Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Italia 2 stars

19 Rue de Vildé / Rue Devildé, 37100 Tours, France

#12 of 43 hotels in Tours

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift. Breakfast room was a bit cramped.

    Comfortable clean airy room with a spacious bathroom. Located in a quiet residential area a short walk from the tram. We took the tram into the centre and enjoyed a lovely evening stroll and meal before setting off on our journey the following day. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Awesome place, totally deserves a third star. Like already mentioned - meticulously clean, very cozy, extremely responsive hosts. Toilet and shower are separate, quite a luxury one doesn't see often today even at really upscale places. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that it was a little off-putting from outside (appearances are often deceptive) and not in the city centre, BUT good tram links available within a short walk.

    Very friendly and helpful staff (believe the lady we dealt with was the owner.) Room and bathroom spacious, clean and modern. Excellent simple but good quality breakfast - possibly the best coffee we have had in France so far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent friendly receptionist, bi lingual and gave us a really clear explanation of what to see, best places to eat and best ways to get to centre of Tours. Hotel 5 minute walk to tram which gets you into Tours centre in about 10 mins max. Rooms really comfortable and bathrooms had excellent showers! Tours fab city - will be returning for a longer trip as the purpose of this stay was a stop over at end of summer holiday. Didn't have time for breakfast but wish we had as coffee smelt great. Stayed with children 17, 14 and 10 and they gave hotel and City thumbs up too. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us some time to find this hotel as the SatNav indicated that it was in a different place (standard for SatNavs though!). Eventually found it with the help of a local French lady using her iPhone.

    Very friendly owner who was able to speak English. Owner very helpful as she showed us where to go in Tours (gave us a map) and how to catch the tram for easy access. Nice breakfast and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated. But the room was nice.

    Great shower after a long day riding the motorcycle from bilbao. Comfortable bed just what I needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a coat of paint .. didn't have time for breakfast so can't comment.

    Driving through round Europe for over 40 years this was a typical French hotel driving up thinking we had made a mistake and even entering we were a bit concerned but once we saw the room all was pretty good "for France" so don't be put off by the decor..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a bit uncomfortable. The blanket provided is too thin. Toilet is separated, not in the bathroom. Shower head and nozzles abused me. (Too sharp water)

    Big clean room, nice staff, quiet room and area. We can even open the window at night. Free parking on site and wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building with noisy plumbing. Decoration poor such as poor artex ceilings.

    Reception staff very welcoming. Super shower in room, multi jet, unusual for this class of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at ground floor bedroom facing the front/street but the two thin layers of net curtains could not provide privacy needed so we had to switch the light off in the evening to avoid being seen from outside. The floor of the bathroom was a bit slippery so we had to be careful especially after shower.

    Friendly receptionist, location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit hard to find as the Sat Nav sent us down a dead end (twice) The restaurant near this hotel was closed so we had to find amother. This was a drive a couple of miles away.

    Very friendly receptionist- Rooms superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least it our room - you could the water draining at all hours. It could be super destracting. Internet wasn't super reliable. Breakfast was kind of pricey in our opinion - especially with good options near by.

    Price was good. Area was quiet and easy to drive around - downtown Tours was a bit hectic. Room was good, bed was comfy Great patisserie around the corner and easy walk to the train/public transport (the patisserie was across the street) My recommendation - try to the patisserie for breakfast. Super good and cheap Parking was never a problem

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we loved this hotel!!

    Welcoming hosts😊 the room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. This is a hotel with charactere well worth a visit. Breakfast was plentiful and served with a smile😊 the location is perfect for a good night sleep and very convenient for city centre with the tram just 5 mns walk up the road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware of no lift if you have heavy bags and ask for ground floor room. No negatives from our stay. We were always up early enough so any noise from school kids next door not an issue but you did hear them so maybe not as soundproof as some.

    Lovely clean, spacious room with separate toilet and bathroom. Very comfy. Glad to have the ground floor so no stairs 😄. Good location - Laundromat only a few minutes walk. Nice bakery by tram. Staff helpful, nice and close to tram - about €3.50 or €3.90 for 24 hour bus/tram card so getting around was easy and cheap. Even the tram was lovely clean and comfortable! Great spot to stay and jump on the train for an hour to go to lots of other lovely wee towns for about €20 return for day trips around the Loire. Plenty of things to see in town and lively and beautiful old town area. Pretty town and close to lots of castles / chateaus. Key code entry for when hotel not staffed so short reception hours weren't a problem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The location is somewhat difficult to find, even with my recent navigation system - No airco in the room, only a noisy fan. I had to open my window to get fresh air and cooling. - The bed for children should be better.

    + The staff is very helpful + Free car parking + An Italian restaurant nearby + Clean toilet and room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficulty in finding hotel on satnav (TomTom). Road appears twice in street index with different spellings and is split by a more major road.

    Reception staff v helpful. Location good for tram to centre ville. Good italian restaurant next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel is a little "tired" but this should not be off-putting. The hotel inside is super.

    The room was super comfortable. The decor is modern, clean and bright. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No, everything was perfect. This was our third stay at the hotel - a recommendation in itself!

    It is just a friendly comfortable hotel and a useful stop off on our way to the Aveyron region. We would also recommend the Italian restaurant just beside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Good free safe car parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks pretty sad outside and in the corridors.

    Smart, tidy room. Lovely, homely breakfast area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Continental breakfast supplied and free off road parking. Good tram service into the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wash basin in different room from toilet

    Good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous room and staff so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English TV channels would be nice

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    location

    clean hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really kind

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lady on reception could not have been more helpful and friendly. It was an excellent stay and we will definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff, Clean and cozy rooms and great breakfast. Hotel is also is a quiet area of the city and close to main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Quiet hotel. Basic rooms but with everything you need for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was uncomfortable.

    the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except it is in a suburb and a tram ride into the city.

    Fine for an overnight stay and free parking. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything. Perfectly clean room, spacious bathroom, very calm neighbourhood. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind and helpful staff, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to fridge or kettle.

    Location was great for us, the room was the same standard as in 4 star hotel. Specially we loved the bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The women in reception was quite ignorant

    The beds were comfortable and nice room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not included and costs eight euros per person

    Good rooms and great service. Hotel with good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had difficulty finding it as there are two roads with the same name but spelled slightly differently. Caused difficulties with the Satnav!

    Very friendly owners who spoke good english.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointing outside appearance of hotel and somewhat dowdy inside too.

    Quiet location. Easy to get into Tours by tram. This town is a 'must' to visit. Friendly hosts.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO bad things to report

    The owner was so helpful, and the room was clean and well maintained. Excellent place to stay for the money. breakfast was good,We had a lovely time and would recommend this place. The owner told us of places to visit. and when in Tours. Try the trams. brilliant way to get around. Loved our time there. would certainly return. Cannot thank them enough.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room at ground Floor Breakfast to be booked the day before, not very "rich" Not in a "beautiful" zone if you want to walk at night Need a car if you want to reach downtown

    Honest and good rest few nights Good price for the location/period (August)

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing to dislike whatsoever.

    Friendly welcome, quiet location and easy parking. One minute walk to the local excellent pizzarea. Sat nav found the hotel with ease.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not in the centre which means it has free parking and is in a very quiet street. Also, there is a good Italian restaurant just 60m down the road from the hotel. The showers are brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sat nav could not find the hotel. Without two nice and helpful local ladies we would have struggled.

    Made us walk to the old town where we found excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady helped us book horse riding, she printed out my emails for me, explained all the local attractions, would definitely stay there again, nice bathroom, comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    Although we were very late arriving and reception was closed, one phone all and arrangements easily made to access the hotel and our room.lovely clean room, fantastic shower.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Couple

    Hostess was exceptional. Breakfast was excellent. We had free parking, perfect internet service and the hostess spoke English

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the old part of town, easy to get to by either tram or car.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Comfortable, friendly, efficient, helpful, homely, pleasant surroundings and decor

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet place, clean. Close to tram to Tours city center, which only takes 10min.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    double bed sag in middle wifi intermittent

    close to tram to town

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very far from the city center Too expensive for the facilities provided

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Design of the hotel, the room was big and clean, modern bathroom, free parking, location, good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful member of staff despite being 8 months pregnant! Outward appearance was nothing special, but interior was clean and modern.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: