Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Chaumiere 3 stars

346 Avenue Du Maréchal Juin, 39100 Dole, France

#4 of 14 hotels in Dole

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Gourmet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet and shower separated is good, but the two rooms were too far from each other with not having a washbasin in the toilet room. Toilet room very small.

    Very nice hotel rooms. Very nice restaurant in the garden with outstanding food and with excellent and friendly staff. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Luxury dog friendly haven tucked away just off the Alps route
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temp could drop sometimes, but that's the only gripe.

    So we arrived quite a bit later than expected. 2 staff were still waiting for the last of us. Invited to see the room and then for a much needed beer and sit down. Rooms are pretty, bathrooms big and the bed is just awesome- so many squishy pillows. Breakfast was just wonderful, so delicious and quite filling. The thing that stood out for me.. it's Michelin starred, yet the most welcomed I have ever felt whilst traveling with my dog! There were no restrictions on where he could wonder and they always made sure he was watered too. It's a little off the beaten track treasure for those doing the Alps crossing...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Would make a regular stop whenever in the Jura region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't particularly comfortable.

    Excellent food, good service, nice ambience, very clean and extremely welcoming of our three small children. A real treat for us grownups!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful unplanned, last minute booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at Breakfast was disappointing compared to service the previous evening. It wasn’t a buffet breakfast, it was individual service at each table. The food was plentiful and very lovely, however only one woman was serving everyone, as well as doing reception for departing guests and the kitchen (it seemed). A let down after such an amazing evening the night before.

    Excellent price for the lovely accommodation. The Michellin star restaurant was obviously expensive but the food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent overnight stop - enhanced by restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!

    Ideal stopping off point when traversing France, enhanced by restaurant (but expensvie!) Great staff, especially the somelier! Good, v comfortale room Good value for stay, despite costly meal. Overall, a great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Not your average stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything fine, though we accepted to pay more than average for the food.

    Comfortable room for a good price. Excellent but expensive restaurant on the spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Generally good but staff could be more welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very helpful/friendly

    Generally good but staff could be more welcoming. Breakfast disappointing and not a very convenient position if you want to investigate Dole

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable narrow bed, the staff wasn't able to provide us with two separate blankets. Lady at the reception desk didn't understand any language except French. Their Michelin restaurant was more than disappointing - very average meals with extra small portions, overpriced, extremely hot with no A/C and with a lot of flies. Poor breakfast.

    There was nothing we liked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Go here for the food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. Go here for the

    Food at first seemed pricey but with "amuse Boucher" aplenty and such delicious food, it was good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    The room was amazing - beautiful and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication was difficult - to the point where I couldn't find out about basic amenities: dinner, breakfast, laundry. This was frasutrating, and made me not want to experience the restaurant.

    The room was amazing - beautiful and comfortable. The facilities are great, plenty of parking - cute outside patio on the front. The pool in the back was amazing!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Food is worth a detour off the autoroute
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    About 10 to 15 minutes off the autoroute, the point of coming here is not for its setting or its facilities but for its excellent Michelin-starred food. We had a delicious dinner in the garden and we were served by delightful, English-speaking staff. For what it is, the food is very good value. There is plenty of off-road parking alongside the building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Best place ever for a weekend away - awesome food paired with awesome service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were SUPER friendly and they accomodates all of our wishes with pleasure. The star-cook was very happy to cook gluten and lactore-free for me and was most generous amd inventive about it. Wow!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Pleased with La Chaumiere. The
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chewy, tough filet de canard was a huge problem. No attempt was made to correct it!

    The ambiance at the Michelin restaurant was perfection! We were so pleased to be outdoors away from air conditioning. The Red, purple and orange color theme was marvelous, especially against the green of the gardens. The service was excellent; highly professional. The amuse bouche was delightful, especially the egg shell with wonderful tastes. inside. We enjoyed the next treat which was layered in a glass: a white fish mixture on the bottom and a lovely tomato? Puree on top with a vertical crunchy crouton. My languistino appetizer was ok. I prefer my shellfish a little more than poached. The dish should have had more flavor. The fillet de canard was inedible! It was incredibly tough and, therefore, incredibly chewy. Unforgivable in a French Michelin restaurant. The fraises desert was a mismatch of flavors that did not compliment each other. The fraises were not totally ripe so they lacked flavor. However, the dish was picturesque. Despite these negatives, we very much enjoyed the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    A surprise in Dole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Excellent dinner in the michelin restaurant. However the breakfast next day, while ok served boiled eggs which were basically raw and inedible. I was surprised given the previous evening's food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant place for a break around Dole
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional service! The night manager hung around to welcome us despite our arriving well after check in time. We were on bicycles and got delayed. We were also provided with a garage for our bikes which was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was just too small, no choices, coffee was more a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just too small, no choices, coffee was more a tea than a coffee. No ham, no cheese and ... on person for all the people who were waiting...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel dreadful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was awful they were trying to be to clever it was really expensive and I had raw chicken the breakfast was awful uncooked boiled eggs I woul suggest a new chef and a simpler cheaper menu

    The hotel and room was fine

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice updated hotel with very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no AC and no screens on the windows. It was a very hot night when we stayed, and we had to choose between a hot room and mosquitoes. We chose hot room.

    We had an excellent multi-course dinner at the hotel restaurant at a reasonable price. Great service and very creative dishes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.9
    Great stay, wonderful food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little small, missed the minibar. Location is to far from Dole to walk. Breakfast is a fixed package, and there is not al lot to choose from (baguette, croissant, cafe, jus orange, egg, thats it.) For that matter a bit over priced.

    The food, just amazing! The room is nice furbished and has a nice and clean bathroom. The pool is great, and the garten is nice also. Very quiet at night, kind owner/chef.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    Great room & pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to state. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food.

    Family room was well equipped, use of fridge over night was perfect. Swimming pool was secure and great to cool down in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Can be great, but it's a roll of the dice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the chef is a master of his art, he tries to make it too much into art for art's sake. The main point of a restaurant of this stature is to be stunned by the good taste of the food. If the chef tries too hard, the latter suffers. For example, the duck with raspberries was skillfully done, but the raspberries were drowning out the duck completely leaving a poor taste. Several other combinations were also too acidic or unbalanced. The first time, several years ago, I dined like a king. The second time, one evening was a disappointment, the next one was good. This year, it was just disappointing. It all depends if you choose the right dishes from the menu (by the way, the difference between the price of menus and a la carte is ludicrous). Also, the hotel isn't doing itself any favors in the communication. The egg at breakfast was cooked in a special way, leaving it much more runny that normal. No-one told me this, nor did I remember, so the whole thing basically exploded when I tapped it open like one would a hard boiled egg. I asked for another one, which took too long. Had they simply mentioned this, the whole experience might have been a lot better. Finally, the rooms. The cleaner had overlooked that some waste from the previous guest in the room had fallen on the seat of the chair, and they provide tissues instead of a normal toilet paper roll. A very annoying trend. In all, I fell in love with La Chaumiere the first time, but regrettably, that love affair has now ended.

    The location is very convenient for a stop on the way to the south, and Dole itself is also very nice. The restaurant at times produces excellent work. I've stayed here 3 times over the past years; the first time was wonderful. But the second and third time went into the category 'disappointments'

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    4.2
    A disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water took ages to become hot. The shower leaked water into the rest of the bathroom. There was no temperature control - air conditioning - in the room. The curtains kept getting separated from the curtain rail. The staff were surely.

    Good breakfast, but expensive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and lovely to have a pool - albeit a very cold one. The room was on the small side for 4 but very clean. Check in was a minimal affair. No advice given on dinner or breakfast options at the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Staff most helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff most helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Did the job, wasn't tired before I hit the road
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was well, it wasn't great and i was expecting more for the price :)

    Great bathroom! Also the room was very clean :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Resturant was excellent, Expensive but very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was very small

    good quality bedding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather dark

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    I would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable Shower good Breakfast a treat Parking on site

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room. Excellent cuisine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Surprised by the mixt of modern and cosy at the same time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and decoration are amazing :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Super stopover on the way to our ski holiday celebrating my husbands birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and had an excellent meal in the restaurant (1 Michelan star!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody on reception when we arrived and when we checked out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Restaurant service good, wine list good, food fine but not...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service good, wine list good, food fine but not special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff. Very friendly. Restaurant excellent- food and service. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room small but nicely decorated and functional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Very roomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing bedside table. Vanity unit in bathroom falling apart.

    Very roomy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A great stopover on the way to Switzerland
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a friendly welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The eggs for the breakfast was carefully cooked!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Locatie is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locatie is perfect!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic restaurant with rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our luxury room was a bit worn down

    Fine dining

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little hot.

    Fantastic food with great service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stop over on our way to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant was excellent and dining outside after a long drive was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Great restaurant, very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant, very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Regular travelers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!!

    We had once again a fantastic meal. An absolute joy to spend an evening

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    Worth a detour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not as good as dinner

    Friendly staff, great restaurant, wonderful food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    excellent service. Super restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    convenience of location en-route to the Alps from Calais

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice rooms and excellent meal
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location closer to town would have been great

    Nice rooms and excellent meal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    9.2
    Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in restaurant very cold and unwelcoming

    Wonderful food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.7
    Great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great restaurant! Hotel is very basic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Michelin-star restaurant, don't miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michelin-star restaurant, don't miss it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    optically fancy food

    Good breakfast. Restaurant overrated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    great overnight stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.9
    The room was nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady at the reception was not overly enthusiastic to help us with our bicycles despite our pre-information. Considering that the hotel registers as a biker friendly location, this was a bit disappointing. The chef was much more accommodating finding a solution in the end. We didn't find the food exceptional but rather overpriced.

    The room was nice and quiet. The hotel offers outside facilities to relax and a swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.8
    A superb evening meal, the cuisine was adventurous, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was slightly cramped.

    A superb evening meal, the cuisine was adventurous, well executed and successful. A Michelin star well merited! The staff were relaxed, friendly and competent.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    10
    Friendliness of staff, perfectly clean room, a family room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Friendliness of staff, perfectly clean room, a family room where 4 of us can fit in ( saving money), excellent restaurant ( but prepare to spend a lot!), love the cosy atmosphere of the whole place

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.5
    Nice decor and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant menu not suitable for young children. The Michelin-Star restaurant was good but there was no option to have anything simple. The meal tripled the cost of our overnight stay.

    Nice decor and good service

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    6.7
    Nice Meal , but problem with bill on leaving , ordered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice Meal , but problem with bill on leaving , ordered wine At 45€ pretty specific and highlighted on wine list , but when checking out wine billed at 155€, admit could have checked wine closer and didn't get check when dinner finished didnt feel required ( wrong ), possibly good idea as Birthday meal and could have soured good evening. Receptionist apologetic at check out , agreed to split difference so paid 95€ for pretty Knaff wine, Stick to the water !!. Stayed in luxery room in main building , had 3 keys , at 7.00 am locked in building , keys didn't fit, Real Fire hazard as doors secured Metal grill barrier , had to wait for morning staff to lets us OUT! Basin Plug Faulty , Bath plug not much better. Asked for ground floor room was actually first floor , not good older dog advised at booking. Had stayed few years before Overall stay ok wont rush back . Week later nothing from hotel re billing.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    the restaurant is excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the restaurant is excellent . For 3 gents over 60 years the bedrooms are perfect for our needs . I have booked to bring the family on our outward & return trips from Tignes in march/April 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet, staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cuisine was too fussy, with too many different concoctions, mousses and flavours. At the end of the meal our taste buds were very confused - which was a real pity.

    Rooms were clean comfortable and quiet, staff were very obliging. Restaurant service, quality of food and wine was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    The dinner was of a quality you would expect of a Michelin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being charged for a 'no show' when La Chaumiere had admitted there had been an error on their booking system- we are still awaiting for this to be resolved- nearly 3 weeks later.

    The dinner was of a quality you would expect of a Michelin starred restaurant except they used long life milk for the coffee at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    The whole overall impression of the hotel was immaculate and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was expensive and had little on offer but what we had was excellent. The separate toilet in the bedroom would benefit from a small basin for rinsing hands.

    The whole overall impression of the hotel was immaculate and the decor was beautifully thought out. In particular the dining room enfolds you in its loveliness. The room was very comfortable and the food we had was of high quality. We arrived too tired to partake of a large expensive supper but were offered an excellent snack meal in our room.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.8
    Great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning A little noisy as rooms face the car park.

    Great shower. Excellent restaurant. Clean, comfortable basic room. Easy WiFi service in rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    5.0
    Although perfectly comfortable, the bedroom was small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although perfectly comfortable, the bedroom was small and cramped. Most of all, I disliked the restaurant. Even with a Michelin star, the prices were high and the decor was something from fifty years ago, including what looked like lino flooring.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    6.7
    Gardens and room , but no aide conditioning and no fans...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 3 chimney Logis,the price of the fixed menu dinner @60€ each was excessive, 2 or 3 items were off and the manner of the senior DR staff was rather supercilious and the whole impression given in our view was pretentious. We have stayed in many Logis over the last 20 years and have experience of many better value hotels.

    Gardens and room , but no aide conditioning and no fans available, temperature in the upper 30s!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.3
    Accessibility and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner in restaurant far too expensive for the amount of food. No choice for breakfast. Staff not particularly attentive. Poor value for money. No explanation of hotel facilities. No facilities in room to make tea or coffee.

    Accessibility and location

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The quality of the accommodation and the top quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was splendid.

    The quality of the accommodation and the top quality nouvelle cuisine restaurant attached were both far above the standard we had hoped to find in such an easily reached out of town centre hotel. Just Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.3
    location ideal stopover when traversing France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative but rooms only suitable for a short stay. would have to drive to find economic family eating spot

    location ideal stopover when traversing France friendly, welcoming staff excellent but expensive dinner - lovely outdoor dining terrace refreshing swimming pool supermarket petrol refill just 10 minutes away

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    We stayed here en route to alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No basin in toilet.

    We stayed here en route to alps. the staff were excellent and the decor of the room was very stylish. Comfortable big bed. We didn't have a chance to eat dinner but the breakfast was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel half way between Calais and the Alps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel half way between Calais and the Alps. Only about 3 miles from the A39 motorway. Brilliant restaurant - expensive menu (65 Euros for two courses plus cheese and pud) but well worth it. Don't expect to understand the menu! Just go for it.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    Modern rooms, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little too far out of town

    Modern rooms, great value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    7.5
    food, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    more facilities for children

    food, staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    The food just keeps getting better !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food just keeps getting better !

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.6
    Room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very comfortable. Excellent shower room. Meal in restaurant outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful restaurant, cosy and atmospheric public rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful restaurant, cosy and atmospheric public rooms, comfortable and well equipped bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    8.8
    Great location e route to ski in Morzine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location e route to ski in Morzine.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Chaumiere traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: