Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Maison Des Galets

6 cour de la Plage, 76460 Saint-Valéry-en-Caux, France

#7 of 8 hotels in Saint-Valéry-en-Caux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 404 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is seriously outdated. Needs couple of coats of nice bright paint on walls. Reminded me of an institution not a hotel. Carpet in hotel is disgusting. Old, brown, dark and reeks of old cigarettes and heaven knows what else. Lights in hall to rooms didnt work properly. Could barely see either day or night. No lift and very steep dark stairwell that is dangerous at night due to NO Lighting. Dark brown hole. Room while ok was also horribly dark and dreary. Only view on ocean made it tolerable. Entrance to hotel is at the back by the ocean boardwalk, which is a plus off season but would be real negative during summer.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong nasty smell, room very shabby, wallpaper falling off wall shower head fell off holder which was loose. No duvet just a shabby old blanket.Gi

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just one electrical outlet for two persons and it's really weird. Check in in just 4 pm and the reception is not working and reception's door is closed. We waited 2 hours with luggage - it's not convenient. And, of course, in the morning the reception was closed again and we didn't know where we could hide the key. We couldn't have a dinner in this town - all the restaurant didn't have a food, only drink. I suppose, because it wasn't week end and not true summer. But we were really upset by this fact.

    Beautiful view! Room is in french decorating. Balcony. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled horribly. I can best describe the smell as stale sweat. We arrived at 7pm and had to rush off to dinner. We opened the windows hoping that the smell would go away by the time we would be back as we didn't want to make a fuss. The smell didn't go away and seemed to come from the bed-cover. We called the hotel (reception was closed) at around mid-night as it was impossible to sleep in that room with the smell and the overall sense of lack of cleanliness. The lady on the phone said that she couldn'd do anything as she was fully booked. When I told her that there is no way that I was sleeping in that room and I would rather sleep in the car (and she can forget about charging for the room), she offered to find a solution. She came over and proposed us a different (smaller) room at the same price (!). Admittedly the second room did not smell, but I still have serious doubts about the levels of cleanliness maintained by this hotel. I would definitely not recommend, and propose to the owners to renovate/ hire more cleaning staff.

    The hotel is right on the coast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More breakfast selection perhaps, but it was fresh and filling, just not that exciting but it was all we needed really.

    Very helpful staff who arranged locking up our bikes in their garage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance could be better. Stair carpet needs cleaning and there was mould in the shower. Hard to locate but once found there was parking nearby. This hotel is in the area that was destroyed during WWII so the architecture reflects post war modern reconstruction but I didn't realise this from the description.

    Sea view, friendly welcome, good breakfast and great reception and breakfast area. A pretty town and the location of the hotel was picturesque with wonderful views of the cliffs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy Casino near by at sea front kept us awake very late lots of shouting and loud music, but I guess it was Sat eve.

    Sea view & nice and clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist at maison des galets was very unfriendly and not helpfull at all.. We were rudely redirected to hotel les remparts, in a side street. No one at the rather dingy looking reception, up some dark stairs to find our room, which was surprisingly nice and clean and very French. But certainly no seaview. The "free parking" is free parking in the neighbourhood streets, if you are lucky. St. Valery en Caux is a lovely place - will certainly go back - but not to this hotel.

    Compared to the rest of the hotel - the room was fine and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was a little shabby outside, but no matter.

    Good clean room, nice bathroom, comfy bed. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has seen better days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    size of room

    cleanliness, location, kind staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation face à la mer et confort

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi worked only downstairs.

    Nice very typical local house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is just very shabby.

    Location only.....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were great. And the view from the bedroom was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    etablissement tres vetuste

    la situation

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that there was no one there till 4

    location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was not a lift and hotel spread over several floors. Car parking could be a problem in the height of the summer

    The situation on the sea front. Staff friendly. Breakfast was good but not able to deal with gluten free.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very very basic, for 8 euros was expensive. We wanted a drink in the bar, and unfortunately, did not have much to offer, a beer and a soft drink.

    Location, room with a sea view was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shabby appearance of the hotel from the outside is disappointing, and the public areas and corridors are dark and in need of some renovation. A little overpriced.

    A basic, but light and airy room, with a great sea view. Good location on the sea front and close to restaurants. Free on road parking nearby.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inability to identify or locate it while driving the street on which it was located, due to no address visible, then having to carry luggage about 200 meters from the parking spot at the casino.

    The location right on the water.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment has a somewhat strange layout, which is why we never felt fully comfortable there. Opening the front door, you actually enter the shower/jacuzzi room. As such, it's a nice room, but with a total of 3 doors, the space always feels busy rather than relaxing. The toilet is a tiny separate closet next to the kitchenette. It didn't always flush properly. The kitchenette is tiny by definition, but relatively well equipped. The apartment's deco is fairly neutral, but some of the furniture and walls are already looking a bit worn and tired, and could do with fresh paint. The main room's floor is covered with an ugly carpet that always feels a bit dirty. A big minus is also that the extra bed is stored very visibly in the middle of the main room. Overall conclusion - the apartment feels a bit improvised and not enough attention has been paid to the detail to make it good value for the money. You can certainly find nicer places for the same price.

    We stayed at the apartment across the street from the hotel. The location couldn't be more central. The downside being that the street does get very busy during the summer. Etretat and the surroundings are beautiful and definitely worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is a bit shabby as are the stairs and entrance. Bathroom needs a really good clean - still the same dust on the radiators as last time!

    Great location - had Room 8 again. Comfortable bed. Good shower.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved St Valery en Caux. La Maison des Galets was warm, friendly and more than adequate. We were treated really well. Freezing weather dos not marr our stay!

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One extra large size towel. There was only one.

    Location. Sea view.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    paper-thin walls; bathroom smell; poor breakfast; generally run-down condition

    beach front; sounds of the sea

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Continental (French, glutinous) breakfast.

    Great location, great value and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Filthy stair carpet Difficult shower access Compact room

    Friendly helpful reception Present breakfast area with sea view Direct sea view from room

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not friendly, restaurant permanently closed but menu still displayed

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful seaside hotel with great views. Clean midern rooms. Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: