Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Coquillade 5 stars

Le Perotet, 84400 Gargas, France

#1 of 8 hotels in Gargas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Wonderful hotel with awful restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service is absolutely awful. The gastronomic restaurant is great, however, it took us 4(!!!) hours to get through 3 course dinner. The restaurant wasn’t even full and it was Monday. We waited for an hour to get our starter and ordered our desserts in the beginning of the meal. We had to wait for them for 1.5 hours after we have finished our main course. The bistro is terrible - both food and service. We ordered a bottle of wine in the beginning of the meal and it was brought to us (after several reminders) in the middle of main course. I ordered turkey skewer and it was brought to me not even undercooked, but almost absolutely raw. The waiter didn’t ask how we like our Black Angus cooked (why bother?) and we has to return it as it was absolutely inedible. Our hotel bill had falsely assigned items - check it before paying. A couple checking out at the next counter happened to have the same issue.

    The hotel is amazing, very clean, with great pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    If you may - it's the perfect stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazingly outstanding everything : the reception, the rooms, the service, the perfect location in the very heart of Provence, the restaurants, the country side environment, pools, biking, jogging, spa // the excellent overgenerous breakfast /// If you may - it's the perfect stay !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.0
    Happy to recommend and would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard for me and my partner (guess that's just a personal choice). Was really disappointed by the burger in the bistro. Went to the gastro restaurant one evening and enjoyed excellent service and presentation of the food. However, the taste of the starter and desert could have been better. Just expected more for the price. These are all relatively small things as overall it's an excellent hotel

    Spa is a major plus. Food was very good overall with 3 places to eat dinner. Nice bar and terrace. Great set up for cyclists. Loved the pool area and the overall grounds are immaculate. Had a junior suite which was spacious and had a great view. Staff are very helpful and there is always someone around when you need something. The guys in the bar are great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    large room Great bed excellent facilities, view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slight lack of privacy as bedroom windows open onto courtyard and passers by can see into bedrooms if curtains not drawn

    large room Great bed excellent facilities, view and activities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    it's looks the part but we were disappointed.. a well done steak means not red..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food was disappointing.. rooms felt cold decoration wise.. our suite didn't have a full length mirror.. imagine.. limited internet access around the facility..

    fresh rooms.. sprawling.. working vinyard.. very friendly staff..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Sunday stay. Great location but you need more time to enjoy the hotel surroundings. Service is poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was really poor for a hotel that claims to be 5 star. Food from bistro below average and very disappointed with attention from staff.

    Location. Room was very spacious and great pet friendly place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful location, perfect facilitys, beautiful flowers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the restaurant was not a five star level.(slow, unfriendly, uninterested)

    Beautiful location, perfect facilitys, beautiful flowers and a nice pool! Perfect place to have a break

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Luxury Retreat in Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite hard - but that is very good for anyone with back problems!

    Everything! The pools, the views, the spa, the food, the staff - everything was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Location, staff & facilities fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location, staff & facilities fantastic. In-house restaurants understaffed (though buffet lunch was nice). Food in the Bistro restaurant inedible & service appalling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We spent a weekend here and absolutely loved it. The setting and grounds are beautiful, and our room was perfect; very spacious and comfortable, with a nice balcony overlooking the vineyards (I can highly recommend the junior suite!). Staff was exceptionally friendly and made us feel welcome. We also very much enjoyed our dinner at the Bistrot and an afternoon in the wonderful Spa. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Disappointed about the gourmet restaurant. Too formatted service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff in general were too formatted, they are professional but not serve with a warm heart. Especially in the gourmet restaurant, it's a very chic restaurant, but the staff seems not dynamic and not passionate, even they were professional, you couldn't have a genuine heart service. And for this price of the menu, we expected much more than this. It's like you tasted every dishes, and it was good but you couldn't remember much the taste and no surprise or overwhelming bravo. The cheese plate was really disappointed because 7 years ago other families member ate in this restaurant which was very good. You chose what cheese you liked and for the dessert was the same.

    Their fast responce to all emails that we sent to request everything before we arrived. The whole hotel is located on the hills and the entrance is very gorgeous,because we only stayed one night, not many chances to do activities, but if you plan to stay longer this hotel, I think it will be a good one since they have bikes to rent, vineyard to visit...etc. the staff at hotel reception are very smiling and kind helper. The view of the room is awesome, and the Spa is really good. ( sauna, jacuzzi, indoor pool, cold and hot fountain spa, steamed room..etc)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Great luxurious place to stay for a few days and explore the Luberon, Avignon and surrounding areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool can get a bit crowded. Service at pool sometimes a little offhand

    Very comfortable; and spacious suites bike storage Electric car charging Great views the informal restaurant overlooking the vineyards Location in the Northern Luberon

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    8.8
    Beware Antoine the concierge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge Antoine made a point of embarrassing us in breakfast as we forgot to cancel a restaurant he had booked for us the night before. He could have spoken to us in private but made a point of telling us very loudly that we would have to pay! Spoilt the whole stay for me.

    Pools were amazing and the views wonderful. Gourmand restuarant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.7
    You might be not important enough to be treated well. Be aware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist ( red hair) attitude, the fact that " we did not count as prestgeous enough guest to get good table etc..." In U.S. every guest is " your only guest" . We spent 2 weeks in France, it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in but I liked it the least :(

    Location and drcor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Stunning property but disappointing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the poolside restaurant was very disappointing (especially the gnocchi) and one of us developed severe food poisoning. We were unable to attend breakfast and lost most of our time at the resort as a result. The hotel didn't appear to take this very seriously and commented that we had only booked for one night. There were wasps around the pool, as we encountered in many restaurants in France.

    Our room and the common areas were beautiful and spacious. The pools were not overcrowded. The staff were generally excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Exceptional and utterly relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful free wine-tasting and vineyard tours. Exceptional spa (with outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the vines). Gorgeous restaurant also set amongst the vines.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got a free upgrade from the hotel at the check in, the room was huge and beautiful, used to be na old church. But the problem was that it was too close to the Hotel's reception, so we had a lot a noise mostly all the time. Ceiling had some skylights, so we ended up waking everyday at 06:00am with the sun light. Concierge was extremely rude and unprofessional, made us a reservation at a very touristic and horrible restaurant, which we ended not entering. Next morning, he interrupted us on breakfast to interrogate us, questioned why did we not go to the restaurant, sad we made the restaurant loose money (the place was empty by the away), we should learn not to do that, sad we cannot ever do that again, making all the tables stare at us, leaving us extremely unconfortable. We believe he is friend to the restaurant owner and must make some profit by indicating the place. Never in my life saw so much disrespect by a concierge. The wi-fi crashed all the time. The property is away from everyhting, even by car you are too far from other cities, and the roads are dangerous. Car parking was very far from the room. The waiters on all the restaurants took forever to atend us, and when they did were rude and sarcastic. Food on the italian restaurant were not up to the hotel's standard, were not good. The mini bar fridge was hot, gave us warm beers and wine.

    Top luxury hotel. Great french restaurant. Loved the attention and service provided by Mr. Ricardo, hotel's portuguese employee. Local production wine was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    5.4
    Not Provence- book something more authentic and more tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff at the restaurant les Vignes Poor quality of food at the Restaurant "les vignes" and italian restaurant close to the pool.

    Nice room with small terrace Very nice and friendly staff at the reception and house keeping

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit isolated but stunning views of the countrysidr

    Everything about the place was wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Everything:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything: SPA Restaurants Personal Magic atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Short stay with ambiguous impressions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant failed to impress. Hotel bill contained falsely assigned items.

    Beautiful place in a wonderful landscape

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    Rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vue and the silence. Ample room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very helpfull with arranging bookings for restaurants and such! Beautiful view of the surroundings and a wonderful wellness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic facilities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic facilities and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Perfect for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for relaxing. Great spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Restaurants were v mediocre and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food

    Restaurants were v mediocre and overpriced

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.6
    service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi

    service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    Room was lovely and setting spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was ok but not great and evening meal was average quality. Staff were friendly but distant. Water in room was not replaced daily.

    Room was lovely and setting spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.8
    Room size and 5 star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's a bit overpriced, and the restaurant offer - poor variety. Very limited menu while very expensive. The property with this category deserves better offer definitely. Just to try to understand what I am trying to compare, consider that any average Italian restaurant would match the quality here and even have way better/bigger offer.

    Room size and 5 star quality. Also Gym and pool size.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.3
    The layout of the resort and the gardens is magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food in 2 of the 3 restaurants was very poorly prepared, served just warm, but the staff were excellent. They must be embarrassed by their own kitchen.

    The layout of the resort and the gardens is magnificent

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    6.3
    Great sunset view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The most expensive mojitos in the world !!! 32 euros for 2 mojitos, like $18 USD a piece...simply insane. I just googled it and the closest I found was $12 USD + tax in New York from a fellow traveller. I asked the restaurant waiter who had asked us for an appetizer, without telling us the price, then the reception clerk and finally the "check out" manager to check on it and to get them to come to their senses and none of them would flinch. What should we think of an organization abusing their customers that way and then sticking to it afterward. If you go there to play tennis, beware as there is only one court and it is quickly booked. I guess we were also unlucky as there was no more availability of massage therapist for our stay.

    Great sunset view

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully landscaped resort that had everything we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully landscaped resort that had everything we could ask for. Great food in the restaurants, two pools, a spa, scenic walks in the countryside. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. Staff very helpful and polite. We took driving tours to the hill towns of Gordes and Rousillon, but the most beautiful scenery we saw was around our own resort. Stayed 3 nights, but wished we had planned to remain longer! We don't have a young family anymore, but we noticed there was a nice playground and separate pool, as well as board games displayed in the lounge. Very classy and welcoming establishment.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Free upgrade for room and water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was too cold to enjoy. Would pay more for a truly warm pool.How about one warm pool and one that's cool?

    Free upgrade for room and water. Spacious feeling overall. Exceptional staff in general. (Not so much in the restaurant.) Beautiful grounds and not too crowded in off-season.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is situated on a hill within a vineyard - it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would not recommend staying over a Sunday. There is not much in the area and basically most of the hotel's features/tours/etc that attracted us were close - wine tour, bike rentals, etc.. I was also disappointed that the running trail was completely mud after it rained. Ruined a brand new pair of shoes. It didn't help that their gym and spa flooded which didn't leave us with anything to do - although I will admit that's not really their fault.

    The hotel is situated on a hill within a vineyard - it is absolutely stunning. The in room technology is the best I've seen. Fast internet, integrated smart tv with netflix, music, etc. The hotel is exceptionally clean and modern. Service was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    This hotel is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - it was absolutely gorgeous. One of our favorite places on the trip.

    This hotel is stunning. It was a little more contemporary than some we had stayed in along the way but was a nice change. The grounds were amazing - our room overlooked the vineyard with three sets of French Doors that opened out to the terrace. The bathroom was over the top! A rain shower, a separate huge soaker tub - it was spacious and just beautiful. Ohhh, and a walk in closet that was big enough for both of us to be in at the same time!! I have never seen this in any hotel. We ate at the Bistro (main dining room was booked) and were expecting something simple... it was hardly ordinary ...our dinner was absolutely delicious. The pool is gorgeous- we were sorry we didn't have time to enjoy it. Especially when they said it had music in it for dancing!! Not sure what that meant exactly but found it very intriguing! We loved this hotel so much and really hated to leave!!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    The property is magnificent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    The property is magnificent. I would recommend staying in the older part of the hotel as it has a lot of character although the the new part is probably lovely. Eat lunch in the garden!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Heaven & perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    Heaven & perfection!! Fantastic rooms, beautiful pool area and stunning views. Gastronomic restaurant was exceptional and the other restaurants worked well.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    Amazing pool.
    • Couple

    Should have a separate kids pool designation. Furniture in lobby could use some updating.

    Amazing pool. Beautiful grounds. Restaurant by the pool was delish. Would have eaten there every meal if it was open. Liked it better than the fancy restaurant on site.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    This was our 2nd stay as the location is beautiful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast although delicious is overpriced compared with similar places we've stayed elsewhere in France. The spa is excellent but there is no information about it in the room nor did the staff give us information about it on arrival. Use of the spa is 20euros per person (free with a prebooked treatment) however we didn't know this until we had been in there 20 minutes.

    This was our 2nd stay as the location is beautiful and peaceful. The faculties superb and the the rooms the perfect retreat from the hot weather

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    It was my 4th stay in the hotel for the last year and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was my 4th stay in the hotel for the last year and it was such a memorable stay again! Everything is perfect! And a new part of the hotel feels like it has always been there! Well done!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    We were fortunate to stay two nights at La Coquillade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    We were fortunate to stay two nights at La Coquillade. We had an incredible stay and were fortunate to stay in the new wing above spa. The views were spectacular and the pools incredible. We are two nights at the hotel restaurants, first in the Italian one at pool and second was at the bistrot. Both had very good food and wines. This place is an easy drive to Gourdes and we also visited a local market in Benouile. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant with language no issue.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    8.8
    big and romantic room, full of light and with an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast was a little disappointing...

    big and romantic room, full of light and with an amazing view; you can also do hiking and visit the vineyards or ride a bike...the pool is also a especial part of it

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location and property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drinking Water should be provided in the room every day as complimentary

    Excellent location and property

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.6
    Pure luxury
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    You need golf cars to move things, as it is so big. And the food doesn't meet 5 star standards...

    Pure luxury

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Luxuriöse Appartments, gediegen, perfekt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Luxuriöse Appartments, gediegen, perfekt.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    Amazing facilities, great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi does not work in room 305. Breakfast too expensive. Parking situated too far from the room.

    Amazing facilities, great location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    Location and the marvelous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and the marvelous view

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Super location, fabulous food and comfortable rooms!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Very nice suite, great restaurants, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet not working too well inside the suite. Ventilation bathroom could be improved.

    Very nice suite, great restaurants, superb location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff, service, restaurants and facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Excellent staff, service, restaurants and facility. Will return again and again.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Alles was super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reservaties restaurant

    Alles was super!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.6
    Outstanding service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Outstanding service and facilities. Food menu a little narrow but excellent quality.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I should have booked my full vacation at this spot.

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Great facility, pool grounds and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C in room had issues slow wifi in room. Staff did address issues professionally.

    Great facility, pool grounds and staff were great.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.1
    spa was not ready!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    spa was not ready!

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Check in was not so smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Check in was not so smooth. There was no bell hop for baggage.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    location, food, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey

    location, food, service

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    A beautiful house in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful house in a beautiful location. The host was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were luxurious. We will be back!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: