Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Citadelle - MGallery by Sofitel 4 stars

5 Avenue Ney, 57000 Metz, France

#2 of 25 hotels in Metz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 533 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe did not work in the first room we were given. In the second room, it was not possible to alter the shower/bath switch from shower to bath. I am fairly sure some hotel staff must have been aware of these faults. Perhaps we were just unlucky with these things. However, the bathroom was also not as well designed as it might have been with a fixed shower screen making the only means of accessing the shower/bath switchgear being to get into the bath.

    Really great location and much positive to be said for the hotel - great public areas, clean and rooms are fairly spacious. Well decorated and lots of very nice touches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was chaotic. The staff were not well prepared. After a few hours, everything functioned well again. Apparently only a temporary hiccup. A handicap elevator was available given the lobby area stairs but, it was not easy to use. And... it was excruciatingly slow. They clearly purchased the wrong product. The lobby area was poorly designed. It’s basically a few chairs near the entrance door across from a small ‘shop’ containing the Michelin star chef’s products. Poorly designed compared to many other hotels where you feel comfortable and at home when you walk in. The entrance area aka lobby was 43°C at 3pm on the partly sunny day we were there. It was like walking into a greenhouse (glass ceiling / no shade). The staff was suffering from the heat as well. The architect really needs a new job. The third floor was also very, very warm in the hallway - 35°C I remember this also during our previous stays here. Fortunately it was cooler in the rooms. The shower / bath is an architectural compromise at the expense of guest safety. It’s truly a ridiculous Implementation. You have to see it to believe it.

    Location location location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice modern hotel, with parking outside. Rooms very big, and a lot of space. The hotel is a short walk from the main town, and a lot of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness could be better. Room smelt of smoke with nicotine stained curtains. Cigarette butts outside on window ledge. Hotel looks tired. Staff not particularly friendly after a good warm welcome. Tried to charge for room service we didn't have.

    Food is great. Rooms are large, with good beds and spacious bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Canceled stay after 2+ hours of trying to check-in, room with smoke, then noisy room, very poor attitute of staff at checkin, far below sotifel brand expectations, even for franchisee. Will send letter to sofitel with feedback (as accord member), also very messy hallway to wait 2+ hours, no help whatsover at arrival, even oredering a coffee was a challenging journey, ehs issues as well with open cables in plain sight, few things need to change at management level obviously, will send few pictures to sofitel group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was limited and expensive. We did not like the bathroom (the shower did not work properly). There was not enough light in the room (room was dark).

    Historical building, big room with comfortable bed. A good gourmet restaurant. The hotel is a few minutes away from the historic center. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was terrible and the room was not what I expected. we did not sleep good. I had to ask the cleaning lady to clean the bathroom again. all in all I think I did not get my money's worth.

    Staff was excellent - friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and well worth the money. The hotel itself is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom not practical as it was not a proper shower but a bathtub with a flexible shower head so had to sit down to shower or the whole bathroom would be wet. And not easy access to bath tub as rather high off floor.

    Design and style

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to have dinner at the brasserie but they could not give a table to us as we hadn't booked. We found that very odd given that we were guests.

    We liked the breakfast which was fantastic. The location and parking was very good. The room was spacious and the bathroom and toilet were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. Signs ran out and we had to go back several times before we realised where it was. Would have been good to have some proper milk in the room. Had to find a shop and buy some because the hotel did not provide it.

    Room was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Bathroom is quite small amd not thought properly: they wanted to fit a bath in it so put it in diagonal but then not easy to get in/out. 2) breakfast closing at 10am on weekend is too soon in the morning 3)

    1)The personnel was really nice and helpful. 2)The bedroom itself is very big. 3)Location is in pure center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The historic building, a casern of the 19th century. It is perfectly renovated. The rooms are quite big and very comfortable, the bathroom as well. The area is very quiet, in front a nice park and on the backyard other casern buildings and the concert hall of the Arsenal. Nevertheless it is only 3 min walk to the historic town center. There would have been an excellent 1 star restraurant, but we opted- the weather being very nice- for an open air dinner in the little roads of the old city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    double beds are only 160 cm large, for a sofitel ? Rooms are dark but quiet. parking is charged 15 euro extra. breakfast 21 pp. not good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not worth the money at all.

    The room was huge and the windows overlooked a park, really lovely. and the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird shower in bathroom,totally impractical.

    Fantastic location,brilliant staff,superb gastronomic restaurant and brasserie. Room very comfortable,attentive and friendly staff especially in restaurants. Will definately stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff were useless, did not seem to know what they were doing and did not care. The food was not bad but totally let down by the service

    The room was well appointed and comfortable, plenty of space and a good bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner in the brasserie was not great. Way too bright and tables close together . Food was average and service very poor.

    Big rooms...great separate sofa area. Lovely décor. Quiet and calm area. Really great room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to ask how to get to rooms and no offer of luggage assistance Restaurant closed on Mondays but no notification and Brasserie full until we complained then there was a table apparently When we arrived it was only half full and mainly being usef by locals not residents Bathrooms were not clean All amenities were of poor quality and little care apparent for example room cleaning trollies left out all night

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior room was extremely badly lit - it was dingy. There was no signage to the hotel and the access road was barriered, necessitating pushing a button to speak to reception to gain access. It would have been helpful if this had been explained in advance.

    Large comfortable room. Hotel well situated in a quiet area within easy walking distance of the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am vegetarian and I asked if there was anything they could do me in their brasserie and they told me they couldn't make me anything.

    The hotel is really nice and modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed was small - I thought I specifically asked and paid for a large one. Paying for parking is annoying. Where else do you put your car? The night's stay was nearly 300euros. Is that not enough to cover parking? Very annoying. And breakfast at 20euros is steep for a coffee, croissant and orange juice (so I didn't have any - my wife did though).

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disrespectful treatment of staff, just entering my room and knocking at my door at 1h00 in the night. Only because they were afraid of not getting paid.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Beautifull building , large room and quiet effective air conditioning in 34 degrees . Only a few minutes walk to centre and secure parking , what more do you want ?

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel located close to the town centre. the rooms are extremely well appointed with modern good quality fittings. Breakfast was excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. A simply excellent hotel in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hair conditioner supplied

    Room was extremely spacious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and responsive stuff. The hotel has a top location, near a beautiful park! The hotel is beautiful a mix of contemporary art and history.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location, helpful staff, comfortable room and pretty good breakfast, very good restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got upgraded to a bigger room with a very nice view which we really appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food wasn’t as good as would have aspected.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central nice neighborhood

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brassiere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (322) smelt like cigarettes (we asked a non-smoking room). It gave me a headache.

    Big room, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room wifi. Brasserie too busy to get in

    Good location and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a bit noisy

    Parking, location, historical interest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It's very close to everything in the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't alter the aircon. The room was too hot

    Nice big room and comfortable bed. Breakfast is awesome with eggs and bacon too

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward building access. Long and painfully loud fire alarm with no apparent staff reaction.

    The Michelin stared restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant "full till 2200 but we do have room service" No knowledge of local restaurants

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room shower is bonkers. No shower curtain means the water goes all over the bathroom floor.

    Good location in the middle of town. Quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet could be slightly improved by adding some vegetables.

    Great location, great room, great feeling about the place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We also enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant "Le magasin aux vivres". Thanks for managing to squeeze us in that evening.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super room Very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and its facility/location was very poor for money paid and the standard this hotel has

    The bed and dinner and the inside athosphere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Expensive parking.

    Location .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I didn't like

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, comfortable room, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    brasserie was fully booked - no place for guests of hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive, so didn't bother

    What you would expect for this level of hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't tell us there was a very noisy music festival on that we could hear all night

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous restaurant, great central location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices

    Service

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, we could not fault the place or staff

    A luxurious hotel with fabulous dining options with the Bistro proving great value

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very limited room service menu and expensive for what you get particularly breakfast which is I felt was completely over priced. Very average breakfast with small portions. We had to have room service as the dog was not allowed in the restaurant.

    Beautiful hotel, gorgeous room, very spacious, nice decor. Very comfortable bed. Central location, lovely surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tried to make dinner reservations at their restaurant when we arrived but all the tables were already reserved. However, we did order room service and the Angus Rib Steak and Roasted Salmon dishes were delicious!

    The room was excellent! Loved the view and the bed was comfortable. The staff was kind to hold our luggage after we checked out and before our train departed. Great WiFi. Terrific location because it was walking distance to the center of the city.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing not to like .

    Excellent all round . It will probably always be one of the best hotels I have stayed in . Great location - a few minutes walk from the town centre but in a quiet area . Great selection for breakfast . Well appointed room . Friendly efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would be great to have flatter softer pillows to sleep on.

    It was quiet. The staff was very helpful, friendly and made us feel welcome. Big smiles! The food was FANTASTIC.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts could have been a bit better, limited food options.

    My second stay in this hotel in the a few last years. Great place for an overnight stay, we even got our room upgraded. On-site parking, very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast at €24 per head too much.

    Location of hotel very good. However it appears that rooms booked through booking.com do not have the best view. The ambiance, service and menu at the Brasserie was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Large, clean, comfortable and quiet room. Complimentary bottle of water and mirabelle alcohol drink. Every evening a good night chocolate. Nice staff. Good location within walking distance of all. I would stay here again if I had the opportunity.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad attitude in the bar - really don't want to have to engage in an argument with the bar staff about a very poor Gin Fizz. Put us off everything else.

    Close to town

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately our room was a wifi dead zone so we had to go into the lounge area to use the wifi.

    We liked the location. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom looked beautiful, but totally unpractical - showering put the whole bathroom under water. The breakfast was poor considering the quality & category of the hotel. Apart from one or two exceptions the staff were not particularly friendly or attentive.

    Excellent room, location also top.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    expensive brasserie, 10 euro for a cappuccino. Parking extra.

    Clean comfortable hotel, beds very comfortable, great location. We arrived a little early and rooms were ready and we were upgraded. Hotel staff was very kind. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the hotel. The changes to the road layout made it extremely difficult to locate te hotel.

    Lovely large air conditioned room. Friendly helpful staff. The evening me in The Brassiere.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If I had one gripe, it would only be that the pillows on the beds are a little hard and I found it difficult to get comfortable with them.

    This is a very upscale hotel. The staff are professional, friendly, and go out of their way to help. The air conditioned rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms, and the breakfast buffet is outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom and toilet were old and needed updating.

    After a very long day on the road (14 hours) we couldn't have been more pleased to be greeted outside the hotel and directed to a parking space. The hotel itself is an art gallery not to be missed. The room itself, the brasserie, the staff, all top notch.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit old style and expensive. Breakfast room and food was just about for the standart of this hotyel. Could be better and should be improved for the price level

    Calm, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi stopped 3 rooms from ours as it changed servers and wouldn't connect. The hotel failed to fix it. We were offered another room but we had unpacked. The breakfast didn't look value so we took ours in the town..

    The location was good, out of the old city but within a short walk, the brasserie was excellent in the absence of the Michelin starred one as it was closed on Mondays.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too warm in the bedroom and corridors. Aircon not efficient, and too noisy outside to open window at night. Made sleeping difficult.

    Their Brasserie for dinner is a must!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress was soft, pillows too thick (and no option to change) and the sheet seemed too small for the bed - it came off when pulling back the duvet and also during the night. At EUR 24, breakfast was very overpriced if all you want is a quick coffee and croissant. It would be nice to have the option.

    Great building, sympathetically restored and modernised - very similar to Parador hotels in Spain. Main restaurant was closed but the brasserie was fantastic and very busy. Room was a good size and very comfortably furnished.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Electronic door key failed once. Sloppy housekeeping in room. Not worth the rack rate but a discounted rate would be worth looking at. Breakfast €26 overpriced.

    Good concierge

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    took 45 mins for them to organise a taxi for us. and the breakfast was a little disappointing for €26 each

    good location. within walking distance of all the Christmas markets. Beautiful room.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    An outstanding restaurant

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Citadelle - MGallery by Sofitel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: