Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Bayeux 3 stars

9 Rue Tardif, 14400 Bayeux, France

#6 of 18 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was recently updated and was very comfortable. The hotel has no elevator. Should you have trouble with narrow stairs book a ground floor room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to attractions, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC in the room which could be a problem during summer but we were lucky and had cool weather in June. We had a fan in the room and left the window open slightly which brought in a very nice breeze.

    This is a great little hotel in a fantastic location in the middle of Bayeux, It's close to everything, the tour buses can pick you up at the hotel, the staff is very helpful, the breakfast food is excellent and the dining room is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. The owner actually volunteered to take us to the train station, instead of calling a taxi. She also let us stop and get a sandwich to eat on the train. Could not have been more accommodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking cost 10 euros per night, but it was conveniently across the street in a locked parking lot. No one was at the desk when we arrived and we had to wait a few minutes. There was no soap in the bathroom. However, the person in charge was very nice and apologetic and got us several kinds of soap immediately. It seems they might need more staff at the hotel.

    The breakfast was 13 euros extra per person, but worth the price for variety and time served, and the fact that you can get as many cups of coffee that you want made from fresh beans, ground in the machine in front of you, espresso, cappuccino, etc. The baked goods, quiches, and variety of meats, cheeses, and hot breakfast items were delicious and plentiful. The room was quiet, comfortable, and fairly large, plain decor, and the toilet being separate from the shower and sink was convenient. We walked to several restaurants and creperies nearby, and the amazing Bayeux Tapestry was only a short walk also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lotsa of noise in halls as customers struggled with their keys, otherwise a comfy room w Big bathroom. Quiet neighborhood. No common area to relax w others. Mostly Americans and tour groups.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner waited up for us until 1 am with our late arrival. She was very friendly and accommodating. She placed us in a nearby apartment to accommodate us more comfortably. She picked us up each morning for breakfast and showed us around the city center. I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the hospitality alone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 13€ breakfast.

    I thought the breakfast buffet at 13€ was too much. The eggs looked unappealing and there wasn’t much fruit. But in fairness to the hotel, there was a large group leaving the hotel at the same time so perhaps they were overwhelmed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realise about the parking being an extra charge, €10 per night. Rooms were small.

    The breakfast was very good and value for money. Freshly baked cakes and quiche every morning. Excellent location. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit dated but not a problem

    Great position opposite cathedral and 2 mins walk from tapestry. Busy hotel, parking bit challenging in big car. Good linen and comfy bed. Melissa the receptionist is lovely and very helpful, good english. There are tea/coffee making in reception along with fridge of cold drinks and wine at very reasonable charge. Breakfast is very good, lots of choice including bacon and scrambled egg, cakes, cheese, croissants etc Good restsurants locally. Try a trip on the little train around the historic area, catch it outside tourist office or cathedral. Recommended for a good stay in Bayeux

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking and cute hostesses who are wonderful receptionists. Medeival Town with an unexpectedly beautiful Basilica. A great base for saying Normandy beaches and DDay museums.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not get are lights in the room to go all the way off and very thin curtains on windows.

    The staff were great and very helpful to book us tour to the beach of Normandy.Great breakfast at the hotel too. They recommended a restaurant it so great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, value for money and very friendly staff, you couldn't wish to stay in a more comfortable hotel, the breakfasts are worth paying the extra for also present book a parking space as these are worth it, the hotel is very quite plus there is no bar only a fridge with a honesty box to pay for the beers or wines you may have taken however there are local shops, would defiantly stay again.

    It was very close to the Cathedral and city centre, it was quite and you need to book the breakfasts

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To gain entry to the secure parking offered, required reversing into a narrow drive from a very busy street. The parking spot was very tight.

    The hotel is in a great position in Bayeux.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is not clean, too noisy and the staff not nice. It seems that the only important point for them is that you pay. In advance. The quality/price ratio is not in a good balance.

    Breakfast and position are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite hard to find, use the sat-nav. I think that is typical of an hotel in a town like Bayeux, but able to park for free. Good breakfast- eggs really nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking very limited and not secure. There is only room for 3 cars with the gates shut, but there were more and it was very tight. There is not enough to offer parking for every room. The bathroom and the bedroom are in need of refurbishment. There was mould around the shower try and in the grouting and the paintwork was chipped and the furniture very dated and in poor repair.

    The location is excellent and the welcome very warm. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the friendliest people and they took advantage of me on parking - Originally planned on arriving by train, but because of the rolling train strikes had to rent a car. I inquired if there was any street parking available and was told no but they had a space for 10 euro per night. Not exorbitant, but after agreeing, paying parking I discovered free street parking within 50 meters......

    Good location - on the fringe of town. There is a cooler where you can buy beverages at a reasonable price anytime. Room was clean and comfortable. Would put it more in the range of a two star than three star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the fact that there are no tea/coffee facilities at the room, it’s a bit not service wise to charge money for every cup you make yourself out at the lobby

    The hotel is ok for one night. It was comfortable with excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the Cathedral, basically just round the corner. Parking in the street was no problem however we had booked a spot at the Hotel parking. Everything was as mentioned on the booking.com site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty bathroom (shower had hair on the wall) Strong mold smell in the room. Although we were only 2 persons we were given the family room which meant having two bunk beds extra but the room was very small. Beds had dirty smudges everywhere.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in our room was a bit noisy. And The weather was terrible but it’s not up to the hotel.

    Staff was friendly and spoke English. Immediately after our arrival, helped us to organize a tour to D-Day beaches. For a five-hour long very informative journey both of us paid 70. (Which first seemed to be to much, but later we checked on the internet, it was about a normal price). Good breakfast buffet with a choice of pastries and pies. And, yeah the bed was perfect. I wish I had a similar one at home. Would recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was good, the rooms were spotless, the staff exceptionally friendly, the rates very reasonable. I really did enjoy my stay there and I don't often bother doing feedback for hotels but in this case, they really deserve it :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think the hotel should provide free coffee and tea in the lobby, instead of charging 2 Euro. (I understand why they would charge for bottled water). And bars of soap in the bathrooms would have been better than the liquid soap they had. We also experienced a few plumbing problems (shower overflowed in one bathroom, bad smell in another - but they promptly moved us to another room.)

    The owners were wonderful. The hotel was clean, offered a very good breakfast (for 13 Euro), and is in a great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were gracious and friendly. There was a neat little elevator so we didn’t have to carry our luggage up the stairs. The husband went out of his way to find a tool to cut our luggage open when we lost the keys to unlock them! Breakfast was superb. Excellent location in the center of everything. Public pay parking lot up the hill.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very central location, and had parking at the hotel itself. This meant that we had easy walking access to great restaurants and bars, as well as the sights. We had the car on hand and could easily drive out to Sword, Omaha and Utah beaches without having to worry about parking the car at great expense in the centre of Bayeux. Excellent and comfortable rooms, albeit a little basic and dated - but you could ask for much more in terms of location, price, comfort and cleanliness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors were noisy, though we all slept well despite this. Had a hard time figuring out how to use the in room heater... and it was too late to get help from the desk. (No 24 hour reception).

    Great location; friendly staff. Room was clean. Very convenient to local attractions, restaurants, train station. Good jumping off point to explore D-Day sights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would probably have taken the breakfast, but we found € 13 pp too expensive. Sorry

    Very kind welcome, even if we were earlier than foreseen. The lady who welcomed us advised on good restaurants and even made reservations for us. Clean room and good bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Nothing to say

    Everything about this hotel is excellent.great staff lovely rooms .just made our holiday even better. Not far away from the town centre and 10 minute drive to the normandie beaches .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls of the rooms were very thin, and you could listen to everything from the outside. When someone was waling in the corridor you felt it as if they were inside of your room. Our rooms were located at the entrance of the first floor, so we could listen to anyone going downstairs or the breakfast.

    The attitude and friendliness of all the employees was excellent. The location is perfect, just few hundred meters from the cathedral. The rooms were small but comfortable, as well as the beds, and the cleanliness was good. The breakfast was good, and although they put not enough quantities, the staff was constantly bringing more from the kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Easy walk from/to train, Bayeux Tapestry, Normandy Museum, good restaurants. Very nice staff. Recommended and facilitated a great all day tour of the DDay beaches. Great breakfast is optional. Really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard that my husband and I had quite a bad nights sleep, to be fair we did tell the lady at reception and she thanked us for informing her..

    We were told the breakfast had all pastries made on site, I truthfully don't think that happened but heyho, the breakfast was a fair one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For an extra 15 euros you could have an enormous, I mean enormous, breakfast that was quite delicious. The hotel owners were delightful and offered useful tips on places to eat and tours to take. They were also kind enough to run me to the station and car rental place and act as translator for us to get our itinerary resolved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure and temperature variation in the shower!

    Great centrally located B&B within walking distance of main sites and town centre. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable, the room large and quiet, and the breakfast excellent. Breakfast was not typical. There was more selection in addition to scrambled eggs, bacon, toast. There were some fabulous quiche type dishes and some sort of pastry that was made onsite and different from any other place. Delicious! Location could not be better. Receptionist/concierge was the most helpful such person I have ever encountered in 20 years of traveling. She helped me set up the navigation system on my car, she called the car rental agency for me to discuss a different drop-off, she gave me all the helpful information I needed and asked for without keeping me too long. Astonishingly competent and friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and spoke English well. The wine and cold drinks available for purchase in the lobby were a great touch. Although I did not eat the breakfast offered, it looked marvelous!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Noisy plumbing. Breakfast not included in room rate. Parking limited and difficult

    Wonderful staff. Quiet. Great location near cathedral and for walking. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow looked really old. and Im pretty sure they had bed bugs. I woke up with several bites on my body. (bed bugs?? I am not sure. It could have been mosquitos from the night before but I was wearing long clothing so I doubt it) We had the two twin beds which were made up next to each other with a blanket over both to be a "king" however one bed was about 4 inches taller than the other one. In the morning when we waited to check out there was no one around (waited about 20 min and never saw anyone. A man from an upstairs room was also waiting to tell them he had no water. We had water in our room and a great shower but were staying on the first floor.

    This was the most adorable town and the hotel was quaint and cute. I loved the large shutter windows. It is a genuine old french town and building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    Exceptionally nice & helpful staff... family atmosphere... they take an interest & want to please. Pleasant inn-like atmosphere. My second stay here & not my last. Slept with the roof window cracked open, listening to the rain & church bells in the distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this hotel in this wonderfully quaint French town. The staff went out of their way to help us and were so sweet. The location was perfect - was within walking distance of the Bayeux Tapestry, the shops were excellent and the DDay Beaches were an easy drive from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room a funny shape and beds virtually touched both walls. But room was clean and everything works - separate toilet was a nice touch and no noise from surrounding rooms

    Staff were excellent and location near all main attractions On a quiet side road

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was exceptional in every way, taking extra time to secure a last minute booking for us. When we left the hostess helped us to enter onto the street by stoppping traffic and waving an American flag. The breakfast was the best we have eaten in the ten days we have been in France, fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of an evening meal provided by the hotel, that is the only thing.

    The location of the hotel was perfect for what we intended to do, not only for the Normandy World War II Beaches but the attractions in Bayeux itself. We could more or less walk round the entire town from the hotel. The main attractions the Cathedral and the Bayeux Tapestry are just minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have something to sit outside.

    First of all Bayeux is a perfect city, nice restaurants and very beautiful. The hotel is located 100 meters from the city center (cathedral) and a perfect place in the center of the D-day beaches and musea. The hotel itself is nice and well equipped. We have stayed 4 days to do a Normandy D-day tour. There is enough free parking in the area. Breakfast is very nice, just the same as big hotels there is everything you like for breakfast. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were "camp" beds with pretty good mattresses. They were comfortable but could have provided better back support.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. Hotel was immaculately clean. "Honor" bar in lobby for sodas, coffee and wine was very convenient. Hotel was close to train station and within walking distance of restaurants and sights. Reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ehile they offer a number kf room types there seemed to swing towards family and triple rooms. which as a solo traveler felt a little wasteful. No single rooms.

    Good location, and helpful staff. Tje staff had some really good restaurant recommendations. If you want to do D Day landing tours, this is a good town to base yourself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to tell

    Comfortable, but had to get use to the manual key double lock turns to secure my room; Did not have the digital key card and being up to me to make sure the door was completely closed and secured before leaving. In room 14, I brought to there attention the television over the desk shelf security bolt needed to be cut off that was protruding about 1 inch just waiting for an accident to happen. The staff was wonderful and thank you for taking me to the train station at the last moment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room for families. Beds for up to 6 people. 2 parents and 4 children. Easy walking distance to restaurants, cathedral, and Bayeau Tapestry museum. Very nice international style breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room could have been cleaner, there was some dust around and a strange smell sometimes.

    The location was very good, close to the train station and few minutes walk from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed a little unorganized when we were there. No coffee in the morning, not much help in suggesting restaurants or answering questions about the town.

    It was clean and close to town. The two beds were a plus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a family room which was very small. The bathroom was very small too. We booked parking which was not particularly secure, relatively difficult to get into while there is free parking very nearby. The room was expensive for what it offered. The hotel has seen better days.

    Excellent location close to old town and famous tapestry museum. Super friendly staff who speak very good english. The homemade pastries at breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and hotel in general was excellent for a small town. The room was a good size for a family of four with two children of 11 & 13. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all areas. A great place to stay in a beautiful town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little bit arkward as the space is tight.

    Excellent! Very friendly. Huge family room comprising 2 separate rooms, one with 1x double bed and bunk beds and side room (behind sliding doors) had 2 x single beds. Even had giant stuffed animal toys on kid beds - a big hit with our kids

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The staff were so helpful and on a personal level, we arrived and were greeted by name not just a room number, the whole experience was a complete joy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room is clean except that there are some molds in the bathroom ceiling.

    The hotel is small and cozy. The staff are excellent especially Lily and Patricia. They were very welcoming and always very gracious. Even before our arrival at the hotel, the staff answered my emails promptly and courteously. They were very helpful and accommodating and went out of their way to help us find tours and accommodate us in the ground floor room because my father has mobility problems. The hotel also accommodated our request for an early breakfast (6:30am) and early check-in. Breakfast is good especially the croissant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and helpful upon arrival. We arrived late and had to find something to eat before bedtime, which they helped us with. The kids also enjoyed trying all the different cakes for breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning in the room, and the "queen bed" was just two smaller beds pushed together.

    The location was excellent. It is located just a short walk from the cathedral and many excellent restaurants. The hotel had a convenient (and very well priced) "honor system" for beer/wine/snacks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is brilliantly located to explore Bayeux. An easy walk from the train station, and only a block away from the cathedral, the location couldn't have been better. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. We wanted to take a particular tour, but had trouble reaching the company - they called for us, and followed up when they had to leave a message. Their breakfast was one of the most extensive, and included a number of local specialties as well as the hot and cold dishes that commonly make up a European 'continental' breakfast (breads, jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs, cold cuts, hot bacon, and special things like a bundt cake made with apples, fritatas, etc). Our room had a little trouble with the shower drain when we arrived, but we mentioned it to the front desk and they had a plumber come out immediately to resolve the problem. We had no problems after that. We would happily stay here again if we were back in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise and parking lot noise.

    Convenient to train station. Great English speaking staff. Near Cathedral and Tapestry. Many restaurants within 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault, but a long walk from the train station if you have heavy bags.

    Staff was excellent and very friendly. Room was excellent. Lots to see within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast was very, very good. Excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed wasn't so comfortable.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great location. Breakfast was amazing. Huge selection, including eggs and bacon. Photos on website don't do hotel justice - it's better than photos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sisters pillow was like a rock. I dont know how it could be deemed a bed pillow. More like a chair cushion. Bathrooms v old fashioned but clean and functional

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - this is a budget hotel, but in a fantastic location.

    The hotel is in the best location - in a quiet street immediately accessible (5 mins walk) to the cathedral, the tapestry, the Bayeux Museum, the D Day Museum and the war cemetery. Shops and restaurants are surrounding the hotel. Staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast was fine (although there are many tabacs in the streets surrounding the cathedral where a classic French coffee, juice, croissant and baguette is half the price). Free parking was just up the road (1 minute walk) on the same street. Good shower, comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    The breakfast was delicious - the staff was very friendly and helpful - the hotel is right in the middle of this beautiful little town - there's parking nearby (one block away) very easy to access at a good price (10 euro per day). Bayeux is a beautiful place to visit and a good place to station oneself to visit the D-Day Beaches and Mont Saint Michel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Our family room was great but also quite warm because of no air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the second morning not quite as good as the first - hot food and fruit juice not replenished soon enough. Plenty of choice apart from that and the coffee was good!

    Closeness to all the areas of the city meant that we could leave the car securely parked and walk into Bayeux. Staff very helpful - even helped us make a cup of coffee!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was not very nice for me. Neither downstairs in the bar of the breakfast area.

    Great comfy bed and nice breakfast. Very nice reception from everyone that worked there. Really made you feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "the pay it yourself" facility in yhe recpetion is lovely, so nice that you can buy yourself a glass of wine. I love the staff as well, so friendly and serviceminded. and the location is magnific.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely helpful & Extremely nice.... Great place to stay & a great town (Bayeux) to walk around and incredible places to eat...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel feels like a motel. Tired, concave beds, soap dispensers affixed to the walls, no air conditioning, etc etc. You could do better.

    This place was relatively inexpensive and the staff are very polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our scrambled eggs - isn't that silly. But everything was perfect except for the scrambled eggs. The pastries and breads, and fruits were wonderful. Next time I would order over easy.

    This review is for Domaine de Bayeux. We were booked into the Bayeux Hotel which moved us because they had a tour of 50 staying at the hotel and wanted us to have a peaceful visit. What luck. They transferred our reservation to Domaine de Bayeux which gave us a Junior Suite. This is what I rated them for giving us. Domaine de Bayeux is fantastic. We would go back again if in the area. Domaine de Bayeux is a perfect location for walking a short distance to the Cathedral and town. We had very posh accommodations in a wonderful converted town chateau with wonderful grounds. We stayed in the main building with great access and parking, and a very large peaceful garden outside our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surprisingly ample breakfast. The managers arranged an educational and enjoyable tour of the Normandy beaches on short notice. The hotel is located in a quiet but very walkable part of Bayeux. Would happily stay there again. From observation the hotel seemed to work very well for families with young children as well as older solo travelers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The top shower head mount was so high that I, at 6ft (183cm), could not use it.

    Breakfast room was a little crowded, but the staff kept the buffet well stocked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a ground-floor room: plumbing was a bit loud (only an issue early in the morning, plus I'm a pretty light sleeper).

    VERY friendly staff, and they have an awesome breakfast!! Got in late and they pointed me directly to a restaurant that was open after 9 PM (...not an easy task in FR). Very easy to find off the N13, and is just 3 short blocks from the main drag.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is excellent for sightseeing, shops, restaurants, parks, etc. My husband was ecstatic to have American coffee along with bacon and eggs. The staff was extremely helpful with room accommodations, booking a taxi to the train. The size of the rooms were great as well! I would highly recommend. In fact, I would book them again in a heartbeat!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More choice of fruit and cheese at breakfast and less choice of cakes and tarts.

    Comfortable beds, very clean, great staff, secure storage for bikes, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: