Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Domaine de Capelongue

Les Claparedes, 84480 Bonnieux, France

#5 of 14 hotels in Bonnieux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Overall amazing stay- thank you! Highly recommend ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    checkout was accidentally charged too much - make sure you review your bill!

    Pool was a little chilly but amazing! Rooms are clean and have great views. modern beautiful designed rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Memorable luxury holiday in one of the most beautiful areas I have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room wasn't very efficient and we would have liked a kettle to make tea in our room. We would have also liked some laundry facilities for guest use.

    We found this hotel just outside the hilltop town of Bonnieux to be the perfect base for our 6 day stay in the Luberon. All the towns and markets we wanted to visit were just a 20 to 30 minute drive away and after a days sightseeing we were able to relax by the pool. The hotel, its gardens and views are a delight. We didn't dine in the Michelin rated restaurant but the more casual restaurant on the property was excellent and we dined there 4 times. Breakfast is included and was exceptional. Our room was very clean and comfortable and staff were mostly very helpful. We would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and all the hotel has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we really enjoyed our stay.

    The staff were very accommodating as we arrived a bit late and were upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel facilities are perfect albeit a little more formal than we expected. We enjoyed both the casual restaurant and the gourmet restaurant which was outstanding. Relaxing by the fireplace in the evenings following dinner was perfect. The location of the hotel was excellent as we could drive to several interesting villages which were located within one hours drive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Photos tell no lies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Photos tell no lies. The property is excellent, with amazing views over the area. The restaurant is amoung the best in the area, with a vast sortiment of foods, including for vegetarians.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with an outstanding view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal in the room wasn't great.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and attentive, the room was spectacular as was the view. The food was first rate, and I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful, fun even in the winter, warm and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are extremely uncomfortable. It is baffling considering how much attention and work they put in everything else, but this is still a hotel... and we couldn't sleep! We had an extra large room and we didn't even have a queen bed. They put together two full bed, without a bed topper - so we had a big hole between us and couldn't fall asleep together as one of us would have to be sinking in between the two beds. The mattresses were poor and the hotel didn't try to help that with a bed topper or anything.

    The location is amazing, as is the views, the premises, the facility and the restaurant. It is a gorgeous and very special hotel that is very chic and very warm at the same time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    This was a prefect romantic retreat from the large cities of London and Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was wonderful.

    This was a beautiful hotel sit in the picturesque town of Bonnieux. The town was walking distance so we enjoyed our stroll into town. Breakfast was amazing. The best omelets during our entire trip in France. The dinner was lovely. Very charming hotel. So fun to celebrate our anniversary there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Memorable. Beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Warmer pool and more choices for breakfast like omelettes and veggies

    We were given a room next to the restaurant. In the beginning, we thought we had a special room with a special scent. The next day, we noticed the heaviness in our breathing. Divided only by a wall, the smoke from the kitchen seeped through. We didn't get to enjoy the room on our last night. Separately, I also bought a pair of ballerina sandals from the hotel. A few minutes later, the color peeled off. It was very strange.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful location, some design details wonky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom devoid of anything to hand things, basins have no plugs, shower didn't work properly, bedside lights to dim to read by

    The location and environment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Glorious placeGlorious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was squeaky, and the shower adequate but not very powerful. These were very minor issues - the room was luxurious, spacious, and very comfortable.

    A fabulous location and view, wonderful and friendly service. The restaurant was magnificent, and owner and chef Edouard Loubouet welcoming. This was not a cheap stay, but it will create memories that will last forever.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Was left disappointed this visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that I had booked a "Charm Room" in the main building but on arrival was told that we had been up-grated and given a more spacious, luxury room away from the main building. We didn't want to be upgraded, and made our feelings felt, we were told the Charm Rooms were already booked!!!!! We have always stayed in the Charm Rooms before, we now refer to it as "our room". I booked well in advance. Furthermore the main restaurant was closed - Booking.com should list the fact that this award winning restaurant is closed on Tuesday and Wednesday. We travelled so far from Melbourne Australia to stay in our favourite room and to eat in the restaurant and we got neither this trip. It did spoil our stay. We didn't complain about our "luxury upgrade" with such an uncomfortable, saggy bed. It needs replacing and the toilet was smelly. We understand that the toilet may be something beyond their control. I will stay here again and see how we go next time because it's usually the highlight of our trip - but not this time which I'm very sad to say.

    I love this hotel, staying here is usually the highlight of our stay in Provence, but this time we were disappointed. We will give them another go.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Hotel looks great and represents the spirit of Provence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But some moments in room are poorly designed and inconvenient, cleaning service is not good

    Hotel looks great and represents the spirit of Provence. It is also a convenient base for exploring Provence

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Very nice, remote get away.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service in the hotel is not 2 star... some might think they are 2 star too... Food at Bergerie so lala.

    A bit remote, but fantastic view down to Bonnieux. Rooms are okay, a bit worn out and around Easter a bit cold and musty, but okay. Chef de Cusine very nice, excellent cooking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Confortable rooms above beautiful Bonnieux with exceptional food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice setting and good service. Had one dinner in the gourmet restaurant and was exceptionally good. I rarely eat at that level and enjoyed the evening quite a bit. Especially recommend the place if you want to enjoy the food as well and are not too short on budget.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with an uncomfortable mattress and the staff was very helpful and moved us to a different room.

    Beautiful grounds, our room was large with an incredible view. Comfortable chairs, good to relax after a day of wandering around. Staff was friendly and efficient. Easy to park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Winter comforts, la paix in Bonnieux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Delivery of warm croissants each morning, the bath and kitchenette in the studio apartment, windows toward the gardens, Restaurant Bergerie was just steps away. Everything was so cozy and peaceful. The lentil soup with truffle and the poulet jaune were favorites. Chloe, Philippe and all staff were warm and gracious. Merci beaucoup!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.5
    Lovely views, good detail, but a little pricey
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One or two items which were not so great. Breakfast off season is not breakfast but a couple of croissants. Room was too warm overnight and despite changing air on settings, we could not cool the room enough. Unfortunately, the brasserie was so full of smoke from the wood fire that I had a headache for most of the night and my clothes retained the smoke smell for several days, whilst on our journey. What a shame. This was only due to a mistake in that the chimney was not properly set to extract the smoke, so I do not wish to put anyone off; I am just commenting on my experience. I still maintain my view that the price is slightly high, but it is a quality hotel which I would certainly recommend.

    Self catering apartment very cosy and with super views. Bed very comfortable with real linen, much appreciated. Breakfast off season is 2 croissants placed at front door. They were good, but I really enjoy a proper breakfast before further travel, so a little disappointed. Staff very helpful and very friendly, cannot be faulted. The Hotel buildings have character and are very welll located. Dinner was good. We ate in the hotel Brasserie and had a very good meal of Belota pata negra (beautiful), Jaune chicken, a soup and pork filet. Good solid food and good quality in a fantastic rustic setting. The extra touch was that after two glasses of wine, the waiter noticed that I still had some food left to finish and poured another half glass on the house. That sticks in one's mind when later recalling the stay. The wait staff in the brasserie were extremely helpful and friendly. Many thanks to them for making the stay most enjoyable, despite the overwhelming amount of smoke on the night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Beautifull location excellent gastronomic restaurant, very friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor of the rooms needs to be refreshed, especailly for a 5 star hotel of the "Relais & Chateaux" group. We liked the nice gardens around the hotel, the terraces and the unique location.

    A authentic "bastide provençale", very friendly staff, and fantastic gastronomic meals.. Beautifull views of the village Bonnieux. We had a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    Relaxed stay on a hilltopp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Soundproofing was almost non-existing between rooms and from the room to the corridor. Unfortunately it was not possible to close the door quietly when one left the room so you had to slam it resulting in a lot of noise which disturbed the other guests. A continental breakfast at EUR 29 per person is not worth the money in our opinion.

    Bonnieux is a nice small village on top of a hill with great view. The hotel is situated above the village, takes you about 15 minutes to walk down and 20 minutes to walk back up again. The garden and the two pools are excellent and what you need when it is sun and over 35 degree Celsius. This is a great place for exploring the Luberon and Vaucluse region, or just for relaxing in the sun.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant required prior reservations.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, facilities, the garden, the room was comfy and the restaurant La Bergerie very cosy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    View fantastic apartment big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View fantastic apartment big and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely time and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very romantic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food offerings were quite expensive.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming, lovely bathroom and very romantic place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic place, amazing staff, great food, beautiful property. The best in the region.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is magical, the good is fantastic and the fire place at the restaurant is amazing, because we can seat by the fire and enjoy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Awesome rooms with bath tube and bed in one room, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome rooms with bath tube and bed in one room, friendly personal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We loved the hotel and its fabulous location. Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, comfortable resort with extraordinary restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting with an amazing restaurant. Best meal in France.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    A Pearl in Luberon
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To short stay

    Best place in Provance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find with gps.

    Staff was superb! Dinner in the bistro was fun and good. Our waiter was phenomenal and went the extra mile!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    A true Provence experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will never forget the smell of Lavender throughout the property. Beautiful and serene grounds. Great experience. The Chef is incredible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous bed linen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous bed linen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Magic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beds could be softer

    Ambiance fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.9
    Lot of African tribe's photos. I wanted to eat African foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main restaurant's close far to nearest village

    Quiet & lot of greens around hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.2
    Internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet connection

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    The best in the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and beautiful place. Exquisite cuisine! :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    9.2
    Perfect Provence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent people, wonderful location, fantastic food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.5
    Very well kept, staff are attentive you are made to feel...
    • Couple

    Not as laid back as we would like due to being very high end. I like an even split.

    Very well kept, staff are attentive you are made to feel special. Beautiful gardens

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    We loved the location just outside Bonnieux, in the country,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad

    We loved the location just outside Bonnieux, in the country, with beautiful accommodations and grounds. We had intended to stay just one night during our journey through the towns of the Luberon, but decided to stay a second!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    Luxurious ambience and beautiful, peaceful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although a small thing, some dishes at the gourmet restaurant were heavily salted, detracting from our enjoyment of the flavours.

    Luxurious ambience and beautiful, peaceful setting.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Exceptional cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning isn't powerful enough for such space. Bedroom was hot overnight. Internet connection was unstable and slow. Unusable for serious work.

    Exceptional cuisine. We already miss it! Friendly personnel, especially in La Bergerie restaurant. Hotel garden and swimming pools are luxurious. Very good privacy, even when the hotel is on its capacity. Stylish apartment with beautiful view to valley.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    10
    We stayed in a studio apartment, but it was much larger than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great!

    We stayed in a studio apartment, but it was much larger than a typical studio, with a great bedroom, lovely bathroom, nice kitchen, and spectacular view of the village.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    Lovely Provençal style in a magnificent setting
    • Group

    Lovely Provençal style in a magnificent setting

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    all..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing..

    all...

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not being served drinks in the lounge after dinner or in the afternoon - staff weren't aware of us.

    Fantastic views

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel- quiet location surrounded by lavendar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel- quiet location surrounded by lavendar fields. Bonnieux still very quaint and lots of good restaurants

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    10
    Lovely setting and very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was just a little difficult to find.

    Lovely setting and very friendly staff!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: