Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Beaumanoir Small Luxury Boutique Hotel 5 stars

10 avenue de Tamames, 64200 Biarritz, France

#17 of 136 hotels in Biarritz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - 70 m²
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm being picky here. We had a small baby with us who needed breakfast at 8am latest. This was the earliest we could get into the dining room. It would have been nice to have been offered an early morning cup of coffee. Most hotels of this calibre would do this gratis and as a matter of course. We didn't really see anybody at this time. My guess is that the hotel is not used to small babies! We were also charge €20 a night for the baby cot - this is on the website - but I feel it is a little excessive and possibly not necessary to charge considering the bigger picture of the price of the rooms.

    Beautiful property and friendly staff. Beautiful pool which was possible to swim lengths in. Generally comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    Not so luxury 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite - 45 m²
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The rooms do not have airconditioning which is strange for a 5* hotel in an area where it is often more then 30 degrees (it also does not have a water cooker/ coffee machine in the room). - Expensive breakfast, although we paid €29 p.p. for the breakfast we still had to pay €5 extra for one hard boiled egg. - The staff is not aligned on the possibilities per room, I called them before hand to ask them if it was possible to put an extra bed in the room. They said yes and suggested to mention it in the notes within the booking. After I made the booking they called me claiming it was not possible, then offering me a bigger room which was €200 more expensive per night. - The location is nice, but you need a car or taxi when you want to go to the beach or the city centre of Biarritz (walking is 30 minutes). - I asked the waiter which champagne he would recommend from the menu, the waiter said he had 4 options. I choose one of them. When checking out I discovered this glass was €50. I would prefer to hear these kind of prices per glass before hand.

    Characteristic building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Style and wonderful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment - 70 m²
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was noisey garden, properties around were constantly using strimmers and power tools. I misunderstood 'apartment' to mean with kitchen/kitchenette but it is 2 bedrooms, bathroom and sitting area, no kitchen, more a suite but very spacious and comfortable.

    Staff incredible, breakfast unique and absolutely wonderful, beautiful pool and gardens

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    48 Euros for a tomato chicken casserole !!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not believe the price of a very simple baked chicken tomatoe dish . We were told we should have a portion each as one was not enough for two people ! On the menu it was priced at 24 euros ( but the menu said for two persons ) The portion was very small two small pieces of chicken. So the bill for the two portions was 48 euros ? I don't mind paying for good food but this was just ridiculous and made me feel like I was being taken for a fool ?

    The room was excellent , great bed, bathroom and plenty of space. Quality of linen etc was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable stay, but for the prices charged there should have been tea and coffee facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite - 45 m²
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was advertised as good to share for 4 adults, but the shared bathroom was through another bedroom so not ideal.

    Pool good, staff good, location very nice,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.1
    good for two-three days but not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite - 45 m²
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited menu especially if you travel with kids. They did not have pasta listed on the menu for the whole week that we stayed there and refused to offer alternatives that could be suitable for kids. breakfast is fairly limited for the price

    limited number of rooms, great pool, excellent restaurant recommendations

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.7
    Great design and good champagne, pity about the impossible to sleep suites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment - 70 m²
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having air-conditioning or at least ceiling fans is not just disappointing - it is very displeasing when faced with a +34C. Can't sleep a night, can't rest during the day. Staff refusing to serve dinner on the outside or next to the pool, commenting that it is going to be dufficult for them to clean the dishes later is also rather surprising, especially given the heat and stuffiness on the inside. Seafood platter was also a little disappointing, although I may be doing an unfair comparison to fresh-from-the-market we used to get over in Dauville.

    A very quite location in a well-designed space. Fantastic selection of champagnes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    Quiet location just away from downtown Biarritz, just a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Apartment - 70 m²
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are warm in summer with no aircon. Besides the fact that the rooms, building and grounds are beautiful, there is nothing to justify the very high price of the rooms and the services on offer. for example, it would have been pleasant to have breakfast included in the price of the room.

    Quiet location just away from downtown Biarritz, just a little far for walking. the garden and pool area is nice. The hotel is clean. The staff are efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous setting, very friendly staff, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous setting, very friendly staff, great breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Cosy, but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WE had our room under the roof and the air in the room was kind of sticky despite the constantly opened window

    The bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    LOVELY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite with Private Cabanas at the Swimming Pool - 45 m²
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOVELY HOTEL AND LOCATION

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Can't wait to return to the Beaumanoir Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Everything, especially the staff. Couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Would love to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite - 45 m²
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was beautiful and the staff were relaxed and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Friendly Staff, beautiful hotel, comfy bed after a long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff, beautiful hotel, comfy bed after a long journey!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    4.6
    Bad news
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - 35 m²
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs! We came back with bed bugs in our suitcase. Very expensive and no aircon in July - worst sleep!

    Staff were fantastic and hotel had charm

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Biarritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite - 45 m²
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area could be nicer

    Beautiful chateau, nice room, great breakfast, very nice staff, good service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    6.7
    Restaurant food very poor (not fresh?), I think we were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food very poor (not fresh?), I think we were the only guests (why?), not geared up to people wanting to spend a night in Biarritz 'en route' for instance breakfast not served until 8.30 am, overall very expensive

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Suite for 5, but unlike most 5*hotels no coffee machine or water, only 2 robes and glasses. Expected more especially at that price!

    Beautiful boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Amazing staff, great service, beautiful hotel and wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price I would expect breakfast to be included...

    Amazing staff, great service, beautiful hotel and wonderful food. One of the best small hotels we've ever stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Relaxed calm & quietly efficient staff,very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed calm & quietly efficient staff,very helpful with advice on the area & restaurants etc .Beautifully restored building good bar /pool overall good place to kick back.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    exceptional staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    exceptional staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    The decor and ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor and ambience

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.7
    Nice to stay in an intimate hotel rather than a chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice to stay in an intimate hotel rather than a chain. Bathroom very well equipped

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.3
    The pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of a propercrestaurant

    The pool. The decor was stunning The staff were excellent

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: