Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Marine 2 stars

30 Quai Duperre, 17000 La Rochelle, France

#2 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, perfect breakfast in the room, lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying so much for 2 teabags

    We booked a port view room, we were lucky enough to be put into a newly refurbished room.it was fabulous We stayed here last year and loved it so much we returned again this year. No lift so you have to be fairly mobile. Only downside was it was advertised as having tea/coffee making facilities, however a kettle is provided and 2 herbal teabags, when I requested tea/coffee and milk, I was told they don't provide it you have to ask. I said I don't mind paying, on leaving I was disgusted to find they had charged me €4 for 2 single teabags, no milk had been provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift to take our bags up 2 flights of stairs to reception and first floor but we were assisted by staff.

    Super location with plenty of restaurants downstairs and within 5 minutes walk. Shopping and tourist spots were extremely close and wonderful to visit. Breakfast was available in the room but it was really much nicer to go downstairs and eat outside with fabulous view of the harbour and towers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two flights of stairs up to reception. Not good with luggage.

    The facilities in the first room we were very small so we upgraded to a larger room with a beautiful view of the harbour. The staff were very helpful and accomoding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Best Little Hotel in La Rochelle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A refrigerator would be a plus but that is just a suggestion.

    Location was the best. Cute Seaside motif with a modern flare. Room and bed was very comfortable with a great port view. The modern bathroom also had a port view! High recommend this great little hotel. Short walk from the train station and bus stop. Breakfast is available in room for an extra charge but I opted to grab a coffee on the go.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Quaint & location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - but not for you if you want uniform sized rooms and canot cope with shower and toilet being a tight squeeze

    Great modest hotel - small and cosy - staff very helpful - location cannot be beaten - get room with a view over port if possible - spotless - beds comfortable and plenty hot water. Rooms are small but that's part of the charm. Would not be suitable for any body who could not manage stairs - they are steep and there are a couple of flights to get to reception and no lift - you are staying in an old historic building. Parking possible near by - email or phone ahead staff will advise - single room available which was ideal for our party of three. Breakfast - optional served in your room - delicious- no restaurant but plenty to choose from right on door step.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Definitely not a 2*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like!

    The location and view were amazing. The staff were fabulous and helpful. Wish we stayed there longer than 1 night, we'll definitely be returning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - it’s new refurnished so that the smell is a little bit uncomfortable. -the sound proofing is not good , we can hear the cleaner and other guests in the early morning. -WiFi is not working in our room.

    -the location is really in the center, with good view and lots of restaurants & bars around. -the receptionists are very friendly. -the room is bright and big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Great property and location to explore La Rochelle from- mind the stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you struggle with steep stairs, this property is not for you. There are 2 flights to climb to get to reception, and so with luggage also, this isn't the easiest thing.

    The property has a great location in La Rochelle on the main harbour front. So is a great base to explore from. The style and ambiance at the property was lovely- no frills, yet friendly and lovely. I did especially like that the hand wash was organic- it made my day actually!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant hotel overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A coffee-maker in the room. A more efficient air-con system.

    Port-front location. Interesting 'nautical' conversion. Our room newly decorated. Friendly and helpful staff. Range of excellent restaurants in adjacent side-roads. (Avoid those on 'tourist drag.')

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean hotel in superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a walk - but that is the price of the superb location.

    Superb front line location in old port with dozens of restaurants and shopping area at hand. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Frustrating Wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi-Fi was horrific. Upon arrival they give you codes for your individual devices. However, it is so slow that it basically doesn't work. My husband needed to send some important medical documents via email, and we couldn't get a signal. The lady at the front desk eagerly provided us with additional codes, but they were useless. Ultimately,we had to use our limited international data to send the email. I also could not FaceTime with my Mother on Mother's Day. I had to use my international minutes and call her direct. I would prefer them to state that they don't have Wifi, so that I could better plan my trip. It was very frustrating. I am not someone who needs to be connected 24/7, as I like to unplug when on vacation, but we expect reliable service when it is advertised that they provide Wifi.

    The location of this hotel was great. It was clean and had a great view of the port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) -Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little stuffy with the only window out looking onto a very very small enclosed courtyard.

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Room was modern, clean and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all great!

    Room was modern, clean and comfortable. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly. Great location. Hotel definitely exceeded expectations. The two star status is misleading!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Position was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the pillows were uncomfortable. The bed itself was very comfortable. To be really picky the towels could be softer but they were clean and very serviceable.

    Position was excellent Staff were amazingly helpful . So friendly . Breakfast was lovely. Home made yogurt and lovely pastries. Twinings earl grey tea! Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location, fantastic port views and really hospitable and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is situated in an old building with steep staircases, so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Also, it was a bit frantic to stop in front of the hotel and drop off bags for check-in as there is not really anywhere easy to stop when it is busy (there is a drop-off area but it is not particularly clear on first arrival). We found a good value parking just a few minutes walk away in the West side of the old port. It would have perhaps been easier to park there and walk back around with our bags on arrival.

    The rooms here are exceptional - they are styled on a cruise ship interior with lots of fresh and modern touches. Make sure to book a room with a port view - the views and ambiance are just wonderful. The hotel is located right on the front of the old port and leads straight out into loads of restaurants, bars and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a great location in the old ville.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception hours were a bit fluid and organisation was not perfect. It is a very small hotel.

    Room was quiet and attractive, a modest size but well laid out and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant. Location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, pity there is no air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and location. The views from the room ( if you go for a sea view) are outstanding. Great shower , great bed, all very modern.

    The hotel is beautifully situated, but be aware of the following, there is no parking nearby, it is set on the marina so is very noisy if you open the windows. There is no air conditioning so it can be VERY hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Everything was fantastic about our stay: location,room,staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was fantastic about our stay: location,room,staff and the breakfast was great.we had a triple room which suited us perfectly and we would gladly return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice And helpful staff, great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went alone and I booked a a bedroom with no view. It was absolutely fine for that short time I spent in the hotel. The staff is amazing. I had many questions and They helped me with everything. Quite small but Clean room and bathroom with a very comfortable bed. The location is absolutely great! I would definately go back again! :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Short break in La Rochelle. Fabulous restaurants, bars and lovely long walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Perfect position, clean, bright and comfortable. We had a view over the port which is beautiful. Coffee tray in the morning was great too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Short but sweet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs going up hôtels and room. No lift so not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. All hotels in the old town are the same though.

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were excellent, helpful and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Already planning a return trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved our last minute stay here. Fantastic location. Stayed in the triple room at the top of the property. It was a great size, with wonderful quality beds and linens. The bathrooms is a little small (split between toilet cubicle and separate shower/wash hand basin room). We had no view, but the location is so great you can step straight out the front door and into one of the lovely bars and restaurants directly beneath the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Very nice harbor front hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel across the street from the old harbor. They have 2 types of rooms, priced differently. The rooms on the interior of the building (ours had a window into the air shaft) are nice, basic, excellent value. The rooms in front, with harbor view, are really nice and worth the extra money for us. Beautiful room with lovely views and nice chairs and table adjacent to the window. Really nice. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Staff were all amazing. Really helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Inconvenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 flights of narrow stairway to reception was an absolute nightmare with a young child and baby. No elivator or help from anyone with luggage. The parking is a 10 minute walk from the hotel in an underground car park which is hard to find. None of this is mentioned in the description.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    3.8
    Lovely central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was adequate to our needs even if a little compact but functional and the breakfast was excellent at €9. As the hotel is at the old port you access via stairs and our bedroom was on the first floor so not too bad. Parking is at Verdun and not too far walking distance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely weekend at la Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to gave a sea view but not prepared to pay 50 euros extra. Too steep I think!

    A superb location. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was small but clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    I love La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot is wacky

    Every person on the staff was very nice and helpful. I would say this hotel has the best staff that I have ever come across. Great location. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    A three day stay in this hotel would have been enough, but the location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nowhere to relax and chill only the bedroom, but the staff made up for that by being so friendly, breakfast is an extra delivered to your room on a tray only used this option once,

    Location, weather, perfect, just a room no view, but right on the port,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Great place good for a family. Will rebook if I'm I. La Rochelle again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't cater but there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Breakfast can be ordered in. Nice but a bit pricey for what you get.

    Right on the harbour front but insulated enough with the windows closed to block out the sounds. Great room suitable for families and friendly staff. Recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great Hotel for a stay in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like

    Fantastic location right on the harbour, had a room looking out over port wonderful view. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) -Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a nightmare finding the car park as there is building work going on in the city so sat nav kept sending us round and round. Go on the outskirts of the city (not the little streets) to get to it at the moment. Streets are so narrow, a little hair raising when driving through! Much nicer on foot! That's not the hotels fault though and I'm sure when streets are reopened it's easier.

    Staff were very friendly and spoke fluent English. Hotel is right on the quayside. Beds are so comfortable and bathrooms are lovely. Fairly basic but perfect for what we needed. We stayed in a family room. Plenty of space for us and teenage children. Beautiful place to go. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Apart from serous inconvenience of the parking, a brilliant, if very expensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Nightmare and wasted possibly an hour of our time in La Rochelle. Very expensive - e9.90 overnight. No fault of the hotel, but if intending to go by car - don't.

    Brilliant location on harbour. Our room overlooked the port and was perfectly placed for the restaurants, sights etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    The town of La Rochelle was fascinating and very attractive. There were many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room located on top floor. 4 flights of stairs required for access. No coffee, only small tea bags, provided in room.

    Location was excellent. Central to harbour area and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    A short but relaxing and pleasant visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the reviews I had read were spot on - we were not disappointed. The reception staff were all helpful and friendly. The family suite was clean and spacious, very comfortable and had the best view overlooking the marina. Restaurants so close you only had to step outside the hotel for dinner. Loved the whole area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    The owners were so friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were so friendly and welcoming. The room was lovely and clean and the home made cinnamon yogurt was divine. We wanted to stay on our way back from Languedoc Rousillion but they were (not surprisingly) full. We will definitely come back Thank you for making our stay in La Rochelle so special x

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location; lovely people. Carried out bags out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location on the sea front. The husband and wife team who own it are lovely, friendly people. We slept really well and room 8 is so quiet and peaceful. Will definitely stay again as the area is fab too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Right in the heart of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to get to and unload bags with small children isn't ideal parking located nearby

    Lovely location right in the centre. Beautiful family room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, lovely room, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to bear in mind for people with bad mobility

    We were lucky enough to have a dockside view which was beautiful as we sat and ate our breakfast in the morning looking over the harbour. Lovely bright clean and modern room. Comfortable big bed too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and situation. Too Many tourists for my taste
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La Rochelle was very busy, it's a real tourist destination for the French and the numbers spoiled my appreciation of the place. At its best early morning before the hoards arrive

    Staff were excellent- knowledgeable and friendly and very helpful. Great location and best view from the bedroom of the Marina. Can't fault the cleanliness and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    1 night in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite plain decor, less charming as the one on the photos. Bed was average, but OK for a short stay.

    Location is in front of the marine. Our room faced the yard, and was very quiet despite the centric location of the hotel. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel in a great location with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The climb up the stairs - but it was worth it!! Staff were a great help with our luggage.

    The suite we had for a family of 5 was roomy and airy with lovely views onto the port. It was much bigger than I had expected and was really clean and fresh.The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving into the quay was highly stressful. Be prepared to as negotiate a sea of people who maybe giving you dirty looks. Just remember you do have the right to be there as a guest of the hotel and it will be worth it!

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly with lots of local knowledge. They booked a table for us on the first night at a restaurant they recommended and had lots of advise about hiring bikes, what to do and what to see. The rooms were stylish, quirky and spotlessly clean. The location was perfect for wondering around the city, market stalls and cafes. I know the wifi has been mentioned in other reviews ( an essential with teenage children). Initially it was not working in our rooms but the owner quickly reset it and it was perfect from then on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    We had a great weeek in La Rochelle beautiful place and location was first class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was sparsely furnished. With 5 in the apartment only comfy seating for 2 or 3. Could do with another sofa and some bed sides lockers. Also more coat hangers. For doing real self catering the kitchen would need more utensils and pans and things like a culinder to drain pasta. Just spending 60 euro to get a few more things would make a real difference. Suppose u paying for the location but for money we paid the facilities were very basic.

    The location was fantastic right on the harbour. We could watch the world go by and walk to everything. Lovely staff spoke good English . Car park is a bit of a trec. Nice bathroom and shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely brilliant!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi can sometimes be a little patchy but if you are coming to LA Rochelle to chill, who cares?

    Great location, friendly staff, fabulous breakfasts!!! Would definitely stay here again ☺️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Great little hotel in the heart of things
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if there had been a lift to get our luggage up to reception.

    Very handy. Amazingly quiet. Lovely morning staff. Funky, quirky, comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Our plane was delayed so we arrived very late and there were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) -Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our plane was delayed so we arrived very late and there were no taxis at airport. We rang the hotel who kindly arranged a taxi and let us in at an hour well past normal check in time. A tasty breakfast arrived in our room next morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Not suitable for senior citizens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The web site does not state clearly enough that the property has no lifts at all! We had to schlep our suit cases up four stairs. This makes the hotel unsuitable for senior citizens. The room and bathroom are very small. Parking is in a public, good, car park but ten minutes from the hotel.

    Not a lot. Possibly its position.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Best view of the port. It's like being in a painting when you open the window.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was I little out of the way but you get to walk by all the shops. No elevator but staff is willing to help you with your luggage.

    The staff was so, so friendly!!! They were like family. I will stay here every time I come to La Rochelle. This is by far the best. Right in front of the view port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Best location on harbourside, nice decor and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessibility with car was tricky due to the crowds on the access road. Wifi did not reach our room at back of hotel so unfortunately although we had booked months before, we had nil connection for our stay and no other rooms were available.

    Best location on harbourside, nice decor and very friendly staff. Rooms surprisingly quiet despite the busy tourist harbourfront.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no mention that you had to go up 2 flights of stairs to the reception area and a further flight of stairs to the room. No Lift ! Normally this would not be a problem however my husband was injured just before we came away and was on crutches I had to manage 2 large cases and the rest of the luggage. (the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help.) The room was tiny we are very big people as in I'm nearly 6' and my husband is 6'4''

    The Staff were wonderful so helpful. Breakfast was lovely homemade cakes and yogurt beautiful Croissants . the bed was also very comfortable. The bathroom and toilet were very clean. It was fine for a 1 or 2 night stay . Great location very near to all the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    Staff was the best feature of hotel , all very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking quite far from hotel and we were not aware that you could drive to the hotel to unpack so carried luggage far to far. Step stairs to gain access to hotel

    Staff was the best feature of hotel , all very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location shame about customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think a few people had commented on the the attitude of one of the staff (male) I called up to let them know our arrival time & then I asked about parking which was to be fair on the documents I just hadn't read that bit. He said with sarcasm it's in your documents ok no problem we had just missed it. What he could have said is no problem I can help you anyway. Then when he gave us details of the stay at check in we where tired from travelling so only half went in. On leaving for the restaurant we double checked on key to get in main door & he said with sarcasm again - I explained this at check in. Mate if you are in customer service people are going to ask you these questions again and again / if you have a problem with it you are not in the right job and you're giving you're hotel bad reviews. Also from a cleanliness point of view could be worth using some bleach in the toilets to get rid of the build up & in the plug hole of the sink and in the shower. (Not difficult)

    Location excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Family room excellent with fantastic view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. The nicest and most helpful people you could meet! We had a family appartment: Spotless, clean, comfortable, lots of space and a fantastic view. Breakfast is great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The rooms are charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well I have a love hate relationship with stairs! It just means I really can have a dessert crepe after all but these stairs are not for the faint of heart! However if you are faint of heart, no worries, the staff will gladly come and get all of your luggage! Enjoy!

    The rooms are charming! The hotel seems very new and hip! It is centrally located to all of La Rochelle and every staff member is truly delightful! The hotel really helped make my vacation wonderful when there was rain instead of sun!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room number 8. The wifi wasn't working properly on both our ipads. The signal went on and off. It's a spacious room but it's hard to get into the toilet. The toilet is so small you can't close the door. It is a good size room but there is to much in the room (extra bed, two chairs and a table) therefor it's difficult to move around. One day they forgot to clean the room, so there was a lack of toilet paper. Due to the friendly and helpful staff the problem was solved quickly.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. There is a good working air conditioning in the room. The shower is very good and all toiletries are available. Tea facilities in the room as well. The hotel has an agreement to park your car in a parking garage for a good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Loved the location and breakfast in room each morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked well in main living area but not great on 2nd floor. Air conditioning was great on main area and good on 2nd floor. There isn't any elevator so be prepared to carry your bags up to check in and again up to your room. We stayed in the sea side suite which was perfect but it does have another set of stairs to bedrooms so not ideal for young children.

    Location was amazing, right in the middle of the city, rooms overlooking the water and city streets. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning was delicious. It included fresh crosants, yogurt, bread, juice, jams and wonderful coffee. Staff spoke English and was very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great, extremely clean hotel with amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very well placed in Vieux Port, the view from the room was great! The room we had was for 4 persons and was extremely spacious and spotless! Restaurants and bar are just in front of the hotel so, very accessible. There are parking places not far away from the hotel, even if the hotel does not have its own parking, but it was perfect for us as the personnel recommended a parking nearby. The staff is very friendly too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    A fantastic place for a holiday or a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing whatsoever to dislike.

    I'm normally either too busy or too lazy to write reviews, but I promised myself I would write a short note on this hotel as it just seemed an uncommonly good room for very sensible money - in the nicest area of La Rochelle. It is remarkable what these good people have done with an old and not too spacious building - great touches of design, very comfortable rooms, an overall neat and chic air which will only add to your holiday or break. The room was very clean, comfortable and pleasant - with special mentions due to the bed (very good) and the shower (really great!). More impressive than anything though were the people working in this wonderful place - so naturally kind and polite and extremely helpful. My wife and I were almost sorry to leave and we genuinely hoped to be seeing these great people and their warm and welcoming place again some time soon. In short, a chic, comfortable place with an incredibly warm and friendly staff. Something really to write home about!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.5
    Harbour Side Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like...

    Great location, lovely staff and tastey breakfast including home-made yoghurt! Plus excellent advice on where to eat out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location on quay in old La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking off site but worked well. Travel light, many flights of stairs for heavy luggage.

    Fantastic location on quay in old La Rochelle. Clean and comfortable but basic accommodation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Good but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a big problem you have to park outside drop bags park car Access is up two flights of stairs then further stairs to room When you leave you can pay a discounted rate for parking theygive you a ticket which didnt work on barrier all very frustrating

    Views friendliness of staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    A great littel hotel right on the quayside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A super location if a little noisy if taking a room at the font of the property. The breakfast delivered to your room was just what we wanted. The staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Superb Hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a problem for us as we are both smallish people but the toilet was in a little closet on its own and was rather cramped especially if you were tall.

    The hotel was in a stunning location and very central. The rooms were very clean and fresh and well set out. The kettle was appreciated. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and trouble free.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly,helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quirky set up,small doorway from street to steep stairway to reception.very old building but ok for two nights

    Friendly,helpful staff.very central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Overall really nice stay, although in our case not even 12 hours...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (6) had a view of the port and also the noise of the restaurants and bars below. The chatter went well into the morning but the windows are soundproof so we made use of them.

    Appreciated the late check-in hour as it applied to us, also a scenic 12 minute walk from the station. Staff were lovely offering to help with our luggage and storing it the next morning as we wandered around after check-out. Overall really nice stay, although in our case not even 12 hours...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    A good mix of busy and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is at the harbor so car had to be parked a few blocks away. Hotel staff arranged parking validation to make it easier for us.

    All of the staff were very nice and very eager to make our stay a good one. Location is where the action is but rooms were calm and quiet. Good suggestions from staff for meals and day trips.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.0
    Budget hotel , overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Only fruit tea offered in room in a mug with no handle ! Parking was offered underground about 10 mins walk away. It was a joke trying to drop case off outside hotel as we were moved on , whilst trying to carry case up 2 flights of stairs to reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Great location and fabulous view of the Port and twin towers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    Great location with fabulous views over the Port. Good value for money and continental breakfast served in the room to enjoy the views. Very friendly and helpful staff. Parking is at a premium in the area but drop off point outside the hotel to check-in, prior to going to the car park is a big benefit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    3 DAYS IN LA ROCHELLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE ARE TWO FLIGHTS OF STEEP STAIRS BEFORE YOU ENTER THE HOTEL, NOT GOOD FOR BAD LEGS. TV SHOULD HAVE AN ENGLISH SPEAKING NEWS CHANNEL, IF NOT OTHERS TOO.

    NICE CLEAN QUIET SMALL HOTEL, VERY FRIENDLY STAFF, LOVELY BREAKFAST BROUGHT TO YOUR ROOM. PERFECT LOCATION ON THE OLD PORT FRONT. PUBLIC PARKING NOT TOO FAR AWAY, THEY GIVE YOU A PASS FOR WHICH YOU PAY LATER.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location but a bit stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel policy of not supplying bottle openers to discourage taken drinks back to your room.

    Location was brilliant, the woman who worked on reception on the Sunday was incredibly helpful. Beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Compact room. Coffee mugs with no handles. No suitcase stands, yet these were being delivered the day we left. No hand towels. Limited shelving in bathroom. TV too high on wall.

    Great location. Value for money. Exceptionally helpful and very friendly staff. Ease of parking. Nice breakfast, delivered to the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Port Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring La Rochelle. The view across the Old Port is wonderful. The rooms are clean, bright and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Congratulations on a truly well organised but friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are not ideal, we are both in our 70's but our bags were dealt with by willing staff who recognised our problem and with out the luggage it was fine. The off site parking wasn''t ideal but the walk to the carpark wasn't that far and was a lovely walk and the location of the hotel couldn't be better.

    We had a room overlooking the courtyard and it was fine. The breakfast was delicious . We loved the style of the hotel and the eye to detail. Wi fi was good and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant place to stay in La Rochelle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Yard Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect, right on the harbour. The room very comfortable and clean - and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location in the centre of the old port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities only had a selection of fruit teas.

    Excellent location in the centre of the old port. Perfect view of the towers from bedroom window. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: