Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Tour Cocooning & Gastronomie 3 stars

place de la République, 01400 Châtillon-sur-Chalaronne, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Châtillon-sur-Chalaronne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    insanely expensive prices for dinner and wine with little substance. Also no air con or fan in rooms meant sleep was awful. Didn’t have breakfast, just coffee( which was unpleasant and from a pot), which at check out they tried to charge 14 euros for.... that’s more expensive than the savoy in london! I would suggest they would have more than 6 people in the restaurant in the evening if they didn’t charge 30/40 euros a plate of food. I think they need to re think .

    Very central in pretty town. Well decorated and lovely gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not good quality, normally it should has jambons or eggs there are not hair dryer. I mean I paid 200 euros per night but there are not hair dryer, how that's possible.

    beautiful place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was cute but I had to seat to shower my hairs since it was not long enough, the water temperature was not very stable. For the price of the room, it is area, I was expecting close to 100% perfect. Overall experience was nice but too expensive for what it is. The restaurant is not open long time for lunch and diner (just something to pay attention at) and it is too expensive for what it is. Good, but too expensive.

    It was very well located, quite easy to park around, very clean, charming building, the bed was confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning in rooms would be an added bonus, but just a minor point.

    Located in a picture postcard little French town, with lots of great restaurants. Such attention to detail at the hotel, making in boutique and stylish. Lovely staff. Great pool. Beautiful rooms. Delicious food too. I will be back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a perfect hotel in a beautiful, quiet little town with great restaurants. Genuinely one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Beautiful buildings, lovely facilities and charming staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication!! If Booking.com had told us that there are two hotels and we were in the other one, it would have saved us half an hour of deep frustration at the end of a 10 hour drive on Grand Retour day. The hotel itself is lovely. We just weren't in the mood. They also play 'health spa' music - what I call 'whale music' - from dawn until dusk. As a professional musician, I can't tune that stuff out and it was driving me potty.

    It was lovely- when we found it. We arrived at the address Booking.com gave us, couldn't find anyone in, couldn't get in, were told we had to go half a mile down the road and then were booked in by a charming man who hadn't had our request for dinner passed on by Booking.com. We ended up haveg a ( very fine ) dinner in the reception aread. The hotel was lovely but nobody had explained that the hotel we had booked was closed and this was a sister hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too hot and not big enough. Breakfast not served late enough for people on holiday.

    Food and Drink. Swimming Pool lovely and new Garden Cabin for pre-dinner drinks

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking into an over-filled bad taste hotel was not what I had expected- looks like the owners "wife or friend" got free hands and not an interior designer (even the elevator had its mis-mached something), the place was filled to the maximum. On top of this the "pool" of the hotel is 400 m away, together with the parking space - and this is where the restaurant also it. I have eaten at a lot of michelin recommended restaurants in my life but never have I had so bad food and service, the michelin inspector must have been drunk when he arrived (I work with michelin star restaurants)

    Location in middle of town is the only good thing I have to say about this place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know we'd be staying at your 'summer quarters'. Bad communication! Disappointed finding hotel locked!!! And frustrated! Summer quarters, room and garden all beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom with not very comfortable shower.

    Beautiful hotel with a lot of charm. Staff was always smiley and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    They are so much pet friendly! Breakfast was very good! The room and all the hotel very charming and country style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    À bit away from the highway

    The dinner was excellent ( menu) and people very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good value and the restaurant was beautifully decorated, excellent food and good service

    Breakfast was expensive

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms and especially the bathroom are small! The decorations are too much therefore they can't clean properly. A lot of dust!

    The location was lovely, nice relaxed town with something to do and see for tourists. Garden, restaurant and pool of the hotel are nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The distance of the private car parking from the hotel

    Warm comfortable and stylish room with good restaurant. Importantly a welcome for our 2 small dogs.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ratio price/quality

    Service

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Low water pressure in the shower.

    Decor was great. Fast Wifi

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive for a small, poorly ventilated room

    Convenient location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    general appearance

    quietness

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was in another building but the walk between the two was interesting

    Interesting. Town and surrounding area in Bresse

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse La Tour Cocooning & Gastronomie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: