Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Verte Campagne - Hotel Restaurant

Le Hameau Chevalier, 50660 Trelly, France

#1 of 1 hotels in Trelly

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Probably good to visit in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature. It is not a good place to visit in December as we could not get warm. The house and restaurant are very old and difficult to heat. Although the fireplaces are large and old, a few branches and some accelerator do not do a great deal towards warming the place.

    The food in the restaurant was excellent and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    It was a real find. Enjoy the tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This little hotel was a real find. Maybe it's not for everybody but we thought it was fantastic. We had an excellent dinner, with a very good selection. The host was very friendly & nothing seemed a problem for him. Don't know why people say it's difficult to find, if you have sat nav just put in the address, ours certainly worked. Good breakfast with very good coffee. Very comfortable bedroom with a decent shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    This amazing chef is a well kept secret!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not what I didn't like but just to put things into perspective for other visitors. This is not a fancy modern city hotel. The rooms are quiet clean and comfortable – what you would expect from a friendly country bed and breakfast with friendly welcoming hosts.

    The location is a little remote – just outside of the village of Trelly – but it is a quiet peaceful setting. We were on half board which meant we were provided breakfast and dinner. This is the best choice as there isn't much within the immediate vicinity of the property. The breakfast is pretty basic but the dinners are to die for because the wife is an amazing chef. We had our best French food on our trip at this restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Great welcome as always.beautifullocation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose a dish that I did not like

    We like going there because we have become friends with the owner.my husband is disabled so the stairs are a problem for him.They do not heat the hotel enough for us but bed was very comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    The hotel seemed to be old fashioned and needed considerable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old fashioned although the bed was comfortable. There was no hot water the next morning so we had to wash our hair in cold water. Breakfast was a fairly poor affair in a small cramped room although the croissants were good but we had to ask for coffee and the proprietor was not attentive or much in evidence.

    The hotel seemed to be old fashioned and needed considerable updating. However the restaurant was good and the meal we had was surprisingly good. The proprietor was pleasant but seemed not to have a good grip on the running of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was perfect. Nice people ( perfect English), excellent food, nice and quiet place, simple but very clean and well equiped room. And with the nice weather, a real dream.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    A nice place to stay with an excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was excellent! The sea bass was one of the best we've eaten. The bed was comfortable and we were received well even though we made a last minute booking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    An idyllic stay with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful English owners and truly excellent cooks. A most welcoming and enjoyable stay, even though for just the one night. It is in a small town but ideally sited for exploring the area and for the ferries. Would happily stay again any time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Dinner was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit older

    Dinner was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful food and comfortable room in absolute peace in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Owners were very welcoming Food was some of the best we have ever enjoyed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent food, lovely location and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent food, lovely location and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    The dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was excellent. Very comfortable bed. Very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in bedroom

    Rural location. Evening meal exceptional. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very friendly and warm welcome, excellent restaurant Nice and charmy rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    A rural paradise in Manche
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Bed comfy, excellent meal, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb country stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but might be a bit quiet for some.

    Secluded, quiet location. Very helpful host. Lovely room and super food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Worth finding for the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to find.

    Excellent meal, friendly owners.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.3
    English owner warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    English owner warm welcome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    The property breakfast and dining rooms were simple but...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There was no coffee / tea / kettle in the bedroom. That would have made an excellent start to the morning. For a rural country property the wine list was priced mostly at the higher end. Observation rather than dislike ... It is not promised in the description, but this property is decidely a B&B so don't expect a relaxing lounge area within ..

    The property breakfast and dining rooms were simple but stylish. The bedroom 'retro' but very comfortable.The host was attentive and lit a welcoming fire for dinner. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    Lynne is an outstanding cook of seafood and those of us who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our one non-fish eater was less happy with his food.

    Lynne is an outstanding cook of seafood and those of us who enjoy fish were delighted by our delicious fish dinners.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. We even had a roll top bath. The accommodation was also a restaurant, of the highest quality. Lots of rustic beams and quirkiness. The host was great with a great sense of humour, English..... We will go back.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Garden is marvellous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Garden is marvellous. Building is historic, cosy and romantic. Room 7 was large with good bathroom, seperate toilet and large windows with plenty of light. Restaurant meal was delicious and not to be missed.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Very relaxing, felt more like home than a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very relaxing, felt more like home than a hotel. Food was superb, better than a lot of places that we have eaten in. The decor is old fashioned in a nice quirky sense but very homely.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.3
    This small hotel is buried deep in the Normandy countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This small hotel is buried deep in the Normandy countryside. The owners Lynne and Andre were extremely welcoming. Our first floor room was spacious with good furniture, and a lovely view of the spring blossoms in the garden. There is a guest sitting room where we had a very pleasant afternoon tea. Lynne cooked an excellent dinner, local produce cooked with imagination and care. Its the kind of place you want to return to.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.3
    owners excellent and restaurant was imaginative and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    owners excellent and restaurant was imaginative and elegantly presented.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful. Cosy and clean

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Great host and wonderful cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great host and wonderful cooking

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely location and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location and very welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Madame's cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bottled wate offered

    Madame's cooking Monsieur's good humour

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Welcome, peacefulness, location and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It could benefit from a good airing..

    Welcome, peacefulness, location and food!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Beautiful stone building in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful stone building in beautiful surroundings

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: