Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Vieille Bastide

306 Route Du Peyron, 83780 Flayosc, France

#3 of 9 hotels in Flayosc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the price, which was a surprise.

    We stayed for 3 nights, in a comfortable, spacious room with good bathroom/wc & excellent buffet breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very hospitable and accommodating. Breakfast was a feast! It is just a short walk away from the village Flayosc which has at least four good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything to dislike about this property.

    Excellent continental breakfast including GF options; rooms beautifully decorated in Provençal colors; lovely linen; excellent toiletries from natural ingredients; our hostess attended to every detail and made us feel so welcome. I would come again at any time of the year just to relax and enjoy the surroundings. This property has been meticulously restored and cleverly blends the old and the new. Within a couple of hours of the coastal cities, and other natural delights if you like the outdoors. Great restaurants in the town - walking distance - try Restaurant L'Oustaou.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find the way to the hotel. I had to phone for directions when we got lost (don't use satnav!). They should email directions when a client books.

    Very friendly and helpful owners; clean and comfortable hotel. Within walking distance of town centre, restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally we would prefer the beds to be bigger, ie super king size, but this is quite rare. It is needed I always feel. Nevertheless the bed was very comfortable and bedding excellent.

    Lovely spacious room with every detail thought of for travellers when they first arrive. Good big bathroom and lovely terrace outside to sit and have a drink etc. Room pretty and inviting. Beautifully kept hotel and communal areas, lovely places to sit outside, in little nooks and all comfortable outside seating. Beautiful pool with spotless area for changing and lovely towels. Gardens immaculate. Parking good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated and dark.

    Located in beautiful countryside near the charming medieval town of Flayosc. Breakfast was lovely out on the terrace. Nice swimming pool. Very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive, but there is a lot of choice. Overall price of bottle of wine/drinks is high, but comparable to restaurant prices in the neighborhood. We expected it to be closer to all bigger places in the Côte d'Azur (Nice, Cannes, Saint Tropez) but travel by car was longer than expected, which was our own fault.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, lovely decorated rooms, great swimming pool. Mini bar. Clean and wifi strong in whole property, even at swimming pool! Flayosc has some very good restaurants, try Fleur de Thym and Salle a Manger: great French kitchen (although La Salle has a Dutch host ;)).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about the hotel was lovely. Our only problem was finding a way to the entrance from the main road.

    A lovely old French style hotel. Room was beautifully decorated in a rustic style and every need catered for. The pool was a welcome bonus. Breakfast choice was extensive including some of the owner's own hand made preserves and yoghurt.Very tasty if a bit pricey.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included?!

    Very comfortable mattress and lovely pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    Great swimming pool. Very cute and comfy room. Very nice breakfast. Loved my little terrace!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a great place to stay, very friendly couple running the place, pool is amazing, city is only a few mins walking away. Amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Very friendly staff!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charmy room with a terrase, lovely garden. A few minutes walk to a nice village Flayosc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could be better

    Super surrounding. All great, nicely decorated Great breakfast.lots of great details.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast quite expensive, but very good.

    Swimmingpool was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Decor delightful. Beautiful gardens. Super breakfast. Room toiletries excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - in Bastide Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    like a provence dream :) stunning hotel and ambient. was really beautiful and the breakfast was local and very tasty.we enjoyed it very much.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Bastide is a short distance to town so if you have challenges walking you may need to use your car. Otherwise the walk is very nice and adds to the charme.

    Beatific building in a lovely garden. Very nice and big room, wonderful breakfast with ham, cheese , egg, freshly made orange juice , homemade jams, fruit you feet nuts, fresh bread, croissants etc. the dining room is very charming all I matching colors and it looks like a private living room. The garden is beautiful with lovely seating areas and pool Area. This is great value for money and our favorite in the area, this was the second timber stayed.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay. The owners where very nice and very helpful. The room we had was very peasant with a lovely terrace. It is in a charming location, quite and rustic. The gardens and pool area are amazing and very kept. Would recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful real French experience. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and Flayosc is a charming village. You really feel like you are in rural France.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is wonderful, vue of environing countryside is fabulous. The structure itself is one of "charme", greenery and flowers everywhere. The pool is fabulous, surrounded by lounges and shrubbery.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - everything was perfect.

    Isabel, the owner. greeted us and was very friendly. I had stated that this trip was for my husband and my combined birthdays and she had a bottle of champagne and two glasses with a note that said "happy birthday" waiting in our room. Nice touch. Our room was lovely and she had everything we could need. Nice size bathroom, especially by France standards. Beautiful pool area as well. Would highly recommend. Nice base to visit many area villages and small towns.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good bastide, well maintained with care by the friendly owners. Would return again, it is a lovely place to spend a couple of days lazing by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived it was almost midnight but were met with a friendly smile and were made to feel comfortable immediately. Our room was charming and our first breakfast in France was wonderful. the gardens were amazing and we could not have asked for a better first day to our vacation in the French countryside

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is well looked after and clean with beautiful gardens and a very inviting pool ( a little too cold to swim when we were there though). A short walk to the town centre with it's bars and restaurants and all this surrounded by fantastic countryside.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gluten free breakfast provided as required. A good selection of teas .

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    difficult to find ,, poor location , ghost town ... no restaurants avalaible to dinner ,,,

    vey quiet ,, not noisy

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly no problems with language very convenient for the village and restaurant facilities

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outskirts of town, walking distance to restaurants. Countryside views and feel.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms very pleasant well decorated

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All perfect, from pool to breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful garden and pool (even if it was too cold to swim it was raining...)

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in the nature swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything, breakfast,room pool, location,staff

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and uncomfortable bathroom

    Nice terrace and quiet location

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flayosc is well located for excursions into the Gorge region. Great restaurant in town.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    garden

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    we felt staff really didn't want to be bothered with guests

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: