Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Bois Joli 3 stars

1 Place Du Maréchal Foch, 65110 Cauterets, France

#2 of 20 hotels in Cauterets

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 180 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    The hotel and staff were faultless. We were helped and advised constantly throughout our first trip to Cauterets and our first ever skiing holiday. They could not have done more to help us. Fantastic location for skiing, walking distance for everything. We will definitely be back next year. Superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were slightly too hard so not very relaxing night's sleep after a day out on the mountain.

    Great location; friendly and cosy atmosphere and brilliant staff. Lovely old building with charm and our room with balcony overlooking mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem with anything. Although there isn't any hotel parking, there was not a problem around the corner for the length of our stay. It was noisy, but there were fetes and concerts on!

    The staff, location and the hotel are superb. A family run hotel that is clean, well cared for and not too mention a fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms do not have air conditioning. We were there in August and it was hot. The beds are set for winter weather with Swedish comforters: Too hot for summer without A/C

    Overall comfort in very professional and well run hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A litle bit expensive for what it is.

    The views from the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of he staff, including the housekeepers. The room was large and cozy. Very generous continental breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. We had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great Room is clean with big bed and great view Staff is very nice and helpful Can communicate in English👍🏼

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, close to all amenities, lovely restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, helpful, welcoming staff. Great room and very clean as well. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charmingly decorated room. Gorgeous view of the mountains from room, good staff, right in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff, lovely clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Brilliantly friendly people. Really great small hotel where caare and attention is clear

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have not seen an emergency exit

    Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff very friendly.Comfortable rooms and excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grat staff, best location in Cauterets!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent position, very friendly staff & comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Move the Hotel 200 metres closer to the lift ha ha

    The service and hospitality were first class, very welcoming. Rooms very tidy, overall a wonderful French influence and feel.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea or coffee facilities in room or mini bar so no way to get anything to drink in morning or if required during the night

    Large comfortable bed in a big bedroom which was kept spotlessly clean. We had a room on top floor with Mountain view which was lovely and quiet allowing a peaceful nights sleep. Bathroom also large with huge walk in shower and good sized bath. Bar and restaurant downstairs was lively and staff provided excellent and efficient service. Outside cafe area was the hub of village and many people came to sit and enjoy drinks and food after skiing creating a lively yet chilled atmosphere. Good people watching spot

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was incredibly kind and gracious to my family when we arrived. The food downstairs was delicious and the hotel and town were quaint and wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room small. When we stay it was very cold at night but they did not poperate the heating system. Breakfast very expensive.

    Centeral location. Great dinner at reasonable price. Staff Ok. Free public parking nearby.Wifi good in room.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Town centre location meant we were woken early by the bin lorries. The children's bunk bed was at the entrance to the room and was totally airless and stuffy so after first night had to leave door open between the two parts of the room.

    Excellent location in the centre of town so close to all amenities. Exceptionally friendly staff always greeted us with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was not really a problem, but the desk was not manned, so that the room keys were hanging where anyone could just take them, a bit of a security issue. But I assume that the restaurant personnel nearby kept an eye on them.

    The location was terrific, on the main square in town. The restaurant was selection and food was excellent, with excellent wait staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All I can think of is that the bath towels could be larger ... but that's being really picky!

    We were really delighted with our three night stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Le Bois Joli. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and English is spoken. Our room on the third floor was really comfortable and charming with lovely soft furnishings. More than enough space for two and no less than four French windows opening out onto the front with mountain views. Ample cupboard space (important with all the skiing paraphernalia). Bathroom was modern without being clinical - the bath typically small, but very welcome after a day's skiing and the shower hot and also powerful for one working from the taps. We ate twice in the evenings in their cheerful and popular bar/restaurant (closed on Wednesdays) and weren't disappointed. Food was traditional, fresh and delicious - the gateaux basque is not to be missed! And if you have overdone the skiing in the morning, you can while away a few hours in the afternoon at a table on their sunny pavement area watching the world go by. We reckoned we were pretty well placed for the ski lift, in comparison with some of the other hotels in Cauterets: realistically a 10+ minute, ski-booted walk away but you are already halfway up the town's hill. If you are driving you can park a car close to the ski lift and leave your boots and ski's there!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great location and very child friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT

    THE STAFF IS REALLY FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really lovely people in a lovely place..

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: