Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel La Fraîchette 3 stars

Chemin de Crémanville, La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, 14600 Honfleur, France

#3 of 25 hotels in Honfleur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, very cute restaurant and fantastic food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, very cute restaurant and fantastic food. Pretty complete breakfast with all kinds of options for fried eggs, omelets etc. Room had a terrace with access to the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this property because it wasn’t a hotel chain. I wanted to visit the city of Honfleur but not stay in the city center. This property is located 4 1/2 kms drive from town, easy directions with our GPS. The setting is idyllic, the accommodations charming and spotlessly clean, the owners super helpful with attention to detail. Free parking and a smoking fast WiFi. We would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    On my list for a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to run the taps (shower or sink) for two minutes to get hot water. Plenty of hot water after that, but what a waste.

    Everything. I do so wish I hadn't stopped for lunch, as I was unable to try the full menu. My herring starter was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been better. Will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more hangers only 4 in our room. A soap dish attached to shower rail would have been handy.

    Excellent evening meal & breakfast.lovely friendly & accommodating people.super clean & inviting room with superb comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Extremely relaxing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about it!

    Very warm welcome. The couple who own it are extremely nice and very welcoming. Room perfect. Beautifully furnished - excellent art work everywhere. Dinner, cooked by Husband/chef, delicious. So much choice for breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Love it...it's why we keep coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car is rather low slung and bottoms on the driveway.

    Everything. We love coming for the hospitality, ambiance, quality of food, closeness to Honfleur...in fact everything sums it up nicely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    A fantastic choice for a romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertised the check in time as until 20:00 which was a little bit stressful on the road!

    We were doing a road trip through the UK and France and this was the best hotel on the route. We regret that we did not stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location and very nice hosts and a comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite expensive but more convenient than travelling into town. It was well advertised that breakfast was extra so it was our choice.

    Lovely people, great location and very comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Attention to detail by the welcoming my owners and wonderful food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    A super couple ran the hotel. It was traditional from the outside but had a modern interior. It was as clean and extremely comfortable. The food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Quiet retreat only ten minutes from busy Honfleur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the two rooms became v hot when the temperature rose to 30 a couple of days making for a couple of uncomfortable nights. The other room was fine. Should have asked for a fan but didn't, it might have helped. But generally everything was just fine.

    Travelled as couple with elderly parent so appreciated the accessible bedroom. Personal contact with owners Estelle and Guillaume was great. Friendly feel, well run little hotel. Liked the fact our ground floor rooms fronted onto the garden and had decking to sit out. Beds v comfy, good shower. Little restaurant pleasant and food good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric sunshade locked up in down position so terrace could not be accessed the 2nd night.

    Staff extremely friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely, quiet bnb outside of Honfleur harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 8
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not walking distance to Honfleur but it was easy enough to find by car

    Lovely bnb in a country setting a few minutes from Honfleur. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful French country hotel with high standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 6
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The owners were very friendly and helpful, and dinner was superb. Service was excellent and the location is good - quiet and rural but only a few minutes drive from the autoroute. The room was clean and comfortable, with a large walk-in shower, and a small private patio area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to Honfleur. Very friendly owners. They helped out with every questions. Breakfast was very good. Restaurant was closed as we were in low season. Room service was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    A hidden gem, just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spacious Double Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!!

    We have stayed here five times now and cannot praise it enough. There is something special about the atmosphere and the owners are just lovely. The food is always excellent and we love the menu on the board. Our room with the patio was lovely and a lovely large bathroom. We stay on our way back from Spain and would not dream of staying anywhere else. We love it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    An excellent place to stay in calm and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spacious Double Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    So good that there was nothing to not like

    Everything about our stay was excellent. A very friendly welcome with coffee/tea available. A superb evening meal cooked to perfection by the owner who is a very experienced chef. Breakfast was equally as good and overall nothing was too much trouble for our hostess to provide.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Very nice hotel tucked away near farmland with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a little difficult to find, my SatNav took us down a farm track for two miles, when in fact the location is 200 metres from a road!

    We received a warm welcome and were given information about the nearest town, Honfleur. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel and the food was excellent. Service was impeccable at all times. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful French country boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful quaint french country boutique hotel Lovely garden setting Nice room with country view Friendly hosts Good breakfast and restaurant Good safe car parking Well located to Honfleur

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Breakfast and dinner were superb. The owners were very friendly and helpful, with lots of good advice on where to park and what to do in Honfleur. The location, not far from the autoroute, was easy to find. Very quiet for sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Idyllic country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was such s special place. The owners were really friendly and the place was absolutely gorgeous. Setting is idyllic and not too far from Honfleur. Make sure to book a room with terrace so you have access to the garden from the room. We ate in at the restaurant two nights which was excellent. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Jewell in the hidden crown just outside Honfleur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gravel drive is a little tricky for a motorcycle, other than that all excellent

    The Owners are just delightful, the food is fantastic and all local and cooked to order. Room 5 has a small west facing patio, so evening sun was very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.3
    A cosy hotel with all needs catered for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds a little uncomfortable but didn't prevent a good night's sleep

    We were made very welcome. Excellent breakfast. A good evening menu. This was our second visit en route to/from the Charente and we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice location and friendly staff - great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, and speak good English! Nice location, small village, very green. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good! Would go there again just for dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Great location and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spacious Double Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location and atmosphere. We arrived late due to a delay on the Shuttle and the service in the restaurant was over but they still rustled up a very nice salad and dessert. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent- hope to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 8
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu though not small seemed a bit limited

    Quiet pretty location, v friendly welcoming owners

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Spacious Double Room with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit too wild with water making the bathroom very wet.

    The WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    A good stay and convenient for visiting Honfleur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked Tea/coffee making facilities in our room

    Hosts were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.3
    The dinner menu was spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a bit more comfortable.

    The dinner menu was spectacular. Food some of the best we had in France. The proprietors were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    Very relaxing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Pretty and friendly, great restuarant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Double Room with terrace 5
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gps got us lost, but local farmer drove us there, we came from wrong direction,well worth finding,lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room 9
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance to city centre

    hospitality breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Picturesque inn tucked away in the Normandy countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and refreshing, this tranquil little inn had a very friendly staff and we were treated to a most excellent Normandy dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    Lovely decor, quiet place on a country lane near a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dinner, a bit disappointed but owners very apologetic. Breakfast a bit expensive at £9 each, so didn't bother.

    Lovely decor, quiet place on a country lane near a small village.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Rooms comfortable, excellent breakfasts & meals in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Rooms comfortable, excellent breakfasts & meals in restaurant. Lovely location, just a few minutes away from Honfleur. Very hospitable hosts.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Lovely location, very quiet and peaceful and very attentive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit out of things but that suited us fine

    Lovely location, very quiet and peaceful and very attentive staff. Dinner was good and where else would you find a chef who took the trouble to find us in the morning after losing to Wales at rugby to help us relive the moment!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    A small and welcoming family run hotel in a quiet rural...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing about the hotel we didn't like.

    A small and welcoming family run hotel in a quiet rural location, but convenient for Honfleur and Le Pays D'Auge. The ground floor room was comfortable with a pleasant outside sitting area and the food was excellent, with dinner freshly prepared, cooked and served by the Owners from a small but varied menu. Everything was unhurried and tranquil.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    If you don't stay at La Fraichette then you will have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you don't stay at La Fraichette then you will have missed a real gem. The hotel is just lovely and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. The restaurant is superb, with the menu on a large black board, and all beautifully cooked by the the owner who is a larger than life character. Having stayed here before this is definitely on our must go back list.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    This is just a gorgeous little place with modern comforts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is just a gorgeous little place with modern comforts combined with charm and authenticity. The restaurant is excellent and it's a delight to sit outside in such a lovely setting after a long journey.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly reception and an authentic French family hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly reception and an authentic French family hotel feel. Would have had more nights in that spot (instead of using it as a stopover) if we had realised it was just perfect and the local facilities were an added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful friendly owners in a quite convenient location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful friendly owners in a quite convenient location, very good food interesting choices. Very pleasant rooms some with their own patio in the garden, although not private great for an evening read or cold beer.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Lovely oasis of calm after a hot drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely oasis of calm after a hot drive. Clean and fresh with fabulous art from around the globe. Great supper in the garden surrounded by flowers. Room comfy and wet room very spacious. Only 20 mins from ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    Quite quirky in a ver pleasant way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu was same both of our 2 nights stay. Not sure how often menu changes. Idel for a couple of nights stopover but would not have liked to stay any longer.

    Quite quirky in a ver pleasant way. Smallish room with terrace onto garden. Would not suite anyone who likes spacious hotel chain rooms. Limited menu but all fresh and delicious and cooked by the 'les patrons'. So handy for the beautiful Hon Fleur.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and welcoming owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and welcoming owners

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the owners, the delicious food and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the owners, the delicious food and the wonderful location.After a long drive, it was so peaceful and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location with quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast would be nice to be included in room rate

    Good location with quiet room

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea / coffee making facilities in room

    Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    Location, staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a double, the bed was a bit small.

    Location, staff, breakfast. Comfortable large house with a nice garden.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.2
    Friendly service - with excellent English
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly service - with excellent English Good food Good value

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: