Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Chaumière Roz-Aven 3 stars

11 Quai Theodore Botrel, 29930 Pont-Aven, France

#5 of 9 hotels in Pont-Aven

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful view of the river with its extreme tidal movement from our window. The best breakfast for our entire 4 week holiday, both in presentation and taste. So many delicious things to choose from. An easy walk into the very picturesque town of Pont Aven. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The full breakfast option should have been a little cheaper for hotel residents. One does have the option of having just a coffee & croissant in the bar which is a good choice.

    Helpful welcoming staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an extremely popular tourist resort, even out of season when we visited, so because parking is just on street it means we had to park further away when we came back from a trip during the day. Better in the late evening. But I'm sure it would be worse in high season.

    The breakfast was exceptional, very good that is and unusual. Every table receives a tray with masses of individual dishes, more than any normal person can eat, with much that was either local produce or actually home made. Was perfect for us. I've never seen anything like it in all my travels. Pastries and bread were also high quality. Service very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unworthy of its three stars, a clean well kept place. the owners, however, are deeply unsuited to the job. whether shy or unhappy, they seemed especially unwelcoming. i departed a day early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No dedicated parking, on market day we had to park across the river. To be fair it wasn't far, just across a footbridge.

    Super, healthy breakfast, lots of different fruits in individual bowls, plus breads and coissants of course.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Chaumiere - River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts could have been a little friendlier. While they were pleasant, there was not the sense of any real interest or connection that we felt at some other hotels.

    The convenience of walking paths, the open air market just outside our door, watching the tide come and go, the sound of the gulls and the morning sounds outside our window of the umbrellas being opened, breakfast being prepared, etc. The patio -- nice to be able to have a glass of wine at the end of the day and watch the world go by. Liked that the majority of tourists were French.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast (15EUR per person but youo have fresh fruits, fresh bread, fresh orange juice, eggs in different versions, etc.), very nice personel, great location and calmness!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15euros for breakfast is quite steep. We ate at a bakery one morning and has cafe and a croissant ala carte the next day.

    We upgraded our room to have more space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the parking. The town gets rammed during the day so if you go out for the day don't consider coming back to the hotel before 6 pm then a few spaces start to appear.

    Although the bed was comfy the hotel replaced the mattress on the third night. That's a first. Breakfast was good value and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Typical European small room. Got a bit warm at night as Brittany had a heat wave mid August.

    Excellent location by the river. get a river view room! Great fairs and events on the quay just steps away. A nice patio in the front. Great breakfast. Comfortable room with good beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is breathtaking and standard of care superb

    Best breakfast in Brittany.. Vast array of fresh Fruit,croissant,pain, all on a sharing tray delivered to ones table ....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was different but a bit overpriced. Also why do French hotels always have heavy duvets?

    The room was overlooking the river. It was very quiet. The owner spoke good English which made us lazy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Madame showed us to our room, which was a little odd, she then told us there was definitely no smoking in the room........we don't smoke ! She spoke to us like we were children (we are both in our sixties ) won't stay in this hotel again.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to carry our luggage to the second floor using the staircase.

    The location is great and the hotel is picturesque. A lot of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was extremely difficult, had to drive by 4 times before a space opened up

    Excellent breakfast and a lovely river view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a charming pub type hotel, very picturesque in a lovely small town. Breakfast is healthy and different.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, lovely view of the river from our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patron and his wife were very helpful. The copious breakfast was outstanding. Our ground floor room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was to dark. Ask for a room room to the river side.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great but a little steep at EUR 15 a head.

    Charm and character , thatched cottage on the Quay with parking out front .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Bed was soft (but not too soft)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom rather small

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable hotel with wonderful breakfast and lovely owners. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, the staff is nice, the bed was comfortable. Good handmade cakes .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, great location, fantastic breakfast, friendly staff. I would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very welcoming, excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were fantastic. Location ideal to explore town and surrounding areas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The room was very comfortable the shower was large and walk in. The breakfasts were a real treat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, could do with an update.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everthing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO PLASTIC SHEETS. I think that says it all.

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Det var et problem at finde parkering

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N.A.

    Everything !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very warm welcome from owners and superb breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plastic mattress covers! Terrible. The only thing that marred an otherwise lovely experience.

    Pastries and breakfast superb, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite expensive but so pretty !!

    Excellent location by the river.... Very comfortable room ..good coffee shop in lobby.Breakfast wonderful !!!! Local restaurant Mimosa within walking distance serving delicious meals.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel in the spirit of this wonderfull city at a very nice place. I would strongly recommend to take a room with a view on the river. So lovely.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift - but very difficult to see where they could put one so not really a complaint.Help on hand with bags anyway.

    The location is stunning, Hosts are great and very helpful, Breakfast is wonderful, Continental with a huge selection of fruit/yoghurts etc. We had a River view which really enhanced the stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned decor especially the bathroom which was grubby and very badly in need of update.

    Breakfast was excellent, good location comfy bed nice to have outside space.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the staff was not smiling and welcoming - on the pictures of booking.com we see the pictures of the "chaumiere" and in fact the hotel is as well composed of a "normal" building in which we were sleeping. It was a bit disappointing

    - wifi was working really well - the room was warm enough and had a lovely view on the chanel

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That breakfast was an extra 15 euros!! We didn't stay!

    The location is great! shower room was a real wow! Free wi-fi a real bonus!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints

    Great town for art lovers. Being there in April allowed us space both in the hotel and the town.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel lacked charm and needed a makeover

    wonderful location by the river

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the room, clean comfortable and a lovely view. The proprietor spoke excellent English which was a great help. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect place to stay. Best breakfast we have ever had in France. Welcoming, clean. Excellent in every respect

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Cleanliness, location, breakfast, wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Staff is very kind, helpfull and funny as well.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The view of the river, quiet & close to all amenities.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little expensive for the facilities but in a very popular town

    easy walking access to town

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was too small for two adults

    Nice and quiet , and the bottled water in the room was a nice touch.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely little town, great walks. Plenty of good restaurants to choose from. Friendly locals. The shopping is good with lots of galleries.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse La Chaumière Roz-Aven traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: