The wifi barely extended to my room and I lost connection constantly very annoying. Hard bed that moved every time I did.

    the receptionist on my arrival was very helpful and later helped me to access the local restaurants within the citadel very easily. He was superb. In fact all the staff were very helpful and friendly, I cannot thank them enough for the assistance they provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice if the room was a little bigger and there was a little more storage for clothes.

    Perfectly situated for the Cite. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Make sure to get a room with a view out to the Cite! Airport shuttle bus stop is nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked coffee in the room, or free in reception, but we chose the hotel knowing it didn't have this and it was certainly good value and comfortable in other respects.

    Wonderful location close to the old walled city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Clean comfortable, free WiFi and great breakfast. Perfect mini break great for exploring, room is small but everything you need and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we could think of.

    While the room was quite small it was well set up. The breakfast room has a million dollar view of the walled city and the hotel is almost in touching distance of the main gate. So convenient when the weather was so changeable! Breakfast was very generous in its choices and we enjoyed it all. Such a great muesli. We were made very welcome and our need for secure parking (due to having a car full of luggage for our extended stay in Spain a we were on our way there!) was instantly met. A great find and one we will tell friends about. We were surprised to realise it is rated two star.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable, lovely hotel in an amazing location. Staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good with great views of the castle. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Everything was as it should be.

    Great location between the castle and the town. Friendly staff (recommended a good value restaurant in the cité) Good breakfast. Free parking. (in the garage isn't free but the car park has cameras) Tot molt correcte, gent amable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, but perfectly adequate for our needs as we were only staying for one night.

    They were very good about setting up a cot in our room for our baby, and the view from the breakfast room on the top floor is quite stunning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only reason this hotel didn't get a 10/10 from me is that the pillows in the room were incredibly flat. Having said that, the excellent staff provided me additional pillows the instant that I asked.

    The staff and location were excellent. The rooms were small but perfectly adequate and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. There wasn't a refrigerator or kettle, which are handy after a long day travelling.

    It was a 5 minute walk to the old city ramparts, which was why I was there. Breakfast was very nice with a perfect view from the breakfast room up to the fortress.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although modern and clean, the rooms are very small.

    Clean, very attentive staff, good basic breakfast. Directly on shuttle route to airport.Very close to the Cite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was was very unhappy to communicate with their guests. I was told off when leaving keys at the desk as I supposed to leave them on the wall. I was not introduced where I can have coffee or any drinks, where the fridge is and even when ask question about transport I was told that I have to find it by myself .Reception rude and would not be back to this hotel

    It was very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not value for money, tiny room, room without view, no other facilities for babies, there are limited free of charge parking seats, indoor parking costs 10€/day.

    Recently renovated, very close to medieval city, park-bed for baby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See below

    The room is intended to be super-efficient (almost like a hostel), which is fine, but I don't get why you'd want a glass wall between the sleeping area and the bathroom (so if you get up in the night you can't turn on the light without waking up your partner), or why you'd want the shower to spray the toilet, or why you couldn't have a decent pillow. Breakfast was better than expected. Location was great. Staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms but OK because you don’t spend a long time there. Arrived on Saturday afternoon; too late for the big market in the square in town (but on Tuesday morning is a traditional food market). Most shops closed Sunday & Monday

    A few minutes stroll to the medieval town, great views from breakfast room & balcony. Shuttle bus dropped us off very close to hotel. Good sleep at night, staff very friendly and helpful; thanks Bruno (from hotel) for phoning me when he noticed us going down to the wrong bus stop for the return shuttle bus to airport (it’s on the same road as the hotel & not main boulevard where you are dropped off) that was very kind of him & lucky for us. Breakfast buffet was €9 & worth it, lots of choice including fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, breads etc. A coffee machine in the foyer was handy when we returned in the evening, €1 for espresso, coffee or hot water. Mini supermarket around the corner for supplies. Lots of travel /tourist information in foyer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Loved the people who worked there, especially Bruno. Very helpful and welcoming! Loved the location right next to the gate into the medieval city of Carcassonne.. just a few blocks away! Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy enough with what we had.

    Very convenient to the castle. Rooms very small but modern and clean. Staff very helpful, while the breakfast buffet was continental and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing wrong!

    Fantastic people! Gentleman at the desk went out of his way to be helpful. My husband is handicapped and parked in the handicapped space but the car was large. The gentleman offered to move it for us so we didn't need to be bothered. Always a smile from all the employees. Room, although small, was clean and more than adequate. 5 minute walk to the castle. No restaurant in the hotel but an excellent one across the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to be clearer about the parking. You pay to park underground if there is room and it is very tricky to use. Parking in the car park - you cannot reserve - you just have to be lucky. The hotel is situated on a corner in a street which is one way to half way down - the other half is one way towards the hotel. Very clear directions would be useful

    The rooms are lovely but very small - no bedside tables. Breakfast is lovely - sit by the window for a fiew of the citadel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location only a couple of minutes from The Cité. The hotel rooms were small but well thought out with everything you need and cleaned to a high standard. Parking onsite was a bonus as this is a busy area. Carcassonne itself was only 10 minutes in the car and there was plenty to do in the area so we extended our stay by an extra night.Reception staff were very helpful and polite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the lack of privacy between bedroom and bathroom. There was only a loose sliding door to bathroom and glass panel between bed and bathroom which was very attractive but offered little privacy.

    Lots of breakfast choice to suit most people..very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The Hotel location is perfect for the walled city. The staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast staff were excellent. The room was not large but very clean and quiet. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. All in all, we really enjoyed staying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely

    Incredible location with views of old city just outside bedroom window. Within a few hundred yards of main entry to Old City. Excellent parking available. Easy walk to new town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This would have been comfortable if they would add a couple of good pillows. I don't understand why you'd want a glass wall between sleeping and bathroom, but there you have it.

    Staff was very helpful, the location was great, and the parking was fabulous. The room is extremely efficient. Breakfast was good, if not gourmet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. But friendly receptionist carried my bag upstairs. No bedside tables. No curtains under the drapes for privacy during the day. But we liked this hotel, it is well run and the sunny breakfast room with the view of the ramparts was a fabulous way to start the day! Good coffee! Convenient on property parking outside, secure parking in hotel garage.

    Tiny but well planned use of space. Very small room, tiny bathroom, but all ok, comfortable bed, quiet and super location. Super clean. Two minute walk to the ramparts! Ample buffet breakfast. Ok tourist hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small so only suitable for overnight stay but because of location and cleanliness would stay again

    Staff friendly and helpful, social area good, place to sit, clean, views from room lovely Breakfast excellent food fresh and well presented again staff helpful Location excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above

    It was all very good, the location was superb but the only downside was that the rooms were very small, they had everything you needed except drawers to store clothes in and one very small wardrobe which was not really big enough for three nights. The room was claustrophobically small and we could not open a window as we were on the ground floor by a walkway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no outlet next to a mirror so blow drying hair was difficult (built-in drier useless as always). Also very small but exactly as shown in pictures.

    Great location next to the walled city. Very convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Location was wonderful to both the main attraction, Carcassonne Cite, and the downtown 'new' ciry. The staff was kind and helpful. The rooms were modern and efficient. Parking is right on the hote propertyl, a major plus in the old tourist towns. And it was easy to find. Breakfast was very nice, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was as I expected.

    This is a standard B&B hotel in a good location close to the old city of Carcassonne. Everything was as one would expect and the breakfast was up to standard for such an establishment. Room and breakfast quite sufficient for an overnight stay. Some staff spoke English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were very small. Fine for a one night stay.

    The breakfast was good, fresh fruit, good coffee, fresh croissants and good view of the old city from the restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was an easy five minute walk to the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.we stayed for 3 nights on the way home from holiday wished we had another night.

    The location was perfect for the old town. View of castle excellent. Breakfast good for people of all appetites, plenty to choose from. Bed really comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not included, but you can buy it there for 9 euros. It was a bit noisy in the morning because of cleaning lady taking her stuff from the room in front.

    Location is perfect! 2 minutes walking from the Carcassonne fortress. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient parking for a van even though parking is available without reservation we were told we should've checked availability. They should have this info on their website.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed the terrace was not accessible at breakfast. Only one member of staff able to speak English. No English speaking TV channels. We got by easily though.

    Very Easy access to the citadel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hospitality on arrival at reception was excellent. Bruno deserves a special mention as he made us feel like VIPs and the help and courtesy he showed us was above and beyond. Our stay was just as a stop-over. The rooms are very small but completely soundproofed. We all had a very good night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe tea and coffee facilites in room would be nice, but hotel does have a coffee machine in reception area.

    Loved our stay here. Hotel just a stones throw from Carcassonne's Medieval City, in a lovely area with plenty restaurants and bars. Thank you also to the wonderful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is correct, but it could include more variety

    The hotel is clean and well located, it is perfectly located for visiting Carcassonne citadel. The staff is very nice and helpful. We really appreciate our visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location near medieval city and close walking distance to city gates. Rooms clean and quiet and huge selection for breakfast. Adequate car parking space.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location only 7 min walk from the cité de Carcassonne (porte Narbonnaise). Rooms a little small but quiet, clean comfortable and functional. Staff delightful, helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking. There are only a few free spots but appreciate that it's very Central.

    Very convenient location and comfortable. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a small but very well run hotel. Staff were all lovely and only too willing to help. Location is excellent, everything a short walking distance away. Rooms are a little small when you have to fit a cot in there too but for a short stay I couldn't fault it! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wee bit more space in the room.

    Apart from the room being rather cramped,it was very good. The staff were very kind and helpful. Location was perfect. Little more than 5minutes down the hill from the castle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was not the best (ceiling tile where vent was wet so think it had a leak)

    Was clean, comfortable, modern, close to medieval city, had parking (although we had the very last space, would have liked to be able to prebook parking).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't ready until 3pm but not really a problem as we were able to park on-site from midday.

    We arrived at about midday and although our room was not ready we were able to leave the car in the free onsite car park, Arriving later could mean that all the free spaces are gone so get there early if you can. Location is perfect for the old cite, being only a 5 minute walk. We paid a little extra for a view of the city walls which was just about worth it as they are stunning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and unfriendly staff. The bed was very cheap and uncomfortable. And don't get the breakfast - stale bread and croissants and bad coffee

    A good location just a short walk up to the old city. Easy to park the car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot days...would have been better if the weather had been cooler

    Very accommodating staff...needed to change the reservation and they were able to do it without going through booking.com!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with great parking facilities, very nice staff, fantastic location. Very clean, rooms bit smaller but this I knew to be the case based on the photos on booking.com, so I was fine with it. Very comfortable beds, room very clean - and from one bed we had direct view to the castle when reading before sleep (booked room with castle view), simply magic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to discourage us from using the hotel again.

    The requested view from room over old city was good, but not necessary as hotel was 2 minute walk from main old city entrance. The room was compact but with modern facilities. Perhaps clients on the larger side would have found the room a bit claustraphobic. The breakfast, a buffet style, had an excellent range of food and was worth the 9 euros.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on reception spoke good english and was very helpful.The hotel was very clean and in a great position to explore the old town. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the compact room and frosted glass-walled shower room were smartly modern, the room really was quite small - a tight walk around your suitcases. This is only a minor gripe, since one spends most time outside exploring this amazing old city.

    Perfectly located for viewing the citadel - only a short walk up to the gate and, very conveniently, its own parking. A bright, friendly no-frills hotel. Room had comfortable bed with good reading lights. Wholesome breakfast with fine view from the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice modern hotel. Very handy for the old town with its shops and restaurants. Good parking facilities. Rooms a little small but well designed to maximise space. Place appears clean and well managed. Breakfast was good. Overall a good experience. We'd use it again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were absolutely appalling. We were locked out of the hotel which is supposed to have a 24 hour desk and night porter. When my wife and I who are not young arrived back at the hotel before midnight we could see the front door of the hotel was locked with the keys in the locked door. We rang the hotel bell. We called the hotel phone and all to no avail. We did not know what to think. Has the night porter become ill?? What about the safety of other residents etc. We continued to sit on the patio furniture outside the hotel until two young workers from a neighbouring Hotel asked what the problem was. After explaining the situation and seeing the keys left in the other side of the door - they decided to call the police who I must say were great. They arrived viewed the keys and gained access to the hotel by entering the back of the hotel via a fire escape and let us in the front door. It is now 4.30am Later that day we went to reception to complain and we were met with indifference, disbelief and hostility. They even questioned if I was telling the truth even though the Police had been to the Hotel and neighbouring Hotel workers could verify all that I said. All in all a truly terrible experience compounded by the sheer ignorance of the reception staff and owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very very compact, as was the shower room. However, everything was clean, comfortable and worked well. Could have done with another easily accessible power point so two phones could be charged up at the same time.

    Bed was very comfy and A/C was very welcome as we were there in a heatwave and we both slept very well as it was very quiet. View of the city was great, location fantastic and the staff were extremely helpful. There was a very good choice of food for breakfast and the staff were not pushy about hurrying us up when we were quite late in for breakfast - excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was exactly as it looked and was described on the internet. The man on reception was very helpful. Situated very close to medieval city. Shuttle bus from airport stopped very close to hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants at eakfast weren't fresh and the fruit salad was green apple. Not very good.

    The hotel is situated at the bottom of the hill leading to the old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fact the kitchen staff handle dirty plates, dirty cloths to wipe tables with then handle guests food. We had initially ordered breakfast for the week, but on seeing a staff member bring dirty plates back to the kitchen, then he proceeded to wipe that table clean and without washing his hands he mauled the bread from it's packet and handled it into the bread basket. I pulled the staff member for doing this but him or any other guests didn't seem to mind this!?? (I also went to a bakery where I witnessed a staff member nonchalantly handle bread, then money then hand bread again to customers without wearing gloves, so on seeing this I assume it's a French thing not to care for hand washing prior to handling food) I don't like this so I cancelled my breakfast for the week and got my money back in cash straight away.

    Price per night, location and they have cold bottles of Heineken and Leffe for sale :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. The shower was simply part of the bathroom. You could sit on the toilet and shower. Weird. Very thin walls. Could hear the neighbors.

    Good location close to La Cite. Room was clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to the Cité! 4 minutes walk. Pool availability at neighboring Aragon hotel...no extra charge Rooms very comfortable and compact. Quiet and calm. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny, even by French standards (I've stayed in 12+ hotels across France), and the bathroom was a marvel of engineering--half the water that bounced off me in the shower went into the toilet it was so tight in there. Even honeymooners might have felt a need for some personal space. But I'd stay there again because of the cost, location, and breakfast. Just don't bring two bags!

    The location was great for seeing the walled city (in fact, we ate breakfast looking out toward the city and our room's window showed the top of the walls). It was just a short walk uphill to one of the gates. We were lucky to park right out front, but we heard that there is a garage for 10 euros. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet was great (I plead guilty to judging it largely by the quality of the pain au chocolat).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged extra for individual items in the restaurant even though they were supposed to be included in a set menu. Breakfast charged more than advertised on booking.com. Will not use a campanile again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given that one is likely to be out exploring the Cite, there is no need for a very large room, but the rooms were truly minute. Almost no surfaces on which to put things down ; no space for luggage except where one had to step over it, and bathrooms ridiculously tiny. A pity -- very nice in many other ways.

    Very clean and neat, friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast was varied and generous, with excellent coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Medieval city view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although small in area the rooms were immaculately clean with very comfortable beds and pillows. The breakfast was very good with fresh, good quality ingredients. The hotel is ideally situated for La Cite but close to bus stop for La Bastide and train station. We hired a car on this occasion but previously we have used public transport without any problem. A bus meets every flight arrival at the airport and drops off beside the hotel. We had no trouble parking in the hotel car park but in the busy summer months it may be a problem. We would thoroughly recommend This hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor design of the light fittings in the bed headboard which prevented you being able to sit up in bed & which you could have hit head on when getting out in middle of night. Overcame this by pulling bed away from wall.

    Ideally situated for old Cite & La Bastide area. Excellent choice of food for breakfast & very pleasant helpful staff. .

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: