Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Chantereigne 2 stars

128, avenue du Général Leclerc, 10300 Sainte-Savine, France

#2 of 3 hotels in Sainte-Savine

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 638 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a stopover whilst travelling south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel for a stopover whilst travelling south. A good, well cooked, no nonesense evening meal and a nice continental breakfast. Car Park is good, right outside.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    A good stopping point for us en-route to Switzerland & good for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The phone in our room didn't work & so we couldn't ring our 2 12 & 14 year old daughters in the next room. We had to have a separate room to them as there were 5 of us. Their room, although it was a non-smoking room, clearly had had a smoker in it. The room stunk. Breakfast tasty, although far too expensive. We sat outside for a while, too, as it was a lovely evening, but a couple of the chairs you couldn't lean back on as they were broken.

    Rooms were clean & comfortable, with nice bed linen. Adequate size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    We drove from Holland and were heading for St. Florentin. This was a stop for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this place because of it's "no dogs policy". Much to our surprise and dislike the staff member at the reception had her dog with her and it was running around near the entrance.

    We liked the fact that it was very clean as well as the free wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Extremely good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are rather thin, which could make the whole experience of staying here quite noisy. The hotel is located quite far from the city centre and there aren’t any real restaurants nearby. We had to drive to the city centre for our evening meal.

    A previous reviewer said that this is the best two star hotel one is likely to stay in and I totally agree. The facilities were the same as in more expensive establishments and everything worked really well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    This is the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Stank of cigarettes throughout, even though there are no smoking signs everywhere, beds are small and uncomfortable. Staff were dreadful, place is old, tired and sparsely decorated / furnished. No bar or restaurant - was shut for the whole of August. Dreadful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Due to the location and the fact that we arrived on Bastille...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location and the fact that we arrived on Bastille Day it was not possible to eat without driving and we were unaware that every where would be closed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only receiving the entry code whilst en route. No lift. No staff on duty on arrival. Dog muck in the rear parking area. Tables outside had dirty pots on when we arrived and when we left. Shower over a bath in this day? Breakfast looked non existent.

    Nothing really. We have booked a different hotel for our return journey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Stopping by near Riviere de Corps to visit my family after a working meeting nearby. Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having a coffee/drinks dispenser with cash drop so that I coud have coffee or tea in the middle of the night or in the early morning, but overall a great place.

    The location was perfect since I was visiting family in the small town. I liked very much the Security system in place during day and night time. Essential in today's unsafe world. The room could use additional wall sockets for it was challenging to have the bed lamp and the laptop plugged in near desk table. The fact that I was able to control my own heating in the room was also a TOP, I dont like being cold in the middle of the night if the Hotel shuts down the heat for 6 hours or more.. Very comfortable bed and again great price for this location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    A slight cut above similar budget hotels.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not quite as nice as they looked in the pictures. This is essentially stil a budget hotel. No tea/ coffee making facilities in the rooms. Noisy fire doors which slammed shut whenever anyone arrived or left. Restaurant looked nice but closed early ( we were planing to come back for dessert and a drink but it was all shut up when we got back just before 9. However, overall the hotel was fine for a night, relatively good value, and we'd be happy to stay again.

    we stayed here for 1 night as a stop over from the south of France to Calais. We preferred it to similar stop other hotels we've stayed at previously ( generally the larger chain hotels/ motels). We felt here a little more effort had been put into the decor and it seemed a bit more personal and individual. The lady at reception was very friendly.Location was fine for the purpose, just off he ring road, but nearer to the A5 to Paris than the A 26 to Calais. Troyes town centre was surprisingly nice with medival architecture and cosy bars and resturants. Felt a bit like a film set for Diagon alley in Harry Potter!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Please read my " what didn't you like" revue !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all happy I booked one double and one room with 3 beds for my daughter her partner and my 8 year old Granddaughter . We got one room with twin beds and one double ? Not impressed I e mailed more than once I rang from England to confirm the room situation. The person I spoke to did not totally understand another member of staff rang and confirmed we would definitely have a double and one room with a double and a single as in pictures. We arrived lovely girl behind reception good English was my booking as requested " yes sir" . We went out to eat arrived back at 10.05 young lady going home. We went to the rooms and one room with two singles and one room with a double bed. So at 10 .15 after trying emergency numbers with NO answer we had to drag one single from one room to the next to fulfill our booking. In the morning same young lady who admitted she had in fact phoned me in England to confirm rooms admitted she may have made a mistake ! I was not happy but we had breakfast we were then given a 10 Euro discount and had to pay in full for breakfast. I am furious at such a lack of care and then being charged over £100 + 24 Euro for breakfast ? ! An evening and next morning ruined . I am regular traveller through France during the year. I would guarantee this will get NIL response. James Diamond Jamesdiamond2011@hotmail.co.uk

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel a short distance from main attractions of Troyes. Would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room to make a cup of tea or coffee

    The staff were very helpful & extremely friendly. The home cooked dinner in the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was nice, staff friendly and rooms nice and clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC didnt work. We had 2 rooms.. one of the rooms shower didnt work and window wudnt close properly.

    Breakfast was nice, staff friendly and rooms nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Convenient and in a quiet spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location a bit out of town but in a very quiet spot, ample parking. Staff was very very nice and gave us some recommendations for food on a Sunday night. Close to Troyes and restaurants. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and copious. Room was sufficient for family, bathroom was clean and spacious, air conditioning was a bit noisy. Overall it was great, would come back here the next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable, and easy to find
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another hotel with dark grey walls in a fairly dark room.

    This is a basic hotel, but it is clean and comfortable, with friendly staff, good wifi and is easy to find. Having a restaurant was a bonus for me. The evening meal is a set €15, with a range of options. I chose asparagus for starter, followed by bavette, both were tasty. Breakfast was self-service with a coffee machine, which I don't generally like. I prefer a 'proper' coffee, however, the general range for breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    Everything nice except the dust. The room was not cleaned before we got there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't find the room cleaned, and even after we asked them to clean it, we didn't get a good result. For instance, under the bed was not cleaned in the past weeks, maybe months.

    The location was ok, the breakfast was nice (great diversity of cheese and nice croissants)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.3
    Old hotel but updated so rooms very clean and comfortable. Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids dinner was charged at €9.50 and was poor value. Same for breakfast- very basic spread and charged at €9 per person- adults and children. Very poor value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel in need of updating. Restaurant was closed,

    Great location for passing through. Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Ex
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    No kettle or tea/coffee facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle or tea/coffee facilities in room. Had to wait until 07.00 for kitchen to open.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sign for the hotel at the road - this was not easy to see in the night time. Could have been a bit cleaner - in general !

    Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean. Good public areas. Bedrooms up to 3-star standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stop when travelling across France...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient to stop for the night , if traveling around France...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly reception. Very good value for money evening meal on site. Effective air con.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Simple and what you expect at this price range
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is no special but i was prepared

    Simple and what you expect at this price range

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Ideal stop over point in a reasonable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal stop over point in a reasonable location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stopover on our way to Bordeaux , good value and very helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provision of a meal but it was Saturday night and France National Holiday!!!!!

    Free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly reception, good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Good pit stop near Troyes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good pit stop near Troyes. Friendly staff. Good value dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    All ok except no WiFi in rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms

    All ok except no WiFi in rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.2
    Adequate but would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities No where for coffee Restaurant closed

    The room was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.5
    Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location; check-in worked well (emailed access code and keys left in reception). Excellent for overnight stop enroute to skiing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Pleasant stop -over with very easy access and very good free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Clean and modernised with easy access to motorway and easy off street free parking. Very quiet and breakfast had fresh produce.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Value for money - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money - friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    No nonsense hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn't doing hot food on our visit so had to go into town for a meal.

    No nonsense hotel. Close to autoroute, basic but clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel to stay nearby the champagne villages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the shower was very nice, the room is just quite clean, not so big, but very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant , would stay here again !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff , lovely food and good nights sleep in a nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, clean, every one was friendly, good Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Just a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dont expect too much, 50 min walk to center of town.

    easy access from highway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    break in the trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too short to say something

    all good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    Nicely decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very soft and narrow for two. The view to the neigbourgs back yard.

    Nicely decorated room. Easy access from motorway.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, friendly staff and a good inexpensive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value, friendly staff and a good inexpensive restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel & excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but not really necessary

    Just about everything. Excellent dinner in restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: