Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Ferme Du Vert 3 stars

Rue Du Vert, 62720 Wierre-Effroy, France

#1 of 3 hotels in Wierre-Effroy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excelled our expectations. Wonderful food, comfortable room and warm hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked it all! Very comfortable room (with jacuzzi bath), superb food and knowledgeable wine menu. Breakfast with home-made yoghurt, soft boiled eggs, delicious. Evening meal followed by the Farm's own cheese, wonderful. Family run with love and care - it shows. We will be returning here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    A rural idyll, with a good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rural idyll, with a good restaurant. A real country pitch very close to Calais. Good local produce from the associated working dairy. Breakfast was good if a little expensive. Plenty of opportunity for a country walk after a long drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in the french countryside or for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Country Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a good SatNav to find it. It is also discreetly signposted.

    Excellent place to stay in the french countryside or for a stopover. Very good restaurant and good value overall. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a cheap place to stay, but nice for a bit of a treat.

    Lovely property with an excellent restaurant. Very rural, but only about 40 mins from Channel Tunnel. The dog loved it too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location for walks on the coast with culinary dinners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The farm has been renovated with low key good taste and is now a really charming, relaxing environment. Room was spatious and the bathroom very nice. Just a short drive to enjoyable walks on the Cote d'Opale.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great find close to the Eurotunnel. Beautiful rural setting, fantastic restaurant and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are not the thickest so you can hear people in the adjacent rooms but this would not put us off staying here again.

    We chose this accommodation because of its closeness to the Eurotunnel and also as it had an onsite restaurant. Lovely rural location. Pet friendly. The restaurant served delicious food and great wines. There is also a nice little bar. I was on crutches when we stayed and the staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. As such we stayed in one of the ground floor rooms which was comfortable and cosy and the shower room was modern and had a bonus bench in it which proved very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic place to stay. My only regret was that we only stayed for 1 evening. Probably the best night sleep I have ever had. The ambience was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    It's knowing you will have a comfortable room, and eat a very enjoyable meal in quiet surroundings,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our fourth visit, and everything suits us very well, as we use it as a base before taking the shuttle. We even cancelled a booking in an English hotel so we could cross earlier and spend the night in France!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    It was an enjoyable overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dark wet night and we were met with a warm welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was good.Breakfast was good. The hotel staff were very friendly. We will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely food and countryside, comfy beds1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think for the price that the towels shouldn't have been thin and one was actually threadbare and real glasses instead of plastic cups. And why don't people ever leave brief instructions about the shower! So you don't spend the first 30 seconds freezing!!

    It was a very nice room and a compact but well equipped bathroom. Hosts very friendly. Lovely meal in restaurant. Good wine list, not too expensive (not cheap!). We have stayed here since the late 1980s, not very often, but love the exterior and the countryside. The interior has changed a great deal over the years. It's present incarnation is good. Comfy bed, nice linen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    I will definitely return here. Great spot for a Eurotunnel return to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a brilliant Logis north of Boulogne in the middle of the Countryside with a cheese farm attached run by the owners brothers. Very comfortable room and good menu in restaurant. Superb breakfast, lovely farm eggs. Delightful owner who went beyond the call of duty when we had a problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    A very relaxing and authentic boutique rural French experience. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason ? the pillows just did not work for me.

    The ambience of the property, the views, the walled gardens and orchards, the owner was a delight to talk to, despite our lack of French language. A true experience of the French countryside in Summer. First impressions of the finish of our room were (only slightly) not exactly what we expected, but it was spacious, airy, pleasant, and clean, and the more we were there the more it grew on us as a true and memorable experience of a French farmhouse. I loved the breakfast area and the fact that you could sit separately or chat to other guests in the comfortable lounge areas in the evenings. We really enjoyed it. The breakfast was one of the best we had anywhere on our trip. We were sad to leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice location not far from Channel Tunnel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking separate from accommodation. Heavy rain made it a chore to book in and carry luggage across a large open courtyard. Room clean but small for the price. No English TV stations, despite many UK visitors (not a big problem, as we just needed a bed for the night) Breakfast not included and very expensive as an add-on. (EUR 29 for 2-guests)

    Location isolated, but that is what we wanted due to security for the car and contents.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    A refined and tranquil retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The calm, elegant atmosphere and the relaxed, friendly service. Dinner and breakfast were very good. The hotel was deep in the countryside but just a walk from an attractive and useful village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    A real gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Country Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room, the "country" room, there is no door to the bathroom - there is a door to the separate toilet of course. It was not a problem for us, but for couples who don't already know each other very well I'd recommend a different room

    Very comfortable bed. The lighting in the room was creative, as was the decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Convenient and comfortable overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unlined curtain on window so awake early Very small portion of fish in main course of menu. Cold hard croissants at breakfast

    Very comfortable bed Good bathroom facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices far too high and very limited choice. Chose to drive to next town to eat.

    Breakfast was excellent. Safe and secure parking. Quiet rural location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Attractive traditional farm buildings. Good food and friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV a little small and not one English Channel. Unusual these days. The flower beds and garden were a little unloved, a little summer planting would have been nice.

    The barn annexe room was very spacious and had a great bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    An excellent hidden little trasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from the bedroom

    30 minutes from Channel tunnel but buried down country lanes in beautiful scenery. Great bedrooms and lounge, bar and breakfast room. Superb food especially in Michelin restaurant. Local cheeses were superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Loved the location, the ducks wandering around in the yard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the evening feels a little formal compared to the rest of the place - it made me feel a bit uncomfortable but that's just me maybe.

    Loved the location, the ducks wandering around in the yard and the remote location is so peaceful. The rooms are so cosy and i loved the luxury of the bathrooms - it was such a treat to stay somewhere so gorgeous. There's lots of space in and outside to sit and read or play games (like we did). We cycled to the hotel and the staff were very helpful by letting us store our bikes in the barn. I love this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    10
    A charming calm retreat in the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A charming calm retreat in the countryside. We had an evening meal (which is optional) and it was delicious. The owners are friendly and helpful and we always enjoy our stay there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful property, location and host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful rural location, and so close to the ferries. The accommodation was excellent, and the host extremely welcoming - couldn't rate highly enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    pleasant position down a lane surrounded by farm land.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    pleasant position down a lane surrounded by farm land. ease of parking. newly refurbished to a very good standard. friendly greeting by all staff. good facilities. food is superb and breakfast is a joy in a light, airy room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast, should have been included in the rate.

    Peaceful location. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Location and lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Location and lovely people

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Tremendous dinner and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Tremendous dinner and breakfast. Very accommodating and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous pastoral retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved more comfortable pillows.

    Top notch all round, a pure French delight, and quite reasonably priced given the outstanding quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful setting, very convenient, excellent facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful setting, very convenient, excellent facilities and staff, very enjoyable meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    The tranquility and exquisite setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike - sublime!

    The tranquility and exquisite setting. The food in the restaurant rates amongst the best - outstanding service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an excellent stay, very friendly staff. Restaurant was very good, great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    First rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rien!

    Beautiful, peaceful, location. Excellent dinner. Tasteful decor. Warm welcome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    We enjoy this lication on our way to and back from GB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of owner Food Location Coziness of accomodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant over-priced, in my opiniion.

    Lovely characterful building. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Tastefully furnished pleasant environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle cups or even water in room.

    Tastefully furnished pleasant environment. Good restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic hotel, hard to imagine better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    n.a.

    Absolutely beautifully furnished rooms, stylish, we simply loved. Don't miss the restaurant, fantastic food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Will come again if we are in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking nearer the room would be of benefit.

    Enjoyed the baguettes

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Excellent meal, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent meal, great breakfast. Very relaxing place to stay near to the channel crossing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic short-break location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we'd stayed longer!

    Comfortable,quiet room in a very nice country setting. Excellent restaurant for dinner and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Helpful and warm hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Relaxing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, it was just as we liked it.

    Helpful and warm hospitality. Outstanding breakfast. Nice countryside surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Little Gem in beautiful rural setting but only short distance (20 mins) to Channel Tunnel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Channel Tunnel, very quirky With lovely rooms and a brilliant restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent, and the staff were extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable saty in pleasant surroundlings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wider choice in dinner menu

    Friendly helpful English speaking reception. Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    A lovely quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants could have been warmed.

    A lovely quiet location. Will be wonderful in the summer.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable stop off point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable stop off not far from Calais with good food & wine and welcoming staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dog smell

    Country location and friendly staff and host

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    A return stay which lived up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wonderful suite. The coloured bath which my granddaughter loved.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow service in restaurant and took over 20 minutes to get a drink!

    Lovely location. Good food and fabulous breakfast with delicious home made jams and local cheese

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant was superb and breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was superb and breakfast very good. The staff were professional and friendly. In terms of logistics both the parking arrangements and the ease of access to Eurotunnel were big positives.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Enjoyed every aspect from the welcoming staff, the rural...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enjoyed every aspect from the welcoming staff, the rural location, the buildings, rooms and facilities gardens and restaurant. Dinner was excellent, great cooking and a careful selection of fine wines. Looking for an excuse to stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    OMG! What a huge room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is not the easiest to get to, but not too bad really. We found price rather high for somewhere so remote and not including breakfast. But these are minor quibbles compared to how amazing the room was.

    OMG! What a huge room! You basically have what used to be an out building on the farm to yourselves with two bathrooms. I think it was 800 sq feet in description (80 sq.m.). And the main bathroom (recently renovated) was amazing! Our boys (12 and 9) normally have to be forced to bathe, but here they begged us to take a bath in the tub with bubbles and LED lighting, and then our younger boy wanted a shower the next morning in the rain shower (which had the perfect amount of water pressure; I usually find them too weak, but this was great). I would give this a 9 (though my score is automatically generated at 8.8).

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We found the restaurant a little stuffy. We prefer more relaxed dining. It's a shame there isn't a more relaxed dinner available where we had our lovely breakfast.

    Friendly and welcoming staff. We stayed in the large suite that had an amazing bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    This place was a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    whats not to like? I didn't want to leave!

    This place was a gem. We would go there for a weekend break not just as an overnight stopover on a journey South. Charming, excellent service, delicious breakfast, welcoming team & a step back in time location with farmyard courtyard beautifully renovated. In a word:fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Charming facilities very well done and so comfortable in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Charming facilities very well done and so comfortable in the Country room. Dinner excellent. Very small criticism that entrée was a bit big for a four course meal. The best breakfast I have had in ages and added bonus of cheeses made on site! Will definitely revisit.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.. GOOD MEAL IN RESTAURANT ROOM COMFORTABLE, BUT STAIRS A PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY FOR MY WIFE.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    We like everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We like everything!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    5.8
    The location, staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was full of mites and insects.......

    The location, staff and food.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    9.2
    Water pressure and temperature of the shower was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Water pressure and temperature of the shower was inconsistent.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    The building and setting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy children at dinner uncontrolled by parents. More clarity on a la carte menu options.

    The building and setting.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Calm, peaceful location in rural setting, very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Calm, peaceful location in rural setting, very clean, excellent restaurant surprisingly good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.8
    Room layout badly designed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room layout badly designed Main course below standard Overall disappointed

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    Peacefull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is quite remote but that is not necessarily bad it is very peacefull and picturesque, depends what you want.

    Peacefull. Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    room was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was beautiful fab bathroom and bedroom

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    Friendly, great food and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly, great food and atmosphere. Very convening location

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: