Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Bastide de Boulbon 4 stars

Rue de l'Hôtel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France

#1 of 4 hotels in Boulbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and attentive hospitality. Beautifully designed garden and interiors. Well located for Avignon TGV and to visit lots of interesting areas. The service is discreet, highly attentive and individualised. Lots of local knowledge shared to help plan days and service went over and beyond when we left a bag behind and it was promptly delivered to us. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are an older couple and we were on the top floor - no elevator. We would definitely stay there again but request a lower floor.

    This was our 4th visit to this property so that says it all! Love the owners - Jean and Marie Clare - very helpful and so friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    This is a very special place. It's absolutely stunning and the hosts are just lovely. Avignon, Nimes and Arles are all about a 30 minute drive from the hotel so perfect for day trips and then later relaxing in the gardens with a glass of wine in the evening. Boulbon is a small town, but there is a boulangerie, a cafe and an excellent restaurant (L'oranger) but be sure not to miss the excellent food in the hotel's restaurant. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The husband and wife couple who run this hotel go above and beyond. It is set in a lovely village and the property is amazing - especially the garden and pool. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there's really nothing i can write here.

    i asked for a soft boiled egg and it was PERFECTLY soft and hot and jammy. the pool was a delight. the owners are the MOST delightful and kindly offer every little thing one might need. the property is stunning and the quiet rest we experienced was unforgettable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Liked everything.

    The hotel was beautifully presented, the room was attractive and spacious, comfortable bed and pillows, very quiet, in a small Provence village which was close to major towns and other small villages. Jan & Marie-Claire were very friendly and helpful - Jan had maps of the easiest routes to major towns and attractions at the ready, and recommendations to lesser known sites. Marie-Claire arranged dinner for us at the local restaurant (which was very good), breakfast was excellent and plentiful with fresh local produce, although we chose to eat away from the hotel. The garden was beautiful. We would definately recommend La Bastide de Boulbon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What's not to like? This is a small hotel (10 rooms) not part of a big chain, so it doesn't have the 'slickness' that might be expected from a 4-star establishment. We felt the additional individual attention that we enjoyed far outweighed what some might see as a downside - but it's a matter of personal choice.

    The friendly, personal attention of the owners and their staff. The quiet, peaceful setting in a small village off the beaten track, yet only 15 minutes drive from Avignon TGV. Lovely breakfasts and evening meals outside on the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Almost everything. If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. Such pleasant owners of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Jan and Marie-Claire. And with the beautiful city of Avignon a 15 minute car ride away and Les Baux an hour away, this is a fantastic place to have as a base. There is literally nothing to do in the village of Boulbon. It has one bar and one restaurant, and that is what made it so special. I will return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower has to be held in the hand, which is not very comfortable. Also the breakfast is a bit expensive (17euro pp).

    Beautifully restored house, a 15min drive from Avignon. The place is exactly what you want and expect from a stay in the Provence. The garden is very beautiful and sophisticated, the owners are very nice and attentive. Recommended!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing, we felt like we were in Paradise! It was so beautiful, quiet and quaint, we were tempted to stay there longer than we'd planned. The staff was so hospitable and gave us excellent recommendations for what to do during the day.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietors truly care about their guests and very knowledgeable about the area for setting day trips etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great dinners, lovely garden, gracious hosts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the owners of this hotel are just wonderful, very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very obliging hosts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not stay longer

    Best property during our 2 week stay acrosss France!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Amazing Property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is beautiful and lovely, including the owners!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little overpriced

    Everything!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good, can't think of any dislikes.

    Owners could not be more accommodating, extremely relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not so, big as it was in the hotel info. So we were ready for it

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The portion size of dinner was underwhelming.

    Incredibly kind staff. The hotel itself is stunning. Tastefully decorated and maintained.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of a minibar in the room.

    The breakfasf and dinner were wonderful and the owners were very helpful giving a lot of tips on the region! Location was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Amazing property with exceptional garden and comfortable rooms in a beautiful village of Boulbon. The location is perfect to explore Provence.The owners are very enthusiastic and taking care of every detail to make your stay unforgettable. Great breakfast with local products. Nice choice of top quality meals for dinner. All in all a unique property clearly exceeding a 3 star level.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were quite expensive.

    Beautiful house and very welcoming hosts. The evening meal was excellent and the staff were very friendly. It has an extremely quiet location with limited facilities in the village, but it is very well placed for exploring the fascinating surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our hosts, Marie-Claire and Jan were wonderful. Both were lovely and very attentive to the guests. Jan gave us recommendations for sights we would never have seen complete with maps and directions. Dining there was also lovely and delicious. It was a memorable experience!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love the interaction of the owners Marie Claire & Jean with their guests. They are so helpful and entertaining and always available to help with maps, suggestions, etc.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived here after a long journey from the North of France . This Hotel was perfect . As a single traveller I was made so welcome . The Hotel is situated in a beautiful little village surrounded by the countryside of Provence. The room I had overlooked the pool and lovely gardens. The evening meal was delicious . I wish I could remember the name of the girl who helped in the Hotel, she seemed to help with everything with the Husband and Wife owners. Everything was so efficient but also so friendly. I was so pleased with my stay, I came back 2 days later and stayed another night. Tremendous.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room (7) we stayed in was rather small. However, the perception differentiates from individual to individual.

    Beautiful spacious bastide, exceptionally tastefully decorated. The hotel restaurant is small and the limited menu efficiently managed. Nevertheless, the food is delicious considering the kitchen size and possibilities a small hotel restaurant has. We spent several evenings in the restaurant and do not regret anything! Definitely a must try! It is also very frequented by external guests. Eating outside in the garden creates a truly special atmosphere! The hotel garden is very relaxing and very large. You can spend hours without realizing it in this beautiful space. The owners are very friendly, lovely and help you with everything you need. You can tell that they live what they represent with this beautiful small hotel. Boulbon is a perfect starting point for many different tours in Provence. On top of that you are very close to some of the world's most famous vineyards!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was quite literally nothing to dislike about La Bastide de Boulbon. Every single aspect of this luxurious but friendly boutique hotel was perfectly attended to.

    This hotel was absolutely perfect in every way. My wife and I still talk about it over a month later and we describe it as if we saw paradise. The hotel owner is a warm, friendly, attentive yet discrete man and his staff are wonderful. The property is meticulous, amazing bedroom and bathroom, and the meals are exquisite and well-priced. This is, unequivocally, the best hotel stay of my life. Exceeds the quality of Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton on a far more intimate level.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The town was a bit small, no shops or restraunts

    The room and hotel were absolutely beautiful. Great pool, grounds, atmosphere. It's a wonderful place to relax with a spa feeling.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Jan and his staff (special mention Laura) were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious. The food at the hotel is fantastic. Boulbon is a beautiful little town and you can easily access Avignon from there.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived, there was confusion and the owner mistakenly told us we didn't have a reservation. We had a stressful couple of hours waiting until he figured it out. Then we had to move rooms three times and he blamed the reservation site for the way it was booked.

    The grounds and hotel were immaculate. Very well done, but simple and not extravagant. The owners make it for easy for you to stay on the property for meals and beverages (for a price). It's in a very small town which is peaceful, but there's nice access to other towns in the area.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in small village on beautifully landscaped grounds. The proprietors, John and Mary Clair, were constantly available and very hospitable with suggestions of what to see In the area.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nous, avec toute notre famille, avons passées des moments formidable dans cet hotel. C'est plutot une maison de vacances ou vous sentez comme vous etes dans une foret, en plein de beaux details de nature. Tout est bien pensée, les chambres sont tres confortables, les gens sont tres souriants.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything: location (close to main roads and Avignon, still in a tranquility of the village), style, entire site - with a beautiful garden and old trees - all as in "A Good Year" with Russel Crow - really very much so. Hosts speak English, they are lovely couple, professional, very friendly and helpul. You feel so welcome and at home! Great breakfasts and exquisite cuisine francaise (absolutely outstandingly delicious dinner). We loved the place. It made us change our opinion on France in general to much better. No cons.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect ! The property itself - building, gardens and interior is gorgeous. The owners have an incredible attention to detail and they and their staff are attentive in a very friendly and warm way. We stayed 2 nights because of an itinerary to stick to but next time we will stay 5-7 nights and base ourselves at this most lovely and central location, while visiting the surrounding sights. Oh and by the way, the three course dinners and wine was sensational !

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There isn't a lift in the hotel which might be difficult for people with mobility issues. No problem for us though as it kept us fit :-)

    My husband and I have just returned home from a fantastic Easter weekend here and every single thing about our stay was fabulous: the room, the decor, the grounds, the staff, the service, the food, the ambiance! Nothing was too much trouble - all you have to do is ask. We ate there every night as the food and service were so good there was no need to go find anywhere else to go. Oh, and, did I say, L'hôtel La Bastide de Boulbon is fantastique? Well worth the 4 hour drive from Geneva :-)

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Friendly and attentive hosts . Well thought out and excellent food . Well chosen wines . Beautifully maintained grounds and pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a beautiful house and gardens in a quiet town outside Avignon. The hosts were so helpful with maps and suggestions, we hope to return

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The ambiance of the whole place was relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The owners were superb travel agents who made excellent recommendations of visits in the area.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    exellent hosts & accomodation - perfect setting

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike everything was excellent. Hotel, room, food, garden, staff and proprietors.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jean and Marie-Claire treat their guests like royalty. The whole experience was faultless. Location, aesthetics, food, atmosphere = perfection!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very tastefully decorated rooms. Great food.Fabulous hosts.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Taste, atmosphere, elegance

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: