Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Capitelle 3 stars

Rue du Boulanger, 26270 Mirmande, France

#3 of 4 hotels in Mirmande

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Good value menu du Marche.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room but don't let that put you off. It is a lovely friendly hotel in a very quiet medieval village.

    Good value menu du Marche.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything about this hotel

    This hotel is located in a medieval French village set on a hillside with stunning views. The hotel itself is a lovely old building and is being renovated room by room. Our room was very comfortable. As it was a lovely evening we had our evening meal on the outside terrace and watched a beautiful sunset. Our meal and breakfast were both very good and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and restaurant in spectacular setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all lovely. Our room had the view. I suspect other rooms might be slightly bigger but that doesn’t bother us.

    Spectacular setting: our room had a little Juliet balcony overlooking the view of the whole valley. Hotel is charmingly renovated and staff are delightful. The 32 Euro menu in the restaurant was brilliant. The best I’ve had at that price for a long time. We would definitely go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understood that the hotel had a private parking next to it. That parking however is public. The private parking ( also open to the public ) is about 3 minutes away by car. The owner of the hotel will take you there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Rustic charm and a good meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit small, with a separate toilet cubicle and shower stall. It was nicely done, but I'm not a fan of the arrangement. The quilt was way too hot for me, despite the lateness of the year.

    Mirmande is a ancient, charming village well worth an hour or two of your time and La Capitelle is a lovely hotel that occupies one of its venerable buildings. The welcome was warm, and the restaurant really is quite good and reasonably priced. The village is within easy reach of the A7 and as such, makes a good stopover on the way up or down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Very pleasant place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming little hotel in an ancient fortified village. Excellent breakfast with a variety of home-made products (not buffet). Good restaurant. All in all: excellent value for the category.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, friendly wecome and great food - a recipe to make us return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en-suite shower would be much better with a door rather than a curtain.

    The location is beautiful. The room, although small, had recently been re-furbished and the shower and toilet facilites were excellent. It also had a small balcony and stunning view. The dinner menu is limited but excellent with friendly service. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.5
    Despite the poor room. I would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was poorly maintained. The bathroom appeared to be sub standard diy.

    Stunning location in a beautiful old town. Lovely restaurant with great food and wine at reasonable cost. Bedroom not so good but had a nice view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    The onsite restaurant was excellent yet another good meal .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No private parking available , the public car park along the street was the only option.

    The onsite restaurant was excellent yet another good meal . The hotel has great views over the area very quaint

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and enjoyed exploring the hillside village of old houses.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concerned about the parking from the security point of view but all was well.

    Lovely old building with comfortable facilities and wonderful views of the mountains and the vineyards in the valley. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Extraordinary :-).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifull historical demeure in a charming village in the Rhone Valley. The rooms are clean, comfortable and decorated with taste. The owners extremely welcoming and helpful. The restaurant was a delicious delight and breakfast excellent and so fresh. Intended as only a stop-over on our way south, indentified a couple of hours before on Booking - we ended up staying all morning! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a little bit more expensive than we would normally pay but the quality of the stay, a nice last evening to our holiday and the feeling of being well rested and fed for the following day of travel made it worth while.

    The home made yogurt for breakfast was creamy and delicious. We found La Capitelle randomly looking for a pit stop on a long journey and we were very pleased with our one night stay. Very friendly staff. Recommendable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant stop over at the end of a very pleasant holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet cubicle in our room was a little small for me to be comfortable when using.

    An individual hotel where the attention to detail is excellent. Both from an accommodation point of view and dining experience. Chef/Patron has imagination and cooks to a very high standard. How was the lightning show arranged? We ate on the terrace and were entertained by a lightning show from nearby valleys but we did not get the thunder or any rain.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view, excellent kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bathroom was quite narrow.

    Owners and staff are very friendly, the house is situated beautifully and the kitchen is excellent. Sitting outside during sunset and enjoying the view while eating a delightful dinner was one of the highlights of our holiday. The village of Mirmande is also charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to prop and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a great little hotel in an interesting small village. Our room was small but really tastefully and practically done up and we had a balcony with a fantastic view. The restaurant was a real gem and the breakfasts were uniquely presented with plenty of options. Very friendly and helpful owners. There were a number of different sized and shaped rooms including an apartment - all very interesting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed this hotel and didn't at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We really enjoyed this hotel and didn't at all understand some of the negative reviews. We had a family room with two small, separate bedrooms, one with a view over the charming village of Mirmande and the other with a small balcony overlooking the valley. The room was sparkling clean and seemed to have been recently redone. There was also an air conditioner, although on May we didn't need it. The bathroom was small but well-appointed and had new tile and fixtures throughout. The breakfast, which some reviewers had criticized, was copious and delicious with yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, muesli, juice and cappuccino. I don't know what else you could have asked for for the very reasonable price -- and over a long weekend in May.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Our best breakfast ever. Excellent restaurant. Rustique and lovely decorated interior in the whole building. Aircon in room, good bed and nice bathroom. Wonderful view from our room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic views from our room and an amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views from our room and an amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    The food at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Larger bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Everything was as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep staircase, but we know it goes with the old building

    Previous experience at this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, excellent food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Exceptionally good breakfast. Beautifully presented, and delicious. Wonderful fresh fruit and yoghurt and great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.5
    Wonderful stay in a magical location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff. Food. Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The evening meal was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was wonderful. Breakfast was delicious. The village beautiful and very convenient for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with excellent Michelin restaurant on site. What more do you want
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave

    Michelin rated restaurant. Unbelievable breakfast. Staff were so helpfull and rooms were absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful views, clean air, calm and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    All, from room to food to staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All, from room to food to staff. Just perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Great little hotel in beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was excellent.

    Wonderful selection of breads, fresh fruit and homemade jams. V plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. One of the only hotels in town. Great breakfast. Free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly, happy and welcoming and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, happy and welcoming and the food was really excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    GREAT EXPERIECE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    PARKING AND THE MATRESS

    BREAKFAST

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Charming Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great family room perfect for a family of 4. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The owners were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    Floral hotel with amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only douche in the family room

    Soft bed, pillow, terrific view from the terrace. artistic decoration. the delicious food

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Supper at the restaurant was excellent and the setting was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    We just loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have nothing negative to say about this experience

    We just loved everything about it! The location and view are breathtaking. The rooms are small but well equipped and if you have one facing the front of the hotel with the view you will have nothing to complain about. To sit outside and have a pre dinner drink with that view was good enough but then to go in and have that exquisite meal, what more could I ask for?! Then to wake up the next morning and experience one of the best breakfast we have had in France with a lot of choice on offer was wonderful. The owners are amazing and so helpful and welcoming!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    This gem of a country inn is located in one of the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This gem of a country inn is located in one of the most beautiful villages in France. Comfortable large room, wonderful restaurant and lovely people. Only downside is the absence of an elevator.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    A fantastic setting in a beautiful village full of art and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A fantastic setting in a beautiful village full of art and pottery. Beautiful views from the bedroom balcony. Wonderful breakfast full of fresh local produce.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel in the ramparts of the conical hill village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure you park you car in the nearby private parking offered by the hotel, which is a short walk away. I didn't and unfortunately was told after I was over the alcohol limit that full cars of holiday makers left in the public car park just outside the hotel over night had been frequently targeted by gangs.

    Wonderful hotel in the ramparts of the conical hill village of Mirmande. Great character with stone walls and fantastic views.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    8.3
    The food was excellent, and eating outside with a view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was quite hot and our room had little breeze. A fan, instead of the TV, would have been very welcome.

    The food was excellent, and eating outside with a view of the Rhone valley was a wonderful way to start our holiday. The breakfast was also a real treat, with a large choice including fresh fruit, yogurt, lovely jams and spreads... The village is lovely with a very special ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    The historic building and the location directly at the wall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative. Not a whole lot to do in the old but beautiful village, however a nice art exhibition.

    The historic building and the location directly at the wall of the middle age village. Nice antiques in the rooms. The dinner and breakfast were super.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    We were travelling by motorbike and the owner who is also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We were travelling by motorbike and the owner who is also the chef came out to greet us and show us where to park the bike which was a nice touch as he was obviously in the middle of service! The hotel is very old and on the edge of the medieval village ramparts. A lovely location, with tables outside for evening dinner. The menu was a bit limited but we thoroughly enjoyed what we had. The breakfast was probably one of the best we have ever had in rural France. Everything was set out on our table and included home made jams, freshly squeezed juices, fresh cherries and so much more.The owner and his wife were delightful. Definitely somewhere we would like to return to.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.6
    exploring the fascinating medieval hilltop town and...
    • Couple

    Would have preferred the front room with a view as advertised. we did not have access to web to take up late offer of an upgrade.

    exploring the fascinating medieval hilltop town and surrounding countryside.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    it was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was lovely

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful room with view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room with view Excellent meals Lovely village ambience Ease of finding location

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    New owners same 1st class rooms and wonderful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New owners same 1st class rooms and wonderful food

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Excellent food, wine and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tiny room, but great views more than compensated for the lack of space.

    Excellent food, wine and views.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: