Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Castelet des Alpilles 3 stars

6, place Mireille, 13210 Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

#16 of 19 hotels in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 340 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice older building with character and original art. Helpful, cordial staff. The breakfast, (extra $) was good and plentiful. View from the room was unique.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge . One night we couldn’t find parking at all when we returned late night . We struggled to decide where to park but ended up parking on street . We had no idea if we parked illegal . Hotel doesn’t have 24 hr attendant and we didn’t had roaming phone to call Manager’s Number . We couldn’t bring suitcase upstairs as lots of steps and stairs slightly confusing . I wish they removed water hose in garden that never got picked up for 3 days.

    With in walking distance to sight seeing places .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two words: bed bugs Our stay here was absolutely horrible. I have never been treated so poorly in my life (and for the record I am not a high maintenance guest, read the rest of my reviews). We checked into our room, it seemed very nice, big and updated, huge bathroom, nice balcony overlooking the pool and the surrounding hills… great! Upon entering the room I quickly checked the bed for cleanliness, and all was well. Next morning I wake up and notice bites all over my hands and feet… hmmm, I assume it must have been mosquitos from dinner last night. I re-check the bed and mattress, just in case, for bed bugs and don’t see anything. Then I go ask my husband if he has any bites (he is not a mosquito magnet like me) and he says he has a few all over his legs. I sit down on the bed, thinking how I am overreacting, then I look over and see a female bed bug waltzing along the bed. I grab it, put it a cup, google image just to sure and yes, it’s a live female (as in EGG-LAYING) bed bug. We run downstairs to tell the staff. The morning lady at the front desk seemed extremely confused and I’m not convinced she knew what bed bugs were. I mean yes, there was a slight language barrier, but she spoke pretty good English, but we don’t know what bed bugs are called in French. She didn’t seem very concerned but agreed to wash our clothes and stuff that touched the bed (thank god the room had hardwood floors) and switch us to another room. We were satisfied with this since it seemed like a one-off, since the bed and mattress was generally clean and bed bug free. Maybe the guest before us brought in the bugs. After a long day of exploring Provence we get back to our new room, which I hate to say was gross. It was the room next to our original room (original room was 9, new room 10). The carpet (ugh oh) had not been vacuumed, there was cookie crumbs on the night stand and it hadn’t been updated like the other room and was in a very sorry state.

    The pool area is really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our king size bed was two single beds next to each other so this was not the most comfortable. Our room was on the top floor and there are quite a few flights of stairs to the top with no lift or assistance from the hotel staff to transport luggage up. Although the pool area is really nice, you can only order drinks from the hotel menu and there is no option for food or snacks and you also not allowed to bring your own - it would be great to have a picnic or snack next to the pool.

    Beautiful room and friendly hotel staff. The pool and garden are also lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom!! Firstly, doesn't look like the photo AT ALL. The separate toilet room is horrible and in the bathroom, there was no shower holder. Towels were old and hard with threads coming loose. Service - strict minimum of attention towards guests. Not asked if we enjoyed stay at end of stay. They have a drinks list outside but throughout the whole afternoon sitting there, no one passed by to see if we wanted anything and we couldn't see any staff. Breakfast - we didn't take it but when we passed by in the afternoon jams etc left out in the sun and offering looked very basic and all shop bought. Room - very basic but ok for a short stay. Flooring not finished properly. Also room not cleaned during stay - only tidied.

    Location in walking distance to centre Free parking Nice clean pool with deckchairs (although looks bigger in the photos!) Private Terrace in front of hotel with seating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very problematic throughout property. Continually disconnected and caused a lot of aggrevation.

    Deluxe room was very good compared to standard room for not a lot more money. Great location close to center of St. Rémy. Good and secure parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like other reviewers have commented, breakfast was a expensive for the variety provided.

    We loved the location and Saint Remy in general. The grounds were beautiful and you can tell the staff cares a lot about it. The views from the rooms we were in were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't included

    Great location and lovely spacious clean rooms. Friendly staff. After enjoying a bit too much red wine they helped us with some painkillers!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perfect location - just on the edge of town so that you felt like you were almost in the countryside yet the town center was just a short, pleasurable walk away. Very nice place. Very nice people. Really liked it. A real Provencale experience. The pool was a real bonus and made it the perfect touring/relaxing vacation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower over bath, a bit tricky for older people.

    Good range of food at breakfast, croissants, pastries, bread/toast, jams, fruit salad, ham and cheese, yogurt etc. Air conditioning in room. Comfy bed and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    we loved the outdoor area and the pool, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Beds were comfy, air conditioning worked well and the wifi was great too. We loved the breakfast too which had plenty to choose from. Would stay again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish they would provide tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms or even in the common lounge. My friend (who had not stayed there previously) had a fridge and I did not. The rooms have had a "modern" makeover and I liked the previous "Provencal" look. I appreciate that others may not. The floor is now a wood veneer / lino so you hear all the sounds from the floor above.

    I have stayed here several times. I love being able to walk to the village shops. I love sitting on the terrace in the late afternoon and looking at the mountains that van Gogh painted. I love the atmosphere of the hotel. The new pool looks great although the weather was too cold for us to try. I love that there is a resident cat who struts around as if he's the owner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during an unseasonal very cold snap which we hadn't expected and the room was cold. As with so many French hotels there were blankets, not duvets, we could have done with a cosy duvet! Wouldn't put us off going back though.

    Lovely spacious comfortable hotel, very well run. Nice pool, lovely outside areas. Super location a short walk from the town centre. Family run, I think. The gentleman who looked after us for the good buffet breakfast was delightful. Lovely breakfast room looking out over the pool towards the mountains

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room had NO FRIDGE. so our local produce we had bought could not be kept. There was also a strict policy not to eat or drink anything in the common areas that you hadn't bought from them.

    Convenient location, nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hooks and stool needed in bathroom, need to hang nightdress up! Would be good to have sun umbrellas at the pool.

    View from window superb! Les Alpilles Excellent breakfast with delicious home made conserves!! Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean, modern, and had AC. The pool was clean and refreshing on the hot summer days we were there. The outdoor space had tables and chairs surrounded by trees, shrubs and plants for relaxing. It was close to the little town, so we walked almost everywhere. There was a small grocery store just 50 meters away. The parking is locked after 9 pm, but guests are given the code to get in or out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location nestled just outside the main part of town. Lovely swimming pool, friendly staff and fantastic views from the balcony. The mini fridge came in real handy for those hot Southern France days!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room with a terrace had lovely views, modern clean bathroom, comfortable bed. The hotel is in a quiet location, short walk to village centre, has a nice pool area and a very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi works fine but kicks you out all the time. Nuisance. Why do they think they need such security?

    Lovely family hotel with excellent service. Very relaxed. A bit old, but everything worked and was just fine. Good value for money. Easy walk into St Remy. Great cycling from here too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our bedroom! We paid for a 'superior double room', the room was at a lower standard than ibis budget! Our luxury double bed' was two rock hard and springy singles pushed together. In every corner of the room the wall paper was peeling away, the wall paper was also very grotty with stains and dirt all over. The carpet felt and looked disgusting, again dirty! We also had ants in the room every night. Although there were some aspects of the hotel that were nice, overall, we were very disappointed and upset at paying over £100 a night when it was a very uncomfortable and disappointing stay. We will not be returning again!

    Our bathroom and balcony were very nicely finaihed! Pool area also nice and clean! Staff were lovely!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was only average, not so much choice.

    This is a small and lovely hotel. The location was great with only about 5 min walk to the center of Saintremy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all negative to say about it.

    My fellow cyclist and myself felt this was the very best of the seven hotels we had chosen for our own customised cycle tour of Provence. The Hotel has character with a very pleasant garden. Breakfast is first class. Room is spacious. All staff very friendly. Our French speaking is minimal but their English very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection is a bit slow and disconnects from time to time. The walls between rooms 4 are 5 are very thin, basically only the wardrobe wall is a separator, so we heard everything the other couple did, luckily they spent only one night there :)

    It's a beautiful hotel, very Provence style, rooms are clean, cozy and romantically furnished. The pool and breakfast were excellent, the city center is nearby, we would recommend it to other couples and if we travel to St Remy in future, we would visit it again too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned and dusted. arrived with dirty bathroom glasses and bathroom. No elevator.

    Location was 5 min walking distance to center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Simply a decent hotel with very welcoming staff.

    Great family-run hotel. Don't hesitate to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was cold.

    The staff were lovely, and the breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel, the area is a bit pricey though even for lunch

    Friendly staff, nice pool, easy to walk to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator in the place.

    The place was very near St Remy. It was a small castle literalilly. The room was beautiful and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the price of the breakfast was too expensive.

    The charm of the facility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location & short stroll to village Fantastic breaky Staff very friendly 2 English news channels which was an unexpected surprise

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small.

    Old typically French house with lots of charm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool, terrace & location made it great and had parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in bath difficult for oldies like us

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the cozy and family atmosphere. Very caring staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good. Hotel staff were friendly and a great building and pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Terrace or Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bar would have been appropriate for the hotel size.

    Great traditional French hotel with character,very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was wonderful and location was great, as was decor and ambience. The only inclusion I would like is tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift, we stayed on the top floor. Staff were in attendance but not very attentive.

    Great location, a short walk to Old Town and information centre. Good pool area which was well used.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of in - room facilities ( tea-making, mini-bar ) - although this does seem to be common in French hotels - not something we are used to in Australia

    Well located, lovely old building with nice gardens and pool

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was a little shabbier than it appears on the web, but in a quaint sort of way.

    Good location for my purposes, the staff was friendly, nice traditional French breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room 6 which was a bit shabby, a bad smell developed from the loo. We moved to room 5 and it was much nicer. No snacks available and limited drinks in the evening and during the day.

    Good location, easy walk in to the town. Nice staff. Lovely pool area. All round good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard room which we had was just that. Cheap furniture with no drawers, black telephone stuck on the wall and exposed pipe work. The room was tired and dated. The shower over the bath would have been good if there had been an attachment for it on the wall. As it is, you have to hold it and that got more irritating day after day. There were no hooks in the bathroom and no heating for the cooler months - the radiator had been removed.

    Free car parking, the breakfast terrace and the view from the room. There was also very welcome air conditioning in the room.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Group

    Room on top floor (3 flights)with and no stairs. Staff (except for gentleman serving breakfast ) were not friendly at all. After we checked out we ordered a coffee and were told we could not have one, although the menu listed coffee was served at all hours. Very impolite too

    Great location as close to the town. Lovely garden and small pool, Breakfast on the terrace

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was not very accompdating,they have a policy that no wine purchased elsewhere can be consumed on the patio , kind of crazy in wine region

    The young woman at receptions was very good

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pillows were not comfortable old fashion blanket instead of duvet

    great location very nice looking hotel and staff lovely garden and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location. Staff very nice and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was great, and our room had a view of the Alpilles. The hotel was walking distance from the center of St. Remy

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were just absolutely amazing, in terms of helpfulness and availability

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed a Minibar in our Superior Room.

    Location, within walking distance to center of town, private parking, nice room and comfortable bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very well situated, had a beautiful courtyard/pool area, a shaded and private parking lot, and exceptional staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful, traditional French hotel. Balcony rooms have wonderful views. Lovely pool area 5 mins from the centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty and smelly carpets, peeling wallpaper, noisy rooms, surly receptionist.

    Bed was quite comfy

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really nice lady on reception

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff charming breakfast area

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Toilet is too, much too squeezy! Shower does not have a bracket on the wall so is very difficult to use and water flys everywhere

    Breakfast, room size

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WIFY kept dropping out.

    Friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were treated like family

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location,parking and staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our favorite place we stayed whilst travelling around the south of France. Excellent location and ample parking. Magnificent building.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, lovely pool. Excellent breakfast and attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No shade around pool - especially when the daytime temperature is 36 centigrade! Please provide some umbrellas!

    Great location close to town

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint is lack of elevator

    Location is perfect and the service was excellent

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi connection was a bit dodgy at some times but overall it was ok.

    Hotel was just perfect, swimming pool was lovely and the location was brilliant

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    easy walk to St. Remy, but watch out for wild "taurines"

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel in on the main touristic road so made getting to attractions very easy

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked at very late notice, and accommodated easily. Lovely place. Simple, clean, traditionally French and welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, quiet,view from bedroom, pool, air conditioning, free parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst restaurant called the brasserie in town avoid it..

    history

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast staff a little slow to respond, so sometimes there was no bread.

    Safe, free parking Nice courtyard gardens

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No lift available for the 3rd floor rooms.

    The staff were all very professional, & the secure private parking was excellent.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: