Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Villa Mauresque 5 stars

1792 Route De La Corniche, 83700 Saint-Raphaël, France

#2 of 29 hotels in Saint-Raphaël

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not afive star hotel .... not even 4 star !! room not prepared well . tv is not working . internet very slow ! but staff tried their best to help .

    the garden was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that the hotel lends itself to offering a yoga class and I am sure people would be willing to pay a little extra for this.

    The hotel and staff were fabulous. The huge bed was extremely comfortable with beautiful bed linen. The food was very good but not a huge choice on the menu. Very quiet and peaceful surroundings which offers a little bit of luxury for the traveller.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our “Superior Deluxe Room” seemed according to the floor plan the smallest in the main house and was too small to accommodate all our luggage and property without it being a squeeze. This was certainly a small room for the price paid! The toilet was in the smallest sized cubicle I have ever been and it was difficult to extend one’s knees out! The hotel is out of town from most of the shops, restaurants and local amenities and so one needs a car or taxi to access these.

    A small boutique hotel in a converted Moorish style mansion part of which overlooks the Mediterranean Sea. The property has been tastefully updated with modern amenities and has beautifully tendered gardens and a fine restaurant offering a limited menu. We enjoyed our stay here. The bathroom was well appointed with separate shower and huge spa jet bath which had a mind of its own and would suddenly start spraying water! Breakfast buffet was more than adequate although the service was not good. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking facilities very limited and shocked to have to pay to park at the hotel. We forgot our toothbrushes and toothpaste and requested some. Nothing turned up. There are a few complimentary toiletries but not an essential one like toothbrush/toothpaste. I've stayed at many luxury hotels where these are provided.

    Wonderful, friendly staff. Beautiful bedroom. Delicious evening meal - though expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience at the restaurant was not so enjoyable. We decided to have dinner at Le Bougainvillier on our first night and found the food to be greatly overpriced; average €30+ for an entrée, €47 for a main and €24 for dessert! If the food and service lived up to the price tag, we would have happily paid, but for us it fell way short. After receiving our main, we decided not to take dessert. The breakfast buffet could also been improved. The hot food items (besides the scrambled eggs) were just left out to turn cold. It would have been nice to have warm crêpes and pancakes. Many of the other food items were left unprotected/uncovered for hours. I feel this would not have been a problem for those having an earlier breakfast, but for those of us eating later (9am), it was not a good experience. Some of the cheese and charcuterie were dried and stuck to the plate. On a positive note, the range of food offered was quite good.

    We greatly appreciated the management at La Villa Mauresque upgrading us, free of charge, after we were mistakenly given a room that was no longer available by Booking.com. This was a very nice gesture, and the room that we had was beautiful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and drink a bit pricey but given the standard, probably justified.

    Exclusive 5* hotel - very high standards. Well maintained. Fascinating architecture. Eclectic furnishings. Lovely pools with four poster curtained pool lounger outside our room. Well kept gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    A wonderful place but rough in the small details. No explanations given for using television.....and a really poor paint job throughout. Incredible staff and grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night noise - room above and kitchen staff Parking tight.

    Management outstanding in charm,respect and problem response - highly professional. Location and outlook/views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location not great for eating - St Raphael very touristy, hard to find very good restaurants. Options in Boulouris limited. Restaurant on site quite expensive and an acquired menu - not one for the fussy eaters (which we are) - breakfasts very expensive as was the snack bar. 32 euro for a burger is very extreme!!

    Lots to do, very relaxing atmosphere with big room and very helpful staff. Loved the jacuzzi and boat facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was adequate, not as plentiful as in the past. If you arrived after the breakfast start time then most food had already been taken and the plates were not replenished - cold meats and smoked salmon specifically. One time we had nearly finished our food before the coffee arrived ..... Did not eat at the gastronomic restaurant as the cost was out of our budget.

    Giacometti room's bathroom has been refurbished since our last visit and was lovely. Additional private outside space a bonus. Villa sits literally next to the Med so a lovely view from the garden. Totally relaxing, staff good and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money quite bad. Construction details were not at 5 star level. Sunbed was not clean at all, air conditioning motors right on terrasse not even dissimulated... painting not well done in the room...

    Landscape and situation are wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Very few local bars, restaurants and shops. Also prices charged for breakfast and drinks are to much for what it was.

    It was luxurious, clean and felt almost like it was in a tropical location with the beautiful grounds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this quality of hotel and restaurant, the breakfast was surprisingly average. The hotel charges 25 EUR and does not even offer pancake, egg cooking station (extra eggs are extra paid) - you could increase the price to 30 EUR and not charge for an extra egg... We are now staying at the airport hotel which is 6 times cheaper and offers far better breakfast.

    Beatufil views, large room, great restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor changes in staff and management since the last visit. More staff, not so personal, now steering like a regular hotel. Miss the extra toutch and feeling for the coustomer in a five star hotel. The staff is nice and they se you, the steering sets the feeling above i think!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I disliked. Travelers should be aware that the location is suburban - a little too far to walk into town. I don't think that is an issue as most guests seem to have their own Maserati and want the retreat anyway.

    A magnificent property, gorgeous views, superb food. Tasteful design, great amenities, grandeur, serenity. One of the best hotels stays I can recall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet (Wi-Fi) really needs improvement, I had some side work to do, it was impossible. In a modern world, Wi-Fi shall work even in Paradise. For the rest – staff make super effort to make you feel great! Little suggestions on our side – better training to less experienced room service staff, as not all little details get attention equally from day to day, which you would expect in a hotel with this status and price. But this is not criticism, rather just a way to be even better.

    Great Hotel, great and welcoming and polite staff, superb dining, great sommelier! Special place for special moments. My wife had birthday and we loved the few days in this great spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few amenities within walking distance No separate bathroom area only the toilet was private

    Gardens and outdoor areas very beautiful Scenery picturesque

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much clothes storage in room. Restaurant very expensive.

    Fantastic location, friendly helpful staff, rooms well equipped and clean. Lovely soft towels and a good shower. Games facilities (table tennis and badminton and gym.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole experience was very disjointed. No service at the pool. Had to ask reception for towels. Service in the fine dining restaurant was very amateurish. Very little atmosphere around the place no bar in the evening. Room was small and not very luxurious.

    Beautiful location by the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was somewhat over-priced. The restaurant decidedly so. It came to 350 Euros for two adults on the night we used it. We were therefore expecting something on a par with one Michelin star. Sadly, the food was quite disappointing. The restaurant staff were inexperienced, and bar service by the pool was incredibly slow. In fact, we gave up with it, and bought our own beer in from the local Spa.

    Hotel has a nicely exclusive feel to it. The Rimbaud Suite is excellent. Great decor. Right next to the med. Its own jacuzzi. Grounds are private and discreet. There's a small area of private 'beach' (a few rocks), but that doesn't detract from a fantastic location. WiFi was good too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screw found behind sink in bathroom, leak under basin unit. Both attended to satisfactorily and immediately with sincere apology and without hesitation.

    Staff were exceptional. Attentive without being intrusive. Accommodated every special request in advance via email. Cannot praise them enough. Will definitely be visiting again. The hotel and grounds were stunning and there was a great juxtaposition of old architecture with modern appliances and facilities. The boat house and access to the beach were a quaint touch. Located in a serene neighbourhood; ideally close enough to busier areas but detached enough to appreciate privacy and calm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room itself could have been bigger but the outside space more than made up for it.

    The staff were amazing and the location was perfect. There was only one restaurant, open evening only, on site but the food was incredible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of serviced bar facility - may be due to out of season stay?

    The setting, grounds and views from the illusion pool were tremendous. Staff were attentive and wonderfully helpful. Exuded style and class!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance. Small things for the price, from the spa temperature to the frozen 75€ per person dinner.

    How the property is situated to the ocean. The interior. The natural spaces.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small for the price .

    Service was excellent, facilities awesome ! Staff were very good also . The property just takes your breath away when you walk around .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really poor with regard of the level and quality of this place.

    The place is absolutely wonderful. The private pool was also extremely cool....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in restaurant were a little high room was quite small but comfortable

    I liked the location very tranquil and peaceful helpful polite staff,cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a beautiful place, staff and location!! Wish we could have stayed longer! We went to St Tropez one day because it was cloudy, what a mistake, we should have never left. I can't say enough good things about it, Just do it and go!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures don't do justice to the villa. It is very beautiful and the many little extras- like a Nespresso coffee machine in the room ( free) or towels for the beach-make it seem luxurious. The staff go out of their way to help without being intrusive. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note

    A memorable holiday, staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, breakfast on the terrace gets you off to a good start every day with a stunning view out to sea, dinner was an appropriate standard, room, garden, relaxation facilities all very good. Although the area is well worth exploring we spent four of our five days in the hotel. A perfect place for a special occasion, we will definitely return

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best place for a summer holiday ever! Beautiful gardens just to the sea, beautiful villa, good gourmet restaurant, private beach with equipment for water sports, two swimming pools, two jacuzzi, perfect breackfast.... And the most important - all the staff was incredible!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the fee for the parking. Should be included into the price of the room.

    wonderful place, with great service. As my husband had a birthday, I asked the hotel to organize a cake - they werw very helpfull and supportive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we were very picky, the decor could do with updating in places. More period elegance with quirks than sleek high end contemporary.

    Excellent seafront location with beautiful gardens and private access to the sea. Walking distance to restaurants for all budgets. Excellent attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - The standard room in the rear building is to small (less then 15sqm with the bath, not 20sqm which is written), and it's realy noisy because the building is directly next to the main road. Not a good value for price. - They has a realy special kitchen for dinner, but the breakfast is average like in every hotel.

    - The standard room wasn't good for us and we could upgrade for an excellent one for a realy favorable discount price. This was a good value for price. - Kitchen

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the personal touch: handwritten cards with "goodnight - sleep tight" and hot water bottles to warm our bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charges!

    Fabulous staff and food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main pool happened to be rather cold Room wasn't that shown on Booking.com website

    The shower and towels the spectacular view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Too remote for the price & terrible wifi.

    Restaurant, pool areas, comfy sun loungers, comfy bed, excellent staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was fantstic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ciuld be cleaner

    Bed and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost to park car €10 per night

    The accommodation was beautiful. Staff were attentive and very friendly. The location was quiet with stunning views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice in restaurant

    Very relaxing comfortable hotel directly overlooking sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Spectacular view, fantastic service, relaxing and romantic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Reception Staff were excellent. Plenty of comfy sunbeds . rooms excellent standard very spacious. quality toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Excellent food, both dinners and breakfast. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive

    Great terrace and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything, great staff, the most picturesque location, fabulous building and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegance Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real Italian Experience

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was spotty. Probably a good thing.

    The property is beautiful. The staff is there to help you and make your experience great. Loved my time there.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved our stay, but In our room, Some details like an old and not nice toilet room that is far away from the bathroom. At the jacuzzi solarium, too many huge spider nets.the breakfast buffet, although good, is not at the level of the restaurant/hotel.

    The view from our room was amazing! The staff is great. The location and gardens are beautiful. The restaurant is very good.the atmosphere is superb!the jacuzzi solarium has a great sea view!!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The superb customer service - the whole team of Villa is not only fully proactive - but surprised us many, many times. From the very beginning of our stay, we felt that place is runned with passion and joy. People help each other, so that the guests could take the best of their stay. This means the highest quality is the main characteristic, that comes to our mind once thinking about this place. Recommend 200% to stay in. Bravo to the whole team - starting from the professional and charming lady, that did every-day service to our room, restaurant service and finishing with reception. Wishing all the best to that place, we are 200% satisfied.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No communal indoor sitting areas.

    Excellent location close to St. Raphael, with beautiful gardens going down to the sea. Plenty of seating/sunbeds in the gardens. Several outdoor swimming pools/jacuzzis. Excellent personal service. High quality breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    access to and from the autoroute, and access to other parts of Cote d'Azure

    Incredible private villa, amazing restaurant, impeccable staff, and right on an impressive stretch of coastline.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi-fi in the room; Very limited choice for a breakfast; parking fee; very expensive additions: food/ minibar etc.

    Great, ideal location; Beautiful & groomed garden; two pools, several jacuzzi places

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In Giacometti Room one side of the bed had a hollow. I would sleep with a pillow in the hollow which stopped me rolling into it! I slept well after that! We shared the patio with a steady stream of ants but they didn't bother us and we didn't bother them! Having read on the website that there had been a total refurbishment I must admit to having expected a more modern shower but it worked so never mind. I was also surprised to see obvious patches of wall in the bedroom and bathroom which were possibly crumbling behind the paint work or damp but as the website states it is an old building. I just did not expect to see it. I thought the bathroom small but it served its purpose. I thought the breakfast at 23 euros per person was expensive but we did have the breakfast every day and enjoyed the view and fine weather on the terrace. Nothing extraordinary about the breakfast items - the usual expected at a buffet breakfast in France save that smoked salmon was also available - and yes, it was delicious. We did not have evening meals considering them expensive but it is a "gastronomic restaurant". There are a few restaurants at Boulouris Port which we frequented more than once. This is an honest opinion but overall would I go back - most definitely.

    Lovely gardens where there was peace and quiet to be able to relax, overlooking the sea. There was a cooling breeze coming off the Med which was very welcome in the heat. We had a quiet Elegance Room set back away from the view but closed in and secluded by more garden. There was a heated outdoor pool twenty paces away from our room which had a covered patio with arm chairs so we could sit and relax there if we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi can be slow at times, but then in these beautiful surroundings you shouldn't really do any work or surf the internet! The cheapest room is a bit small.

    Beautiful garden (even nicer than on the photos), beautiful view on the sea, very good breakfast, very friendly staff. The restaurant is expensive but worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    just everything was oke :)

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stay was too short

    Staff made it perfect

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service was impeccable, the hotel was perfection. Amazing stay. Everything was just amazing

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff and scenery

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location. Fascinating old buildings. Swimming pools

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: