Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Cote des Monts Damnés

Chavignol, 18300 Sancerre, France

#2 of 7 hotels in Sancerre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 156 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff of young men were really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel mostly of their gourmet restaurant and we had an anniversary to celebrate and we made an table reservation three months ago. Two days before arrival day, we got a massage that the gourmet restaurant was closed on Wednesdays but the brasserie was open. But the food in the brasserie was far from what you can have in many other restaurants we know in France, so that was really a disappointment.

    The staff of young men were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully renovated hotel in the village of Chavignol
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fourteen euros a little dear for the continental breakfast

    Beautifully renovated room, very spacious and comfortable. We loved the village of Chavignol and staying amongst the Sancerre vines

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely splendid - recommend to all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location and exceptionally friendly staff - such a lovely place to stay! I do really recommend the gastronomique restaurant - food was some of the best we had all trip, although the Bistro is also lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Delightful hotel in the beautiful village of Chavignol with cheese and wine tasting close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a thing.

    Breakfast was typical continental in style but very tasty. Included the local Chavignol goat's cheese and some lovely cold meats. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open on Tuesday night when we stayed but the bistro menu was excellent with an extensive wine list.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Been here before and will no doubt stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking can be a bit of a challenge; make sure you drop off your luggage before parking the car (public car park at least 200m away (up hill)) if you can find one of the few spaces in the village "triangle". Restaurant was good with some nice food choices - however lacks some atmosphere as dining room is very brightly lit.

    Lovely spacious rooms; quiet and well positioned in this famous wine and cheese area; will definitely stay again if we're coming to the area again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel in Chavignol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was hot and the air con was not working. Reception wasn't manned very often and anyone could come in off the street, help themselves to a room key and enter your room. We kept our key with us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    The food in the bistro was excellent value for money,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the bistro was excellent value for money, however we were surprised to be charged 2.70 euros for a little milk to enable us to make a cuppa in our room. Good hotel but too expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly boutique hotel with quality restaurant in idyllic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful and knew where local places of interest were such as the delightful pottery village La Borne 20km away. They cooked eggs for breakfast just as we like them. The restaurant food in evening is exceptional quality and presentation. Other than this perfect boutique hotel, Chavignol village consists of winemakers. We had an interesting tour and wine tasting at Henri Bourgeois in the village. The surroundings are slopes of neat vineyards and Sancerre village in the distance on the hill overlooking the Rhone which is also pretty place to visit at Saint Satur. Perfect hotel for a few days peaceful relaxation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Stunning village but hotel does not impress!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No response from hotel that restaurant was closed, it would have affected whether we cancelled the booking. The hotel had a bistro and the food was fine but totally lacking in atmosphere. Disappointed that out of 6 digestifs on menu, they were out of my 1st 2 choices. Breakfast at 14€ was rather top heavy in price and unremarkable.

    The setting in a wonderful village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly small hotel in lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    decor rather bright And view from windows onto other buildings

    Great location in Sancerre, lovely village . Hotel staff friendly, especially young receptionist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful small hotel in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Just be aware that the parking lot is 300 meters away, unless you are lucky enough to get one of the five parking spots available on the little square in front of the hotel.

    Very nice hotel in a beautiful, small town. Clean, comfortable, modern rooms. Great restaurant. Very nice staff. Several cheese and wine tasting rooms within walking distance. Good walks in the area and great views of Sancerre and the vineyards from the hillside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful room, great staff, excellent restaurant, gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, great staff, excellent restaurant, gorgeous shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, services and accommodations in a quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, services and accommodations in a quiet and charming village

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to get away from it all. Very warm welcome and perfect for the wine tasting!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Toilet seat was cracked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was cracked. No safe deposit box in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    convenient location surrounded by vineyards and providing a great view of the town of Sancerre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotels restaurants are the best. Another restaurant in the small town was good but not as good as the hotel's restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel with excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was not very warm.

    Modern but cosy bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, quiet and comfortable with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable large rooms and beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar ran out of white Sancerre wine, then again it was off season I suppose.....

    Comfy room, great location and excellent value

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic and tranquil out of season stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Beautiful boutique hotel in a charming wine and cheese oriented village near Sancerre. Friendly staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel to base yourselves for walks though the vineyards, super dining and near Sancerre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent meal in the gastronomic restaurant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Good value and charming village location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and outside eating

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely stay in wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The welcome. The comfortable duplex rooms. The meal. Everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    It was an ideal stop over to visit Sancerre and buy some wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Bistro restaurant and comfortable room. Excellent value. Owner is also a highly regarded Sancerre wine merchant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    accommodation was very good but food was disappointing for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was limited

    the rooms were excellent and beds very comfortable and large

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Nice rooms and a fantastic restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room and fantastic restaurant! And couldn't be better placed for easy access to the vineyards.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very poor.

    The staff they were so much fun even when we didn't speak the same language.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in the Sancerre area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly staff. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    The room was very cozy;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very cozy; the bed - so comfortable! And the staff - welcoming and helpful. During my stay I used to leave early in the morning for business reasons, but my breakfast was always ready.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.8
    Sparkling bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was really very poor ....it really was a let down when everything else about this property was so very nice.

    Sparkling bathroom. Very comfortable bed. Beautifully furnished.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.5
    Room,beds,decor were very good as were staff in dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was a stressful experience aggravated by unhelpful explanation of parking problems( some way from hotel up a steep incline )

    Room,beds,decor were very good as were staff in dining room. Food very good in Bistro?

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    the location ,not far from Sancerre and in the heart of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location ,not far from Sancerre and in the heart of the vineyards was wonderful even though there was extensive roadworks taking place in the streets of the village.We ate in the gourmet restaurant on the first night of our stay and must say it was excellent, the second night it wasn't open and we ate in the bistro which was also very good. The room in which we stayed was very comfortable with all the modern conveniences and the staff were more than helpful in every way.A great base to tour the vineyards of both Sancerre and Pouilly-sur-Loire. We will definitely be back.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Location and quality of evening meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite having I think 12 rooms the hotel wasn't staffed at night - not sure what would have happened in the event of a fire. It also meant that we had to tell them what time we wanted breakfast the next morning rather than just having a range of times as in all other hotels. Disappointed with breakfast which, at 14 Euros pp, was the poorest value of our whole tour. Whilst the buffet was OK we were given a basket with two small pain au chocolats and two small croissants each morning. Since my partner doesn't like pain au chocolats and I fancied a croissant on the last morning I asked if we could have an extra croissant. I was told that we couldn't as the management decreed that each couple could only have two. For a hotel costing 160 Euros per night in our case this is ridiculous.

    Location and quality of evening meals

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    Location and hotel environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wi-fi and windows were locked which during hot weather is not good as the aircon doesn't cope.

    Location and hotel environment. Staff were excellent and bedroom facilities were good.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully renovated property right in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road thru the village was out due to construction and we were not notified of this but it did create an adventure getting there (through the vineyards!)

    Beautifully renovated property right in the middle of the village of Chavignol a couple of miles from the town of Sancerre. Chavignol is a picturesque little french village with several wineries and the famous goat cheese (Crouton de Chavignol) tasting rooms all a short walk away. Rooms were very large, the staff very friendly and food at the property's two restaurants very good!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff, very comfy rooms, choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very poor breakfasts. Little choice and fresh fruit was old and wrinkled on both mornings. Accessible bathroom was fine, except shower was awkward. Drop down seat was small and should be at right angles to the shower. Placed under the shower makes operating the controls very dangerous for anyone who cannot walk at all.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very comfy rooms, choice of restaurant for evening meals.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable room with plenty of space to sit and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If super critical, the shower head would not adjust forward so had to be too close to the end of the bath. Parking was in the very tiny 'village square' , OK but this was low season. Had it been busy it would have been a trek up the hill to the public car park.

    Very comfortable room with plenty of space to sit and relax. Large comfy bed. Spacious bathroom. T & C making in room. Ideal location for exploring Sancerre & Pouilly Fume wine regions, and the local goat's cheese produce.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    7.5
    Staff very efficient and helpful and the food was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room had a strange smell so we moved rooms, the bed was extremely hard.

    Staff very efficient and helpful and the food was well prepared and presented but slightly "rustic"

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Great host and hostess, great breakfast, great shower, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great host and hostess, great breakfast, great shower, great wifi and great bed, all the things we look for. Upstairs room a little cramped.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    7.1
    Service was good, good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was ice cold

    Service was good, good parking

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable rooms in a delightful corner of France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are quite expensive.

    Comfortable rooms in a delightful corner of France. Fabulous meal with great wines in the restaurant gastronomique.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.5
    helpful pleasant staff,clean big room,location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful pleasant staff,clean big room,location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant, top quality food and wine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the village there seems to be a problem getting a phone signal and wifi is very hit and miss

    Excellent restaurant, top quality food and wine

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    This hotel and the restaurants were exactly as portrayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel and the restaurants were exactly as portrayed in an article we had read from the Guardian which was printed two years earlier.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    The friendliness of all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of all the staff

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.3
    Nice village location near Sancerre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice village location near Sancerre. Good food in the Bistro

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Excellent dinner and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent dinner and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    it was a comfortable hotel, the food and the service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was a comfortable hotel, the food and the service was good. unfortunately, there best restaurant was close for 2 weeks while we were there.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Great location in a quiet village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in a quiet village. Friendly helpful staff. Nice restaurant .lovely bedroom . All good .

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.2
    Rooms where excellent, staff friendly, so peaceful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms where excellent, staff friendly, so peaceful and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    Well appointed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Problem with flooding from bathroom

    Well appointed rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    9.2
    Except for viewing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Except for viewing, Everything was satisfied for me.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: