Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kleiber 2 stars

37 Grand'rue, 67700 Saint-Jean-Saverne, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Saint-Jean-Saverne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok for a one night stop over en route to somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom dated, and small. No air conditioning. Couldn't have the window open because of traffic noise on a busy street, so room stuffy and too hot.

    Newly installed ensuite. Barbeque option for evening meal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Quaint hotel, clean. Very nice owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of decorations in the room. And the hotel is further away from the highway that we imagined. We arrived at night and the road is a bit tricky.

    We had requested twin beds and were given a choice of rooms: one large bed or twin beds. The owner showed us both rooms, which was nice. We chose one that was overlooking the street and the owner warned us that it could be noisy. But traffic was so light that it didn’t bother us. Breakfast is excellent. Lots of variety. Dinner was very good, mostly typical food from the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    A very warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found that the food at the restaurant was extremely good being traditional local dishes that are otherwise rare to find, while the coffee was very good for breakfast and there are a multitude of jams to try, we really love the homemade apple juice and really look forward to staying at Kleiber again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    It was only a stay of one night on route to Germany but don't think we would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at the hotel we were immediately asked if we were having dinner that evening. Having said no the owner/manager became unpleasant and made us feel unwelcome.

    The room and bathroom were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Too expensive
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room even though I specified in advance there will be three of us, plus a dog. No A/C in the room and a really basic breakfast.

    Dinner was great, the rest of the experience was just ok... Too expensive for what we got in return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had a lot of character but seemed to be more suited to bikers.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The evening meal was enjoyable and set in a rustic bar and restaurant - very Alsace .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely, traditional, family run hotel. The hosts and staff were charming. Great room and breakfast. A buffet and barbecue at the table made a superb stay. Free parking very close. A beautiful village in the Alsace and we will visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.9
    For a night stay is more than enough.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a night stay is more than enough. The welcome point is bad because the owner is not very friendly. The room is small but enough for 1. The toilet is modern but with a big lack of light specially by shaving in the morning. Good breakfast and wi.fi conection.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.9
    Handy place to stay if you want somewhere close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food could have been better, and maybe caught the owner on a bad day as the welcome and goodbye was really dour. Maybe he just doesn't like the English.

    The room was clean and the bathroom recently decorated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.2
    The parking probably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman was extremely rude and not vey welcoming. The restaurant, yes there is one but not open or probably open during very limited hours. We arrived at 9:00pm and nothing could be served. The location is a Village so there is nothing around or is located far away. The price is way more than what you really get, old furniture, out styled bathroom, simple not my type of lodging.

    The parking probably.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Lovely village location with flowers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely village location with flowers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    everything was OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was OK...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the abruptness, to the point of rudeness, of the owner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner/manager was not very friendly although the waiter was great.

    Room was great. Very big.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stopover hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice quiet village, decent room with good shower. Nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good on whole food excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room too low!!!!

    Shower room large and modern!!! No fan hot weather!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but overall poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor evening meal. We have never had lamb shank without any kind of sauce before

    Very good breakfast and nice friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Family friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, very helpful and friendly especially to our 10month old daughter!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely village family-run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family-run, with all the personal attention that comes with that kind of service. I'd love to go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Another great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always a great stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful landscape, amazing forest nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely good staff, very friendly owner, great restaurant, very practical accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    Basic but friendly
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over priced. Cold and not good breakfast. Also Not a good bed, bedroom or bathroom.

    Friendly Staff ready to accomodate even late at night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Good en-route hotel with a pleasant restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in small village. Pretty good restaurant with friendly chef. Nice room, good beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Just brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentive frindly but not intrusive staff. Lock up garage for my motorbike. Excellent food and drink.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Good, pleasent stay, hotel for us was biker friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Welcome, service, good food and staff were all very good and helpfull, most staff spoke english this helped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    Real Alsace hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Alsace hotel. Restaurant with nice local dishes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    Could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable traditional hotel in an excellent position in a small village. Everyone there was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, friendly accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Very peaceful stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late to arrive and they were very kind to wait for us. Breakfast very good with home made jam and juice and fresh produce.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Love the waiteress (thanks for the fist bump), love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room doesn't have double glazing (I don't think) so the noise from the road is quite loud even though the road is quite quiet. I was woken up at 5am with traffic going through this tiny weeny village. Earplugs worked a treat though. I was in Room 3.

    Love the waiteress (thanks for the fist bump), love the owner's son - he loaned me his own toothpaste because I'd forgotten mine! The soft furnishings have been changed since last year - much more neutral. This is a definite improvement on last year. Lovely new bathroom too. The restaurant is AMAZING. Have the steak!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The larger double room was excellent for travel with a giant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The larger double room was excellent for travel with a giant breed dog. The restaurant service and food were excellent. Wonderful hiking near by. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    Room was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to love this place.

    Room was perfect. Evening meal was outstanding. Wine was fine. Peaceful village. Yet another return visit on our way down the Page.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    The tranquility and the cleanliness of the hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The opening hours of the restaurant were a little short for our schedule but they went out of their way to accommodate our needs which we appreciated

    The tranquility and the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff. The fact that we could adjust the bathroom temperature separately and the cosiness of the room (December) as I hate being cold.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    7.9
    Quaint and old fashioned - just how we like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a bit small, but quite comfy.

    Quaint and old fashioned - just how we like it. Absolutely delightful old French village setting; after a day on the motorway its like stepping back in time to a more relaxed and civilised era. The owners and their staff are quite charming, and the food is exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    Only stayed one night but very nice evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a lot in village ie. More restaurants or bars if you was staying longer.

    Only stayed one night but very nice evening meal. Not a lot on menu for younger children

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Really nice apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We couldn't get wifi signal in the bedroom. No children's menu.

    Really nice apartment. Great food. Friendly staff. Air-conditioning was very welcome. Overall really enjoyed our brief stay here, en route to Calais from Austria

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, nice food, roomy, pleasant accom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very poor wi-fi reception

    Friendly staff, nice food, roomy, pleasant accom. It is worth noting, the village is completely dead with no other eating options without driving to Saverne. Ask about the daily specials before ordering off the menu.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.8
    Small hotel with a very good restaurant using local produce.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Small hotel with a very good restaurant using local produce. Comfortable large room and friendly owners. Parking a little way up a side street but we experienced no problems leaving our car unattended

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.9
    Quiet village which gave a taste of life in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet village which gave a taste of life in the area. The hotel is very traditional and the dinner we ate was great value. The waitress was very friendly and gave great advice on what to have from the local area.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    I liked the characterfulness of the place.
    • Solo traveller

    Take ear plugs if you're a light sleeper

    I liked the characterfulness of the place. The food is amazing (including breakfast). The owner speaks great English and was really helpful (he's a character, mind you). He arranged a light lunch for me on arrival even though the restaurant was closed and I am very grateful (it was delicious). Do walk up Mount St Michel. The views are stunning. I would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    7.5
    The excellent dessert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smallest double bed we've ever slept on, beware the lowest booking price it always means the worst room! The restaurant food was good but the prices were high and there was nowhere else to eat within walking distance.

    The excellent dessert

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.2
    The food is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe the bedroom was a bit small.But everything else is very clean with modern bathroom.

    The food is fantastic. The old beamed dining room is full of character.The owner is very helpful. We have stayed four times - that speaks for itself

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    10
    The food, the atmosphere of a family-run hotel, attentive,...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The food, the atmosphere of a family-run hotel, attentive, friendly and efficient staff. Not to mention the superb home made jams for breakfast (strawberry and mint jam, Dandelion jelly...) Our second visit, memorable stays on both occasions, food well worth travelling for

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    The owners were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners were very welcoming. Room was clean and nicely organized. The restaurant food and service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet. Not far from Autoroute. Lovely evening meal. Very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.2
    A very welcoming family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very welcoming family run hotel With very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    A really friendly, family run hotel - spacious, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A really friendly, family run hotel - spacious, clean bedrooms, excellent food in their restaurant. A beautiful, quiet village location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    Spacious, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didnt work in room -weak signal.

    Spacious, comfortable room. Friendly.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful welcome, delicious food, quiet and off the beaten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful welcome, delicious food, quiet and off the beaten track.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    We loved the staff, the restaurant was very good, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The internet's signal is poor.

    We loved the staff, the restaurant was very good, the room is very clean.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.1
    location, large room, very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cost of breakfast, drinks and dinner on the expensive side.

    location, large room, very comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    6.3
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort room not in main building with an outlook onto the exhaust vent from the kitchen. Food poor quality and overpriced.

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    The rooms were spotless, the evening meal was fabulous,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were spotless, the evening meal was fabulous, breakfast could do with a little more selection, but I would still stay again

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.8
    Excellent evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent evening meal. Everything worked.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    8.3
    Friendly, room was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, room was. Great

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.8
    Restaurant outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not great

    Restaurant outstanding Fantastic breakfast Pleasant rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable, quiet and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, quiet and great food.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: