Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais et Châteaux Le Chambard 5 stars

9-13 Rue Du General De Gaulle, 68240 Kaysersberg, France

#3 of 27 hotels in Kaysersberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 432 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few hangers would have been good - also a stand for a case.

    The Bed was very comfortable, but the outstanding thing was the Dinner - 5 star- quite outstanding by any measure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Square pillow in bed - breakfast is too sweet (even though sweets were very good) and for savory there are just cheese and some hams and I was expecting more from a relais & chateaux - the spa is nice but is not a 5* spa

    Breakfast cake in the morning, and the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a long discussion without solution as they said your cy booked 2 rooms for me iso one as was booked by me. They told me they cannot change this as the money was already paid by me trough my creditcard and it was not their mistake. I asked them to contact you as it must be a mistake,but no result.so i ask you to solve this problem for me .i booked many times trough your company and this never happened.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The jacuzzi is not the best we've seen (the "air" program did not work, and the massage program was a bit weak.).

    Second stay in this beautiful and comfortable hostel. Services are perfect, staff is really friendly, breakfast a bit expensive but with excellent artisanal food, and you can take away jam, kougelhopf and viennoiseries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first trip to Alsace and it was absolutely wonderful. We very much enjoyed staying in the little town of Kayserberg. The 2* restaurant and the Traditional restaurant were both fabulous. We took our children to the 2* restaurant and we were a bit nervous about how they would handle the gourmet experience, but the staff were very accommodating (preparing simpler, child friendly dishes that were also less expensive). We would definitely return to Le Chambard again for the hotel and for the food!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was terribly hot, even though the temperature outside was very cool. We were offered a fan which helped the comfort level

    The hotel location was excellent to explore the village. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping didn't refresh the soap or hand towels. Had to constantly ask for things. Hair dryer was horrible, had a very low setting for the fan and it wasn't warm enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find anything to criticize; personally, we did not like the ("elegant dull") style of the fine dining restaurant - but the food there was superb (perhaps this is the concept: Let the food shine..)

    Cosy place with character and style; very good service (multilingual); in the picturesque town, yet rooms are quiet, with very good beds. High quality breakfast, great restaurant for fine dining ("64 degrees "), and more good food options in and near the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a luxurious hotel of a very high standard, we had a rooms with a balcony towards the wine fields and this was really nice. The hotel is located in the center. We had dinner in hotels Wine Stube and the foods and the service was excellent. It w a a market going on in Kaysersberg when we arrived to it was a bit difficult to get to the hotel as the street was closed to traffic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no stairs from reception to rooms

    great service and staff. very comfortable and beautiful. the town is incredible. the 2* Michelin restaurant is a fabulous experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. A great experience

    This has a 2 Star Michelin restaurant, so it's not given away. However, the food is exceptional and offers interesting combinations. The hotel itself is somewhat quirky. There is only a lift to the first floor, and then stairs to the rest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast was good I found it a bit odd that they charged for eggs...very unlike 5 star hotels.

    Fantastic hotel in the cutest little village. We were upgraded to a superior room with the view of the castle. Good breakfast- they let you choose from their jam-pot collection for breakfast and you can take it back home. There is even one of those musical trotting donkeys at the hotel that children can take rides on without putting in coins.The Winstub restaurant had a grest fare. Staff are friendly and eager to please the guests.Loved that they packed a goodie bag for us with water, muffins and chocolate to take back as we had a long drive back home from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor. Rooms more akin to a budget hotel than a 5 star Relais et Chateau.

    Good location in the centre of town with free car parking. Excellent gourmet restaurant and brasserie.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. Just dont expect all the facilities of a grand hotel.

    This is a hotel famed for its food. And it justifies its fame. I especially liked the availability of bikes to cycle through the local vineyards.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not quite up to the exceptionally hot weather during our stay

    Breakfast is overpriced, especially for those who eat little at that meal. An alternative cafe complet would have been welcome - at a lesser cost. We enjoyed our room very much (206)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "Winstub" was actually pretentious and trying too hard even though the chef has 2 stars in the main restaurant one would expect better simple dishes like the classic tart to start was only just average, mains also no better than that had to send both back initially which was a shame, service tries hard but all rather aloof, Breakfasts also aren't good, all seems rather calculating no real choice or wow despite inhouse vienoisserie which were leathery all in all a disappointment on the food side

    The rooms were excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor value for money overall, but especially the EUR 27 per person charged for a very ordinary breakfast. Hideous decor, with purple carpet and brown painted walls. Uncomfortable bed, far too low, with cheap quality bedding. Small cluttered room.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Group
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to find. Not so many possibilities in the variety of eating as one restaurant is a star restaurant with rather littlr choice and the other is a winstub but with very strange choices: lots of fish with wine, gibier, choucroute... Not the common alternatives that you normally find in a winstub.

    Very nice room, very friendly staff, the drink in the entry and the fresh fruit everywhere. The possibility to look outside towards nature.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress very uncomfortable (the staff said they are going to change it). There was bad dog smell in the room. I think when you allow animals in a room, having carpet is not the best floor choice...

    Loved the staff that was very welcoming and helpful, the spa treatment with Christelle (Tibetan chanting balls), the location, the little attentions (cake and water upon arrival and departure), great Tarte Flambee across the street (same chef as hotel), nice spa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to think of a critical note. Maybe they tried a bit to hard to give the interior a colorful touch.

    The pool and spa facility was great. I also liked that there were complementary fresh fruits available practically everywhere in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool is too small for swimming

    Wonderful hotel..perfect location. Love this part of Alsace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All !! and particularly the beautiful breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance, staff, owner interaction, attention to detail and wow factor. Just stunning experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitted carpet in toilet and bathroom. Bh

    Location Main Street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect hotel! Superb food! Great wine list! Great service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky decor, very stylish and creative. Great location. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing :)

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa tour

    Homemade jam for you to take home each morning with the best croissant ever.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioner is a bit weak

    excellent location / friendly staffs / very good services / balcony is a bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely location, excellent Winstub restaurant and eclectic and interesting bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Literally the hotel management has thought about everything. All very helpfull, especially the reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff. Free fruit and cake. Modern rooms. Good free car park. Fantastic expensive gourmet restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location, first class dining in both restaurants. Spacious comfortable room. Lovely spa and swimming facility. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfort, highly attentive staff, beautifully presented and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was faultless.

    Amazing property, the rooms, the service, the 2-Michelin star restaurant, the Spa. Great location in pretty Kaysersberg.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would prefer more choice of healthy breakfast

    Great two michelin star restaurant; lovely setting right next to the vineyards.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel & restaurant were absurdly overpriced. Not sufficient parking facilities I found the valet service irritating

    A very comfortable bedroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. We had to change superior double room as heating didn't work (problem known by staff); 2nd room smaller with view on neighbor's roof 2. Spa overfull with kiddies 3. Breakfast rather expense for no real choice; quality ok however

    Decorated like **** business hotel. Not charming. Winstub lovely, good traditionnal dinner for correct prices

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very low and two singles pushed together when a double had been requested.

    Very quiet room. Location in the village was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel was nicely refurnished and decor was quirky

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access through multi-elevators Pushy and somewhat rude front desk - mostly one individual.

    Great little Alsation town with a picturesque setting. Maid service with evening slippers was very good. Showers.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not care for the darkness of the hotel hallways or the labyrinth of up's and down's to get from hotel's entrance to your room. It was fun at first but got old fast!

    Location on edge of old city centre and the view from our room out the back of hotel into lovely (& quiet) courtyard with castle on hill in background! The hot tub was also a nice plus. Could easily walk all thru the old town.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather expensive drinks after we arrived late evening.

    Location was excellent, in centre of village. Very quirky hotel furniture, other than that it was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is nothing not to like, it was our favourite place out of the 5 we stayed at during our stay in the Alsace and somewhere we will return to.

    Excellent hotel, quirky boudoir style. 64 degrees restaurant was exceptional and worth the price. Spa treatments very professional. Pool & spa facilities good. Parking available. Staff charming.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    28 Euro per person for breakfast is more than having dinner at the bistro! Disappointed that the manager made us a dinner reservation and "forgot" about it, but he did get us a table later in the evening.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, lots of amenities

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture in the room was a bit old fashioned - did not really fit with the rest of the chic interior in the hotel. Maybe a free bottle of water in the room would be suitable in a hotel of this standard?

    We tried both restaurants and they were wonderful. The 2 star Michelin restaurant were an absolutly fantastic experience - Very elegant and sharp. The hotel in general are very nice and clean both inside and outside. Interesting deco and very nice pool/SPA area. Our room was large and a had a balcony with view of the vineyards.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic hotel in nice region. Private parking, renovated rooms. Spa facilities are great asset in are where the weather can be treacherous. The biggest asset however is their 2 Michelin star restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chef Nasti's personal attention was really appreciated. The hotel is very well appointed, the staff extremely helpful, simply a wonderful and elegant stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Regretably, the wifi connection was problematic on all devices throughout our stay. Other than that, the only real disappointments were that we booked when the Michelin starred restaurant was closed (Monday/Tuesday) and we happened to stay when there was a major storm which meant the shutters banged quite a lot during the night.

    We were instantly made to feel at home when we arrived and after booking in, were escorted up to our room, with brief stop off to show us the spa and other facilities. We discovered we were in a twin and requested reassignment to a double, which was completed within five minutes. The restoration of the old building is very tasteful and well executed. Secure parking was a plus.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy rooms, can hear everything in other rooms and parts of hotel.

    Friendly staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everthing

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Etape hotel + restaurant topissime !!!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Michelin star resturant is awesome

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoration of the hotel

    The view from the room toward vinyard and the tower.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was tired for the price they charge. The restaurant was overpriced for the quality of the food. Some of the staff were less than helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price that didn't include a breakfast.

    Position in centre of town. Room with a balcony and view. Spa facilities were great. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi only worked in lobby very inconvenient

    modern facilities and picture perfect town

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location with view into the wineyards (maybe depending on the room) Nice restaurant (s).

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: