Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Résidence 3 stars

18, Rue Victor Hugo, 2nd arr., 69002 Lyon, France

#51 of 113 hotels in Lyon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2205 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Recommends to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning starts too early (~9am). Coffee was not the best quality.

    clean bathroom / perfect location / good wifi. there is a grocery store just around a corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    3.8
    Most of the staff was quite nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs a paint job, bleach job and reno job. The lobby is ok. Elevator is tiny!! It was hard to fit more than a couple people and couple suitcases all at once. The hallways need to be repainted and carpets changed. They look old and warn out. The rooms need the same uplift. Carpets and paint. The bathrooms need to be bleached and scrubbed from top to bottom. The toilet is separate (that's good) but is just filthy (that's bad). Smells like a public restroom in there and the bowl where the water sits was stained. I had to hold my nose just to use it. All the doors were filthy. The decorative pillows. What can I say... They're leather. Just throw away all decorative pillows in hotels. Just don't have any. Sleeping pillows... One pillow per person seems stingy! Is there a pillow shortage in France? Why only one per person everywhere we went?

    Most of the staff was quite nice. Asides from the man who checked me out who was your typical French attitude man. (I'm French, I can say this!) The hotel is well located, walking distance to pretty much everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Very bad hospitality, and low condition of facilities. The location was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful, the behavior of the receptionist at the checking was unacceptable, we had asked a quiet room, and he gave to us the most noisy room in the hotel. When we complained for the noisy room the receptionist answered if you don’t like you can leave! Also the layers of the beds had scores which tweaked us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and surely nice for leisure travels, but for business travel not so much.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel is refurbished and offers modern interior design and facilities, it is obvious that the building is old and the doors do not provide an appropriate noise block. They also shut very strongly and make a lot of noise. Hence you can hear everything through the walls -kids, neighbours, elevator etc. For business travel and proper resting I wouldn't stay here again. Also, the toilet in my room smelled strongly of urin -the walls absorb any spills I suppose, which makes a female experience unpleasant.

    The staff is very very nice and helpful. The hotel is located in a really central area from which you can explore everything. The hotel is refurbished and offers visually appealing interior design.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    A convenient overnight stay, close to amenities and sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit of a squeeze for two people and had little space for our things. Doors that banged instead of closing softly.

    Cheerful receptionists who tried to help with info required. Great location near the main square. Nice to have another interior door in the room to shut out any noise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice small hotel in downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very good, in downtown, everything is accessible by walking, rooms are small but clean, breakfast is ok. Staff are friendly and very helpful, the reception gave me lots of tips for sightseeing and suggested places to visit and eat. They also have a nespresso machine in the lobby which I highly appreciate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel with Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning struggled and was noisy.

    Hotel is located in a nice part of Lyon. Although the building looks old from outside, the rooms have been nicely renovated. The hotel and the surrounding area has some charm. The receptionists are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly welcome, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is small, and a bit of a squeeze for a wheelchair. The tables in the breakfast room are very close together and difficult for a wheelchair to manoeuvre around.

    Friendly welcome, attentive staff. The hotel is ideally situated near one of the main squares in Lyon, within walking distance of the main tourist sites. The bed was amazingly comfortable! The room was quiet and we appreciated the air-conditioning during particularly hot weather. The disabled facilities were good with a large shower room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    booked hotel last minute due to a cancellation of another...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    booked hotel last minute due to a cancellation of another hotel. this hotel was brilliant and turned out to be better location, the staff were friendly and helpful especially the irish girl on reception. The location was great, it was clean, spacious enough and quiet. i would definitely book this hotel again if or when i return to lyon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    good value for money and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nil

    location, as well as the breakfast selection. Staff were extremely helpful in helping to find and reserve local restaurants, as well as arranging for transportation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a couple nights to visit the heart of Lyon on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small, but totally fair and to be expected for this location, budget and 1 night stay.

    Location. It's ideal for a short trip, couple nights trip. The rooms are quite small, but standard to be honest if you book a hotel at the heart of a big city. Don't feel discouraged by the looks of the corridors, the rooms are pretty nice and clean, carpet looked brand new.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The position is ideal as you’re about 15 min walk from...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t have much to say in this section but if I really had to write something, I would say the fact that the elevator was slow.

    The position is ideal as you’re about 15 min walk from historical Lyon (vieux Lyon) and some major tourist attractions of Lyon as well as the last stop of the TGV from Paris. A lot of shops around the hotel also makes it an idea place for shopping lovers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel very close to place bellecoeur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room but the air conditioning worked and it was clean. Perfectly adequate room for a 3 star hotel

    Great location in the middle of the city. Close to everything and clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older style motel with decor to go with.

    Great location, right on the pedestrian shopping street and close to Perrache train station and metro. Plenty of choices for cafés and restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    The beds were comfortable, and its a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was road works being carried out, on the street below, which would have been uncomfortable if we stayed in the room during the day.

    The beds were comfortable, and its a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.6
    i could sleep but for the rest....not so pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room is too small very noisy in the night deco is outdated carpet on the floor tiny elevator and very slow key system from 18th century

    the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Location is perfect however on a pedestrian street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevators were not working when we arrived so had to bring 4 suitcases up 3 floors. It was fixed the next day. Our room wasn't renovated so not as in pictures. The tub was chipped and moldy.

    Location is perfect however on a pedestrian street. We arrived late so we were able to drop off our luggage from our car in front of the hotel. Not certain it would be feasible during the day. It is a busy street with shops. Not free parking lot is close, a 5-minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    first night was very hot as the AC wasn't working; next day we got moved to a different room thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole block is under construction; very noisy also in hotel- thin walls you can hear everything above and around

    location is great, straight shot to the pedestrian bridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    A great little find in Lyon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy access to metro and within walking distance to key landmarks and restaurants. We ate breakfast at the hotel each day and found it great value for money. Staff were friendly and rooms were well sized.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Bedroom clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ongoing building works means outside means traffic diversions. Car perking difficult and recommended parking with reservation is a 8 minute walk.

    Bedroom clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely firm. Not to my liking. Toilet was constantly running. Heard them try to unclog another toilet around midnight. Fixtures are old.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable hotel in a great location with nice folks at the desk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our triple room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was air conditioned, which was a good thing, because we had to keep the windows closed at night because of mosquitos. There was a safe in the room, which we used to stash our passports, etc. We loved the location as it was quite close to Place Bellecour, an easy reference point when you're trying to find your way around the city. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Good option for a short visit to Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    The hotel is very well located, walking distance from all important attractions and metro/train stations. Room was confortable and spotless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    On the whole reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work and the staff did not care. Room was on the pedestrian walkway and very noisy. Had to leave the windows open so sleep was irratic . Found out that if booked directly with the hotel cost of our room would have been about 40 euros less. Interesting!

    Had a lift. Hotel centrally located in the old town. Room large . Good bathroom. Staff called for our taxi. Easy to walk to a variety of places. Breakfast okay. Nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Good location but would not stay there again considering the price v comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very tired hotel. Shower room had hairs in the shower and on the floor. The pillows were ridiculous, the size of a postage stamp, the extra pillows were bigger but very lumpy. The air-conditioning was ineffectual, it was a hot night and it was cooler with the window open.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    A one night stop off (with dog) on way back to UK.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really difficult to find parking nearby (but we knew about this in advance of visit.)

    Bedroom was really nice - just like the pictures we'd seen advertised. Also, the breakfast was excellent and in a nice room as well as good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Not recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature in the hotel was not comfortable, very hot in the room as well as in the restaurant with no ventilation. Room was not clean. The little crib for the baby had no mattress so not nice for the baby to sleep in. Room was small for 2 adults and 2 kids. Breakfast was really poor, there was even no milk for the kids. I asked for some milk for the baby bottle and they only had cold milk, they did not even offer to warm it up a bit. No service at all in the restaurant, we had to search for a baby chair ourselves in a super busy and small space. We asked for recommendation on restaurants and the lady at the reception was not really friendly and helpful. Not recommended, definitely not for families with small kids.

    The location. The hotel is located in a nice pedestrian street, well positioned in the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable for two, freshly renovated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable for two, freshly renovated and by overlooking the inner yard very quiet, just as I hat requested. Excellent location and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Room was perfectly adequate,nothing special but ok if you need a cheap base to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of car parking, nearest available was 10min walk and cost €55 for 48hrs. Hotel only has a single elevator so long wait to check out. Some noise from street at night.

    Good location and relatively cheap compared to other centre hotels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect choice if you want to vist Lyon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just small things: 1- Hair dryer not comfortable. Enough to dry hair but not good for hairstyling. 2- No curtain or some barrier at bathroom, so it is very hard not to make all the floor wet taking a bath.

    Location is excellent! Everything is close in a walking distance to the majority of touristic attractions. Other can be reached easily by public transportation which stops close to the hotel. Comfortable room to take a rest after trips. Clean. Good windows sounds isolation. There is a safe and air conditioner (we didn't use it) and hitting (we didn't use it also). Bathroom big enough and clean. There is a hairdryer and a safe. Stuff is very nice and helping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    Great short stay near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection was so so.

    Hotel is centrally located in 2nd district and very close to transportation, shopping and eateries. Room is dated (given hotel age) but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hot room where the air conditioning didn’t work / heating couldn’t be adjusted. We cooked!

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff. Comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    excellent location, near to restaurants, shops. Reception staff attentive and responsive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leave your car in 1 place to avoid the hassle of hunting for parking. We arrived on a Thursday lunchtime hour, so there were lots of vehicles about. As it was a working day, most parking slots in the nearby streets were occupied and EXPENSIVE (€11.00 for 2-hours!?). Reception directed me to basement parking garage (€24.00 for about 20-hrs).

    The hotel is not really where you would lounge about as it is in an excellent location. So much to see and eat(!). Treat it as your base from where you would do lots of exploring.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely BooKooJu weekend in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door didn't close properly, didn't feel the safest when unoccupied.

    The location was fantastic! We literally visited everything on foot, although renting a bike would be a good idea to move quicker from places to places. The staff was very helpful and friendly as well. We arrived before check-in time and the receptionist arranged to give us a room already cleaned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    A great Location in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Simple breakfast was really good value. The Location was perfect - at a Metro multi line station and walking distance to Old Lyon and its restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and for a short journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Streets around the hotel are noisy at night on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Bed was not comfy.

    Very central in Lyon. Everything is at walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Clean Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I returned to my room late afternoon on Sunday to find the room had been cleaned (great!) but a little bit later I heard someone loudly entering each of the rooms around my room. He was letting the doors slam loudly as he went. Fortunately, I went to my door just in time as he was unlocking my door to enter. I had to push on the door to stop him from entering. I did not hear 'excuse me' or 'sorry' (in French or English). I did not find out what his purpose was to enter the room since it had already been cleaned. I still heard him a little bit later and looked out into the hallway. He just looked at me and returned to whatever he was doing at a bureau in the hallway. On my final night, the wifi connection 'expired.' I called reception and he did not know the reason and suggested I continue trying or go to the lobby where the connection was better. (I was never able to reconnect again in my room.)

    It was a quiet location and a 10-15 minute walk to a row of restaurants and shops. The bed and pillows were comfortable (look in the closet for bigger, fluffier pillows). The room and bathroom were clean and it was quiet at night on the 5th floor. At checkout the gentleman at the front desk showed me how to take the metro to the train station. Very helpful directions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage was a few blocks away and since the street where the hotel is located has restricted access we had to carry the bags back and forth.

    It's a nice hotel, not luxurious but well kept and clean. The location is convenient as it has many shops and restaurants nearby. The room was on the smallish side, which is normal for Europe, but quite and comfy. The breakfast was surprisingly good for the 9€ we paid. Overall is a good choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Great staff, recommended restaurants, helped us a lot.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small cosy rooms, mattress is no luxury. Partner did not fit confortably into short French-sized double bed; had to get their quadruple room. 1st floor room near breakfast & elevator NOISY! Bad wifi access from room, but ok downstairs.

    It's the 3rd time I stay there, sure to return. I love the position, Victor Hugo is a pedestrian street full of bio-markets, patisseries (Chez Jules fresh squeezed juice, cappuccino and all the salty or sweet pastries you can enjoy for breakfast). If you cross Place Bellecour you have the Carre D'Or shopping, fountains, movies. Just across the bridge is Vieux Lyon, also pedestrian, with renaissance and Roman ruins.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not always possible to park car close to hotel to unload. WiFi failed sometimes.

    Very central location. Nice, clean. We booked a quadruple room, they proposed a free upgrade to two separate rooms next to each other. The safe covered cheap parking is a few minutes walk from the hotel. You cannot park your car just in front of the hotel ( pedestrian street), but you do can park the car shortly ( up to half hour) in the crossing street just around the corner to unload and ask about covered parking location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for a long weekend trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable for my taste. The style of the hotel and specially the furniture of the bedroom is a bit dated.

    Hotel room was sufficiently large and had the facilities as announced and one could expect for the kind of hotel. The room on itself was ok and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was complete. The hotel is well located in a reasonably quiet shopping street. Shops, access to public transport, and the old city are all nearby walking distance. There are also many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Cozy stay in Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The hotel is cute and d cozy, the rooms have the feel of an antique boutique hotel which perfectly matches with the atmosphere of the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    The location is excellent, very close to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was quite old needs an upgrade of facilities.

    The location is excellent, very close to public transportation, shops and restaurant. The rooms are quite basic but sufficient for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    A good base for exploring Lyon.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was very basic and in need of updating. Other parts of the hotel seemed more modern.

    The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Lyon within easy walking distance of the Old Town and good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Very bice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We entered in and went out of the hotel many times during our stay and saw several different faces in the reception desk. Not once we have been asked who we are. If we are clients. Anyone can basically come in and go to the floors and the rooms. Since no checks is done ! We asked for our key that was hanging visibly at the entry... and could have asked for any key we wanted. No check is done. I then decided to keep the key with me the whole time. Some improvements could ve done on security here. Parking is not at thall hotel but 250 m away in the aame street. It is a valey parking. Good service. Trustable.

    The location is in the center. Great area. Breakfast offered to the kids since they dont seem to have kids rates. Friendly welcome. Car can park on front of door to check in/out. Elevator Charming building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location in the city Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower was cold. Parking not on location but 400 m further down the street in a private garage. Not included in the price.

    Great location in the city Center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Hotel central for walking to all main places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel central to places of interest.Room cleaned daily with fresh towels and top up of toiletries and beverages. Was allocated newly renovated triple bedroom which was clean and comfortable. Everything you need for a short break in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable, but the duvet cover was too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The duvet. A very light blanket or coverlet

    The bed was very comfortable, but the duvet cover was too warm for the season. Also there was always someone to open the door when I could not insert the key properly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, really.

    Best thing about La Residence is its location. It is perfect for a brief stay at Lyon, where I was with the family. It is just a couple of blocks from Place Bellecour and a short walk from old Lyon, the Cathedral of Jean Baptiste, the Basilique Notre Dame de Fourviere and all the charming restaurants in that area. There are a couple of metro stations nearby (Bellecour and Ampere Victor Hugo) both within two blocks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    We really enjoyed staying in this friendly city and the hotel was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows - we each had a plastic pillow and a normal linen pillow which was a bit odd!

    This was overall good value for a city break and the breakfast reflected the cost. It was simple but satisfactory and just right for a 3 star hotel. Much better than another hotel we stayed at in Orleans which was meant to be a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, comfortable and superbly situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A minor thing but the coffee in-room (instant) wasn't good, but there is a kettle and next time I would take a small cafetiere and some coffee, but then I hate instant coffee.

    The hotel is perfectly placed between the 2 rivers an a two minute walk from Place Bellcour (which contains the Tourist Information Office). It really is ideally placed for most attractions, we walked up to the Basilique Notre Dame (not for the faint hearted, and Halles de Lyon, plus most of the other attractions. The staff were helpful and courteous, the room/bathroom were of a good size an scrupulously clean with comfortable beds, we were in room 303 which overlooked a small square to the rear of the hotel and was very quiet. The buffet breakfast was served in a bright and airy room overlooking Rue Victor Hugo and included the usual, bacon and egg + continental choices, all nicely presented and tasty. If we were returning to Lyon we would definitely stay at La Residence again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. With a baby crib in the room , there was no place to open our bags !

    Excellent location. Public secured Parking available 5 mins walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Great stay with a family right in the centrum of Lyon!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you could not sleep with open window-as its too noisy at night (i closed the window at 6 am). but when we closed the window-the was not enough air (we putted into reservation-quite room request-but seems nobody cared) hotel in need a lit bit "renovation" ...we paid 125 euros (but we could pay 160 euros at nearby 5* hotel!) .... internet-was a lit bit slow-i asked to restart it.

    we arrived at about 21 h-and location is ideal-right on walking street.and our room-was really big (with 4 beds).i would say-that this hotel could become eassy Boutigue HOTEL-after some renovation. and view from our window-was to the opposite house -so we could see how normal french family lives (what they had for dinner and etc...). we had nice walk around the hotel in the evening and in the morning (i even had a swim in the river in the morning). really- i would love to comeback to Lyon-to the same HOTEL(if we would be 4 people) my wife was-imagining-who lived in our room before it become a hotel-as really big room was.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place to stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were both sure we had breakfast included in our booking but this wasnt the case and we are unsure if it changed without us being aware. We had both commented when making the booking on not being able to go to local petisserie as we might as well have breakfast in hotel as included.

    Extremely comfy room with a balcony overlooking a street. We had no problems with noise even on a Saturday night. Excellent location with metro station 5 minutes away. Toiletries provided and towels changed daily. Plenty of tea and coffee in room. TV worked well for BBC news. We were allowed to leave our bags in room behind reception desk on our last day as late flight. We didnt have beakfast as Brioch Dorie over road and we wanted to be out and about in the beautiful weather.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay to visit Lyon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay. We stayed at La Residence on our way to Provence and as we liked it the first time we changed our plans to come back to Lyon on our way back. Great central location, clean, comfortable rooms and a fantastic Boulangerie further down the street with amazing treats and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Stay here, close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking area provided, but to be fair, ride down in the elevator, walk 20 steps through lobby, and go sit on bench 20 steps in front of you.

    Beautiful hotel. AIR CONDITIINING! Staff very friendly and courteous. Our room was spacious. Bathroom perfect with full-sized tub and shower combo. Quiet. Breakfast buffet nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. It had all the amenities that one could find in a basic, but well-run hotel.

    Location. Main attractions like the old town and good restaurants are all within walking distance; subway and bus stations and the tourist information office are a short walk away. Our room was on the 3rd floor, off the street side, so it was quiet. The room was ample and clean, and the air conditioner worked. The staff were friendly and helpful in providing information and arranging transportation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Really good hotel for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi signal wasn't great

    Room was a really good size, the beds were very comfy, and the shower was very good. It is a great location for getting around the city although takes a while to and from the airport. There was an issue with the water on the last morning but we got a refund as an apology.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location of the hotel, but room needs an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed in quadrouple room on the 2nd floor, bathroom and toilet are old and require renovation, amenities could be better. Breakfast we didnt try.Key system for rooms also require an upgrade.

    Staff at the receiption desk were helpful and polite. Aircondition in the room was useful, not noisy. Also no noise from the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.3
    Not a Hotel for my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that I could not take a shower. I did not like that I could not brush my teeht with running water. I did not like that I could not flush the toilet I did not like that I could not operate the air-conditioning during hot nights. I did not like that I could not use the elevator when leaving the hotel with my bags. I did not like that I could ot get coffee when leaving I did not like that I could not sleep because the window had to be open for the airconditioning dit not work. .. and the noise outside was too loud. I know they had a bad day. .. But so did I and nobody cared

    I liked that the hotel did not charge me for the bottle of water I used to brush my teeth with and wash my hands in the sink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    We had a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good. with bacon and eggs so its a plus. Front desk was very helpful with my extra requests for printing documents and giving advise. Friendly too. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very hot time to be in Lyon but the hotel was air conditioned and very comfortable. Very good location and easy to find from the train station. Quite a few cafes etc within walking distance. Didn't have breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location & we're going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills, comfortable hotel in excellent location for Lyon's shopping area. The hotel is on a pedestrian street and does not have parking. If you are lucky you can park on a nearby street otherwise there are two underground car parks within walking distance on the hotel. There is also an extremely decadent patisserie on the same street that is open for breakfast. We've already booked our next stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    In the middle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't keep windows open in the evening because mosquitos came in and with airconditioning on( it was also quite noisy) the air make me cough, without it was too hot to four people to sleep in the same room (outside temperature around 30 c during the day, july). Wifi didn't work in our room (last one at the hallway, 3rd floor)

    Location perfect, in the middle of everything. Clean bathroom, beds ok, basic breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    Will not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small and pretty old, additional bed was of pretty bad quality, food in breakfast not property refilled, old elevator was broken when we checked-out, had to carry all luggage using stairs

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just about everything - small room size, poor plumbing (shower didn't drain and toilet threatened to over flow and made glugging noises), bad pillows, thin towels, plastic tardis-like shower with curved doors that didn't really shut and it was worn/unclean, a/c unit dripped water on to the carpet and did not cool efficiently, cheap and mean toiletries, walls and corners scuffed by suitcases - added up to something well below the value expected for the cost (100Euro per night for double room no breakfast). Location is in pedestrian shopping street of chain stores and franchise cafes which means it's close to eating and shopping of the type that will interest some visitors. The listing claimed it was recently renovated and that it was something more than the reality. It is just the kind of place that impairs your enjoyment of a short visit to a place you haven't been.

    The mattress was good and whoever was on the front desk was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and close to the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a light with movement sensor which was malfunctioning. We simply covered the sensor and told the hotel. The pillows were way too thin for us but the hotel gave us additional pillows the second we mentioned it. We liked Lyon and the hotel.

    We were on the top floor in what were most likely slightly smaller rooms - lower ceiling height. The finish was modern and overall the room was comfortable and quiet. The night duty manager was very helpful. The location is out of the bustle but only a short walk from it - which suited us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff member in the breakfast room wasn't very friendly unlike the rest of the staff who were very accommodating and helpful.

    One of the rooms (twin) was more spacious than I had anticipated, lots of space for more than just the two of us and had a lot of windows to let in light and not feel as cramped. The showers were also excellent in one of the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Pretty good stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is tiny so you might have to wait for a good while before you can nip in during busy hours. The toilet is also minute. Staff speak little English with the exception of the receptionists.

    Fantastic location which allows you to walk to most of the attractions. It is also surrounded by numerous shops, restaurants and cafes so you very much have everything on your doorstep. Big and comfortable bed. Even though the options are limited wij breakfast, at €9 per person (kids eat for free) it is still decent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had better shower as you had to sit in the bath to use it.

    The lights in the room were perfect for reading which is unusual in a hotels we have stayed in before. Very clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Acceptable yet underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt underwhelming for the price. It worked for a quick stay but needed updating and a cleaner more comfortable feel.

    Conveniently located, decent staff, decent cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    I did not booked the breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was ok.

    I did not booked the breakfast. I ask for a specific room, in the corner of the building because in largger than others, and I get it. I like the hotel because in learby the metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Clean quiet room with adequate clean facilities, free wifi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean quiet room with adequate clean facilities, free wifi, AC, lift. Desk staff on duty at most times consisted of 1 person Who spoke English and was very helpful. Location very convenient to metro at Place Bellocoeur where there is also a visitors center. Shops nearby. Restaurants are a short ride on metro to Vieux Lyons or a short walk a few blocks in any direction. Breakfast was ok but at 8 e you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    central, but loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient air condition. Poor breakfast. In the morning, at about 4 a.m. and until 6, the city cleaning is - audibly - rushing through the rooms.

    The hotel is directly at the citys pedestrian zone. This is both positive - you have a lot of restaurants and shops nearby, but also noisy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking ( offsite ) was full when we arrived. Would be a good idea for the hotel to pre book spaces as we e-mailed prior to our visit to ask if we needed to reserve a parking space but did not receive a reply.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: