Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Bastide de Valbonne

107 chemin Font de Cuberte, 06560 Valbonne, France

#3 of 16 hotels in Valbonne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 201 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would like to see a mini fridge in each room and maybe coffee/tea making facilities as well. Air con needs upgrading as I've stayed there twice now in the summer, and air con is not very effective at all.

    Everything was great. Breakfasts were excellent. Parking easy. Close to the village of Valbonne. Quiet and peaceful. Very relaxing. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    For lunch or dinner you have to go into Valbonne centre which is a 20 minute walk along a busy road with non existent footpaths most of the way. We did find a quieter parallel route on the way back.

    Good room with balcony overlooking the pool. Quiet with secure parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We really missed having help-yourself tea and coffee making facilities. From memory it cost approximately 3 Euros per cup of coffee, so we largely did without which we found rather dampened our enjoyment of the hotel. If we stayed again, we'd have to take our own travel kettle. The owner, however, said that they plan to put in tea/coffee making facilities soon.

    Beautiful italianate garden with statues, terracotta pots, planting, lights and pool. Lots of parking and a great italian restaurant next door run by the same family. The curly metal chairs and tables added to the look - so much nicer than white plastic! The bed was a comfortable four poster and the decor is pale blue and soft peachy-cream. The owners are welcoming, multi-lingual and very helpful. For instance, if we didn't want the full 15 euro breakfast, they were happy to provide a lesser breakfast at a lesser cost. Plenty of parking and perfectly situated just south of Valbonne.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast a bit basic and pricey for Euro 15.00 per person per day!

    Very nice hotel, typical of the region. The staff were excellent, very friendly, helpful, attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Very nice location and nice staff with a personal touch. Pitty we were not there in the summer as the pool and the pool area look great! Nice breakfast. No diner facilities but plenty of nice restaurants in Valbonne Village (10 min drive)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is located within a kilometer of Valbonne, it’s impossible to walk into the historic village, without risking your life on a busy road with no walking pavement! The upside is the free parking lot located right at the entrance to the village.

    Pleasant and comfy hotel just outside Valbonne.Easy and free parking.Our room had direct access to the very nice pool.Great location for touring the Riviera.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred a pool view.

    The hotel has been tidied up a little outside since I last visited, and now has a Pizza restaurant attached. It is still an attractive building and surroundings, with ample parking. It's very nice inside, implying that it would be cozy in winter. It's located about 500m from Valbonne, but it's not really walkable, as the road is quite busy and sidewalks are inconsistent. I got a car park-facing room this time, as it was busy, but it was quiet and comfortable. The sheets are smooth and lovely, the room attractively Provencal, clean as a whistle and nicely done, in general. We had a bath, so I bathed. Breakfast is excellent. So good we invited my daughter and her chap to join us there for the last morning. There is also the possibility of a drink at the little bar. The staff are helpful and delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That Sundays are rest day and some things comes to a stop. We would like to know this in advance to be aware.

    Staff and guests were friendly. Bed was comfortable and room were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very convenient, lovely room that was very clean & staff very friendly, plus they have a lovely Italian restaurant next door which was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this was a gem of a find!

    Welcome was very friendly, interior and exterior look and feel inviting and extremely well maintained. Enjoyed swimming in the pool and the easy access to it from our room. Bed extremely comfortable and had the best night's sleep. The breakfast was buffet and coffee delicious. All the staff at Bastide were consistently professional and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be helpful to provide sheets in addition to the comforter for the warmer weather

    The staff was friendly, and helpful. The restaurant next door has excellent Italian food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to have a minibar at the room with some cold beverage.

    Very good breakfast served alongside the pool. Great, friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful picturesque building in the countryside between Valbonne and Mougins (north of Antibes/Cannes), which is a good location if you have a car.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhat limited facilities but a very good three star.

    Very laid back place to unwind in. Had a room with terrace beside the pool. Very friendly staff. Good value for money out of season.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy reception telephone ringing in the night. Faulty plug point next to bed, had to charge phone by unplugging the TV. No lift.

    Checking in and out was very quick. Room was spotless. Spacious bathroom with separate shower and W.C. Bonus single bedroom on other side of bathroom. Plenty of space in car park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic amenities: not even a bottle of water in the room. Felt rather desolate. Motel ambience.

    Room was clean and bed reasonably comfortable. Close to Valbonne, though difficult to walk there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a 3 star hotel and the facilities in our room reflected this - there was no fridge nor tea / coffee making facilities. I thought the breakfast was expensive (15€) for what was provided

    The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful and our room was a good size. The swimming pool area was very well laid out and attractive. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well equipped with hairdryer and toiletries. The hotel was in a quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the pool for sunbathing is quite tight. It's a shame the owners didn't make use of the garden behind when designing it. However all in all a fabulous hotel and we would come back in a flash.

    Such friendly helpful staff , pretty room, quiet, beautifully decorated hotel, lovely pool. The hotel attracts the kind of people you'd like to sit round the pool with, cnsiderate and friendly! Breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. We ate by the pool, divine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing- it was all great

    The staff could not of been more welcoming, the food was great and apart from the lack of pavement to valbonne the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really; it's a very pleasant, small hotel.

    We only stayed one night, en route to our main holiday destination, but it was a very pleasant stay. The town centre is walkable which was partly why we chose it. The staff are very friendly. Personally I wouldn't stop for longer than one or two nights as the arrangement of the hotel around the pool means that you feel a bit squashed in. Very good though overall.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Light and airy clean rooms. Very hot area round pool for sunbathing. Lovely friendly owners and staff. 15 minute walk into Valbonne centre, but lot of time on the road in the traffic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wifi is available but the broadband is not good - which might be a good thing!

    Helpfulness of everyone, kindness, consideration for me as i travel with a wheelchair and my room was perfect. Intimate, relaxing hotel - fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the help at reception was very knowledgeable about the area . She booked us at a great restaurant for dinner with an amazing view. She also recommended the right beaches. She was so helpful. The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was ok. Lots of variety but lacking some freshness - no options for a more american type breakfast - or pancakes . If breakfast offer is improved this hotel would be a 10.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; it was lovely.

    All the staff were delightful; we felt so welcomed for our special break. It was lovely to lounge by the pool in the sunshine for a few days. Short walk into Valbonne, just right.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a bit more extensive.

    Very nice location with staff that also speak Dutch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No minibar

    Ambiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, nothing.

    Qualité/prix Petit dejeuner Propreté

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet space too small. Poor soundproofing from the corridor. No bacon and eggs!

    Hotel environment, the design

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bad smell from the air conditioning - smells like rotten eggs or worse!

    The decor, style and personal touch from the owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Restaurant

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Far from the crowd, you need a car and its worth it !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car.long walk into valbonne

    Perfect.lovely staff who were so friendly &helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast

    Nice hotel well appointed good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast - it was awful

    The bread T breakfast was very good and we had a lovely light lunch

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety for lunch menu

    Comfy place and staff very patient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms and the beds. Missing a cooler as well to store mineral water etc.

    The breakfast was OK

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful friendly staff, great pool, good breakfast. Room was well presented and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was very bad

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely staff, always smiling. Nothing too much trouble. Very relaxing stay. Comfy beds, great pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the breakfast was too expensive

    The Friendliness of the Staff & the overall cleanliness. The swimming pool was very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff was fantastically supportive at a time when my wife was undergoing some stressful medical evaluations. They made the hotel sanctuary for us both. Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Excellent location. Charming, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely large room with comfortable bed and shower room. Spotlessly clean. Walked out of room onto patio with breakfast tables and pool.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is just a few minutes drive from the town, where you can find restaurants and supermarket. The hotel has a swimming pool, which is just located next to the place where we had breakfast. The staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely area and very pleasant simple hotel with everything promised and no unnecessary frills. Warm welcome and staff always helpful. Great breakfast, nice pool and all kept clean and tidy. Pool very nice. Otherwise no frills.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A pearl of comfort away from the madding crowds. Space to breathe and savour the airs of the Cote. Rooms were spotless. Breakfast is generous. Pool setting is calming.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I read previous reviews of the place in regards to brekkie being expensive for what it was. Brekkie and cost for it is reasonable. Some people are never happy. P.s this review comes from a well seasoned hotel stayer. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

    Made to feel so welcome from first arrival to I left. Nothing was to much for the staff from making evening food for me (cold buffet) to finding me a taxi. The room was great, quiet, clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Genuinely friendly staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, helping me with bags and taxis. Beautiful interesting decor, and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The iron bed was stylish but not the most comfortable

    The check in was very friendly, the room was nice with a terrace which would be lovely in summer.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and quiet place, perfect for discovering Provence and Cote d'Azur. Breakfast is also good. Small but comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very convenient to reach Sophia Antipolis. Room spacious, clean and very quiet. Delicious breakfast. Very welcoming staff. Swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, there was no hotel sign at the entrance - rather annoying after a long drive but lovely, lovely hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice location,helpful staff,confortable rooms and very quite.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People room location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The helpfulness and pleasantness of the owner and especially the night guardian helpful and welcoming, warm and friendly. agreeable

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Beautiful pool area for relaxing & having breakfast around. Rooms were very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffe/Tea making in room

    Staff very helpful, plentifull breakfast by swimming pool. Beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Couple

    Great location, nice staff, comfortable room, good value

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Swiming pool

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As always made to feel so welcome.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missed a small fridge full of water in the room...

    The gardens, the welcome, the morning cappuccino! What a bliss!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could benefit from a restaurant and mini bar...

    Nice room, lovely breakfast and attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Maybe the price a little bit too high especially for breakfast.

    Nice building, clean and warming. Nice employees, always kind and available.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stay here regularly on business trips and always get a really friendly welcome to this lovely hotel

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee.

    The staff, the pool and the welcome.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    CONFORT AND DECORATION OF THE HOTEL, CONGRATS TO THE OWENERS.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wick WiFi, no fridge in the room.

    Location, friendly staff, nice decoration, cleanliness.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: