Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Sommellerie 3 stars

Route de Roquemaure, 84230 Châteauneuf-du-Pape, France

#6 of 8 hotels in Châteauneuf-du-Pape

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Great staff. Great location. We would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It will an even better experience once the facilities refurbishment is completed.

    Jon, Rachel and the rest of the staff were outstanding. They helped make the stay even more enjoyable. Our room had been recently renovated and was very nice. Good breakfast. Excellent location. Parking was very convenient. Can't wait to go back and nurture our new friendships.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice, friendly hotel close to the vineries.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a charming old cottage transformed into a small hotel, managed by a very friendly and helpful couple. The location is beautiful and the vine list is extensive. Typical french breakfast is available which is also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Really want to go again in the sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is charming, very smart.....helpful staff/owner. Lovely restaurant , beautifully decorated in minimalist style, . Delicious meal with appropriate wine...recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money in a quiet, well appointed house near Chateauneuf-du-Pape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one small thing: we were not given a code for the gate, which closed in the evening. We had dinner somewhere else and had trouble going in. We had an apology the next day and breakfast was not charged. We understand these things happen and would only suggest that a tag with the code be attached to the key room (we saw this in another hotel and thought was very useful).

    Price is very fair for spacey and well appointed room. Bed is comfortable and bathroom was very good. Breakfast is also very good. I loved the silence as well. SHOWER ALERT: there is a proper shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    A comfortable and convenient location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cramped and the view from the window was poor. The quality of the food we ate in the restaurant was patchy for a relatively steep price. Staff were attentive but we felt could have conveyed greater warmth; very formal I think

    The location was perfect for both us and our dog. We liked the laid back approach of the staff. Parking on site was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    Missed out on the well-reviewed restaurant; room was clean and ample; pool gorgeous but not usable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a restaurant but it was booked for both nights we were present and there were very few other choices...all 15 minutes drive away. Pool was open but not heated -- too cold for swimming. Folks did sit around it, looking at the water.

    The view from the room, looking at the pool, was nice. Parking was ample, but confusing and not organized for finding a spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    Nice hotel, but disappointing rooms, staff, location and restaurant service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location wasn't very good. It is at least a half an hour's walk out of Chateau Neuf de Pape. As we were going wine tasting we decided to get a cab to the village which was very expensive considering we were only in it for 3 minutes. This is because there aren't any cab firms in the village so it had to come from out of town to pick us up. When we asked reception to order us a cab they looked as though we were crazy and that no-one had considered doing this before. As the cab was expensive we elected to walk back, but the route is along a busy road with no pedestrian path. The hotel could put on a shuttle service. Given that it is small and located out of town, this would be easily achievable. Given the price of the room, I would have expected one that was bigger and with a nicer view although the bed was comfortable. There is no wifi in the hotel. The service for dinner was very slow and I heard other complaining about the portion sizes and quality of food i.e. not the complete half lobster that they ordered and under/overcooked.

    The pool looked nice although we didn't get chance to use it. The bed was comfy. Toiletries were very nice as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Charming stay just outside of Chateauneuf-du-Pape with a beautiful pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use a little more style. There were uneven linoleum tiles in the entry to our room that didn't quite fit in a room in CDP for that price. The decor was not as thoughtful as the rest of the property. I think for what they're charging, they could pretty easily make it gorgeous. The view to the pool area was lovely. There was also no refrigerator in the room, but staff was helpful about getting us a bucket of ice. Also, this is about 3.5km outside of the city center of CDP.

    The property is beautiful, the outside courtyard and pool area are a lovely oasis in Chateauneuf-du-Pape, the included breakfast was more than adequate. The staff was very friendly and gave us ideas for dining in the city center. If we would have stayed longer, dinner at La Sommellerie would have happened but we just had one night. I thought it would be a beautiful location for a small destination wedding but the concierge told me they don't do weddings anymore... the bathroom was comfortable and shower was nice and hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu is very restricted which you would hope means that the food is good. It's not! We had undercooked fish and burnt steak. If you are staying here eat out as it is very overpriced and the quality is poor. Need a new chef.

    Very nice room if small, lovely terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Xecellent personal service and a very enjoyable and all too brief a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives

    Husband and wife team running a super little hotel with comfortable rooms, friendly staff/service, outdoor pool and great (indoor) bar and (outdoor) restaurant - 28 deg c in the evening helped!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    We loved the serenity of the grounds amidst vineyards and the kindness of the owner couple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a one-night-stopover or long weekend great choice just outside famous Chateauneuf-du-Pape. For a holiday, I would prefer somewhat comfier lounge furniture when having a glass of wine on outdoor terrasse - just a minor issue, really...

    Comfy beds, nice bathroom, pool in the garden, the peacefulness, nice staff, good evening meals...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in Chateauneuf-du-Pape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that in the bedroom there was not air conditioning, only a small fan which didn't fresh up enough the room. So in the end, we couldn't sleep really well with the hot temperature.

    The hotel was great. The courtesy of the 2 owners and staff always available and kind was really appreciated. There was a very nice swimming pool and a beautiful garden where the breakfast and dinner takes place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxed quality hotel with an exceptional restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The quality of the hotel, the gardens, the swimming pool, the restaurant...all exceptional. We ate outside on a lovely garden terrace, heavenly, will look forward to staying again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place but some challenges....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to find. Instructions from desk were not very helpful, as it was assumed that we were familiar with the location and town of CdP. It is a good drive from the center of town, and if one is wine tasting, could be a challenge to get to afterwards. Also did not get provided any details as to accessing wifi. No coffee in the morning for our 7am departure either.

    Rooms were very nice, clean and decent size. Lobby and other rooms very lovely. Property was very nice, with lovely spot near pool to sit and have a glass of wine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    A short but delightful stay! Very helpful and friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners of the Hotel were great, so helpful in giving us recommendations and even dropped us to the best place in Chateauneuf Du Pape. Beautiful Hotel, i just wish it was a bit warmer to make full use of the lovely pool and Garden area!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was called "Tendresse" and was very cute, but I would probably choose a larger one like "Romance" next time!

    The Domaine de la Parpaille was so nice! We arrive late afternoon and were greeted by Lea, the owner's daughter who welcomed us with a big smile. As we had been driving, we decided to eat dinner at the domaine. Eve was very nice and accommodated a special menu for us. The other guests were nice and friendly as well. It's like staying in someone's home with delicious breakfasts and cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.6
    Overpriced - in a bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive Restaurant was closed & taxi arranged by owners charged us 25 Euros to go 2.5 miles as a favour. We had no car and without the taxi we could not eat. As there were 8 of us we ended up with 3 trips costing 150 euros. Stay in CDP it's nicer

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    A good choice to visit chateauneuf du pape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom were on the small size

    Very good food, freshly prepared very small menu to guarantee the best experience Owners very committed and it shows

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.4
    Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size, overall ambience / atmosphere and acoustics, bed comfort (!), room cleanliness. In general: the value for money unfortunately was below expectations. We'd recommend to stay in Avignon (and visit Chateauneuf for half a day or so).

    Quite close to beautiful wineries in the Chateauneuf-du-Pape area plus close to the city centre. Safe car-park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Very pleasant visit. Will recommend to anyone. Our 4 day visit was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy, and the staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was fresh and well prepared. Lovely situation and the bar was always available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Lovely quiet oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi just didn't work for us. Breakfast was ok, but €15 is steep for what there was. But no alternatives nearby.

    Lovely feel and ambience to the hotel and it's surrounding gardens. Room was a bit shabby, but it didn't really matter. There was a kettle in the room! Unusual in France and very welcome. Fabulous restaurant. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    God stop off point driving to or from South
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near busy road

    Nice dining room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Had a swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed on Mondays (not advised at timeof booking) Didnt want to drive back to town for dinner after 4 hour journey

    Had a swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    The location and the cleanliness very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the cleanliness very good. Lovely terrace and food very good. Fantastic stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Charming, friendly, beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming, friendly, beautiful. Perfect spot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor did not quite suit the lovely old house and rural setting.

    The building and setting were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Dinner was really excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Dinner was really excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar was closed for these dates and on booking says they have it

    The are for restaurant and customer service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Litle disappointed, maybe not again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service out of restaurant time, and not allowed to eat at those times at pool side.

    Good breakfast for 15€

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Our stay at Sommellerie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu was poor and not good value.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Very relaxed atmosphere, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very relaxed atmosphere, great staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.3
    would not recommend, would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food - 5* prices, 2* quality Management

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location loved the location and character of the hotel. However the staff where not friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where not friendly. But overall we had a nice stay

    It is in a beautiful spot and it is a lovely building and decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay would book again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room, excellent breakfast only 5mins by car to Chateauneuf du Pape.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Lovely place & nice staff,
    • Group
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place & nice staff, Will go back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    amazing location....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed

    breakfast was great and the location of the hotel the hospitality and good service place its amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice terras with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Nice terras with pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.2
    The owner and his wife were charming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The help yourself coffee machine at breakfast.

    The owner and his wife were charming and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    6.7
    Very nice owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom tiny Evening meal limited choice Restaurant closed night we arrived and too far to walk into town

    Very nice owners Chic decor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.7
    Nice place to stay, out of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plenty of parking outside, and the pool area outside was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Third time here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was VERY hard.

    The breakfast by the pool is lovely and our dinner at the restaurant was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.2
    Evening meal was excellent, good food well prepared and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Same complaint we have in every hotel in France - water for tea must be boiling not tepid !

    Evening meal was excellent, good food well prepared and presented. Wine list was also rather good!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    5.0
    End of season and it showed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    End of season and it showed. Only one choice of starter, main course or desert -so we left to eat in town. May be we were unlucky as it was meant to be a highlight of our cycle trip.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Lovely old inn with a wonderful ding setup
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a little small

    Lovely old inn with a wonderful ding setup

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missed a few details. Kitchen not open Monday December 21 for supper.

    Very helpful and professional staff.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: