Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Belvedere 2 stars

5 Place Voltaire, 13200 Arles, France

#15 of 42 hotels in Arles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1453 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location and nice balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and tiny shower. Didn’t meet the staff as check In only before 21.00. We were not due to arrive until 22.30 so called ahead and arranged to pick up our key from an agreed hiding place in reception.

    Good location and nice balcony. Hotel easy to find and faces onto a nice square with many cafes and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location and good basic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly...wanted me to keep my bike outside of hotel even though I had asked for a secure place. Finally made us carry them down to the basement

    Great location. Very nice bathroom sink. Good basic and clean room in Centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    One night was too long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The area is horrible, the hotel looked nothing like the booking.com photos. How it got 8.3 is beyond me. We booked two nights and stayed for one. Arles is a lovely place but arriving at the Belvedere makes you want to leave immediately.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Excellent staff. Location was convenient and accessible to many things/site. Steps away from the train station which made it very easy to get to. Definitely will visit and stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Not more steps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the third floor - good for the view over the square, but no lift and the stairs were poorly lit, often with things like buckets in the way and no offer of assistance from staff.

    There was a kettle in the room. A big bonus in Europe. Good location and room opened onto a small balcony, letting in the fresh air and atmosphere. Closing the door at night blocked off the noie outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Great value and base to explore old Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring ear plugs for "square side" rooms as the cafe/bar opposite likes to party. AC didn't work, we only discovered this after reception had closed.

    Friendly staff. Nice little extras included (tea making, hairdryer, shampoo).Very good value for money. Little balcony to sit out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Location is really good, everything you wanna see is within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff don’t really speak English, could because of the off-season and they didn’t bother to find English speaking helpers.

    Location is really good, everything you wanna see is within walking distance (Arles is Very small in a cute way : ) the best part is the bed—king size and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent 2 star hotel with central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception at check-in was efficient, and friendly. Nice view of the square from the room. French doors to small balcony was a bonus. Continental breakfast was fine. Location central to most tourist sites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    The facilities are ok, reasonable value but the help need to be more professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man handling the desk at our time of arrival was asked for a recommendation on a restaurant on a Monday night. He sent us to a lovely restaurant that was closed on both Mon. and Tues. He didn't make an effort to really help us and there was no other pressing business or guests that needed attention at the time. Very disappointing!

    Good breakfast, room ok except it was very small. Staircase narrow, long climb to second floor. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    If only the weather was better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little tight, but kept the water in. No yogurt with the breakfast.

    Inside the old part of town, overlooking a quiet square, five minute walk from the arena. Comfortable bed, adequate bathroom. Good breakfast (provided you request it the day before each time). The room had a balcony, which would have been even better if it wasn't so cold and incredibly windy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel very good location Place Voltaire, Arles beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful friendly staff, our room overlooking the square spacious and welcoming. Liked finding tea making facilites and bottle of water in room on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    A hotel in need of cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and bathroom were too dirty. There was hair in the pillow and linen, and dust and hair were scattered around the bathroom.

    - A really good location - cheap and quality breakfast - friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, reasonable, hospitable, and great hotel in beautiful Arles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Bed was comfortable - breakfast was perfect. Easy to check in and check out. Location was unbeatable. So warm and comfortable in the hotel, and it was literally freezing outside. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.0
    A good place to stay for the visits we had planned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very hard. Stairs weren't well lit. No vehicular access to the hotel. We had to park nearby (outside the old city walls) though the journey to the hotel from there wasn't far.

    Breakfast was good. Room pleasantly decorated. Bed big as advertised.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    5 min from Arles' Arenna!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the bathroom; when we arrived the staff was not waiting for us and we had to call them. Luckily we had a mobile with us.

    Very good location; walking distance from touristics places

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Serviceable Hotel for good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    One soon discovers that very few hotels in Arles have on site parking. We had quite a bit of luggage--the hotel has no elevator--and so we had to park the car in the small street in order to unload, and then drive to the parking lot. Staff member who welcomed us was not too hospitable and he was evidently unaware that the street he told us to go down to reach off site parking was blocked. Due to the one way nature of many of the small streets, we got lost bigtime and it ended up taking us nearly an hour to get back to the hotel. The staff member did help us take our luggage upstairs but he was overall not in a good humor. Staff member the next morning was very kind and helpful.

    Once one has one's bearings in the city, it becomes apparent that the hotel has a good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Efficient and good value. I might change hotel if in a couple for a longer stay. Price dependent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For couples the room was small but fine for my single night.

    Location is good to access the town and there is a paid public car park in the square by the hotel. Free parking until 9am.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    A nice, cosy stay in Southern France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin.

    An excellent boutique hotel. Nice decor, large room. We had a little balcony opening on Place Voltaire, very romantic! Excellent breakfast with good variety, excellent choices of coffees too. Welcoming staff. A short walk from the train station, in the heart of the historic section. Note: two excellent restaurants right on Place Voltaire! Do not miss the references to Van Gogh in Arles! Visit La Camargue. This hotel was our pied-a-terre to explore the region, good train access.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was tight fit, bed literally filled the room, but it was a very nice big bed. Bathroom was nice and clean, only minor yoga required to maneuver in. Great place for one or two nights. For two people you would need to like each other a lot. : )

    Very well located, easy to find, just a few minutes walk from the train station. Close to everything in old town. Staff was very nice, breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    A perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is true that the walls are quite thin, so you if you have noisy neighbours, you can hear them. I was lucky, my neighbours were not very noisy and I could sleep very well.

    I read the reviews here and did not know what to expect. Yet, my stay at the Belvedere hotel was perfect on all accounts. I got a nice room on the first floor. It was facing the back street and although most people would probably prefer the front rooms (with balconies and the view of the Voltaire square), I was satisfied with the back view. The square may get quite noisy, the back street is quiet by nights. The room was modern, cosy and clean. It was a positive surprise to find tea/coffee facilities in the room, as I like having a cup of tea in the evening. There is no lift in the hotel, so if you have a heavy luggage, ask for a room on the ground floor. I had a light luggage, so I did not mind the stairs. Having read the reviews, I thought the stairs would be very steep but they were just normal stairs, not difficult to climb in any way. Wifi was working rather well in my room. Breakfast was included in my booking and again, it was a nice surprise. The choice was good, especially for those used to having sweet breakfast (but there is also ham and cheese). The hotel has an excellent position, 5 minutes from the railway/bus station, 2 minutes from the Amphitheatre, 10 minutes from most of the other sights. The staff was nice and helpful. I was very satisfied with my stay and would return to Belvedere during my next visit to Arles.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Delightful stay in Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was travelling light so it didn't bother me, however the stairs might be an issue for some people

    Great location, easy walk from the station. Warm welcome and helpful staff. Having a balcony with chairs overlooking Place Voltaire really made the stay an excellent one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Fitted the bill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, good provision in the bathroom, fascinating glass sink, parking a few minutes walk away, but much cheaper than near parking. Continental breakfast with fresh bread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    With my "office" in my backpack, great to start the day with a cup of coffee at Le Belvedère.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect. There is nothing that is under the Belverder's control that could have been improved. Very satisfied.

    The coffee machine for morning breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    late breakfast until 11 am
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the breakfast is included in the price and starts late (8 am) - so we had to pay for it, even we couldn't use it on the last day of our stay very loud music next to the hotel until 10pm at weekend (saturday, sunday also- because there was a bull fight this day)

    late breakfast until 11 am nice view and very close to city and close to train station nice furnitures and room sice was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Good stay and position I would stay again if I visited Arles in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the front overlooking the square would have been nice,I was at the back of the hotel

    Clean comfortable room,breakfast fine seating outside or in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    "Sweet"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better...not only sweets and croissants. A little difficult communication with some Receptionists. Difficult parking but i believe the whole town has the same problem

    Very good location close to all monuments...very friendly personnel in reception. The room was comfortable and sweet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Convenient stay in Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    curtain in the shower, the size of the room and the absolute lack of wardrobe

    Comfy bed, decent breakfast and view from the balcony straight in a old square of Arles

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Vibrant and interesting. Central for driving day trips to aix en provence, casis, avignon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying bags up three sets of stairs to the room was hard work. Car parking was a few minutes walk away.

    Great central location close to Roman amphitheatre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Overnight stop at Le Belvdere in Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator in the hotel, so had to carry suitcase up 3 flights of stairs. No parking nearby, had to use public car park and get there by 9.00am to top up the meter. Shower was very small. Breakfast was mediocre

    Very central location, good access to local restaurants (although quality of restaurants was not great). Room was OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location, clean and sites easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spasmodic loud music from nearby cafes. After lst night's stay given new towels but bed not made nor room/litter bins emptied or cleaned. Because no lift again could be problem for elderly or those with problems climbing stairs. It would be nice to have 1 English speaking TV station.

    Central location on square with adjacent traffic and easy walk to main historic sites. Breakfast good value and extensive, i.e. cereal, yoghurts, choice of 3 jams, good croissant and bagette, choice of 2 different juices and the coffee from machine better than anticipated. Clean and comfortable beds, good shower and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable, clean room & hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My own fault- brought too much luggage- but a lift would have been v handy!

    Very comfortable, clean room & hotel. Great price. Lovely breakfast. Staff v helpful. Very central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Arles was a delight to visit, our first experience of witnessing bullfights, easy walking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for two people was very tiny, even smaller than Paris standards. Could only open suitcases on the bed, no room on the floor. It was a festival weekend on our arrival so packed with people which was fun, but the bar opposite hotel in square had an extremely loud ghetto blaster going all day and very late at night,the walls felt the vibrations. Once festival over peace reigned.

    Very convenient location, could walk everywhere easily, great access to railway station. Nice to have breakfast in the square outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    a brilliant location and enjoyed sitting on the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was all good

    nice comfortable room with a great balcony looking out over a busy, but not too noisy square, with big trees and just a nice atmosphere. A short walk from the station just inside the city gate and as arles is a small town within easy reach of everything. Breakfast was typical french and very good. staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, close to everything, good value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has no lift. Difficult to walk at the second level with the luggage.

    The hotel is located closed to everything. Good restaurants and nice shops around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    A very good cost-benefit ratio but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator: really a challenging staircase to be ...climbed, ask for a 1st floor room of you have any problem in moving, no parking close to the hotel, a free parking is available 500 mt. away, near the train station.

    Good position in a nice square 100 mt. Away from the Roman Arena. Good, clan and quite room. I suggest to take breakfast in a nice croassainterie just 20 mt.away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    We loved the history of the city and the accommodation provided a reasonable base to explore from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking nearby can be challenging but free parking at the Railway Station. A bit of a climb up the stairwell.

    Handy to tourist sites and dining options

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    The area right outside the hotel was very unkempt and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area right outside the hotel was very unkempt and the outside furniture belonging to the hotel was chained up and unusable. It looked very unloved as the rest of the square where it was located was regularly swept and looked after.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Good location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't be suitable with people who have issues with stairs as there is no lift and the hotel has at keast 3 floors.

    Good location and helpful staff. Walking distance of all the attractions in Arles. Nice quiet hotel with very clean rooms and good air xonditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The room was spotlessly clean and recently refurbished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All was good.

    The room was spotlessly clean and recently refurbished. The bathroom had a great shower and was well appointed. We had booked a room with a balcony overlooking the square, which was lovely - I enjoyed reading out of the balcony and taking in the atmosphere of the square below. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff spoke to me only in French so I could not understand important information when I checked in. If you want to use wifi, I should ask username and password at the front. I had to renew it after using 24 hours.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very small and not bright. the spaces are tight and not very clean in general. the neighbourhood is not fancy.

    good value for money, reasonable price. smooth check-in and check-out. public car parking near by. walking distance to Arles city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and 10 minute walk from train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only grumble is that the bed was hard but this wouldn't put us off from staying there again. Arles is delightful town and this hotel is in the heart of it, 5 mins from roman amphitheater. If you want a few days away from the rat race this is it.

    Loved having a little balcony with our room, which looked out over the town square. We'd enjoy a glass of wine after dinner there and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location on charming square, but not for the large or unfit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, as an ensuite had been squeezed in. Shower was powerful, but unfortunately flooded the bathroom when ever we used it. Third floor with no lift, and the stairs were steep, and we had 54 steps to climb.

    Excellent location, 10 minutes from the train station and the Rhone for an evening stroll, and 5 minutes from the Roman arena. On a charming little square, with restaurants, pizzerias, etc. Excellent location for short stay in Arles. We were lucky to have a balcony overlooking the square, which was nice. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    a nice place where to stay in Arles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator to the property, the breakfast is minimal (nescafe, a piece of baguette and a croissant). It can be noisy during the night.

    Good location right next to the arena, next to the square outside the city center where you can leave the car. The room has a small terrace. The staff is nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Too bad about the desk clerk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conversation with desk clerk: May I see the room first? Why? If it reeks of cigarette smoke I will need a different room. I have no other rooms (unlikely, it was early afternoon) and you'll have to pay for it anyway. The room was fine but the conversation (conducted in French) was off-putting.

    Great location, good restaurants and cafes right outside the door, plus air conditioning!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel, excellent location on the entry to the town from the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of clothes hanging space.

    The location was good 10 minutes from the station and under 5 minutes to the town. Is located on a nice square with a few bars and cafes. Had a really quite air conditioning unit in the room and reasonable decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Location was good just inside the city walls within 5 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was good just inside the city walls within 5 min walk of the colliseum and in a square with bars and restaurants. There was free parking at the station which was 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. No parking on site since it is on a plaza in Arles, but plenty on nearby streets. Very close to colosseum, walking distance to many sites. Excellent food options nearby. Basic room, clean comfortable. Not fancy in any way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Very well located, not far from the train station, and close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well located, not far from the train station, and close to the monuments in the city center. A comfortable room. Breakfast very good. Kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner gave me directions to enter hotel after 10:00 pm ... No lights were left on and we had to feel our way around in pitch black to find key. Had to carry bags up a steep flight of stairs in the dark. Because of trying to maneuver bags and hold balance ( in pitch dark, no lights in stairwell) I injured my back. I knew I would not be able to maneuver steep stairs for the rest of my 5 night stay. I explained this and the owner said " That is not my fault" He charged me for 2 nights ... the night we stayed and the following night. Injury to my back totally altered my stay in Arles. In addition, knowing my back had been hurt, the owner never offered to help bring the bags down the flight of stairs. Stair photos were taken during the day ... pitch black at night

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Ideal central position with cafes all around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its all good but a bit bland modern decoration; stairs are OK once, but you miss the lift for multiple trips in and out; you can ask for ground floor.

    Position is best - mid point between station on arrival & depart; and the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no attempt by the staff to assist with luggage up the steep stone stairs to the rooms. Given that we were six 60 - 70 year olds on a cycling holiday, even a half hearted offer might have been polite.

    The bed was comfortable and a king size. The comfort room size was fine the double you would struggle to open a medium size suitcase. Square side rooms were quiet and looked out onto an attractive quiet square with little traffic. Location was excellent and a very short walk to the amphitheatre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Belvedere hotel. Don't judge a book by its cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked very dowdy from outside and our room was on 2nd floor so we had to walk up 2 flights of stairs which were narrow.

    Hotel was in centre of old town so hotel had had a facelift and rooms were very modern especially the bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of a thing. We didn't have breakfast, but the offerings looked the best we had seen.

    We had been booking rooms with 2 beds, which generally were king beds scooted apart an inch or two. Here, a great deal more space-- the beds were separated by a long parson's table. Additionally, we had a balcony overlooking a beautiful square. Also, the staff let us safeguard our bicycles in the basement.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit noisy.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very good: easy access to the train station and very close to the Arena. There was a nice view of the square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, but a good value for the price. There was some street noise but it ended at midnight

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    - really slow and often broken wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - really slow and often broken wi-fi - weirdly behaving and sometimes even unhelpful staff - no elevator (and my room was on the high third floor :/ )

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Double room with square view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area offers no parking for the day unless you want to pay for it from 9am. Nearest free parking was a 10 minute walk away which we found at the train station. It was fine to leave the car there for a few days and to then go back to it when moving on to the next destination. Breakfast on offer wasn't very extensive, small pickings, we opted not to have it and ate out for lunch instead.

    We had the double room with the square view. It was lovely, we would sit on the balcony and watch the locals walk by conduct their day to day. It was an enjoyable view and the room was clean with an air conditioner which was greatly appreciated. Bathroom was alittle small but modern. The staff were friendly and professional. Enjoyed our stay here. Would return again for the room standard and location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excently located, forndly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All good

    Friendly. Very well located. Easy walk from station but looking on to Place Voltaire; very interesting to watch people from breakfast. Good breakfast . Very close to town centre [arena]. Local shop for fruit and other needs

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    This little hotel is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This little hotel is a gem. If I could give it more than a ten, I certainly would. It was scrupulously clean, the staff most helpful, the breakfast scrumptious looking though I didn't have time to eat but Conception, the receptionist, offered a free caffé latte which I gratefully accepted. There were a few amenities in the room that were not expected but that were most welcomed...I'm thinking slippers and an actual drinking glass made of glass...not plastic although there were some of those, as well. The Belvedere is within walking distance from the train station and is centrally located overlooking Voltaire Sqare and close to the Roman amphitheatre but it is a quiet space...at least while I was there. I can't find even one little criticism about this little hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.3
    Great for backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet still had poo marks in it and the free bottle of water had been opened so we suspect was refilled. It was very noisy and the bathroom was tiny, with a shower that didn't drain properly. Only one pillow each was provided and they were extremely soft.

    Location was excellent. Two minute walk from the ampitheatre. Great hotel if you are on a tight budget or for backpackers. Gentleman who checked us in was lovely, very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    Great value in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought that it was great value and would thoroughly recommend.

    A good location near the Arena. Great parking nearby. Great advice on where to eat. Very friendly staff and a great breakfast.A very nice room with a small balcony, a perfect place for us to stay for 2 or 3 days.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many stairs. Overpriced. I had to request the promised travel slippers next day and wore my boots because no one answered the phone and there was too many stairs to reception. It spoilt the stay for the over exorbitant price of 160 euros for 2 nights off season.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    Adequate, competent and forgettable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nowhere comfortable to sit. Bed, bedroom & bathroom were basic and poorly lit. There was a dead bulb in the bathroom when I arrived and I had to ask to have it replaced. I could never get the stair lights to work on my way down. Booking.com implied that guests can make themselves a hot drinks from kitchen - this was not correct, altho the receptionist offered to make me drinks when I asked, I was later charged for them when I checked out- that was dissapointing.

    Good location on a square 5 mins from Station, Old City, Roman Ruins, Market. There is a good & cheap Vietnamese resturant and supermarket within 5 mins. Big window to a balcony overlooking the square with several bars. Only 1 flight of stairs to walk up to room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.2
    Sweet little hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Very well located in the old town of Arles ! Only 5 minutes from arena and other places of interest ! Comfortable and nice room ! Friendly employees !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    4.2
    Not much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm astonished at the favourable reviews this hotel has received. This was truly one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. My room (24) didn't in any way resemble the photos on the website. I've looked back through the negative feedback and it's clear the management haven't addressed any of the problems raised: lack of toilet paper, lack of lighting, lack of soundproofing, lack of space for suitcases. This hotel reminded me of the many awful hotels in France 25 years ago. Luckily most have now been updated & are now a good standard. This hotel needs a serious update.

    Not much

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location, cozy facility, accommodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi code only expired after one day of our two day stay.

    The staff was great! Even though the reception closed at 8pm, we were given the code for the door and our keys left on the counter. Awesome location, close to all the attractions Arles has to offer (two blocks from the Rhône River, two blocks from the amphitheater). Definitely worth the price!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Impeccably clean, perfect location, awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning unit could be improved.

    The room (and bathroom) was impeccably clean! Location is perfect, just 2 minutes walk to the amphitheatre. The reception was very helpful and provided really good restaurant recommendations!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money, excellent location in the old town and with an easy walk to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks were not available to buy in the evening, despite what it said in the literature.

    Comfortable and friendly. Basic but very good value for money. Quiet room at the back. Excellent location in the old location and within easy walking distance of the station - even with a heavy bag!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    The hotel was in an excellent position, close to the Arena...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do not have any complaints about the hotel.

    The hotel was in an excellent position, close to the Arena and other old places of interest. It was lovely to walk round the old streets and there are several good eating places - can recommend L'Amandier.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Nice hotel near the train station and also the major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't any negatives. The place is. Lean, safe, and breakfast was very good.

    We came in on the train and the hotel is close enough to walk from the station. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit small. Lack of storage space.

    Lovely Situation overlooking Place Voltaire. we picknicked each evening on our balcony with a bottle of wine. Huge comfortable double bed. Only one short disturbance from loud Music on the square. At this time of year (late September) I would definitely recommend a room to the square. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Very central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few tourist hints in the room / lounge would have been helpful ie where to catch the free tourist bus, open laundries etc. but staff were helpful after asking about these.

    Very central to everything. Clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location in Arles center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice room, friendly staff, great location in Arles. Free parking near the hotel was always available. Powerful A/C. Great little balcony with a plaza view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Awesome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Square Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of an elevator. Had to haul heavy bags up and down 3 flights of stairs. But - what a great view when we got there.

    Staff were wonderful and spoke pretty good English.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: