Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4 stars

Quai Louis Prunier, 17044 La Rochelle, France

#21 of 42 hotels in La Rochelle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1691 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Ideally located and an ideal location for a stay in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A smart modern Hotel which was ideally located for a short walk into La Rochelle. A smart modern room with a compact ensuite but with everything that you need. Parking was a big consideration when selecting the hotel, I would stay here again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A one night stop over on French road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was the third time I have stayed here and if I had reason to visit La Rochelle again I would stay here again. I think that this says it all. I particularly like the ample parking and short walk to the Old port.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    The perfect location for exploring La Rochelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is the perfect location for exploring La Rochelle. The port, commercial centre and bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. Staff are friendly and helpful and while rooms are on the small side they contain everything required and beds are exceptionally comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay was had in a compact room with all mod cons and car park to boot!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath towels are rather small.

    The bed was most comfortable and my only real criticism is the required agility required to get in and out of the bath when taking a shower and the shower screen is not really waterproof if the shower is not taken with care afforded to the shower screen. Other than that it is a great location which also provides on site car parking. I will visit and stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Good return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower was incorporated in the bath, which was quite high to get into and very slippery, not good when you are getting older! The bedroom seemed quite small. but it was clean & comfortable, We had a problem with the safe in getting it to lock when we had opened it and then tried to relock it.

    Food was very good, it was Mothers day and there was a special menu which was good. The breakfast was excellent. The view over the harbour from the dining room makes eating in the hotel a pleasure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for short period
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger selection of fruit at breakfast would be good,other than that breakfast very good

    Excellant position in La Rochelle,walking distance to town,added bonus of onsite free parking. Staff and service very good, very helpful. Room very well cleaned every day for our short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in good (quiet) position close to all that La Rochelle has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was fitted with shower over bath - the bath had quite high sides and so if raising one leg high is an issue do make sure you ask for room with shower only!

    Chosen for easy access by car, this hotel was perfect for three night stay. Reasonable space in the room. Comfortable beds. Nice to have a kettle!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were astounded to find that we were presented with paper cups for tea or coffee (quite a poor selection available) in the room, with wooden spoony things! Apparently, a matter of Health and Safety!!! what tosh! I wonder that there was a kettle that Boiled Water..how did that slip through the net? Or indeed the really hot water in the shower? And what sort of self injury can you inflict with a little proper spoony thing? We were allowed to have two little mugs however, but were advised to hide them from the cleaner or she would have to take them away. Honestly!

    reasonably sized bedroom with very comfy king sized bed, good linen and towels. there was a weirdy cupboard shower room/loo that nevertheless worked well. lovely views over the Vieux port from the restaurant, great for people watching, especially the Ladies astride their inflatable unicorns, running the Marathon . staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfasts smashing, excellent quality everything. Dinner average, we both had the Entrcote steak with frites, Entrecôte vast, but cooked as we ordered and the huge serving of frites flabby and over cooked all at the same time. Starters and finishers excellent though. Service good, staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing. We will not be returning as this was not our first stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not find the staff helpful. We were told to come back at the appointed time to take occupation of the room (something other hotels manage to work round).

    The hotel has been refurbished since our previous stay. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stopover. Would stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room hot and couldn’t get it cool without having window open.

    Staff very friendly. Dog friendly. Brilliant location for short break in La Rochelle. Spacious secure parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and professional Staff (business trip)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Low efficiency of the wifi in the room (better in Lobby), poor choice of the in-room entertainment media system.

    Great location, Professional staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very well situated just a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well situated just a short walk to the famous La Rochelle towers and the centre of the city. Private parking. The restaurant is on the first floor with view on the city. The food is expensive for what it is. We should have chosen the menu of the day which was more reasonable but we decided to go “a la carte” and it was a mistake. But it is an ideal hotel to be when in La Rochelle. The staff was extremely nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    La Rochelle was wonderful, but the hotel unfortunately did not come up to our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms for the price Coffee making facilities only provided 2 small PAPER cups Fluffy thick large towels would be expected - ours were very thin, rough, not bath sheet size and obviously well used over time. Very disappointed. Our faith in Mercury has been severely dented.

    Excellent position. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    A break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very small, the window with a view of the port was small and impossible to sit by it for the view. The room had a/c but got stuffy at night. Excellent position next to the Aquarium, which is well worth a visit. Secure parking. There is no lounge in the hotel just a few chairs by the bar, with no view, the only lovely view was from the restaurant which was expensive and we were not impressed with the dinner we had . Breakfast at 16.50 each!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Adequate, clean and good location. Parking on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishing of the room and bathroom was a bit basic. Not what I'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Did not like paper cups for the coffe/tea in the room. No menu for the restaurant in the room. It was only available on a poster in the lift.

    Parking, location & cleanliness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    A relaxing time spent at the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion there is nothing to improve in this Hotel.

    Convenience for the town of La Rochelle, it is an easy walk. Restaurant is very good with lovely waiting staff and food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Good close enough to the port but far enough away to be quiet for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 2 night break close to the action it was ok.

    The Hotel is in an excellent position for walking to all restaurants. Unfortunately the Hotel had no soul and the restaurant was almost empty - this I decided was because what was on offer was just not interesting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    o.k. with a little minus
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A breakfast for 16 € per person is too much, because we are elder an so we don`t need a lot but good. We had our breakfast near by an other coffee-shop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great - easy walking to harbour, sites, resteraunts. Aquarium next door a bonus on a rainy morning with English descriptions. Hotel itself is nice and clean with very good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good except for the check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We check in on line and asked for an early check-in on arrival because we were travelling by motorcycle and we was under the impression we could check in at noon, on arrival at 12.45 we were told 40 mins before our room was ready. We were wet due to the weather but come back apprx 2 hrs later having lunch (3.45) room still not ready, not impressed

    very modern hotel in great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    lovely hotel central to all amenities very secure parking on...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely hotel central to all amenities very secure parking on site ,staff friendly ,rooms small but very clean and beds really comfy ,traveled with two dogs which was not a problem .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Were placed in a disabled room with a shower that was designed for a wheelchair and impossible to stand under. To make matters worse it was right next to the toilet, so if you tried to use it everything was soaked. Upon complaining , the staff were totally uncaring and very unhelpful. Would not stay there again. Pity, because have usually found this chain to be good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu in the restaurant was so limited we had to go into town to find another restaurant

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff very helpful and the room was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced and dissappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was faceless (lacked character) and was poorly built, doors didn't open properly, shower was un-necessarily complicated and the bath plug didn't work.

    Only the location,with it's secure parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    This is a very clean hotel with excellent breakfast and a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The paper cups and plastic glasses in the room. We went out and bought our own mugs and glasses.

    Very good location. We had a port view room. Professional and friendly staff. Very clean room. Excellent air conditioning - no noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Had a good time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was the same everyday. Also the cleaning personal just walks in and knocks at the same time they open the door, so if you answer 'No' they are already in the room. Happened more than once, wich resulted in a confrontation where I was 'not ready to show myself'. Don't think the cleaning lady mind tough.

    Private parking, airco in the room, very good location. Staff spoke english very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Well worth the money, excellent views, will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As regular visitors to France we decided to stay at the Mecure, after picking our son up from the airport, it is a lovely hotel and what we enjoyed the most was that we could park our car in the hotel car park and walk everywhere as it is so central. Highly recommended

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast . . Visit Ibis across the square.

    The girls on Reception were amazing and solved our mix up of dates for us! The breakfast wasn't as good as your sister hotel Ibis at La Rochelle and no milk was in the room. However, the 'wonder girls' on the desk soon got it sorted! Comfy beds, clean, well maintained bathroom . . and quiet location yet SO near everything. We look forward to a return visit . . this time without a trip to the hospital with a broken rib!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Well located with good parking facilities and good restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was basic but comfortable and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was good with a decent selection of choices. The hotel is well located near the marina with lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    We loved the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We loved the location of the hotel..so convenient for the town and harbour. Did not need to use the car once parked. Lovely view from room and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The location was an easy walk to the port and the WiFi was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the view from the window was a rooftop with skylight. You need to get there early if you want to park in hotel grounds

    The location was an easy walk to the port and the WiFi was good. It had tea and coffee in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Direct booking has advantages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked through Booking.com we were unable to collect LeClub Accor points or benefits. We were told that as we did not book direct , these were not available to us. This means that usingBooking was a negative with the hotel

    Location and service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    The location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small for 2 people.

    The location of the hotel was great. Having a car park was really good as in August parking in la Rochelle is very difficult.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    It can be hectic traffic car wise getting to the Mercure, queueing, but worth the hassle.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic congestion to the hotel

    Nothing to dislike, close to quay and walking distance to harbour. Breakfast absolutely first class and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The over the bath shower (although excellent pressure) had minimal screen coverage so the water leaked onto the bathroom floor which meant we had to use the hand towels to mop it up! Walk in showers are much more modern and preferable. The bar area is small and 'functional' with very little comfort. Having said that there are many bars/cafes close by that stay open quite late.

    The bed was very comfy and the location is excellent for the port and the main town; all within walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel but would have preferred to have paid at the end of my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the cost of the Hotel being deducted from my credit card which was only used for reserving the room. I was not required to sign anything at at check in I was told that our rooms we're already paid.

    Lovely clean comfortable Hotel with helpful staff with excellent English.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The evening meal in the restaurant was a reasonable price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable seating in the bedroom. Paid for a port view but the window is small so not really worth the extra.

    The evening meal in the restaurant was a reasonable price, interesting and changed daily. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Quite enjoyable but a little expensive .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that tea and coffee facilities were advertises but there were only paper cups and enough for one drink a day - very poor .

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel, excellent location lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we sampled was excellent.

    Mercury is superbly located in the heart of vibrant La Rochelle, ideally placed to enjoy so many attractions. The hotel is bright, spacious and modern supported by friendly, welcoming and efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Great one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent - room, bed, wifi, breakfast, service, bag storage, checkout time - and on this stay we ate dinner in the restaurant. The menu was short but varied, the service and food were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Good except for the paper cups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instead of proper cups or mugs in the bedroom, we had to drink out of paper cups which were too hot to hold and because of the heat they had also lost their rigidity. A safety hazard and certainly not the standard that was expected of a Mercure hotel.

    Location superb, easy parking, bef comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    A good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing about the bathroom is that the shower gel holder is attached on the wall to your left, which whilst you are showering you keep hitting your arm against it. I'm not a big person. They took the money off our credit card when we had booked a month before, we might not have wanted to use that card.

    Breakfast was very, a large choice, hot as well as cold food. Bed comfy and big, room a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Quality setting near to harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar could have been a bit nicer. I would have liked breakfast tea bags in the room

    Location was fantastic as it was so central. Room clean and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great stay in a beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was very comfortable, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast was excellent. Easy walking distance to all attractions. Great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and modern hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been a little bigger

    Very clean and modern hotel; comprehensive breakfast. Within walking distance of all La Rochelle;s main attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was small, the bathroom tap facility to the bath was broken, but you could still get water for bath. room was noisy overlooking the harbor.

    the location more than anything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Free secure parking was our No.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet breakfast was good but we have been offered better.

    Free secure parking was our No.1 reason for choosing this property. Room was not over large but typical of a town hotel. For us the restaurant was excellent value compared to outside restaurants. It offered an interesting balanced three course meal for the same price as a huge 1 plate meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    The bed bugs did bite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was badly bitten by bed bugs at this property & have had no response from management in the 3 weeks since checking out after trying to get in touch numerous times.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Brillant if you do not have arthritis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bath controls were extremely difficult to manipulate if you have arthritis and to access the shower one had to climb into the high sided bath. The base of the bath was quite slippery too. In summer I think that it would be more eco friendly to supply a top sheet rather than a heavy quilt. The latter being the only option meant that the a/c had to be on maximum all night.

    The staff were extremely obliging. The room was well appointed and the hotel was well situated. Also having onsite parking which is free was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of Biarritz easily accessed on foot, fabulous local restaurants!

    Spacious rooms including balcony with wonderful view! Breakfast good for value with attentive staff on hand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments

    Comfortable rooms - friendly staff - good breakfast choice, particularly Nespresso coffee being available on the breakfast buffet. Location was so good that didn't useour car for the whole of our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but room was far too small and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was far too small. Having to take turns to move around the bedroom. View from the room was very poor, could only see industrial buildings, railway line, apartment blocks and a car park. Could not open the wardrobe doors because the bed was in the way. In my opinion not a 4 star hotel and over priced.

    Excellent position of hotel and ease of travel by taxi to the airport. Cleanliness and design of hotel. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Quiet but convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park entrance was along a one way road, the wrong way. It would have been useful to know that beforehand!

    The convenience of the location, to enter and exit the town by car or train.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was rather small. It was difficult to climb in and out of the bath to have a shower. The towels were very small and thin.

    Comfortable bed. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely view superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything except perhaps a bit characterless

    Modern hotel restaurant had lovely views over port but not a great deal of choice on menu. Breakfast superb everything you could think of was provided and there was tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    High expectations, profoundly fell short...!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Returning to the UK from our touring holiday in Spain and France to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary, I booked this hotel as a special treat for my wife. We have visited La Rochelle many times and the port is a favourite of ours and is truly beautiful. For that reason I specifically booked a room with a 'Port View'. We didn't get that at all! A truly awful view. When I pointed out that we had booked a 'Port View' I was informed if we wished for a 'view of the Port' that would cost more! As a scene was about to explode, my wife asked me to drop it. A profoundly disappointing experience. Note to all future travellers. If you wish to have a room with a view of the beautiful port beware of accepting a 'Port View' room. Instead, insist on a room with 'A view of the Port'. Evidently, there is a crucial difference!!! We routinely travel via Booking.com and are loyalty members of Accor Hotels. Made little difference on this occasion

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.8
    Location is great near the town and parking on site,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small , related to the price it is expensive. This is not a 4 stars hotel.

    Location is great near the town and parking on site, Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Central to everything and right next to aquarium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure parking for cars, but not secure enough to leave a motorcycle without worrying.

    Fantastic location. Really close to the 3 towers and old town is 5 min walk away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small Pillows were square and uncomfortable Music and noise from the festival outside was extremely loud and ruined our quiet weekend away Reception staff were helpful and friendly

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.5
    Good but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warning on either Mercure or booking.com website of the problem finding the entrance by car and the fact that you have drive into a road where only buses are allow unless you can read the French smaller print that says hotel guests are also allowed. Worst of all were the paper thin walls. We could hear every word of our neighbours even a simple yawn.

    Location, restaurant -superb meal friendliness of staff, nice room with ha our view but......see below

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Long weekend in a beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room 425, the continuous humming noise at night preventing a proper nights sleep. Which seemed to start at 9pm and then last all night!

    Room had everything required if a little small. Not given a port view originally as paid for but this was rectified quickly when I raised this at reception. Location ideal for getting around. Easy to use public transport and walk everywhere if you wish.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent town centre hotel with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite small bedroom but well planned. (Too small for an easy chair.)

    Superb location, close to old harbour basins and town centre. Excellent parking, Easy to find. Close to loads of restaurants and bar/cafes. Friendly, efficient staff. Very clean and superbly presented. Wonderful "Accor" breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    position, free parking, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    why do they change the towels and bed every day? We were happy for them not to be changed during our 3 night stay.

    position, free parking, value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room being situated at the back of the Hotel and above the kitchen. With the window open I had the smell of cooking.

    A really good venue for visiting La Rochelle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and nothing to complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little more space in bedroom, but obviously not possible. (We didn't see superior rooms)

    The great value for money deal. Excellent location Excellent dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, let down by the little details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard. Although there was a kettle in the room, the cups provided were cardboard, and plastic water glasses, both of which I hate. Room was a little cramped, and the shower was over the bath, not easy to get in and out of. Give the restaurant a miss, poor service, little choice of menu and so many good restaurants nearby.

    The location is excellent, 5 mins walk to the main harbour, restaurants and shops. Secure parking. Clean room, helpful staff. Excellent wifi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great, location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were awkward - we found it difficult to get comfy. Also the heating worked in "layers" with the room ending up hot at head height and cool at foot level.

    Breakfast was great, location was superb. There was parking for the car but we noted that the train station was within easy walking distance and we will probably take that option if we return. You probably couldn't get closer to the centre of the action in the town - right by the marina and the Aquarium and just a short stroll from the bars and cafes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.5
    good location, but expensive for the structure provided.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite simple, felt in a Ibis room. Amenities really bad. Fitness center too small. Poor mini bar options.

    Breakfast has a lot of options, staff is smiley.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Ideal stop off for La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a tad small but for overnight visit not an issue.

    Location good, parking secure and free, clean room great shower and easy walkable distance to town amenities. Breakfast €15 euros basic but good quality

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    If you,re in La Rochelle,stay here.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,despite the rain,but it did direct us to a fab restaurant within 50 yards " La Maree ". Good for parking and the dogs. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    A must stay!!!!!! but get a big room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the size of the room, very small for 2 people... a little disappointing. otherwise, no compliants.

    the location, brilliant...... the food and the staff were so friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Nice hotel, convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection was spotty.

    Hotel and breakfast were very nice. Hotel is conveniently located, near the train station and the convention center, and the aquarium.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't as smooth as I like it, a bit too tough.

    Nice looking hotel and perfect location. Great if you come by car too. Private parking. Wifi. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Port View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room for the disabled which we did not need or request should have asked to change as would have preferred a bath but too tired after a long journey.

    Excellent breakfast. Super location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice break in La Rochelle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with King-Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant was ok but not outstanding, we would have eaten out in the evening if one of our party had not been disabled

    Nice room, good parking, good flat access into La Rochelle on mobility scooter. Good and ample breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: