Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Villa Glanum 3 stars

46 Avenue Vincent Van Gogh, 13210 Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

#18 of 19 hotels in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    Expectations were exceeded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was an excellent experience overall. The staff were especially friendly and the location perfect. We really enjoyed our stay in St Remy - strongly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely garden setting at the edge of town and the pool very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small for 2 people and luggage but worked ok

    Lovely garden setting at the edge of town and the pool very appreciated for cooling off. Breakfast in the garden there was very convenient. You can walk into town and to two tourist destinations: Glanum (Roman ruins site)and St Paul - the convalescent home where Van Gogh made over 150 paintings in a year.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Roman history on your doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has been sold and the restaurant was closed which was a pity

    The bathroom was very spacious and the bed comfortable. The swimming pool was heated and a good size. Nice sitting out areas around the pool. Plenty of car parking space. Just a 5 minute walk away was the Roman town of Glanum and also the sanitarium where Van Gogh was treated after cutting off his ear.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Really good buffet breakfast. Great location just next to Glanum site and 15 minute walk into St Rémy which we really liked and which had several really good restaurants. Good base for exploring. Staff were friendly. Good pool and bar area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    A Personal Favorite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whenever we visit St Remy we stay at this hotel. We absolutely love it. Comfortable, lovely gardens and pool, delicious breakfast. A short walk to the center of town. The property is located between Roman ruins and asylum where Van Gogh spent time and painted. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially with dinner reservations in town. For us a plus is having our pooch, Gari with us from time to time. He loves the garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful town, friendly staff, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a room facing the garden and sun; our was towards the back of the hotel, perhaps because there was no availability on the other rooms. The breakfast buffet was limited (not enough savoury or healthy options) and slightly overpriced for the offering.

    The location near the Saint Paul de Mausole monastery is wonderful, and the landscape surrounding the hotel is beautiful. It is also walking distance from the centre of Saint Remy, a charming town. The hotel is cute and staff very friendly. The coffee at the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Satisfactory enhanced by an extremely friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moving luggage a bit difficult because no hard pavement on walkways or parking lot. Room small, perhaps 17-18 square meters. No comfortable seating either in room or on dedicated patio.

    Did not use restaurant because expensive beyond our budget.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.0
    It was a good stop over and we were not disappointed. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom decor was very dated and bathroom need modernising.

    Swimming pool was a bonus and the restaurant was excellent, one could sit in the garden under plane trees and drink or eat. The evening meal and breakfast were above parr. Staff were lovely. Receptionist was an expection, but one can't win them all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful settings, an amazing Provencal/Southern France style with touch of ancient roman villa, spacious, airy, clean and very relaxing. Amazing pool to use and relax next to, overall an extraordinary experience. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location across the street from the monistary where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room in the Bastide
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a little fresher smelling around the toilet.

    Amazing location across the street from the monistary where van Gogh recuperated and painted, as well as Roman ruins and antiquities. Lovely garden seeing for le petit dejeuner and le diner. Very nice food. Sweet quiet rooms. Wonderful pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for visiting the Roman ruins!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on Mondays so we had to go into town. The highway noise was too loud for us. The mini fridge was barely cool for beverages we had with us.

    Since the map didn't have a km scale, I wish it had been noted that the hotel was easy walking distance from Les Antiques and the Glanum Roman ruins. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    A Favorite!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a return visit. It's location is on the outskirts of town a short distance from the center. The property is surrounded by historical sites. Friendly staff, lovely gardens, perfect for walking our dog & a doggie bar in the garden. We definitely will return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location near the Roman ruins was very convenient. Walking to the village was a reasonable 10-15 minutes. Staff was very friendly and answered all our question even though we spoke only English.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Perfect spot to spend four nights exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room in the Bastide
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Three in a room was tight. Wished the restaurant had been open, however it was off season.

    Convenient location to other areas such as Arles, Nimes, Orange, Avignon, Les Beaux, etc. Gated grounds in the evening. Close to town and restaurants. Nice grounds with pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Lovely Garden Property (especially if you are traveling with a dog)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our 4th visit. Great location a short walk to Roman archeological site & the asylum where Vincent Van Gogh was treated. Perfect location especially if you are traveling with your dog.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Delightful charming Provencial style accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although booking.com indicates the reception is open from 8:00- 20:00 we found this was not the case. It was closed from 12:30 to 16:00 which caused us some problems as we arrived at 14:00 when they were closed, the gate was locked and it was pouring with rain.

    We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. The superior double room was a nice size - very comfortable, practical set up with good air conditioning. Staff were friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was good with nicely brewed coffee - thankfully not from a machine which is common place these days. Car parking on site and the location is good just outside St Remy. It was a nice 10 minute walk into St Remy and only a couple of minutes to the archaeological site and Van Gogh hospital. Nice garden and pool area - although the cold weather did not offer us the opportunity to enjoy it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Convenient stop to visit Glannum and Les Baux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from parking to rooms to carry luggage.

    Excellent breakfast taken in very pleasant garden. Short drive into Saint Remy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, super location, great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, super location, great pool. Loved it😍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    We had a wonderful time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, but we made it work.

    I loved the little terrace outside our room, the pool and the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better mattress on the bed.

    Breakfast was good. Bed a little too hard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    It disappointed a lot more money than shown on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It disappointed a lot more money than shown on website

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Little ants in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little ants in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Gorgeous French Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful gardens. Lovely breakfast. Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great oasis close to town and next to Roman ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use fresh paint.

    Great location with free parking. Nice pool. Very relaxing area. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Very nice and cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy place. Typical for Pvovance region. Situated in a charming garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    we cut our stay here short. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and tired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Pool, walkable to town, close to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy road close by.

    Pool, walkable to town, close to attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff good ppol
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen in the evening beef was hard food was not hot

    Friendly staff good ppol

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location if you have a car or don't mind a 20min walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms getting a bit tired.

    Location and swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Location, staff, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic on highway next to property

    Location, staff, pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi

    An amazing and natural garden and very nice staff. Very peacful atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.9
    location romantica
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location romantica

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room in the Bastide
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place, great location, lovely staff, rooms are comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Comfortable bed, quiet & beautiful surroundings,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Comfortable bed, quiet & beautiful surroundings, excellent food--breakfast and dinners. The staff was always friendly & helpful. The hotel was set in a garden with a patio under beautiful trees and flowering shrubs.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    4.6
    Nothing was above merely adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are much smaller than the website photos suggest. Noise can be heard from the road, constant traffic. Restaurant staff is lackadaisical. Grounds and pool are unkempt.

    Nothing was above merely adequate.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.9
    All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was advertised as having a private patio but the small area with other occupants passing in full view was not what I expected.

    All the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Relaxing getaway in a charming location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needed more time in Provence. Maybe a week next trip.

    Relaxing getaway in a charming location. Excellent restaurant, or a short walk into St Remy for other choices. Staff was MOST helpful in translating for us when we had problems with our rental car. And amazing ruins at Glanum within walking distance. Great location for visiting Arles, Avignon, Pont du Gard.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.2
    An excellent location of hotel with both the Van Gogh asylum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A shame that the restaurant was closed. However, they recommended a very good restaurant in the town.

    An excellent location of hotel with both the Van Gogh asylum and the roman city walkable. Traditional French building with delightful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was professional,friendly, and extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was professional,friendly, and extremely helpful. We needed info on the Camargue and were given not only the info but also some specific suggestions on what we might like to do.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was fine, comfortable, in a location that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were misled and told (very clearly) that the breakfast was 2 euros per meal. They later charged us 11 euros per meal. That ended up costing us an extra $100 over what we thought we were in for (extra 10–20% cost). We got into an argument. They refused to honor their own mistake and made their customers pay for it.

    The hotel was fine, comfortable, in a location that we preferred.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    9.2
    Easy to find and right across the street from the VanGogh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We watched another guest stuff her purse with pastries at breakfast, leaving little left for others. It was not the hotel's fault but frustrating to see someone do this.

    Easy to find and right across the street from the VanGogh trail. The room had AC on a hot night and wifi was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Lovely place with nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't connect my laptop on the wifi (just the IPhone) and the signal was very poor. On the pool they sould provide some umbrellas.

    Lovely place with nice pool. The hotel is very close to the Saint-Paul de Mausolée Asylum, where Van Gogh lived one year.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location, walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing at all. We were really pleased with our choice.

    Lovely hotel in a great location, walking distance from (gorgeous) town centre and very close to other tourist attractions. The restaurant is one of the best we tried in our 6 night holiday within Provence and South of France. Lovely and helpful staff and swimming pool was also really good!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    We liked the location which is very quiet (outside of town),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we had was a little small. There is no A/C, but for us in late May, it was not a problem The WiFi was complicated to set, but they are supposed to upgrade it to make it easier. No streaming.

    We liked the location which is very quiet (outside of town), and very close to the Glanum Roman ruins. The restaurant is also very nice. There is a nice pool but we did not use it.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.1
    Helpful receptionist on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large ant infestation in bathroom. We asked to move and were given a bigger room. Hotel restaurant was closed on Thursday but we were able to walk to a restaurant nearby which was good.

    Helpful receptionist on arrival. Lovely pool in quiet pretty setting. Superb breakfast. Lots of choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff and a quiet and peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff and a quiet and peaceful location. Easy walk to the town centre and the sights. Lovely garden setting and a relaxing and comfortable pool side lounging area.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    7.5
    The pool and its proximity from our bastide room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't get air-con to work at night. Our loo overflowed the first time we used it, and we had to change rooms. At first they suggested that we use the hotel loo, until they fixed it, but we insisted on moving to a different room.

    The pool and its proximity from our bastide room. The Van Gogh sanitarium is right across the road, and well worth a visit. St Remy's Wednesday market is also a must!

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Everything - have a room with a terrace, a little bit of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything - have a room with a terrace, a little bit of spring sunshine. Restaurant, delicious. Pretty grounds right next to Van Gogh & Roman ruins. 15 mins nice walk into village.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Best food we had in France, warm and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are basic but charming

    Best food we had in France, warm and welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    7.5
    Felt safe and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't see nearly as pretty as the photos. More like a motel.

    Felt safe and secure. Clean and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    clean Rooms, great staff, Provance style hotel, value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny rooms.

    clean Rooms, great staff, Provance style hotel, value for money . Very close to many must see sites.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very charming...great location, warm, helpful and friendly staff! Great outside area to sit and enjoy a glass of wine.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    The atmosphere and character of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere and character of the place.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    Perfect location almost across the street from Glanum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Norhing

    Perfect location almost across the street from Glanum archaeologist site

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    We loved the setting and the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We loved the setting and the pool. We also appreciated the new sidewalk across the street that leads right into St. Rémy.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    All Staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    All Staff were amazing

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    Thé swimming-pool and excellent food and beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thé noise of the road nearby whith quiet à lot of trafic- décoration quiet old fashiond

    Thé swimming-pool and excellent food and beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!!

    10/10

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful swimming pool and excellent breakfasts
    • Couple

    Beautiful swimming pool and excellent breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.1
    Near saint remy town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Aircon was leaking.

    Near saint remy town centre. Decent sized rooms. Relatively clean beds.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Very welcoming and helpful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Comfortable beds. Beautiful garden to relax in.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    10
    The hotel has an excellent location to visit the wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has an excellent location to visit the wonderful sites in the area.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: