Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kanaï 3 stars

10 Rue De Béthune (adresse postale) / Entrée rue de la Vieille Comédie, 59000 Lille, France

#11 of 53 hotels in Lille

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1846 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Though not a 'luxury' a hotel, the facilities are good, the room clean and the staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived for breakfast at around 10h00 and the room was very busy. Perhaps there could have been a second member of staff available to assist guests as the (very tasty) local produce was low and the espresso machine was out of water and this took over thirty minutes to be addressed.

    Very centrally located in Lille, the hotel was a short walk from bars, restaurants and cafés. Though the room was a little on the small side (as described by many other travellers) it's facilities were good and the breakfast (which was included in the cost) was tasty and prepared with local produce. For the price, I think that the staff, facilities and location was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, Benjamin was very attentive and easily approachable, good fluent English spoken by him. Also looked after our bikes so no worrying when we went out or went to sleep as they were safe in a side room within the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Whilst staff were very pleasant, not a hotel for older generation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find initially and unable to drive to hotel. No lift and not told this,as we are older and were put on 3rd floor it would have been nice to know this in advance and we would probably not have booked here. Very small rooms fine for 1 person but not really for 2, again for us as we stayed 3 nights quite difficult. Definitely a 1 night only hotel.

    Breakfast, staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    The location was very convenient and the staff was helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was extremely narrow. There was no minibar/mini fridge in case I wanted to store cool water.

    The location was very convenient and the staff was helpful. I liked the little gnomes/coin for free beverage on the days I didn't need new sheets/towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice rooms in the heart of Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sliding door between the bathroom and the sleeping room makes some noise, which can be irritating at night.

    Very nice rooms in the heart of Lille. The staff was marvelous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room on the streetside and it was a bit noisy in the mornings with the cleaning cars.

    The location was perfect. Near the metro and in the middle of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfectly sufficient for our overnight stay in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage was difficult to find and not particularly convenient to the hotel. It was plenty big, however, by European standards

    The check-in staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. When (as Americans) we could not find ice in the town the staff found some for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good for a few days and close to all the tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower room was tiny with the toilet practically under the sink. Nowhere to put any toiletries. There were no drawers in the bedroom and little space to unpack anything.

    The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    delightful and comfortable hotel in central LIlle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    foam pillow :-( it would be nice to have the option of a feather pillow. it would also be good to have a towel rail, on which a bath towel could dry off better than on the wallhooks.

    room was small but well appointed and convenient for a short stay. bed was very comfortable. staff went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. nicely firnished lounge in reception area. many options for food and drink ordered into the hotel but also various cafés and brasseries very close by, including one that opens 24h, 7days. 5-8 minutes' walk to the 2 main stations; 1 minute to metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A fantastic, relaxed, friendly place to spend a weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great with lots of locally sourced produce. It was mothers day while we were there and I was given a flower at breakfast which was a nice, thoughtful touch. Also liked the free drink token if you chose to be green and didn't request fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Stay right in the heart of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast should be more varied with more bread options and more fruits. I was expecting more, but it was Ok.

    1. The staff is very friendly and helpful. 2. The location is great! Right in the center of town, very close to bars, restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, many steps - difficult with elderly people, very soft bed

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with carrying luggage up to the room, awesome location, room were tiny but clean and nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and very friendly staff, airco failure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is 2min walk from the hotel so if it's raining the situation won't be perfect. The airco is not working anywhere in the hotel, it was very warm in the hotel :(

    If you want to walk in the center or go shopping, the location is very good. If you want real French food, go to Chez Andre in the same street, 1min walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Very friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small.... with only a foot of space around the bed on all sides. The bathroom had a sliding door (there was no room for one to open inwards or outwards otherwise) which did not close properly, allowing for little privacy. It was so snug you had to leave it open to comfortably use the sink. A larger person would struggle to use the bathroom easily. The area was very noisy on a Saturday night, through until around 4 am. The room was uncomfortably hot (we could not get the air cooler to effectively cool the room) and we were badly bitten by mosquitos.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Central location Comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small but very clean and bed comfortable.

    Excellent central location and 15 minutes walk from Eurostar. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable but a bit "squeezed"
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room was rather small. Especially the bathroom was tiny! You could barely sit on the toilet.

    The stuff was helpful and always willing to help. The location is also great! Right in the city center!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    good location, clean and functional room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the second floor and there was no lift, this was OK for us, but if you have mobility problems could be an issue. Whilst the room was clean and functional, it was on the small side (even for France). Also the bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a curtain, which, meant giving each other plenty of notice!!! :)

    The hotel is centrally located 5 - 10 mins walk from both Lille Europe and Lille Flandres train stations. Hotel is clean and functional absolutely fine if you're looking for a short stay in Lille.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice room and bathroom, centrally located, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some idiot turned on the fire alarm, probably due to smoking

    Rooms and bathroom are nice, especially compared to other French hotels. Location is good: in the middle of a shopping street and a few minutes from the main square. Staff is well-trained and speaks English. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, conveniently located with a great breakfast (if you don't mind waiting for a free table)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area is too small for the amount of guest. When the hotel is fully booked, you might have to wait to have breakfast. Only 20 seats for such a big hotel isn't much.

    The location is very convenient for shopping,going to the center of the city, .... The breakfast was exellent for French standards. Our room was quite pleasant with view of a shopping street. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Great value, pleasant, nice ambience and right in the centre of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very compact having to shuffle around the bed, next time I will book a superior room

    Great location, modern, lovely staff, comfy bed and quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    A great city centre option with comfy beds and friendly staff but small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I appreciate it's a town centre and the privilege of having everything close by is usually that you get less space but a larger room would have been an improvement.

    Excellent location in the centre of town. I loved the fact the windows opened so that for once we could have the room at the temperature we wanted (as opposed to the usual far too hot that most hotel rooms are). Great view out onto one of the high streets which I really enjoyed, especially with the snow falling outside. Super comfy bed - best I've slept in, in a hotel in years. But the room was small and I'd ordered a larger double so the regular doubles must be tiny. But it did have a wardrobe and a desk and space for us to stand our suitcases up without falling over them but it lacked hooks to hang coats on and so forth, which in winter in particular would have been a welcome addition (and the wardrobe was too small to put them in there). But the best things of all were the very friendly, multi lingual, nothing was ever too much trouble, staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    No downsides to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Great location downtown, walking distance to train station. Friendly staff. Fast WiFi. Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    The breakfast was sourced from local producers and was of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A simplier way to log on to the wifi.

    The breakfast was sourced from local producers and was of much, much better quality than the normal hotel breakfast. The rooms, while small, were clean and comfortable and the location was right in the centre of the town and close to the trainstation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Fine for a short stay, breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room with a sliding door to the bathroom/ toilet(not ideal). No elevator, so a lott of stairs to climb when your on the top floor

    Great location, good service, breakfast and Wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    We did not enjoy our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was uncomfortably small (We know that european rooms are generally small- but this room was really a joke). We asked if we could change rooms they said they didn't have any other rooms available that night. When we told them we would prefer not to stay at the hotel at all because of the room size and quality, we were told that we would be charged for the 1st night regardless if we stayed here or not. (This was within the first hour of our arrival). There is no elevator. I thought it would be ok, at first but after going up and down the 4 flights of stairs first few times it became a chore. The phone in our room did not work, so we could not call down to reception. The hotel had cut off the air-conditioning for the whole building, even though it was still warm. So we had to sleep with the window open. We got no sleep between 2-4am because of all the shouting and singing from the people leaving the bars that night. To top it off cigarette smoke from the person in the room next door drifted into our room via the open window The hotel locks the front door at 11pm and you have to call from your mobile phone if you want to get in. Guests should not have to pay international phone rates to get back into the hotel.

    Honestly the only thing I liked about this hotel was leaving the next morning. We had originally planned on staying 4 nights but left after one night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Fairly stressful and rushed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and cramped. The toilet moved and creaked when you sat on it. There were no lifts and onthe 4th level with baggage was pretty exhausting.

    The location was central but no parking spaces. Staff were pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Life-changing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Down side- the fact that we couldn't stay there forever

    We stayed in Room 111, and let me tell you, if you're four people who want to have great hiding spaces for a good ol' game of Hide and Go Seek, this is the room for you. Room 111 has odd angles, two doors to get in (not one like most boring hotel rooms), a great couch where you can stare at a wall, and a heck of a lot of purple. It's beyond your wildest dreams. Also the shower is nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Location, comfort and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs as our room was on third floor., The first double room( basic) was so small there was no way I was staying there for three nights. But the friendly staff moved us to the next level room without changing price. It was so much better.

    Had a lovely stay here. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were helpful even when they did not understand me. The room that we were upgraded to was really nice. Comfy bed, and lots of room. location was great and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Good cost-benefit hotel in Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator in the hotel. If you have lugagge you have to carry them up in the stairs.

    The rooms are new and but small and if you are with another person in the room, it can be a little troublesome. In the overall is a good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    comfortable, really nice staff and entrance decore but dated rooms. but would def stay again here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con, had to request fan and rooms quite dated the breakfast was not very nice , not a good cooked choice

    really elegant entrance, i found it interesting, and location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Superb location, wonderful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband & I found the hotel difficult to locate, it is in a pedestrianised area, although unbeknown to us the hotel had e-mailed us directions, we didn't discover this until later in the day, although not too sure how helpful they would have been. The parking was good, although again, difficult to locate, particularly as it was separate from the hotel, this meant carrying numerous heavy bags, jackets, helmets etc which, at the time, seemed to be quite a long way from the hotel. No lift meant humping everything up several flights of stairs, and then of course, doing everything in reverse when we left. We did want to have breakfast, but there was no room for us to sit & eat, the dining room far too small to accommodate the number of guests it has. We had to leave without eating.

    Lovely hotel, situated in the heart of the city, we had the option of a top floor room, which we chose, it gave us a good view of our surroundings. Super check in staff, very helpful & welcoming, also happy to lend us a bottle opener and glasses so we could have a drink in our room. Modern stylish room, plenty of charging points. Really nice bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean. Secure parking, although a distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room really small.. however, it didn't really matter because you only use it to sleep. The centre of Lille is so nice that you spend your time out in the restaurants & bars.

    Location, location, location.. (although tricky to find using satnav since it sits in a pedestrian precinct). Helpful staff. Very clean. Secure garage nearby for motorcycle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Clean hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It doesn't have a lift. It's only 3 floors, so not too bad if you are okay to walk. And the reception staff helped carry my suitcase up.

    The hotel exceeded my expectations for the price we paid - especially when compared to other locations we stayed at in France. The room had a large windows, an aircon, a very big bathroom (great shower!), and it's location couldn't be better. It's a very short walk from the metro, there's a bike rental station around the corner, it's surrounded by shops, restaurants, and cafe's, and it's slap-bang in the middle of the pretty, older part of Lille.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    3.8
    Difficult to find with 2 different GPS phones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find with 2 different GPS phones. Night Front desk night person was unhelpful. Day attendant was better. Tiny room, too many stairs, no elevator, and loud garbage trucks in am. Skip it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    The perfect stay in Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, everything was perfect.

    The property is clean, very easy accessible, the carpark from the hotel was full but they suggested another parking which was perfect and very cheap (11,80 euro for 24 hrs and 23 euro for 48 hours!). The staff is friendly and helpful, we even got an upgrade to our room (with an amazing view) when we arrived because it was available! There's free nespresso in the room, lovely! The hotel is located in the heart of the center, absolutely perfect! We loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Small hotel in central Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathroom, distance from the toilet to the sink was millimetric, was a bit of a challenge for someone of small size to sit on the toilet without hitting the sink.

    Hotel was located in the shopping area of Lille, very central, but quiet in the same time although the window was facing the shopping street. Very nice staff, kind enough to keep our luggages after we have checked out. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and was a very good value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect, central location for exploring Lille.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot's of stairs to climb, but rewarded with a view over the rooftops.

    Perfect, central location for exploring Lille. Quirky old building which has been adapted with a minimalist style. Very pleasant young team looking after us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, good green ethos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware that in the summer the town seems to have a lot of biting insects! Use insect repellent in the room.

    Great hotel, right in the heart of the town, with everything in easy walking distance. Staff are very friendly, helpful, young and enthusiastic. Breakfast is a delicious selection of local produce - make sure you ask for the freshly squeezed orange juice! Really love the fact the hotel has a Green scheme, where you get a token for a free drink if you don't need your towels changed or the room cleaned. We enjoyed ending our evenings with a free glass of wine whilst chatting with the staff, who were more than pleased to answer all our questions about the town and its history. Tea and coffee available in the room, and when the machine wasn't working one day, staff were happy to make hot drinks and bring them to our room. Wonderful service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Comfortable, friendly and well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ACs tend to be a bit older. Ours broke down in the middle of the night. After opening our window we became a live buffet for mosquitoes! Luckily we were given a new room instantly. (staff is great!)

    The staff is excellent:helpful and really friendly! Breakfast is served till noon and is made fully of locally produced goodies. The room is tastefully designed and equipped with an even more tastefully designed bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.3
    Could be better with improvement of certain points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a 'privilege' triple room but not sure what was privilege about it. The blinded windows connected to a sort of hotel storage room (no view) and couldn't be opened, which made the room feel stuffy, and lacking in fresh air and natural light. The toilet was loose and the shower didn't drain. The receptionist needs more help around breakfast time - she had to do everything by herself from checking out guests to clearing and relaying tables and adding food.

    Breakfast was good, big bathroom, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location, adequate facilities, not the most comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very bad. We had one double bed and instead of one big mattress we had two mattresses side by side. It was very uncomfortable to have a ditch in the middle of the bed. The room floor was slanted around 3 degrees which made the mattresses even more distant from each other. First day they had given us only one set of towels and they took 30 minutes to bring us another.

    The Shower was very nice and the toiletries smelled very nice. We were on 4th floor and had a nice view of all the old rooftops plus the busy shopping street. The breakfast was very nice. Lots of local organic options. The checkout was not until 12 which made the departure unrushed and comfortable. Nespresso machine in the room was also nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Awesome, modern stay in Lille
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout of the hotel is a bit quirky as it is in a pretty old building and there is no elevator (at least that i could see). The rooms really varied in size and layout - the room i stayed in was very tiny but I saw some other larger ones - might be worth it to ask for a room with a larger layout if you're not OK with small spaces.

    The location was superb and the staff was excellent. The breakfast was delicious - all local food and all you can eat for 9 euro. The beds were extremely comfortable, a nice balance of stiff and soft.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Parking lot quite complicated as it is in another building but still there is one!

    Great as always. Super clean, cosy and right into the heart of the city. Calm rooms which not easy in the area. Staff available 24/7 perfect dor late arrival

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Location - it's so close to the métro and train stations, shopping, museums, churches, restaurants and other attractions. The room and even the bathroom are spacious and clean. The bed is very comfortable and I slept almost instantly when I laid on it. The staff members work hard to ensure that clients' needs are taken care of and they are extremely warm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpeting in public areas Finding parking location 12 euros the most expensive hotel parking of my trip

    Central location Good bedding and bathroom accoutrements

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Perfect little hotel for a WE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The adress should be changed, the hotel is located at a pedestrian street angle, and the entrance is 10 meters away on the next street. We went past it twice. Just look up.

    The hotel is nicely decorated, small room but that is always the case in this area of France. We stayed on first floor, in the basic double bedroom. Staff is great, helpful and location perfect.Town centre and right next to public transport. Breackfast is really nice, organic local products. The hand written welcome note on arrival very delicate.Highly recommended. No room in the building to have an elevator, but we had little luggage.Thank you Hotel Kanaï and Lille.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Very good stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom in room 214, difficult to dry my hair while looking in the mirror, because my arm touched the wall.

    Breakfast, airconditioning in the room on the hottest day of the year, the very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Location the best in oldtown and close to train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioned,hot room, a bit noisy

    Location the best in oldtown and close to train station Flandres, and no far from Europe Station. Big confortable room.Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Centrally located modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms with little to no space for our suitcases. No lift, so be prepared to climb many stairs (the reception is on the 1st floor, rooms start on the 2nd). Parking in Lille center is close but the car park nearest to the hotel "rues pietonnes" charged us €26 for the night and had a much too short allowance after we had paid. Due to the central location we could take part at all kinds of noisy actions on the streets below from drunks to cleaning machines and delivery lorries - the rooms would definitely benefit from noise blocking windows. Given all these disadvantages we feel that the price of this hotel was set at one level too high.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bar with a small selection of drinks and snacks. Complete and tasty breakfast buffet. Clean rooms and bathrooms with a modern decoration.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    Can't believe this hotel received a 3-star classification.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking service was quite complicated. The street parkings near the hotel were all full. We ended up putting it into a garage by ourself at a 5 minute walk (for the same offered price). Entrance smelled of garbage containers during our 3-night stay, didn't seem to be cleaned. Also important: there is NO ELEVATOR. The hotel reception is on the first floor, so prepare for some lifting from ground level up. Airco remote was missing, luckily we could use the receptionist's during our stay. Phone was not working either, but we didn't really need it. While asked for a quiet room via booking.com, isolation didn't work that well and room was quite noisy (room 213). Last night, hot water went out. No warm shower available from 4pm till checkout the next morning. Although the nice staff was trying to be accommodating, they couldn't really do anything about it. At checkout, they wanted to discount us for the inconveniences on breakfast and parking costs, that were added to the bill. However, none of these services were consumed. During our stay, no senior staff or management seemed to be present. I would recommend the owner to stay a day or two in this hotel without any notice to its staff. All in all in felt like the hotel did just about enough to get its 3-star classification and never had anyone have look at it again to keep this classification level.

    It is in the pedestrian zone of the city, near the old town and Tourist Office. There is a really nice alternative breakfast location around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Fine if you're young and on business trip with only briefcase!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long walk to hotel dragging cases and then carrying them up many stairs. No bar for cool drink or even ice.

    Conveniently located but quite a walk from taxi with cases as its a pedestrianised area. No lift so lots of lifting cases 1 flight to reception and further 2 flights to room. Very small en suite area but saved by very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A very nice hotel in the center of Lille, just a few steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice hotel in the center of Lille, just a few steps from the Grand Place. Our room was tiny but nice and tidy, with a romantic view on the Lille roofs. On top of this, the parking is safe and in the same street of the hotel. We can recommend this accomodation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money. Inform yourself if you want to park your car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I reserved a parking spot, however when I was in the neighborhood of the hotel I could find it spontaneously. After looking on the site of the hotel I knew where to go (even though the name of the parking-lot was changed) and upon arrival the people of the parking-lot wouldn't let me in. I've ended up parking at a public place and had to walk 5 minutes. All not that bad, but communication beforehand on how to park would have been welcome.

    Location is in the middle of the center, the room was big (we were apparently upgraded to a deluxe room) and it was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in the centre of Lille
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small, there is no access by car or motorbike at normal shop hours, what left us with a lot to carry. They have no lift. Parking was possible nearby, but expensive.

    The bed was comfortable. They gave us a bigger room a floor lower, when they saw our luggage, what was really kind. The staff was very friendly. You are right in the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Pay a little more because the standard room is too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room (double bed) was so incredibly small, it felt more like a closet. It was warm and uncomfortable. I have never seen a room this small and I felt nearly claustrofobic. Price/quality felt out of place.

    The accommodation was clean and perfectly situated, in the middle of the centre of Lille.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 single beds pushed together. I would have liked a proper double. Fire alarm went off when I was in the shower (although not a bad thing to know it works) was just a little inconvenient.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Location is perfect!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double bedroom is very contained. Room itself not soo small but no space to walk.

    Location is perfect! Central area but quiet at night! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.1
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has in fact some deficiencies: it is distributed on 4 floors without elevator; the rooms are small (my double had a very confined space). On the first night the air conditioning was out of service (was restarted the day after). The shower did not drain properly.

    Staff was nice and really helpful. The location is perfect, central and quite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.7
    Very nice but cramped .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was tiny ! Barely room to get in the room and the bathroom required contortions not suitable for my age (64) I wonder if Booking.com customers are allocated the smallest rooms ???

    Hotel very nice and beautifully decorated . Breakfast excellent using locally sourced ingredients

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    6.7
    Great location and good breakkie.... not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size, bed. Majority of staff seem a bit "lost"....

    Breakfast and location are superb, although after 9:30am breakfast is not teplinished ! The rooms are micro. We were moved to a "superior room" where the bed was made of two singles put together and - as the floor was sliding down (attic room) - difficult to sleep on, quite uncomfortable. The hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    very convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small rooms and bathrooms but space used efficiently. note there is no elevator but staff offered to help with bags

    very convenient location. easy walk from the gare. Clean rooms. good breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.3
    Not good, saved by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest, not good: steep stairs to climb (no elevator), lugging suitcases and in our case a stroller. Airco defective. Shower clogged and inundated bathroom. Carpet old and not so clean. We were misled by bookings claim that, at 95 euros, this was a bargain compared to...300! Never, ever can this room have been sold at that price.

    Good breakfast, excellent staff in reception and breakfast room. The hotel is saved by its pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.9
    Ideal location for sightseeing or shopping. Breakfasts were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift and stairs are quite steep but member of staff did offer to help us. The room, which was a superior double, was very "compact".

    The breakfasts were lovely - fresh local produce. The standard of cleaning was very good. Hotel was situated in the very centre of Lille in the old quarter.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.7
    Great stay and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathrooms and no lift. Parking was not on site. However the situation of the hotel made up for this

    The hotel situation in the middle of Lille is good for the Christmas Markets and also the resturants. The breakfast was good value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Zou graag nog een keer terug komen voor een overnachting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative news, but some triggers; - 2person bedroom, needs 2 extra pillows not one. Didn't asked for 1 extra pillow. - Cable of light comes between door, by closing the door, safety issue. - Airco didn't cool, just warming function. Didnt need cooling. - No Dutch television, but didn't watch much. - No elevator, but they ask for helping you. - Send the information of parking garage (adress) before people arrive and need to check-in.

    - Room is small but functional - Breakfast is good - Location is perfect - Personality is great - Shower is nice - Bed is okay Staff is good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Compact hotel right in the centre of Lille.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Privilege Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fan outside the room that went on and off during the night. Very annoying.

    Very close to the main square and the Christmas market. Car parking close by in a very busy town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    Excellent location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was the size of a closet, this shouldn't be allowed. For 99€ without breakfast & parking (total 130€). It's quite expensive. Half the toilet was under the sink, very difficult to sit on. Also we had to put up with a horrible smell during our entire stay !

    The staff were great!!! The parking & the excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift. I knew this in advance having asked the question. The stairs are spiralled so anyone slightly uneasy on their feet needs to pay attention

    The staff couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were excellent and breakfast really set us up for the day. Great central location for the shops and Lille Old Town and the Christmas Market which we were here for

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.5
    Locatie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk-service. We got a room which was already occupied when we opened it. Surprise! Guest who was in it was not pleased with this as well. However re-surprise: we got another room instead which was an upgrade. Great!

    Locatie

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    6.3
    Location and staff OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    small breakfast area causing waiting times. very small bathrooms in some rooms. Not a lot of TV foreign channels.

    Location and staff OK. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff on reception who spoke excellent English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff on reception who spoke excellent English. Good location in pedestrianised city centre with metro station, local bus & nice cafes all close by.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Breakfast. Comfortable bed. Kind staff. Great position.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    the hotel has not elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel has not elevator

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Room view looked right down the Main Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park the motorbike some distance away.

    Room view looked right down the Main Street. As requested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Staff, Location

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kanaï traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: