Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Le Cosy 2 stars

74 avenue de la Mer, 14150 Ouistreham, France

#10 of 14 hotels in Ouistreham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    would have been acceptable value a little cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel car park was very tight, room rather cramped and mattress uneven,

    Although basic room was clean Good stop for early morning ferry crossing, less than 5 mins drive. We had to leave early for the ferry so cant comment on breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived after 10pm, so there was no staff at the hotel. Checkout is at 11am, but when the place was still dead just before the checkout time. We tried to call the numbers found on the door, but they went to voicemail and the hotel's information number rang behind a locked door. Decoration of the hallways is very strange, old and not taken care of. Paint has fallen off the railings of the stairs that sounded like they would break if a heavier guy would step on them. There's some WW2 -time photos on the walls and a rusty soldier's helmet is hanging next to a setting with children's beach toys in sand. Apparently they can't decide whether they're a memorial hotel or more of a family-friendly one. Room only had one night-stand next to the double bed and only one socket on each side, from which the other one was used for reading light. Bathroom needs some renovation, toilet was missing buttons and showerhead's stand couldn't be adjusted because it was rusted. Hairdryer should've been borrowed from the reception, that was never open. Additional 2€/day fee for a kettle. Hotel's rules forbid eating in the room!

    Late check-in was not a problem–we were given a code to the door by SMS and key to the room was found in the room (door was not locked). Our room was spacious enough, modern-looking–unlike the rest of the hotel–and had two small balconies with a nice view to the calm streets. Complimentary (vegetable) soap, shampoo and plastic cups.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    A lovely surprise - great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a very clean budget hotel offering great value for money in a great location. Less than 1km from the ferry. 100 metres from Sword Beach. Great beach. Very good. 5 parking bays but lots of parking in the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and parking space
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in need of a makeover but for the price really good value for money

    Excellent location and parking space The room was clean and the bed comfortable The receptionist was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Bedroom was functional and appeared to have only recently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although bedroom was very clean and recently decorated the public areas, notably the stairs and corridors were badly in need of some TLC .

    Bedroom was functional and appeared to have only recently been decorated. Parking was convenient and there were plenty of restaurants nearby . Double glazing was very effective and the french balcony was a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Adequate stop over for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location relative to the centre of town and the ferry. Room was very basic but for the price was OK. Did what it said on the can. It was clean, although the condition of the stairs up was scruffy to say the least. There was parking at the back of the hotel - noy secured but I had no problems with my motorbike.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Good location for exploring the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks prices were more expensive than other bars , this meant we would go for a drink elsewhere and inevitably stay there to eat. The hotel cosy bar is undoubtedly loosing more money than it is making from over pricing their drinks. Short sighted imo .

    For the price it is good value, located in the only street worth visiting in the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location for ferry but too scruffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty and needed a good paint. There was no soap. It was very cheap but I would have preferred to pay a bit more for better services. I'm used to staying in budget hotels but this was too basic even for me!!

    The bar was nice albeit rather pricey. The location near the ferry was very good. The reception staff was very friendly and welcoming. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, had to park on street. Might not suit an early get away.

    Very clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff. Good breakfast. Easy access for late arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a disgrace , rusty plugs , cracked tiles made a horrendous noise when the toilet was flushed ,very poor, it was a good job as it was for one night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Very convient for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking On very busy street so too much noise to open windows which was a problem on a very hot night

    Very convient for the ferry Reception very helpful Comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Clean room with comfortable bed and in the main street for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is old and could do with a makeover. We were given a room on 3rd floor and there is no lift. Not so good with a lot of luggage!

    Clean room with comfortable bed and in the main street for all the restaurants.Also very easy to get to ferry port.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Cosy night in le Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot evening and no air-conditioning ment we had to have the window open. And it's on a busy street so it was noisy

    Central location, parking, very good value

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Overnight to catch the ferry, this is a gem, but I could be happy with a holiday here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, nothing.

    This is a lovely little hotel. We definitely got the best room - first floor and two balconies - and that was on a late booking. The room is spacious and has en suite bath and shower. This was our third visit. Reception times seem a bit haphazard, but no worries, because there's a bar underneath and the barman will look after your luggage. Beach is no distance and it's on a crossroads and surrounded by quirky shops, bars and restaurants. Five minutes drive to the ferry, which has been our reason to stay. New addition was an ATM set in the wall next to the bar. There is free parking at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice cosy hotel in a good location, and the staff are really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice cosy hotel in a good location, and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Lots of lovely bars and restaurants around and a 5 minute walk from the seafront. It's also only 5 minutes away from the ferry terminal. We've stayed there 3 or 4 times now and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Hot shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy untill the early hours of the morning. No kettle to make a drink. People should be told about the noise from the bar opposite wgen booking. Too expensive for what you get

    Hot shower. Clean bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable bed.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking and no advice on where we could park safely Reception closed by time we arrived.

    Comfortable bed. Didn't get breakfast so no comment .Clemence extremely helpful in arranging for us to get in after reception would be closed by the time we got there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Okay for short stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in soap dispenser, both bathroom lights not working, reception only open for a limited time.

    Location was great for local amenties and for ferry port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked a comfortable stay in an interesting old building, comfortable room with small balcony. Good double glazing meant we didn't hear street noise. Good traditional breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real negatives. - The bread and coffee were however rather modest and not the highest quality (INMO)

    Location and the staff, particularly Clemance who was so helpful and kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, small but adequate rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing reallly but one or two areas could be improved. The breakfast was modest with better and more tasty bread required. The coffee also was not very good, but these are minor points

    Clemence at reception - very professional efficient and most of all, patient. She is a great asset to this hotel and all my party wished me to pass on their thanks to her for her kindness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, right on the pedestrian section of Ouistreham
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt it was slightly overpriced - for a hotel with no lift! But it was a weekend, and the town was rammed, so no big surprise. Parking is inadequate - there were only 5 spaces for the hotel and its bar.

    Very comfortable bed, and the place was exceptionally clean - not always the case in France. The lady on reception was exceptionally pleasant to deal with - she had a sense of humour (which I needed when my card got rejected) and she was also very tolerant of my French.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    It was very convenient to everything we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very convenient to everything we wanted. The staff was very friendly and spoke some English. Even my teenage daughter wanted to stay longer. Good Italian/Pizza place across street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    It's an old 2 star Logis type hotel. Basic but fine for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still remnants of smokiness from years of tobacco smoke... Probably from the bar

    Perfect stop for the ferry, either before or after. Central location to restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.3
    I would not recommend this hotel and will certainly not rebook. Very disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very tired and neglected hotel that needs a great deal of upgrading. Although I mentioned at the time of booking that our ETA would be at approx. 9:30p.m., shortley after my wife and I had disembarked from the ferry from Portsmouth, we were unable to access the hotel as it was unmanned and locked. I telephoned the number on my booking receipt but no answer. I then asked the manager at the restaurant opposite if he could help. He managed to find another number to which somebody answered and have me the code to enter the hotel.

    Not much. At least the bed was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Le Cosy is very cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited availability of food and drink. Not allowed food in room but nowhere else to eat or drink within property most of the time (except breakfast). No tea or coffee facilities in room. No English TV channels.

    It's location to the ferry port. The hotel is clean and quiet. The young lady at reception was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Extremely good value hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception hours limited though did not cause any problem. Decor a bit shabby but perfectly acceptable for the price.

    Great location near sea, port and restaurants. Attractive traditionally styled building. Room and facilities perfectly adequate for short stay. Price was very reasonable and excellent value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    4.6
    We would like a refund please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed a welcome on arrival. There was no one there. We had to telephone to gain access.

    There was no breakfast available. There were no staff either morning or evening. The Hotel was deserted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient as arrived by ferry from Portsmouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient as arrived by ferry from Portsmouth. Hotel is in the centre of town and close to shops/cafes. Sword Beach is 5 minute walk away. I felt safe at the hotel and is was quiet. The staff were helpful. I arrived late at night and was given an entry code to let myself in. I paid extra for breakfast but was a little disappointed that it only included a croissant, bread, jam and coffee. The hotel was good value for money .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money. Great location, free car parking a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired bathroom with old draughty window, badly needs an update.

    Basic but clean, comfortable bed, bright and airy room, central location. Helpful staff and small bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Friendly, warm and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean with all the facilities you would need for an overnight stay. The bed was comfortable, the staff friendly and it was very convenient for the ferry terminal. The bathroom although clean could do with a facelift.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Good low cost accommodation in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything in particular. Car parking at rear of hotel limited but can usually find parking in street down side of hotel.

    Close proximity to ferry terminal, beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.0
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the original room was very small and the bathroom was in need of a full refurbishment, the bath showing rust around the plughole and the bath unclean. the toilet when flushed the water continued to run. The tiling needed regrouting. I informed the reception and they then changed our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    Basic but adequate for cheap one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upstairs very tired, bathroom from 1970s, toilet cistern broken with water constantly running and I could hear the sounds of water boiler or similar all night.

    Very friendly receptionist, and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely building albeit having dated rooms but perfect for the centre or ferry
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sunk in the middle

    Super location smack in the centre of the busy town during winter. Could be noisy during busy season. Car park available. Handy for car ferry.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed staying there and am glad that we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms had a mold issue on the shower curtain and the tile grout around the tub. Otherwise it was very clean. The beds were not comfortable.

    This place is cute and cozy. It is in an amazing locaton and the hostess was so nice. We loved the street with all of it's shopping, bakeries, and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Le Cosy - ideally located for the historic D-Day beaches with the remains of bunkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer and the bar/restaurant closes at 7:00pm ie., locked and closed. Other over-priced tourist trap bars are available nearby. There is a Carrefour just around the corner

    Proximity to the ferry - under s mile/1.5km

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    this was our third time at Le Cosy and it will be the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no access on arrival the doors were closed and locked. Three contact phone numbers on the door, 1st one not available, 2nd one an answer phone and 3rd one some guy who didn't recognize Hotel Le Cosy. We waited outside in the cold nearly two hours before someone turned up. When we did get in the room was unheated and cold. Even after turning on the radiator the room barely got that warm. While waiting outside we did phone Booking.com and we got a helpful response, maybe that intervention prompted someone to turn up and let us in? Our arrival time was clearly 16.00 to 19.00 and reception hours supposed to be up to 19.00 but no one there until 17.45?? Being frequent travelers via the ferry port it is time to put Hotel Le Cosy to bed and find a better alternative.

    not a lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Best location in ouistreham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is older. You could here others coming and going from rooms.

    Excellent location. Easy walk to beach. Right on ped mall. Ped mall has a few restaurants to chose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.4
    Although the hotel was in the centre a lot of bars/restaurants closed due to low season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very jaded plug fault in bath so water drained away no one at reception to advise and no facilities to make or even buy a coffee in the morning

    In the centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Cosy by name
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking bays were OK if you drive a Smart car or are travelling by motorcycle - anything much bigger and it's a struggle. Thursday morning also appears to be the day for refuse collection, and it's an early morning experience - as in c04:45!

    Close to the ferry and with the amenities of a small seaside town - the bars however were as expensive as Paris or London!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location for beaches shops restaurants as well as ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfy room ideal for our overnight stay. We were delayed in traffic and so reception contacted us before they closed at 7pm with door code and were to find room keys etc X brilliant idea thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    It was near the port and places to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at about 6pm and reception was staffed but 30 mins later reception was closed. We ate at a restaurant opposite and wittnessed people arriving who couldn't gain access. The staff from our restaurant had to make phonecalls for them. There were only 5 parking places which were small and when we arrived there was one space, we had 2 cars as 2 couples. No parking or restricted parking on the road .

    It was near the port and places to eat

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Home from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service good, room good views from the balcony great, no dislikes to report

    Lovely area on the ground floor set up for breakfast. Clean and chic, service was excellent, no rush to see you move on, additional food being offered without any prompting. It was the usual French breakfast but the bread and croissants were out of this world, warm soft and full of flavour. Service was very good, with a lovely bar and external tables right in the street, which made you feel part of this seaside town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was old and appeared grubby and bath plug didn't work so couldn't use. Walls were scruffy too. However only cosmetic

    Location room had two French doors opening onto balconies. Receptionist was great Bed really comfortable and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Very dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A price balance in keeping with nearby 'hotels' roughly half the price

    Extremely expensive. Neither bath or sink plugs worked which was a nuisance. Good location but main objection is the cost - staff very good, clearly the owner is taking the Michael.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location - clean and comfortable. We were running late for check in but a quick phone call gave us all the details needed. Good, simple hotel. What made it absolutely outstanding was the assistance and kindness shown to us by the staff during a crisis we had with a lost car key. They went above and beyond, especially Clemence. Recommend highly and will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced for a budget hotel with no facilities and limited parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bathrooms are in need of major refurbishment. Shower poor, bath panels and vanity top all delaminating. Toilet roll holder was reluctant to dispense paper. The wardrobe was disentegrating with the interior panels were missing.

    Location and the fact it had a bar. Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location for an overnight stop after a long ferry journey from the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots and lots of stairs to our top floor room. Very strong smell of stale cigarettes in the lobby.

    Easy straightforward check in. Great communication from owner. On the main pedestrianised Street with pretty bars, shops and eateries.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for a quick stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors smelled a little smoky and the rooms were small but for a low price it was still very good.

    Perfect for an overnight stop if you are arriving by ferry or leaving early the next day. Probably wouldn't recommend for a long holiday. Perfect for what we wanted as it's a minute from the ferry terminal and 100m from the beach. Had an evening stroll on the beach and crepes at Mamma Mia opposite which was an excellent restaurant, wish we'd had more time to have a full meal there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Location was excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man above was very noisy in the night. There was lots of clambering around and he then had a shower about 1.30 am. We had to be up at 6.00am for the ferry.

    Location was excellent. Lady on reception was lovely and very helpful. There was limited parking but we arrived early so we were fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Traditional friendly hotel which had seen far better days but spotlessly clean. Enjoyed our stay.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stair carpet very worn and stained. Bathroom had seen far better days but was spotlessly clean. Outer door was locked at 7.30pm although we were given a code to get in. We had hoped to have a nightcap in the bar but it was closed.

    Central location. Handy for restaurants. Lady on reception was very welcoming. Room was very clean with two glass doors opening onto balconies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Had a fantastic time....Lovely location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A tea / coffee in the room...A bottle of water...the pillows were not very good

    The location was brilliant....Staff and breakfast was brilliant...would definitely book this hotel again. Local bars and restaurants and very close to the sea. Great base to go touring Normandy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Quite expensive and very noisy, but excellent location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Friday evening and by 11pm the drunks from the surrounding bars we're waking us all up. The noise went on until about 2am

    The room was well appointed but the oven was very hard to turn on. Great location, walked to the beach with our very young family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Convenient stopover for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little rough in the corridor and stairway areas.

    Bedroom clean and in spite of being on a busy street,surprisingly quiet.Good breakfast.V good restaurant opposite called Mamma Mia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value comfortable hotel in a convenient location, very good for a one night/short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking cramped, probably inevitable as hotel is in a built up area.

    Comfortable, good value hotel, handy for the ferry port. Nice location near the beach, surrounded by bars, shops and restaurants. Good breakfast (not included in price).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.2
    Very very disappointing. I had booked for 2 nights but only stopped for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort. No carpets in room. Low put you up beds (not proper divan beds). No tea and coffee facilities. Poor decoration. Outdated bathroom facilities. Bar closed very, very early (5-6pm). A lot of bars and shops in area closed early.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    I will be using this hotel again. It's perfect for the ferries to UK to.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not big but had a very comfortable bed, lovely huge windows which opened to let in the fresh air. It was central to all that was happening in Cean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    A lot of money for very little.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was closed when we arrived at 22.30 and we had problems finding out how to get in. Room was clean but extremely spartan, not even a bedside table on both sides of the bed.

    The breakfast was good but had to pay extra for that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Well situated - boulangerie just downstairs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One light fighting was broken and the other one, near the bunk beds, had a naked bulb that had to be touched to go up and down the ladder. Mold showing through the wallpaper in the bathroom. People slamming bedroom doors at 11pm/ midnight. Not many parking spaces available.

    Well situated - boulangerie just downstairs!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Good Location For Cross Channel Ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is closed between 11am and 3pm. Rooms are small, very basic and a little tired. Fire doors not working on the staircase. The car park at the rear seems to attract local youths and a basketball net below our room (15) was being used until after midnight. I was concerned leaving a soft top car in this area but made a point of emptying the car and leaving nothing of interest on show and fortunately all was well in the morning.

    Very good location for cross channel ferries, cleanliness is good and plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area. Parking at the rear is useful but spaces are limited.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    1 night stay in july
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathrooms are in need of refurbishment and the walls in all the room and the stairway were very shabby in desperate need of painting with scuffs everywhere and dusty pipe work and this badly brings the standard down

    location of hotel is right in the middle of town with good parking facilities. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, the bar area was very modern and looked newly refurbished furniture in the bedroom was new and modern and the bed was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Stop off on way to ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom dated and could not switch from bath tap to shower. No staff after 7:30pm to rectify this. Limited on site parking

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Stayed here for the morning ferry to Portsmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. Bathroom a bit old. Shower curtain. No hairdryer.

    Very friendly lady at the reception desk who helped us look for a place to park our motorbike behind the hotel. Lots of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Nice evening walk to the long beach nearby. Room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't turn up at the wrong time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason that I was never to discover, Le Cosy's reception desk is closed between 11.00 and 15.30. If, like me, you arrive at 13.30 fully kitted out in motorcycle gear with no easy way of changing out of it, this is seriously inconvenient. It then closes again at 20.00 and doesn't open again until 8.00 in the morning. As the first ferry leaves at 8.30, this means guests looking to take it cannot check out in time to get to the terminal and need to remember to settle their bill the night before - assuming they're back in the hotel before 8.00 p.m.! Although my room was clean and comfortable, I'm afraid the staircase is grubby and needs cleaning and decorating. Also, although several English language TV stations are listed, none was available.

    Location near to the ferry terminal is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Convenient location, basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had black mould although the rest of the room was clean. Stairs very tatty and corridor lacked ventilation. Paper thin walls and stifling heat on the landing. Over-priced for hotel quality.

    Bed linen very good and great to have 2 windows to create a through draft in the hot weather in the absence of air con.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location clean,but needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairways were dirty and dated. The room were also dated with some electrical sockets coming of the wall which needs to be addressed. I believe that if the room was modernised it would attract a lot with the view as well.

    The location of property and view. From room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.6
    would not recommend the hotel for a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel VERY noisy, doors always slamming and other guests shouting in the early hours, no one there to complain to, as owners not on site after 6.30pm Breakfast very poor and expensive for what was given. The bar that is advertised closed early as owners not on site, did stay open at the week end, but we were charged extra for sitting and having a coffee outside, which i think is disgusting when we were staying in the hotel

    the rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    The water was hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was noisy inside and out during the night. The bed mattress was plastic so that you became hot and stuck to it. We had an almost sleepless night. The tiles behind the bath/shower were broken and had mould.

    The water was hot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasant, conventiently located close to harbour and centre of town. Plenty of free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally prefer a choice of a bath or shower (or shower above the bath). Just a personal thing, always loved baths in the evening to relax and unwind after a busy day walking. The sash window in my bedroom didn't lock and the window wouldn't stay open. Just minor details but overall comfortable.

    Lovely vegetarian breakfast, great selection of speciality teas, prompt service and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was ok for a one night quick stopover, not exactly the place you would go to enjoy a hotel break. Was adequate for our overnight stay with our dog.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.8
    overnight ferry stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A desk in the room would be nice the hot water was very slow coming out Written directions to the ferry port would be good -- we got a bit lost getting there.

    Two windows made it feel spacious, the bed was very good. It was nice having a bar on the ground floor. The receptionist was very welcoming. Perfect location for restaurants, shops, and quick access to the ferry port. Room was very quiet. We got a great deal on a last-minute booking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice place. God value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite new sanitary ware in the bathroom it looked a little "tired" and there was would between the tiles around the bath / shower. I think they are in the process of doing it all up so judgement on this suspecnded.

    Very friendly staff. Newly painted room - nicely done with comfortable bed. new sanitary ware in the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first bedroom had to be changed as the loo did not flush.

    Great location. Rooms clean and comfortable. Although the first room had a non-flushing loo so I was moved. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the courteous girl at reception, just about everything needed improvement..

    The hotel needed a lot of TLC and decorating throughout. As far as a transit hotel is concerned, breakfast began at 8am and the ferry to Portsmouth left at 8.30. One would think that the staff should be aware of this and commence breakfast accordingly eg. 7am. The bar/restaurant was also closed throughout our stay

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: