Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Victoire Boutique Hotel

Place Du Grand Jardin, 06140 Vence, France

#5 of 10 hotels in Vence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel situated on 1st floor via stairs not a problem for us but disabled people might have an issue. Lift available from reception on 1st floor.

    The location was excellent. Clean easy to find friendly people 1st class for our short stay will definitely return here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small and basic, comfortable bed.

    On the edge of town so minutes walk from historic centre and restaurants. Owners helpful. Underground car park 5 minutes from hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very lovely.Room was small but comfortable .Staff were very friendly informative and welcoming.Breakfast was good and represented good value for money .Very enjoyable stay - See you again soon .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location for this cute little hotel, right in the centre of Vence, with lovely views of the old town out the window. Quirky décor and very friendly staff who gave great recommendations for places to go out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic with no in room tea making facility which is sometimes needed after a long day of sightseeing. Overall good.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it hard to locate the hotel, perhaps if you said you were two doors down from the information centre it would help.We were a little confused over breakfast as we wanted just a coffee and croissant but instead ended up paying for a full breakfast, but that may have been our fault for not querying things. We had issues with the underground parking, not the fault of the hotel, but it is not free and both days the machine would not read our ticket and we ended up dealing with a very rude unhelpful man in there who did not want to help us at all. He was a disgrace to his countrymen.

    The room was small but adequate and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful. They also speak excellent English. We did have a but of trouble finding it, had to park the car and walk around the square before locating the entrance. But it is just two doors along from the information centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy room and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more bathroom accessories would have been nice.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Welcome reception. Bright, fresh, clean, airy room. Very fresh croissants for breakfast. Very central location with parking close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in bedroom poor

    Friendly and heis fully stsff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was brilliant! They were very accommodating and friendly. I would definitely return and stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendliness of staff and position of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming,helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is far from a boutique hotel. No refresh towels. No atmosphere

    Middle of the centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast was good.Breads and other foods was fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers very small

    Staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel has a great location in Vence. The manager was very friendly and keen to see that we had all we needed during our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It reminded me of the movie Best Marigold Hotel. It is a little different.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff helpful, friendly. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful stagf

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky and very good customer service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely staff and a very pretty room. Good public parking right opposite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The time to have stayed another week!

    Nothing not to like. All superb. Lovely privately run boutique hotel next to the Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice at breakfast

    Excellent hotel. Right in the middle of everything. Rooms compact. Clean and comfy. Would go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything!

    The staff! Emilie is wondrous! So gracious, helpful, warm! A joy to be at that hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent reception by host and lovely room. Bang in the town centre. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very friendly staff. We highly recommend La Victoire.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing and friendly staff - a few steps from old city - safe underground parking right opposite hotel (under sand covered square) we had a corner room looking over street - great sound proofing from street - but not room next door..

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room VERY small, sqm used for corridor instead of room, room under the roof, bed size and ceiling higth only for midgets, lift out of order, wi-fi out of order upon arrival. Many restrictions.

    Location excellent. Friendly staff, clean an quiet room

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing too bad: The polished concrete bathroom floor was slippery when wet..and the exposed plumbing was slightly off-putting.

    Location was awesome...right on the square ...AND no street noise due great windows. ALL the staff we met were sincere and helpful..very refreshing.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very small, with no chair to sit in (only 2 impossible plastic stools). Tiny screen TV did not work (we don't really care). Noise from neighboring room. Flight of stairs to climb to get in. Bathtub turned into shower only. Parking a bit problematic.

    Excellent location for visiting Vence, and the staff are very nice and helpful. View of square without noise from the street.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A good of example of a renovation in an old building where compromises are made. In this case my bathroom had a very low ceiling and a poorly designed shower recess

    Very centrally located with friendly and helpful staff. Good WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    fantastic, friendly, personal service from our host, delightful room, beautifully kept hotel, great location in the square just outside the town walls

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    La Victoire is a small hotel, 15 rooms, in a perfect location with restaurants and bars on the doorstep. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are kept very clean. The breakfast is excellent value , 9 euros, with a choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, croissants and assorted breads. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything I didn't like and I rarely score anyone this high, It is a funky adorable that not everyone would like. Don't come if you want american standard!

    The hotel is darling and very convenient to the plaza and old town with parking directly underneath. The staff knocked themselves out for us with tips for what we like.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only slight negative was the car park. It was a challenge getting our medium size car around some of the tight corners. And to get the lowest parking cost, you have to drive out and in at least once a day. We only did it once during our 3 day stay.

    Location!! Overlooking the square and just outside one of the gates to the old city. The bus to the coast is just 100s of metres up the street. This bus also connects to the trains which go along the coast. Saint-Paul de Vence is only two stops away on the bus. The staff are super helpful in explaining where the restaurants are and how to get around.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The welcome upon arrival was exemplary with everything explained including recommendations for local restaurants. We were shown our rooms which were ideal and very clean. The location on the edge of the town square and adjacent to the gateway into the old town could not have been better. The nearest car park is underground in the square and about 30 meters away. The entrance and exit to the car park is a little tight for a large car. The owner and the receptionist were first class and spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. The breakfast was good and so relaxed. I wish that I could have stayed longer. This hotel is recommended without reservation.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a charming small hotel, located next to the old city walls and a short walk from the bus stop. Pierre was wonderfully helpful in suggestions as to local activities. A great place to stay near St Paul, without the price.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nathalie and Pierre were very nice and helpful. Although I arrived early, before 12pm, Pierre checked me right away, which was very considerate of him. The room was simple but nice enough.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner, ' Pierre' went out of his way to make me welcome and comfortable. Also helped with train schedule above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owner very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast. Very central for old town yet very quiet

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, courteous and efficient service

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room with great view.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location was great just near the old city and the recomandation of traveling and restaurant were excelent. very nice stuff.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Staff, room just under the rooftop, breakfast with market view

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    central location

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location immediate vicinity of the old town. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, good location and close to parking Highly recommended Thanks Laila and Roger

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely, friendly atmosphere. Excellent helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could hear guests in neighbouring room conversing. Sound insulation in room not great.

    Staff were brilliant. Breakfast was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice town, nice hotel, Very good staff

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff so very friendly and helpful with local information. Great stay. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Couple

    Location and lovely friendly staff. Also Hush the dog!!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothinh

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing everything was ok

    amazing location very atmospheric hotel satisfactory service !! good-value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful hosts. Great location and soundproofing really good with room overlooking the square.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff very helpful with our mountain of luggage

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee

    Staff were friendly, and you are very much in the heart of the town.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful staff and very comfortable accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast uninspiring as always in France

    Central location, english spoken by owner.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to old town

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: