Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château Le Cagnard 4 stars

54 Rue Sous Barri, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer, France

#3 of 14 hotels in Cagnes-sur-Mer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t made welcomed at all. Didn’t replace things like teabags or tissues. Photos on the internet didn’t depict the room I was lead to believe was ‘Delux’ room-ending paying for an upgrade to get a more suitable room. Didn’t give any helpful information re area. When we checked out the receptionist helped as we lugged our suitcases over cobblestones to the taxi. Not impressed at all-never again!

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    This stay was for my daughters 50th,and the whole stay gave us many happy memories to treasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AThe whole experience was wonderful,the hotel is superb,rooms,service,food.The first night three of us are vegetarian,the Chef produced the greatest meal,not on the menu,promptly,the tastes and presentation was first rate.Full marks to all the staff for their friendliness,efficiency and can do attitude.My husband and I are both over 80 and they were so caring and considerate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    It is impossible to park near the hotel as it is in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is impossible to park near the hotel as it is in the heart of a medieval village which is so beautiful. When I called the hotel to check on whereabouts we could park they didn’t tell us about the shuttle service. I was 34 weeks pregnant and having to drag bags up very steep hills to get to the hotel wasn’t a great experience. Make sure you arrange for the shuttle in advance!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Charming medieval space formerly used Fr housing guards of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told that it is difficult to get to. Our cab took us from Monaco up just so far and was unable to travel on the very narrow road. He was going to leave us (seniors) at the bottom of the hill with our luggage!! Luckily a car from the hotel started to pass us and we were able to get to the hotel. The hotel needs to be more informational about how to get to their location. We stayed one night and loved the ambiance and have already recommended it to friends.

    Charming medieval space formerly used Fr housing guards of the Grimaldi Chateau. Room and view were spectacular. Dining room with retractable ceiling was an added unexpected awesome experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    I highly recommend this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is OK and could improve.

    The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. The room is clean and big and the bathroom is larger than average fitted with two showers. The hotel is beautiful and very romantic, on top of a hill within 10 min walking distance from the town center. There is a free shuttle available from town center to the hotel. Also hotel provides a free drop off and pick up service from local train station and the town center. There are restaurants around just 5 min walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful hill top escape with fine food and a view to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    House keeping sometimes missed a couple of things, so one day we would have glasses stocked then the next they might forget. More consistent replenishment would be one way to improve.

    The staff were very personable, helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. The food at the restaurant was delicious, though with no veggie option, they were happy to put something together. We requested an upgrade to a balcony room and ended up with a garden suite, which was beautiful. Chateau Le Cagnard is a very dreamy place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Authentic medieval atmosphere with comfort and refinement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access in very difficult by car. Parking at hotel very limited.

    Authentic medieval atmosphere with comfort and refinement. Very convenient location near Nice airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in gorgeous location with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of outdoor spaces to sit if your room doesnt have a terrace or balcony

    Fabulous rooms with comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful and arranged trips for us etc. Views from property are stunning and the medieval village location is charming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    A really special place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a couple of pigeons flapping about around the balcony and skylight. Pigeon deterrents would certainly be worthwhile.

    The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was beautiful and very clean as with the whole hotel. The staff were very professional and friendly. The views are incredible, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was calming. Cagnes-sur-Mer itself is magical.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended. A special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c in the room varied.

    A special spot. The lovely hotel is built into a historic site and overlooks both the city below and the Mediterranean. The food is excellent. The staff is multilingual, cheerful and helpful. I fully intend to return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Best hotel in South of France
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that I didn't stay for longer.

    Perfect place for a couples get away! They pay attention to all the smallest details - our pillows were the softest I've ever slept on, even the toilet paper was amazing! Breakfast was world class, and the terrace, ah it was just magical. The concierge - Stephan deserves a giant raise, he was incredible, literally available 24/7.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Unforgettable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am so glad that we made time in our holiday to stay at this hotel. Staying in the charming hilltop location was unforgettable and our room and balcony were perfect. The bed was so comfortable! And the staff was very helpful in picking us up in a car at our car and then driving us to a great spot to park our car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic location to go from Nice airport for the first or last night of your vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is poor and you have to go to the nearest public car park. However their shuttle service is excellent but probably easier to get a shuttle or taxi to the hotel.

    Superb location with lovely views and excellent dining on the restaurant terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Peaceful retreat in a place that time forgot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited areas outside for just sitting and reading if you don't have a balcony room. The area that had chairs and loungers looked forgotten.

    Very elegant hotel, situated in the middle of a forgotten time! Peaceful retreat virtually next to the castle for anyone wanting to get away in total calm and tranquility. Staff very attentive and helpful and superb food. Nespresso coffee machine in room allowed the perfect coffee to start the day as you sit in a plush bathrobe listening only to the birds. Exceptional view from balcony where meals are served and only 5 minutes walk (steep) to a collection of other restaurants also with superb views if hotel dining is not for you. Free shuttle to the town or 5 minutes walk (downhill) to the town of Cagnes sur Mer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Living like medieval royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the hotel was spread out, it took a little while to find your way around. But that was all part of the fun. The hotel staff expected you to be a little disorientated. They were more than pleased to help at any time.

    Château Le Cagnard was as close to an authentique medieval experience as a person could have. With stone staircases, wood paneling, luscious furnishing and extraordinary views from the ramparts, it was very special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    Difficult stay albeit lovely property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner who checked us in was not at all warm, professional or courteous. No help with our bags. No availability of parking-do not try to get here with a car! Not suitable for elderly or handicapped either as you have to walk through a village and up/down stairs to get to the property with your luggage in tow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    A first rate boutique hotel with wonderful service, excellent accomodation & incredible views ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant was closed for most of our stay, the bar facilities were very limited. The free in room coffee facilities were not replenished after the second day, I am sure this would have been corrected had we complained.

    The hotel & staff were excellent. Although off-centre the property has been very tastefully converted & the medieval town is absolutely charming. Our room was lovely with the benefit of a wonderful view from the small balcony. We would recommend the hotel to our family & friends, with the slight proviso the stunning location restricts the facilities the hotel are able to offer (e.g. no pool &/or outside space).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Location was perfect to tour the village from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access is a bit difficult, but the staff was most helpful in picking us up at a nearby parking lot

    Location was perfect to tour the village from. Historic, well maintained building with very interesting art in the reception hall and dining room. Dining was a pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Short and sweet and stunning views in the pretty village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The online pictures give the impression of a larger property and terrace. The reception hall is very dark....management may wish to consider more ambient lighting or candles. It is also not very comfortable. However it is very old and full of character

    Fabulous beds and bed linen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay in a magical setting. We will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee machine was a little temperamental, wasted a couple of capsules, but hey, I am really trying hard to think of anything to complain about…..!

    Beautiful room, enormous bathroom. We had been given a room upgrade to Deluxe, which was a lovely surprise. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Food amazing, the NYE special dinner was fabulous and the artisan bread and the salmon at breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    2.9
    A hotel to avoid and possibly also a travel company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked and confirmed a particular suite through booking.com. The hotel refused to honour the booking. Offered a different suite from the next day but the hotel still refused to honour the actual booking despite the manager assuring us that we would get the room we booked. Staff argued with the manager in public and in front of us - a very bad sign. Bill discounted by 10%. Fait accompli. Hotel offered a free night. This was after only after we had left. This offer was made by the hotel who had refused to honour our booking. The hotel was advised that to take advantage of the free night would have cost considerably more than the value of the offer. It was declined and the hotel refused any further negotiation. Booking.com offered compensation of €15 yes €15. This is a 4* hotel where the rack room rate per night in high season is €1200. The offer was declined. Booking.com in its small print confirms it is paid by hotels to place them on its website but accepts no responsibility when things go wrong. Nice business if you can get it. Apart from this the hotel was not up to the standard of a 4* hotel and may not even comply with French regulations. It does not, for example, have 24 hour manned reception unless you count a piece of paper with someone's phone number. Our room had not been freshly cleaned. There was dirt near the bed, elsewhere in the room and what looked like dried blood on the floor. Misrepresentations abound. Rooms are not soundproofed. Many rooms particularly suites are not in the hotel but are located up and down different, narrow and cobbled streets. There is little if any access for the disabled. Porterage is abysmal. Staff are inattentive and miserable. The welcome pack in the room - a name on an envelope - was addressed to somebody else. Perhaps they had our room. Some reviews state that coffee in the room is free. It is not.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful but maybe hard to get to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi service availability on first night. Also the difficulty of getting to hotel with luggage. Hard for ppl to carry their luggage to this place if do not exactly know where to go.

    Such a unique place to stay and friendly staff. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    A beautiful quiet place to spend our anniversary. Do not attempt to drive to hotel - use hotel car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit basic Shower was a bit leaky and small - kept falling off the stand Only 1 shop in town - if you need supplies, take them with you!

    Restaurant was lovely Views amazing Very comfortable beds Stunning quiet little town Clifftop setting Views of the cap d'antibes

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Very romantic and quiet hotel with a special atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little tired and the accessibility is a bit difficult

    Very romantic and special in many ways. Quiet, beautiful view, atmosphere of middle ages in a positive way

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Magical stay at a wonderful hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing. This place is a first class establishment

    Service was wonderful. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous chique hotel in fabulous location
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed with my husband's meal in your restaurant. He had pork but it was very grissly - not up to standard we were expecting but he did not want to complain and make a fuss as it was my birthday meal.

    Staff, location, room, help and advice re extras - it was my birthday so my husband arranged for fizz and flowers in my room, a special birthday cake .Pascal drive us down to Cagnes Sur Mer when the local bus had a flat tire.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place to start a vacation on the French Riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At check out, the gentleman charged with getting our car and helping us with our luggage (light haired fellow) acted as though we were really disrupting his day. We had to wait for him for quite a while, and when he showed up, he was not pleasant in the least, and he did not even offer to help with the luggage. The opposite of the young man who helped us with car and luggage when we arrived (a nicely dressed young man with black hair).

    Idyllic location, magnificent way to start a holiday after an overnight flight from the US. The staff who welcomed us could not have been more welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    one of the best hotel I've ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no bath tub

    food, view and a bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Very unique, lot of character, staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dark, not enough lighting, especially in the evening.

    Very unique, lot of character, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice luxury break in unique surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    Charming historic location , gastronomic restaurant was excellent though expensive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service options too few

    Great position. Very comfortable beds. Spacious room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location with stunning rooms and views (if you get the right room!). Also amazing views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very pleasant and the location is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too soft and quite uncomfortable.

    The hotel is very pleasant and the location is beautiful. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast expensive staff VERY helpful

    very comfy beds well appointed room in all vg but village easy to get lost good place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    I will return again and again
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!!!

    Please the food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff to serve

    Excellent restaurant and very nice decoration

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I am sure that we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner

    Was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in, we had the best room in the hotel, with an amazing terrace and a brilliant view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice view over surrounding countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pigeons wakeing us up walking and crapping on the skylight and juliette balcony.

    Nice view over surrounding countryside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    The ambience and the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water should have been provided in the room and the coffee replenished .

    The ambience and the restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Glorious location in historic castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom light didn't work and had to pay for coffee capsules after first three free ones

    Beautiful views and fantastic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Outstanding gourmet dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to park off site. Have to have patience.

    Outstanding gourmet dinner. Very quaint atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Perfect french vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, quality of the facility and staff is excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    What a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very god beds. And what a staff! Whaf a service! And what a food!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better

    Lovely room and staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    6.3
    Restaurant grossly overpriced for poor standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant grossly overpriced for poor standard

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Stay in heaven.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Traditional Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Every single one of my stay there has been simply exquisite, from all aspects. Going back there next months with my wife.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    The bed was like a cloud and breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our room had a very scarce water flow, and could have been much better.

    The bed was like a cloud and breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    One of my favorite places I've ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was super amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning people kept forgetting to restock coffee.

    Charming location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Like dream come true is heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, beautiful view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly, fast check in, very good restaurant service and delicious food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great atmosphere !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress at breakfast was a little frosty !

    Everything was wonderful ...just minor points ...no soap and nowhere in bath to put it if there was any !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Wonderfull hotel in a lovely location. Dinner at the hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect including help with the parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic experience in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic experience in every respect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    The staff was extreamly friendly and service minded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel does not have any swimming-pool.

    The staff was extreamly friendly and service minded.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Fabulous luxury, at a price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced champagne - €25 per glass!

    Opulent luxury! fabulous balcony with superb views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    No free coffee in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free coffee in the room. For that price you would expect at least a free coffee. !! Noisy air con in the room that we ended up switching off.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful house full of history. Superb cuisine!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.8
    outstanding location with an extraordinary restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pets welcome but charged too much

    outstanding location just in the old city of Cagne, beautiful as much as St Paul de Vance

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    8.8
    Ambiance is superb
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ambiance is superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    It was charming, the food was delicious and the staff could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were not told that we couldn't bring our rental car to the hotel. So we drove up the hill toward the property and ended up wedged between 2 walls! Not fun!!

    It was charming, the food was delicious and the staff could not have been more helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Loved the town of Haut Cagnes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out was a bit slow. I recommend you double check the bill before paying.

    Loved the town of Haut Cagnes. Very picturesque and quiet. Hotel is quite unique, in an old building but everything was very comfortable. Staff were pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    Location was perfect to the beautiful little village and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a little difficult for our taxi driver to find and get the car through the village to the location

    Location was perfect to the beautiful little village and to the airport. The rooms are well equipped with all the comforts you would expect. The whole hotel atmosphere was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.8
    Hotel is nice but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small for the price and there was a lot of noise outside. Roomdoor into side alley was very bright and windows could not be covered to block light

    Hotel is nice but overpriced. Staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is perfect, very calm location in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was quite poor for the price. Wifi in our room did not work but we did not even try to solve it with the staff.

    The hotel is perfect, very calm location in a beautiful village. The room was nice and large, the bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    8.8
    The character of the building set in the beautiful old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No bad comments

    The character of the building set in the beautiful old town blended perfectly. The hotel is decorated and furnished extremely tastefully and combined with the first class attitude of the staff created a great experience

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    9.6
    Spacious and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price of dinner (but there are numerous alternatives available locally).

    Spacious and comfortable room. The setting and overall style is wonderful and the staff are both helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay here and the beds were so comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked an open space area to sit in to have a drink as once dinner was under way there is only inside to sit.

    We really enjoyed our stay here and the beds were so comfy! The building is amazing and the lift is an experience

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Charming, small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The treacherous pathway in and out of the hotel made logistics an issue for us on our last night in France. I wish I had been better warned.

    Charming, small hotel

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.6
    Most beautiful and dreamy castle in the cutest hilltop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing bad to say! Just be prepared to pay for parking below, and they'll pick you up.

    Most beautiful and dreamy castle in the cutest hilltop medieval town with views of the sea. Stunning rooms, comfy beds, quaint location, it was the most luxurious last night of our trip after traveling around the south of france. Convenient to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff was pleasant, accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is such that there is no parking, and we are not told this until after the reservation is booked. There are options that were closed or full or highly inconvenient - however, they did pick us up and drop us off at the distant lots. It is a hassle though and we would not ever stay there again because of this issue.

    The staff was pleasant, accommodating and helpful. The bed was one of the most comfortable - ever.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room carpets were not vacuumed whilst we were there and the tiled floors were dirty and hotel supplied slippers are recommended. Wi-fi was very slow and hit and miss.

    Wonderful Location Fantastic big rooms and views Very Comfortable beds Excellent Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    The charm and intimacy of the hotel and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A couple of the staff members where not professional. The waiter was "too familiar" and one of the junior girls had a negative and not service minded attitude.

    The charm and intimacy of the hotel and the location.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.8
    Superb hill top location in a "Medieval"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was bit of a lottery. It was neither "good continental" nor "good cooked" and often what you wanted had run out - sometimes to be replaced and sometimes not !! Service varied greatly at breakfast - from the very good to the non-existent. Failure of hotel booked taxi to arrive at Nice airport.

    Superb hill top location in a "Medieval" environment of narrow passages and flights of stairs. A fascinating conversion that had been done very well - but stairs everywhere Dinner was good. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    Our 3 night stay was absolutely a highlight of our 11 days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our 3 night stay was absolutely a highlight of our 11 days in France. Freda and Kevin made sure we were well taken care of and answered all of our many questions regarding various subjects during our travel. If I get back to France I would re-book at the Cagnard without hesitation!

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: