Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Malmaison Nice Boutique Hôtel An Ascend Collection Member 4 stars

48, Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France

#23 of 169 hotels in Nice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    We had a premium room with terrace and lovely view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a premium room with terrace and lovely view over the roof toops. Would have been nice with a little more decorated terrace though, plants etc. OK breakfast - cheese, ham, diffrent types of bread, yoghurt, some fruit, fresh juice, croissants, scrambled eggs and bacon. Not much place to sit outside down at the lobby but close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The check in staff was very friendly but no porter and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Porter service was missing and the room size could be bigger. We had the deluxe room. I can’t imagine the standard room .... but this could be something generally considered standard in France as our hotel rooms in Paris were also tiny.

    The check in staff was very friendly but no porter and it was some steps to the check in area / lobby. It can be difficult carrying your luggages up the stairs. The rooms are tastefully decorated but a little small. But they were kind enough to let me have an early check in since our flight arrived very early. But overall, it was a nice experience. The hotel is located in a very nice tree lined boulevard 4 blocks from the the promenade and 10 mins to the train station. Beach towels were also provided for convenience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very nice and helpful with anything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seemed to clean the rooms quite late, we came back to the room 3-4pm as it was raining and had to wait in reception for awhile for our room to be cleaned.

    The staff were very nice and helpful with anything we needed. The room itself was very comfortable and had plenty of room for us and our big suitcases. They provided great bathroom products to use. We didn’t mind the location, was at least a 5-10 minutes walk anywhere but we didn’t mind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredebly helpful and very nice. We had car trouble and needed a garage. The staff helped us locate a garage and translated everything for us. The rooms were very nice, the beds very comfortable, and the hotel is located in walking distance to shots, the beach and the old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, nice bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to drag our bags up the stairs at the property wasn’t ideal.

    Good breakfast, nice bathroom and shower. Room and bed was very small for a superior room but had a nice balcony and only and few minutes walk from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Revisited , but this time disappointed with room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was narrow. A previous stay had a much larger superior room. There wasn’t milk for the coffee on cream which made it too strong xx

    I liked the kettle was in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely central hotel in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the bathroom fittings were loose and didn't feel very well fitted.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful especially at check-in. The hotel was located close to the promenade/beach and within walking distance of lots of restaurants. The room was also very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a fantastic time, I would definitely return to Nice and I would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely but there wasn’t a mirror near any plug sockets so doing your hair or make up was a little awkward; this could easily be remedied by putting one above the writing table containing the tea and coffee. Our departure was early evening, the staff were great with looking after the luggage and giving us access when needed but the “room” they provided for showering pre-travel was like a broom cupboard, the toilet was sealed shut, there was no ventilation, it seemed to house stacks of towels including a small pile of used ones, there was no socket for drying your hair and it wasn’t sufficiently large to allow for any baggage which had to remain outside and it was halfway between floors, it was clean though! They need to re-think this as it did let them down a bit.

    Great location, easy for the beach, the train station and only a short walk from the historic old town and is much quieter then nearer the seafront which is right next to the main highway. It has a Sicilian restaurant next door if arriving late this is very useful, the food is good with plenty of choice to suit all pockets! The hotel staff are very helpful and beach towels are also freely available from reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    A weekend of sightseeing, shopping and fab food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our 2nd visit and it seems like they are cutting corners. The reception wasn’t manned all the time and last year our water bottles were replenished every day but this year we had to pay for them. Our room this year was very dark and not much natural light. The lights in the room were not bright enough.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location for main shops and station but no facilities in hotel ie gym/pool so don’t expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected with poor light Room servicing was poor with no replenishment of coffee, toiletries No complimentary water/robes/slippers

    Great location, very helpful reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fluffy bathrobes and spacious, by European norms, size of room were a surprise. We particularly liked the handwritten note and sweet treats that were in our room upon arrival, on each of our two stays. Nice touch. The hotel is well located and a good value for the cost. For those traveling from the US, you may be surprised that Ascend Is part of the same chain that includes Comfort Inn. So much more chic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Cute hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was playing up a bit in our room and we had no available international tv news channels

    Great located hotel in the quiet streets of Nice. Only a 5 min walk to the beach and promenade. We requested a triple room for 2 people knowing it will be more spacious and we were glad we went with it. The corner room was cozy and had a nice view of the street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely view from the balcony even though it was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower curtain in the bath which meant that the water sprayed over anything that was on the vanity unit. Staff did not replenish the drink items in the room daily. Breakfast was very good but had to ask for items to be restocked. Tables were small and dirty dishes were not removed leaving little room.

    We had a lovely view from the balcony even though it was not one of the superior rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed with you last October and the room was much nicer. This time I paid extra to upgrade to a better room but I was quite disappointed with what we were given

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were busy enjoying Nice, so no downside that we saw

    Lovely room with balcony overlooking the neighbourhood. Location was good for the town and the station which were an easy 10 minute walk away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Very happy in Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have breakfast, we preferred to go out but it did seem expensive at 19Euro. Therefore we cannot comment on the quality. However, a lot of hotels charge this amount and sometimes more.

    The hotel was very comfortable and really clean. The staff were very very helpful, courteous and friendly. Location was excellent. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Birthday treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have breakfast at the hotel, so can’t comment on that.

    Beautiful Art Deco room, very spacious, 2 double Juliette doors that opened. Not noisy, despite location. Tea tray, comfy beds, heated towel rail and good bathroom. Hotel looked after our cases upon arrival until room ready and upon departure before our flight. Loved the style of the hotel and the location - 2 roads back from seafront. Easy walking for just about everything. Staff very welcoming and interested - when told it was a birthday celebration, we found bottle of Provence Rose in room upon return from day out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Good Hotel in Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inconsiderate guests in rooms adjacent to ours who were in and out of each others rooms, banging doors etc all night at weekend

    Great location Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly and the size of our room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a nightmare. Recommended car park was very expensive.

    Staff were very friendly and the size of our room was good. They had a smartphone that gave us access to free wifi around town - really neat offering and one we haven't come across before

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Great location 5 min from the Promenade with friendly staff and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect.

    The bed was very comfy. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as it was 16 Euro per person and you can get better deals within 5 min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Spacious and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was powerful but didn't have a proper screen, so bathroom kept flooding. However staff were very helpful by providing extra towels so I could mop up the floor. I was charged extra for late checkout - checkout is at 11am and I wanted the room until 2pm. Was it really worth charging me an extra €20?

    Spacious and clean room. Well located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel. Reasonably priced. Nice and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    45-degree stair case at the entrance. Not easy to pull heavy suitcases up and down. No ramp. Wouldn't be allowed to operate like that in the US.

    Exceptional hotel in a very quiet part of town yet just a few blocks from everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Impeccable! Definitely returning any time I am in Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything from the smallest detail to the general view.

    I loved La Malmaison, An Ascend Hotel. It is in the center, but in a quiet area. The building is an amazing old one with high ceilings and big windows. The cleanness is impeccable. The bedclothes and pillows and the towels are high quality! The style is minimalistic, but at the same time cosy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is no onsite parking, but there is a parking garage 2 blocks away. We found this to be only a minor inconvenience and would not prevent us from staying there again!

    When we checked in we found that we had been upgraded to a larger room than we had booked. We were staying 6 nights and the extra space was wonderful! We were traveling with our dog and they had a water dish and bottle of water ready for him in the room as well! The Jacuzzi tub was a wonderful luxury after a long day of walking about Nice! The staff was always smiling, friendly and attentive to our needs! Our stay couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Stayed twice, the first time my room was enormous!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed twice, the first time my room was enormous!!! Both times bathrooms were great. Very easy to access, nice places to dine in walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, staff very helpful and friendly. Altogether a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom facilities were excellent EXCEPT for the size of the wash basin. It was absolutely tiny and the tap took up far too much space. It was very difficult to even wash your hands in and water was spilled all around

    Location was excellent. Beds and linen good quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, we were lucky enough to be given a room upgrade with balcony and jacuzzi on the 5th floor, we really appreciated this and it made our stay to have a nice balcony to spend time on. Staff very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the beach and the Restaurants in the Old Town but quiet residential street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up to Reception!!

    The bathroom was really great it had a magnifying mirror and an amazing drawer under the washbasin for my make up. The mobile phones they provide are fantastic as well. The room was almost too warm much better than being cold! The sun streams into the Reception and bar area making it a nice place to hang out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is great. Everything is close by. Price is most reasonable. Will return for sure.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    On the daily cleaning of the room checking of availability of soap could be more thorough but a quick reminder brought immediate solution! Also issue of smell in the elevator should be addressed...

    Staff on the property made the difference. From the moment we stepped on the property till when we left. Customer oriented, nice and gentle, friendly, etc! Christina did a stellar job (together with Sergio) to make us feel right at home for breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    The hotel was a treat... Amazing location, beautiful view from the window and very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a treat... Amazing location, beautiful view from the window, neat and wonderfully equipped rooms. The staff was most friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get enough time to enjoy it! Could have done with more morning to enjoy breakfast on our balcony! Was lovely.

    The staff were really helpful in making sure that we had everything we needed to cater for our 18 month year old with a crib and bedding and the bonus of the kids shower kit! Beds were super comfy too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location , great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the noise during the night from the hotel “Slendid” across the road. Was woken up on 3 out of 5 nights by a truck loading outside the hotel at 2.00 in the morning !! - very frustrating and very inconsiderate.

    Great location and friendly , helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    The smartphone in the room was very useful and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smartphone in the room was very useful and the staff were very helpful, they gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations. Good location between the city centre and the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Best location and super staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm not sure that these situations were directly related to the hotel but we had some problems during our stay. The first day, we recognized that air condition was not working and requested to change our room. Thanks to the staff, they arranged us a new room immediately but the air condition of the new room was not working too. then, they gave us another room. This time the air condition was ok but it was no hot water there. To sum up, we finished our 3 nights stay without take a shower :(

    Staff was so kind and closely interested in customer's problems. Beds are so comfortable, rooms (you will understand in the other section that why I said rooms) was enough big and breathable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything !!!

    Excellent!!! Wonderful location, excellent and very very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, service... wonderful view from balcony...big room, clean.. you can enjoy like a home... Bravo!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel - I thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were incredible - always going the extra mile to provide advice on where to go, restaurants etc. The customer service at this hotel is impeccable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was close to both the train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close to both the train station and the beach/waterfront. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The Handy phone they have for guests was also a treat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small bathroom, small bedroom.

    very good breakfast, good location, friendly staff , the use of the " handy" cellphone with free wifi and free calls to the USA and Europe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel, lovely art Deco style. Quiet but great location. Super staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive. Suggestion: continental ie coffee and large croissant for half the price could be handy start to day.

    Very polite, friendly and helpful staff eg where to eat and how to get about. Lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Good Breakfast and amazing view from the room (5th floor).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last day, we were asked from the receptionist to leave the room as soon as possible around 11 am. Jacuzzi without a shower cabin or a shower curtain so every time we had a shower there was a kind of lake in the bathroom.

    Good Breakfast and amazing view from the room (5th floor). Perfect location for the beach and to visit the city. Confortable bed, very functional Jacuzzi and cute terrace with a table and deckchairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Tasteful, friendly hotel in a lovely part of the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm struggling to think of anything I didn't like!

    The décor was lovely, the staff were extremely helpful. The location was ideal, walking distance from station and sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Average hotel with nice rooms and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was atmospherless. No facilities at all. No one ever in the bar. Staff were good on check in but never spoke again afterwards. The hotel is good as a base only

    Location was quite good of a little far from the old town. Room was nice with a brilliant balcony. Check in was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Well Located "Nice" Hotel, Very Good Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of security; reception was often unmanned and it would have been very easy to walk into the hotel and up on the lift without being checked. (This was quite a contrast to our previous hotel in Lyon which was one of the most security conscious we have visited!)

    Excellent location between the main railway station and the sea front (about 10 minutes walk to each). We booked a superior room and this was very nice with a balcony which had a pleasant outlook over a garden and beyond.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff. Nice, clean hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we considered the breakfast a bit too pricey (although they had lowered the price recently to €15) we didn't have any. No central heating on in the middle of october,so the room was a bit chilly at night.

    Good beds, not too soft. Had a superior room with a big wardrobe and a balcony (don't think that all rooms have got that). Appreciated the fridge and the hot-water-kettle. Very friendly staff. The hotel has a good,but rather quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money with a caveat
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is extremely difficult to park in the area, very difficult to get your luggage as you have many stairs at the entrance without a lift, the set up is simplistic.

    Great team, very friendly and accommodating, value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A lovely stay in a convenient part of Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was close to Promenade des Anglais (approx 5 minute walk) on a tree-lined road, pleasant & quiet in the daytime and night Convenient for the beach & the Old Town.The hotel staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast was good value, with a choice of coffees/quality teas/juices, including some hot food as well as the usual cereals, fruit, cheese, yoghurts & pastries. Decent sized rooms (we had 31 & 32), 1 had a shower, the other a shower over the bath. Both had a balcony with furniture. There was a small fridge in the room, large enough to take several bottles. A small bar with reasonably priced drinks downstairs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Really really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service from the receptionists was amazing, they were knowledgable of the place and their English was very good. We received a free upgrade for our room and received a bottle of champagne for my birthday. The room was very comfortable and the bed was lovely. I would happily book the hotel again. It is in an ideal location and not much noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall an enjoyable stay and a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only real downside was that there was no bracket in which to put the shower, so it had to be held by hand when used. However, we raised this with them and understand it is being addressed.

    The room was very attractive, a good size, lovely decor, very comfy beds! There was a welcome message left on one of the beds with some chocolates, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great location,great staff and lovely surroundings with cosy beds and great pillows and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect but I didn't avail of breakfast so don't know about eating facilities

    Staff were so friendly and v keen to make you more happier with your stay..Could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean and Comfy Hotel at Nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent. It was very easy to access the airport from Hotel since hotel is located very close to the Central train station. Moreover staff was very helpful and friendly, they even helped us renting a for a day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Location was good, only a short walk to the waterfront and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are stairs to get to reception (no lift) so I had to carry 2 very heavy suitcases up the stairs, so not suitable for anyone in a wheelchair.

    Location was good, only a short walk to the waterfront and local restaurants. Room was a good size and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Overall experience was good, beds quite comfy, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite old bathroom, wasn't very clean (mould traces visible). Wouldn't say it fits to a 4-star hotel. Parking was a bit of hassle; had to look for designated parkings few blocks away as there were no available spots on the street around the hotel. There is practically no drop off place in front of the hotel, so loading/unloading of the luggage to/from the car is pain.

    Overall experience was good, beds quite comfy, great location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Charming boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't really fault much except parking is difficult if you have a car and tea and coffee wasn't restocked every day.

    Warm and welcoming staff who spoke perfect English. Having breakfast on our balcony surrounded by leafy trees lining the streets every morning was lovely. Charming boutique hotel. Comfortable and very clean facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel to enjoy beautiful Nice and surrounding areas and no hesitiation to recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Little outside space and no balcony to sit with coffee and watch world pass by 2. Good room space but my room did not have a balcony 3. Hotel bar facilities did not entice you to hang around - no real problem as usually got back late.

    A. Good location close enough to Nice attractions without being on top of them, so overall I found this good. Sometime a little too quiet on the street. B. Comfortable set up overall, clean and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Nice small hotel, not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged us for a slightly late check out. This seemed a bit unfair as the hotel isn't cheap and most hotels we stay in (and we travel a lot) kindly let you stay 1-2 hours for free if the room isn't needed. It's a nice hotel but the room was very small and at £190 a night without breakfast we felt it wasn't good value for money. The breakfast is 15 euros per person - there are plenty of breakfasts deals in Nice at a price of 5/6 euros so don't use the hotel!

    Friendly staff and hotel in good location to explore Nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.5
    Room size, breakfast, staff friendly, walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a large double bed but got 2 singles made up separately pushed together in a spacious but ordinary room with a slightly worn bathroom. The breakfast tables for 2 were minute and not cleared between courses. The lift was not working. The hotel had no restaurant, no pool - we don't object to city style hotels but cannot see how it gained a four star classification or got a fabulous rating. Disappointing bookings.com, disappointing Malmaison chain.

    Room size, breakfast, staff friendly, walking distance from station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    We had a great stay and loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable. It was too hard for us and would be a little bit better with a top mattress. The rooms are starting to be a worn down and could use a little paint and the bathroom floor fixed.

    The balcony in our executive room was great and perfect late afternoon/early evening. We loved the high ceilings and huge windows of the room. The fact that it only took about 5 minutes to walk to the beach and that the hotel was a little away from the huge masses of tourists and noise of the boardwalk. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast buffet offered good choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room size rather small. Bathroom size, however, could have accommodated double (instead of single) sink and a larger one at that.

    Breakfast buffet offered good choices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite expensive.

    Location is perfect! 5 minute walk to the beach as promenade. 5 minutes in the other direction gets you to the train station with great connections.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    great for a night or on business, wouldn't holiday here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom seemed a bit dated. recent revamp seemed more corporate hotel than boutique

    staff were impeccable having just had our flight cancelled. they did everything to help and make us comfortable - even upgraded our room, charged our phones (we had left our chargers at the house we were staying), and printed our boarding passes for new flight. nice shampoo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No, of course no!

    I came to Nice for honeymoon with my wife. The staffs here are excellent. They prepared a card with blessing on our honeymoon and offered two bottles of wine which really surprised me and my wife. And, there's more, the hotel upgraded our room and arranged a room with great view. Though the equipment may not be as perfect as a 5-star hotel, the service is perfect. The reception, I think his name is Adrien, is really really really nice. He explained a lot of things to us very patiently and provided useful advice. His English is pretty good and I didn't feel any trouble talking with him as Chinese. Nice is a beautiful place, the beach is around 10 min walk from hotel. I will definitely choose this hotel as my first option for my next visit here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic location and comfortable hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vegetarian option for breakfast can be improved.

    The pictures of the room are realistic and you get what you see. The hotel is situated 5 min walk to the beach. Bed was comfortable and can't fault any of their service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would like a bigger bed for the price point. The air conditioner struggled a bit at night even though I kept turning it down. It seemed ok during the day. It was quite a heatwave. On the last day we ordered a taxi for an early morning flight. We kept waiting for reception to let us know it had arrived when a knock at the door was a young staffer ordering us to get downstairs immediately or we would have to pay fo another taxi. We had no help with our bags (unusual for a 4 star hotel and Ascend Hotel Collection member). The taxi driver told us that the receptionist told him to go upstairs to the 5th floor and knock on our door. Terrible.

    This was our second visit to La Malmaison and the check in was good. We were given an upgrade and I was very grateful as this meant an excellent balcony overlooking a large part of Nice. The Jacuzzi was great and is one of the reasons I book here. The balcony is great too. There is a table and chairs and banana lounges on the balcony. The bathroom is a good size and there is a separate baggage room with a wardrobe. This was usesful as we were there 5 nights and it helped us to keep the room tidy and organised.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay! Would recommend to friends & family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive & I didn't see anyone eating once! We went to cafe Co-T-cafe and got breakfast for 2 for the same price for 1 at the hotel. It was so hot would of been lovely if hotel had pool facilities. The bath needs a shower curtain! Water all over the floor! Impossible to prevent...

    Such helpful staff. Lovely room! Try to get one with a balcony overlooking the front of the property if you can! Lovely views & people watching over a drink. Fab location too! 5 minute walk to beach, nearest shop & lovely little cafe for breakfast. Really impressed would book here again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Great staff and atmosphere with generous rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buy further ironing boards

    Th staff was sensational. Incredibly friendly and going out of their way to make us happy and when they couldn't we're genuinely sorry and compensated with some lovely refreshments and sincere apology (there weren't enough ironing boards in the property). Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    TOO EXPENSIVE - DEFINITELY NOT A FOUR STAR HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    DEFINITELY OVERPRICED. BREAKFAST WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RATE OF 250 EUROS PER DAY. IT IS NOT A BOUTIQUE HOTEL BUT JUST A MODERN ONE WITH CHEAP FURNITURE AND DECORATION. THE FIRST DAY WIFI WAS NOT WORKING. THEREAFTER THE FRIDGE IN THE ROOM WAS NOT WORKING. THERE WAS NO MINIBAR. THE THIRD WE LEFT AT 10am AND RETURNED AT 15:45 TO FIND OUT THAT OUR ROOM WAS NOT MADE UP. THE EXCUSE WE WERE GIVEN BY THE STAFF WAS THAT THEY GIVE PRIORITY TO THOSE WHO CHECK IN.

    ONLY THE LOCATION WAS ACCEPTABLE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with focus on quality and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not all the employees at the reception had the same degree of helpfulness as the reception manager. They were all helpful but still.....not as much as the manager.

    Nice hotel with focus on quality and good service. Nice breakfast and good beds. The reception manager was fantastic and she is the most helpful manager that my wife and I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom small and loud guests from other rooms when trying to sleep.

    Staff was helpful. nice little sitting area on private deck. Location is easy walk to train station and beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable although the bathroom wasn't particularly big but adequate. The hotel is in a great location for the promenade anglais, restaurants and only a 10 minute walk to the train station. All the staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no standing shower you had to hold it up yourself.

    The staff were so welcoming and friendly. The location is perfect for the airport and train station. Short walk to the pebbled beach and old town. Lots of restaurants near to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compatibility with British watt items. We couldn't plug in more then two items at a time without the electric tripping. Although they did quickly resolve it each time

    Really helpful and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Good Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite close to the attractions and the beach. Around 10 walking distance to the train station. The room is quite good with a spacious balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent boutique hotel in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought breakfast was too expensive at 19 euro each. A comfortable chair in bedroom would have been welcome as had to sit on bed.

    The hotel is in an excellent location. Rooms are good with modern bathroom and comfortable beds and pillows.Helpful staff. Would choose this hotel again. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for a comfy extended weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no shower curtain / partition so the floor and stuff lying around the sink got wet when taking a shower. No big deal, but not ideal. The warm food at breakfast (eggs, potatoes, etc.) was pretty cold and dry (maybe it was better at 7am, but couldn't recommend it for later in the morning). Fortunately there were enough cold options which were great!

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff at reception (they gave us great advice on how to get around and restaurant recommendations). Upon arrival we were invited to look at two different rooms and choose the one we liked better. Spacious room with tasteful interior and it was very clean. Even though our room was facing the street it was very calm, but the hotel is still in a central enough location to reach the city center and the ocean by foot. Good quality breakfast with a lot of options.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was pretty happy with everything. Maybe a chance to check in a bit earlier would have been good. But staff did what they could on that to be fair, they got a room prepped a bit earlier than 3 pm

    Modern, although building is old I think. Clean, nicely designed, airy room, high ceiling, we liked it all really

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: