Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Métairie - Les Collectionneurs 4 stars

Lieu-dit "Millac", 24150 Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang, France

#4 of 4 hotels in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing except error in the bill in our favour! now sorted

    The whole package was very good ( our second stay ) room very nice, food excellent, so quiet and calming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.) Requested a terrace but didn't get one: 2.) Property farther out in country than expected; 3.) Both electricity and hot water out at times; and 4.) The staff at front desk very unfriendly and did not apologize for electrical and hot water issues.

    The facility was beautiful. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on arrival very grumpy. Also the same at breakfast. We asked if we could eat outside. We were told the chef said no.

    Very pretty and typically French

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the air conditioning did not work although we were told it did it transpired that it only worked on heat which was. It what we wanted we wanted cool air.

    The people were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It is such a tranquil place! We just adored it! The nature around, the cozy rooms, and very helpful and attentive staff - all of this made our stay unforgettable. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beutifully-designed hotel in excellent condition. Well-located if you like peace and quiet and great for pets - the management had thoughtfully provided a ground floor room for ease of access. Friendly, faultless service with real attention to detail and a great welcome. The restaurant was excellent - with a new menu each day - meaning we chose to eat there every night. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention to fixture in bathroom. Shower head was not attachable. No vent for moisture in bathroom. Large window between bath and sleeping quarters, so had to keep closing curtains, which did not instill privacy. Food and service very good, but found lamb overcooked and had to be brought to the attention of the chef. Second serving was better.

    I started a review, it was lost. It may have gone through, not sure! So again, we love the area and this place was nicely sequestered, though close to villages. Very luxurious accommodations. Slept very well. The staff was more than helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With a fixed menu food not always what would have chosen. One of the two meals we had was very good, the other had rather too much goats cheese. Very good breakfast.

    Lovely location and beautiful buildings. Nice room with view over ponies in the field. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The half board didn't give any options for dinner. The meal was fine, but fish isn't to everybody's taste.

    Quietness and isolation. Lovely setting. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom very tired did not match web site description- an outrageous price of 185 euros for such a a small room.A rip dog charge of 20 euros per night! Part of the garden was tired and dead and half dead plants in places. Little privacy between bedroom terraces.The wine list was too highly priced

    staff service,restaurant and restaurant terrace, food excellent but limited choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There appeared to be a large wasps next in the vine or plant climbing over the majority of the back seating area which if the weather had been hotter would have been a problem and must have been difficult for the rooms whose windows and doors were surrounded by it. The waiting staff have been there for many years and some have lost their professional edge - this should not slip further or would detract from the dining experience.

    The quality and styling of all aspects of the hotel. Its location and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but I felt that compared to the rest, the quality was slightly less than I would have expected. Good value however.

    Fantastic service, excellent rooms and spotless clean. Beautiful location, peaceful and well maintained. The staff make you feel as if you are important and look to make the stay very easy and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff charming and went out of their way to ensure we had everything. Our room was so beautifully prepared for us and our dogs and they could not have done more for us. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bath had a inadequate curtain that guaranteed a wet floor! Breakfast was good but perhaps could have been in the room rate.

    The location, the relaxed but very efficient staff, the excellent dinner on the terrace, the perfect swimming pool. A perfect get away from it all location. The hotel has got the balance just right- exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms a bit dark. Food and drink could have been a little less expensive. Did take us a little time to find the hotel.

    Lovely quiet location. Handy for visiting other areas. Nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was over a roll top bath, with curtains all round. There was nowhere to put soap or shampoo bottles etc and hard to shower without soaking the bathroom floor!

    A beautiful old property deep in the countryside, kept in good condition. The staff were friendly and courteous, very gentle and professional service. We felt we were in a high class establishment, but it was not at all pretentious. Superb food in the restaurant. Good location for exploring the Dordogne.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff were exceptionally cheerful, helpful and very efficient. The hotel was a great find and the restaurant (with daily changing menu) was superb. So much so we did not eat anywhere else during our 7 night stay. I could not rate this hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our suite was very comfortable, very comfortable bed, very clean, Very good that we were able to speak English at this lovely Chatueax, excellent food, very helpful and friendly staff, very quiet location, very peaceful, lovely garden and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff extra helpful - in fact Sous Chef from the Michelin Star restaurant helped take our bags up 2 flights Location by the flowing stream was a pleasant change. Michelin Star restaurant lived up to its reputation

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say here.

    The welcome was delightful including the email a few days ahead to ask if anything could be done ahead of arrival. Ms Nardi is a delightful chef(fe) de reception. All was good and as it should be. Breakfast was great as well and the delightful lady in charge was also friendly, competent and helpful. All round a super team, to be commended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly small room for the amount of furniture

    Restaurant, peaceful area and grounds, pleasant and helpful staff, spacious bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold wet weather

    Room was very comfortable and the peace and quiet delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated and extremely tired. Bed was very short (1.8 metres long)

    Nothing particularly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too cold to go in. The price of a breakfast at €20. !!

    Not a lot really. A bit isolated and the restaurant did not appeal as too austere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good value Dinner poor compared to local restaurants

    Location excellent. Very pretty hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room.Poorly maintained entrance vestibule.Too few staff

    Good bed .good waiter service and food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, peaceful location. Lovely pool and grounds. Dinner was served on very attractive terrace. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel and staff. Very good pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    service of staff was superb - the restaurant staff took their work seriously and it was really appreciated by us the customer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had its own private outdoor area to have drinks and breakfast which overlooked the countryside which was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    loved staying in the Chateau

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best places I have ever been. Perfect in everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so friendly and service at table impeccable. A peaceful haven to relax and escape.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cluttered room and no space to put more than one suitcase.

    Tranquil spot, but andy to other villages

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find even with GPS but phone all to reception solved our problem.

    Lovely setting. Staff excellent. Room very comfortable. Food wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    This place is a gem. Wonderfully peaceful and with excellent accommodation and outstandingly helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little disappointed that room did not have view of garden, or a terrace, which was shown on website .

    Beautiful property. Friendly staff. Great food at the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely area of the Dordogne Valley. Although a little out of the way, La Maitairie is not hard to find, and is in a great location for exploring the area. The picturesque and serene setting, the hospitality and friendliness of the reception, and the quality of the accommodation make it an exceptional place to stay.Breakfasts are delicious and generous and the dinner menu is also excellent and includes many regional specialities.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some guests had dogs in the restaurant, whilst I do not object to this, what I found disturbing was while we were eating breakfast a member of staff was stroking the dogs and then went to re-arrange the bread without first washing her hands.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful and elegant country hotel with pool, large garden, terrace with service of drinks, large modern sleeping and bath rooms in absolutely quiet location. Breakfast sumptuous with local specialities. Four course dinner superb and at 40 EUR very reasonably priced. Outstanding service. WiFi very good. If you are looking for a place in that region, by any means book it. Even if it is a bit more costly than other places. Your stay will be a memorable experience!!!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    super great hotel,with very welcomed staffs,and such a great experience,breakfast is very french nice style,the dinner menu is the most amazing part... the view of the hotel is amazing in the nature.love this hotel.will come back again

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had ordered a tray of tea and it was left in our room overnight

    The staff wear very very friendly and the food was excellent value for money really good

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A warm welcome on arrival. Lovely rooms which soon felt like home. Excellent cooking, well presented and good menu. The service was attentive at all times.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent menu. Delicious food. Staff vey kind and nothing was too much trouble. Our dogs were made very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, peaceful and in the midst of the countryside. The staff were professional and attentive, the restaurant was to a good standard.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nicole was an amazing director of the hotel.She is the consummate professional and made our stay very enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location and buildings- a joy to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathrooms a bit spidery

    Food was fantastic, staff were lovely, location gorgeous

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the easiest to find!

    Peaceful beautiful place in great location. Delightful staff and food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet Lovely staff Excellent food Good value

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel, it's setting and the attentiveness of the staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: