Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newhotel Opéra 3 stars

4, rue de Liège, 9th arr., 75009 Paris, France

#1294 of 1,599 hotels in Paris

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 482 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Close to Gare St Lazare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down room and not enough space to walk between roll away bed for child or for luggage for 3 people room. Bedding seemed washed but with someone else’s hair all over it. Generally run down old room poorly maintained. Difficulty with door sticking, shower head loose. Do yourself a favour spend a little more and get a 4 star in area. By far worst room of 10 hotels I have stayed in on this extended European holiday.

    Within comfortable walk distance to Gare St Lazare which meant easy access to all sights by metro rail lines. Staff helpful with directions to sights etc. Plenty of other hotels in immediate vicinity of this one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Not a hotel recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle for boiled water. But you can get hot water at restaurant. However, If the guests help themself for hot water without notifications, you got shouted at. And one of the hotel staff was really lacking of manner for guests.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dated and dingy. It didn't feel very clean. The bathroom shower wouldn't stay in place and sprayed water all over the bathroom. There was no coffee/tea maker in the room.

    The location is excellent. Its a 2 minute walk to the nearest Metro stop with good connections to all the typical places you would visit as a tourist. There are some very good cafes & delis in the vicinity. The room size was pretty good for a Paris hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    The backpackers of Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were flat cushions. There was no safe in the room. No free bottled water supplied like other hotels in the same price bracket. The breakfast was horrible and plasticy and tasteless.....very biah! The staff were rude and for a hotel catering for international guests they didn't speak very good english.

    The bathroom was newish and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was great (close to metro, Moulin Rouge and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the kitchen were not friendly at all Can be noisy (i.e. doors slamming)

    Location was great (close to metro, Moulin Rouge and Montmatre) Reception/front desk was very friendly Breakfast was sufficient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Location is near metro station and easy to access at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is very small and no table to sit if it’s busy Room is old but if you think value for money, it’s acceptable.

    Location is near metro station and easy to access at sightseeing spots Beds are comfortable and enough power of shower water at bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    I would certainly use this hotel again with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows on the bed were difficult to get comfortable with, and the shower could have used a handle to assist climbing out of the bathtub.

    Breakfast was fine, lots of choice, good coffee and basics. The room was simple and wonderfully quiet. All in all, I was pleased with the neighborhood and the metro connections to many of my destinations. Also good bus lines in the area. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Very lovely and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road construction outside the front door of the hotel.

    It was central to everything we wanted to see in Paris. There were also a lot of food choices in the area within a 5-10 minuet walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location for short break.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    V cold bathroom! Hot water not working in evening. I called reception but not helpful. Bit tatty in bedroom.

    Location was good, shower was good when hot water was available. Check in and check out reception was good. Wi fi was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Slightly below average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel lacks of a kettle and we were allowed to use the hot water at the dining area on the first night by the duty manager. He was extremely kind and helpful which we really appreciate. On our last night, we went down to get some hot water again and a different staff told us that we have NO RIGHTS to use the machine for hot water. Look. Apart from tap water, there was no replacement of the bottle of water given upon check in. We were fine with that and we bought water ourselves. But, to simply tell your guests that they have no rights to use the facilities for hot water? Really? Room was generally clean, but the ceiling has an opening which was not nailed properly. We killed two baby cockroaches after checking in which we presumed were from the opening. It’s a good place for a short stay and just to rest.

    The toilet was extremely spacious, making it feel exquisite and classic at the same time. Heating rack was available for you to dry your wet clothes and towels. Staffs were generally courteous and polite. Location was very good and it was an easy access to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Bedroom and toilet were quite small but still fine for what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and toilet were quite small but still fine for what we needed. Plus one of the electrical sockets was loose. Main lobby of the hotel was perfect and gorgeous. Fantastic location and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing from start of booking to check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was over charged at payment, took 3 weeks to get my money back including all charges after over 20 emails, phone calls to booking.com and even phone calls to the hotel in France. Took over a week for any kind of apology. Turned up at the hotel and was overcharged for the city tax and we received no compensation for our experience or anything extra at all in terms of service. The room had curtains that didn’t keep the light out in the evenings and had 3 poor nights sleep at the hotel. Definitely won’t stay there again and would not recommend to anyone else

    It was in Paris

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Not excited.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It must have been the smallest bed I have slept in my whole life! My wife and I had real trouble with sleeping! The wifi was pretty slow.

    The staff was friendly and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    OK for one night, but definitely no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean. The fridge was really dirty. No kettle or tea/coffee-making facilities. The bath wasn't very clean.

    The breakfast was good value by Paris standards. The receptionist in the morning was very helpful & let us leave our bag until the evening. He also gave us good ideas of what to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Good small hotel for Parisian weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer should be renewed, it takes ages to dry your hair.

    Bathroom is quite big for Parisian hotels. Design is good. Staff is helpful (but I speak French very well I don't know how their English is). The area is close to, but more quiet and safer than montmatre, and the hotel is super close to the metro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.4
    Okay for the price but nothing great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed confused most of the time and our room was a bit basic. We were told breakfast was included and then apparently owed money afterward (which we refused to pay). On checkout we were told payment for the room was settled and then when leaving they said it wasn't and *we* had made the mistake. Quite poor customer service and the manager was a bit rude. Sure, our French isn't great but they are a tourist hotel in a major French city. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

    The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    Didn't feel very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for a wake up call at 8am. In the morning but noone called us, so thankfully we woke up ourselves. The staff was ok but overall experience I would say 6 ouf ot 10.

    Cosy place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    I'll go back..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. You should be mentally prepared when visiting to Europe; of course things are going to be small. & your room should be used just to shower & sleep.

    -location is great for all the attractions. -helpful & friendly staff -breakfast served until 12pm for the late risers. -mini marts; restaurants; taxi service; bakeries; all in walking distance. (Uber exists in Paris)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    I just arrived from Paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location of the hotel is convenient to access subway, train station, you can go easily anywhere without any problem.Hotel is clean and most of the staff is friendly, especially Ibrahim was helpful addressing your needs and answering all your questions.Breakfast is plentiful.Although building is old it's still neat and you can book this hotel to enjoy your vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    Decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tooth paste in bathroom!

    Check in time was mentioned as 13:00 hours. We reached by 14:00 hour but room was not ready. The staff checked and cleaned room quickly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Good city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all the hotel was redone recently. Breakfast ok, but too expensive for what it was proposed.

    Excellent placement for the hotel, near train and metro. Good bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.5
    A good start to explore paris
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too dark...they didn t repair a light in the days we stayed there,maybe they could clean a bit more...

    The breakfast was very rich,they had many choises,hotel is in a great location and in a quite street,room quite confortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    The room is very small, and the toilets is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small, and the toilets is very bad.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff and location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt of cigarette smoke and really needs a update. The décor looked tired.

    Friendly staff and location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    facilities are old, and it feels not safe as balconies...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    separate the balcony

    facilities are old, and it feels not safe as balconies between 2 separate rooms are exactly connected. Staff are nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    Location only and breakfast it was basic only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom sooo small and the cleaning was very bad

    Location only and breakfast it was basic only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Probably cleaning the rooms could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Probably cleaning the rooms could have been better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.4
    Uninspiring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a romantic break but the room was decidedly "unsexy".

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Little hotel but very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is a bit scary but safe

    Very helpful staffs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    For 510 euro 1 sgl/1dbl room, no breakfast, no tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 510 euro 1 sgl/1dbl room, no breakfast, no tea facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great stay...thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a coffee maker in my room, but downstairs was ok

    I had a great stay. The staff was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Would have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not secure. In fact so bad other users could be seen. Not ecological, no Led lighting

    Spacious bathroom. Plenty of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    Good location, no natural light in dim lit room made for stuffy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no natural light which made our stay in the room uncomfortable. The room was dim and stuffy.

    Good location, breakfast and service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.5
    excellent location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms very small and bathrooms old

    excellent location . Lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Good place to stay in Paris!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No BF inclusive

    Staff on my first check in is so kind and very support on every areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.3
    Location is very good considering the purpose of my trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rather small room. A bit cramp for moving around. Nonetheless, the cleanliness and comfort compensate for the shortcomings.

    Location is very good considering the purpose of my trip. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    4.2
    The hotel was close to my work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room, ceiling was about 1.80 high, bathroom did not have maintenance for at least 4 years, the bed was maybe 1.90 long, so I bearly fitted in it and the breakfast was with stale croissants, had to ask for strawberry marmelade and the coffee was bad as well and the juices were from a carton....

    The hotel was close to my work

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    I had a very nice large room on 6th floor with a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pillows are bad! You cannot stay in the room at 6th floor without putting the A/C on. The lighting is bad.

    I had a very nice large room on 6th floor with a large balcony, a table and two seats... very nice!

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    Central location and room amenities with reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of hooks and/or bars in the bathroom to hang clothing and towers. Room card is not easy to use (need to try several times before it finally opens).

    Central location and room amenities with reasonable price. Staffers are friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.8
    Very good location, metro is very close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom in photos better than reality

    Very good location, metro is very close. Very quiet room situated in the courtyard, pleasant and helpful staff. Good and plentiful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    This hotel, although small is excellant value for money,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel, although small is excellant value for money, central location and yet unbelievably quiet . Good breakfast with friendly staff and gives you decent breakfast times so you dont need to get up early to have breakfast. Albeit two nights for us, we enjoyed our stay and were made welcome.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.1
    Good location , close to metro station, nice decoration,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad and poor breakfast. No variation of cheese (only two kinds) and ham (only one kind) and the cheese was packaged!! No soundproofing, whenever someone of the other rooms closed his/her room door it made so much noise that woke us up. Most of the stuff knows very basic english that makes the communication quite difficult.

    Good location , close to metro station, nice decoration, very good wifi and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    9.2
    Room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lighting was not enough for me, but tolerable.

    Room was spacious. Staff helpful. Location is not fancy, but convenient with mini marts and cafes nearby, etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.1
    Friendly desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tea coffee making facilities either in room or in dining area would be appreciated

    Friendly desk staff. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.8
    every thing was great and the staff are very friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    every thing was great and the staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    8.8
    every thing about a small hotel was great ;
    • Business trip
    • Group

    the room was to small for 3 persons

    every thing about a small hotel was great ;the staff are so helpful and nice thx for every thing

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.6
    We stay every December and staff are friendly & helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stay every December and staff are friendly & helpful and location convenient .

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    10
    Super comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Super comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.5
    Staff is really kind - friendly- helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms but in Paris quite normal

    Staff is really kind - friendly- helpful

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    comfortable, in the heart of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    so small rooms...

    comfortable, in the heart of the city

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    6.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    high price room high price breakfast noisy rooms small room

    good location really good bathroom

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.9
    Good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were small but no different from other Paris 'shoeboxes'.

    Good location and value for money. Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.8
    Ideally located close to restaurants ,metro and railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideally located close to restaurants ,metro and railway station . Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    position,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    moquette, bathroom

    position, staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Location is bery good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was too small like Business hotel in Japan. There was no kettle in the room.

    Location is bery good. The room was immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    5.4
    Bathroom was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Additional cost for breakfast Room was dated

    Bathroom was fine

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    -Excellent value for money and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Excellent value for money and location! -Nice and friendly staff - strong and stable wifi

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location for everything with a Metro Station just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location for everything with a Metro Station just 300 metres away.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Joe at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Joe at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    Very nice area, very close to metro, quite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice area, very close to metro, quite hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    5.8
    Due to hotel weird credit card system, many cancellation...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Due to hotel weird credit card system, many cancellation e-mails were sent to us. We were not sure we had a room even two days before the trip...

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.9
    Close to the city and the metro, calm hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the city and the metro, calm hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    Excellent service at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service at reception

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Basic

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    9.5
    It's a very good place for turists who wants to explore...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a very good place for turists who wants to explore the beautiful city

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    9.2
    Good location,within walking distance of plenty attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ask for a room on upper floors,lower floors can be noisy with passing traffic.

    Good location,within walking distance of plenty attractions.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Newhotel Opéra traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: