Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Vieille Etable 3 stars

Les Plantes, 16440 Roullet, France

#2 of 2 hotels in Roullet

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the bed was not good. It needed a new mattress. The haidryer smoked when it was turned on and when I attempted to unplug it, the plug fell apart. This could have been dangerous. In fairness, the staff did loan us a better hairdryer. We had high expectations of the restaurant. The starters were exceptional, but the fillet steaks that followed were like trying to eat old leather. Making a complaint was difficult, although, eventually, the young waitress got the point that we did not expect to pay for my wife’s main course which proved to be inedible. I am still waiting for the mustard I asked for to be delivered! When it came to check out, again, in fairness to the management, they had deducted the charge for BOTH main courses. The wines were also very expensive, starting at around 35 Euros a bottle. The wine list, however, was excellent. We were also a little cramped in the restaurant and the next diner on the adjacent table was almost touching my shoulder and his strong aftershave was offputting. All this contributed to ruining an evening when we expected to experience some fine dining before continuing our travels.

    The ambience was terrific and the decor of the main building is superb. The grounds consisting of many trees and a lake are charming. The staff were friendly though little English is understood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a friendly welcome and attentive staff then this is NOT the place to stay. You are left to serve yourself for breakfast but there is no one around to ask for help. There were eggs to boil if you know that you need to switch the machine on in the first place. The young waiter came in to clear the tables and ignored us completely, not even asking if we were ok or if we needed anything. I had to go and fine someone to order coffee. After having to search for a member of staff at checkin we had to do the same again to check out. I don’t think we will be going again.

    Very quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Frid breakfast with scrambled eggs, fresh baguettes, croissants Sat no scrambled eggs, baguettes and pancakes stale. Fresh fruit salad. Sun no scrambled eggs, fresh baguettes, pancakes from Friday

    staff were excellent. They made for an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dined at the hotel restaurant and food was delicious The property is breathtaking as it was a lovely chateau with beautiful surrounds and ok'd stables The room were small but adequate and well maintained

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is rather difficult to find at night and by car price is a little high for a youth hostel atmosphere ...

    friendly reception although we arrived very late rooms ok , bathroom small but clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train line runs to the back of the property and staff were neither communicative or friendly at times. No tea and coffee facilities in bedroom.

    Lovely swimming pool, tennis courts, restaurant and sitting by the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find. Sat nav wouldn't accept address. Rooms had no air conditioning and rather small and dark. (needed light on most of the time). Room was what you would expect from a cheaper hotel. We had trouble with the language barrier.

    The grounds were especially nice. The dinning room was well laid out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was as good as any we had on our trip to France; however, it was much more expensive (16Eu per person) than in other locations.

    Room comfortable and hotel very quiet and relaxed. Staff Friendly and evening meal good value and very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address of the hotel did not come up on our Satnav I think the road is to small, we had problems finding the hotel. Dinner was not served until 8.30 which is far to late for us.

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and we found them very warm - no air conditioning. Bed not very comfortable.

    Location is pretty. Bathroom in room very nice. Parking very convenient and pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food good but drinks overpriced.

    Nice place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I've been there a couple of times and it's always been lovely!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort double very roomy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very friendly and went out of her way to make sure everything was alright

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possibly the weather but that's not the Hotels fault!!

    Everything! So convenient with the car immediately outside the room and no stairs to climb. The Restaurant food and wine were amazing and the staff so helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were almost locked-in. After restaurant meal we went onto outside patio to finish coffee, 10 mins max. walked back into reception and restaurant was empty and owner locking all doors and said she was going to bed as she had to be up at 05.30. we were left in almost darkness and empty reception. we had to find our way out via locked doors to the rear chalet rooms.was it late? no it was 9.40 p.m. The meals were served so fast and furious. chalets were small and lacking light and ventillation. My fault, I thought we were staying at country chateau. clearly it was a stop-over with a restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed in our room was a bit too narrow and we are not large people. Only problem we thought.

    Quiet, good food, wonderful staff. Lovely pool on hot day. Easy biking and car touring.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a little too compact for a longer stay.

    We based ourselves at this hotel to see if it would be suitable for guests to use for a wedding in the area in June and it didn't disappoint.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not very good foe wheelchairs

    great staff beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Set in a beautiful park quite close to the motorway. Excellent dinner.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The accommodation and food was outstanding. The staff were also excellent.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse La Vieille Etable traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: