Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Les Ambres 3 stars

770 route d'Apt - Lieu Dit Bois de la Cour D 104, 84220 Roussillon, France

#5 of 5 hotels in Roussillon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a tea kettle InRoom; first bathroom really big and lovely, but a plumbing problem; second room much bigger but bathroom much smaller and no where near as nice.

    The breakfast buffet is very nice; the couple who run the hotel are very nice and helpful. We got an upgrade due to a minor plumbing problem in the first room we had. The setting is very pretty and peaceful, just outside of the mobbed tourist town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is really nice and cosy, situated near the entrance to Castellan, if you travel by your own car you will have free parking ticket to park your car near the Sentier des Ocres. Hotel also provides the parking place on its area. Breakfast is good, hotel owns the area with the swimming pool (opened in the summer) and a place with chairs where you can spend the evening smelling the scene of pine trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a huge boiler in the toilet area, making the little room almost over 40 degrees celcius. Other than that, no complaints

    This place is an oasis of tranquillity in the Luberon region. Right outside of Roussillon, the location is unsurpassed. I liked the small property with the private parking and swimming pool. The room was big and the aircondition functionned very well. The private terrasse was great and the bed was very comfy. I found the owner at check-in a very friendly lady who was really pragmatic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been better screening on the outside terrace to make it more private from the surrounding rooms.

    The room was large, well air conditioned (it was very hot while we were there) and very comfortable. The swimming pool was excellent and a reasonable size. The reception was excellent and the staff were very knowledgeable about the local points of interest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful setting. Nice pool. Good continental buffet breakfast. We choose the more expensive room with terrace. It was still a bargain - simple but comfortable. A short drive to beautiful Rousillon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast could have been better.

    Very comfortable, big rooms with air conditioning. Super clean and nicely decorated. Good mattress. Very quiet location next to Rousillon. Nice pool area with lots of outdoor seating. Breakfast costs 10 euros a person.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked this hotel at the last minute and were not disappointed, the staff were excellent with nothing being too much trouble, the location is good with a pleasant half hour walk into Roussillon. Facilities good, breakfast good. Overall recommend

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location next to Ochre museum and close to Roussillon, nice vine shaded patio/terrace on our room where we enjoyed a picnic after a trip to the market in Apt, good & plentiful selection of items at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We only stayed one night in Roussillon but wished we had stayed two. Our room was spacious and there was a lovely little terrace just outside the sliding glass door. The bed was so comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was very filling served in a cozy setting. We were within about a twenty minute walk of the beautiful village of Roussillon - there are parking lots too if needed. We had a delicious lunch at La Grappe de Raisin on their terrace and that evening dined at Le Comptoir de Arts which looked to be quite popular with the locals. Wandering the little streets of the village was wonderful - many little shops offering food, local crafts and artwork - not touristy. Do not miss the Ochre Cliffs Trail - do the long one, it's only an hour - the colors and views are beautiful. This hotel is perfect as a home base to explore the hill towns of the Luberon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    they should advertise that there is a pool.

    plenty of on site parking. quiet neighborhood. a very nice breakfast. our hosts could not have been nicer. short drive to the beautiful village. clean rooms and grounds.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed restaurant was closed ( as it was a Wednesday), as one of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it had a restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the room--the natural setting, he view and the scent of lavender. Nadine was extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice little place outside the town centre (10 min walk). Staff were nice and the room we had was spacious and nicely decorated and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff charming and always helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels and soap.

    We liked the place and they had a very nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, thai it is What is importante to me. Thanks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place in beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception closes at 20:00

    The place was nice and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from center

    Free parking and wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden and tennis court

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coninience location,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting - good location - very relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jardines

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive. No bar. No dinner available.

    Pool. Garden and lovely surrounding. Rooms were really cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well appointed rooms, and relaxing environment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise from other rooms, really didn't sleep well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    You definitely need a car to visit Roussillon

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small for 3 people.

    Homemade cake and cereal at bfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don't have a car, forget about this place.

    Only 2 kms from town.The owner kept everything nice and clean as her own home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    uneasy to reach without car. little bit far from the downtown(20mins on foot).

    pretty, wide, convinient rooms. free parking lot. beautiful neighbors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room.

    Service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a small balcony outside the room, we enjoyed our breakfast and night snacks there! The staff is very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was really nice, swimmingpool is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in the countryside was a treat. The room was very quiet and beds very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A relaxing,quiet, pleasant place, very close to the village.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming hosts! Tennis and swimming included!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful house and garden Great location for exploring South I of Frsnce small villages etc

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room and with a south facing terrace. A very good continental breakfast with plenty of choice. Within easy driving distance to all the Luberon villages.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedding had been washed in a very heavy bleach and I am very sensitive to strong smells. I was unable to sleep on the sheets and it affected others in our party as well.

    We had a change of plans and booked this hotel based on convenience. It was fine but not very charming.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In a distance from the city - with a car no problem at all

    Nice quiet place with the terrace to have breakfast or dinner prepared by the hosts. Although we were late for the breakfast, they prepared for us everything one can need in the morning:). There is also a pool and tennis courts.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good position, clean and tidy, comfortable equipment and bed, very kind staff. a little bit far from the town center, but very relaxing surroundings and close to the Conservatoire des Ocres.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing in particular.

    Lovely hotel with huge garden and nice premises. It really felt like being ina Provence home. Conveniently close to the village. dinners were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    too bad that holidays were over and we had to leave

    The best place ever, very helpful people, great facilities (including the pool), tasty breakfast and superbe dinner. We enjoyed a lot and we can't wait to be back. Thank you, merci beaucoup. A la prochaine fois

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were very friendly, informative and attentive. The room was excellent value for money and I was very pleasantly surprised to walk into a beautifully decorated and maintained room. It was great to have a pool too. Breakfast was lovely and fresh and I thought it was very personal to have the Chef greet guests and hand a croissant in person!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would have liked something to chill drinks in the room (i.e. bar-fridge or ice and ice-bucket).

    Fabulous location within walking distance to the centre of Rousillon. Loved the private terrace that was shady in the afternoon sun, the pool, tennis court and lush grounds.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay just on the outskirts of Roussillon. Lovely staff and very relaxed. A 3 minute drive to the centre of Roussillon which is stunning.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No none but would like aN extension cord to charge batteries laptops etc

    We loved Florian. Without him the place would be devoid of charm. Nadine is also helpful but Florian with his way of talking and charm made breakfast a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our FAVORITE place in all of France, we loved everything about it from the moment we met Nadine and Guy. They are excellent hosts and their place was completely wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    La dame qui nous a accueillit n'était pas très sympathique, nous disant (à 19h30) qu'elle nous attendait même plus. La chambre avait des toiles d'araignées qui semblaient y être depuis une éternité. Les chambres sont vraiment de base.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our second night was spent in the room I originally booked. Although the room was very nice, it was in a separate building away from the main buildings. The room was great and private, nothing wrong at all. We just preferred being in the middle of things. It was nice talking to other travelers.

    When we arrived I had mistakenly booked only one night and needed another nights stay. Our host was very accommodating and showed us to our room. We slept very well in the comfortable yet modest room. It felt like home. In the morning we had breakfast that was delicious in a friendly and sunny dining room. Very nice and relaxed

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room a little dark, but probably good for very hot weather. Not a fan of the "wet bathrooms",

    Friendly staff, breakfast delicious and plentiful, very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Breakfast is very basic for the price, no salty items are provided. Adding eggs might be a good option. - Garden View did not have much to offer

    - Big, spacious , clean and beautiful rooms with comfortable bed - Calm Stay - Good wi-fi in room - Friendly staff, very communicating, you need to pre-book your table for dinner - Walking distance from conservatory

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The peace and quiet felt like like being in the country. Wonderful situation just on the outskirts of the old town of Roussillon. Food and staff very fruendly

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very basic, not especially attractive

    Great parking, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very calm place with good breakfast compared to french standard and large rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location (we had a car), friendly hosts, room spacious, clean & comfy!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Care by owners for our needs

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a good walk from the town of Roussillon, so each time we wanted to go into town we had to drive and pay for parking.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing not to like

    The breakfast was very good as was the room and the staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Spacious room; spacious private terrace; pleasant grounds

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A mini bar in the room would be good.

    Nice big room with a terrass outside. Quiet location, free parking, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were quite bare and a bit depressing.

    Bathroom was functional and shower worked well with excellent water pressure.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everyone was friendly, but not outstanding as we encountered at other locations in Provence.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is charming Roussillon is easy to reach by car

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean room and beautiful view!!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good location. Nice swimming pool and tennis court. AC works well in this hot summer evenings.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room too far from restaurant.

    Food excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lacked a fridge and tea making facilities. An iron and ironing board would have been handy.

    Location, friendly, courteous staff, food

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quite place

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely Roms with beautiful terrass, nice breakfast, wonderful three course dinner, very friendly staff.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: